User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1164 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Chad
    Feb 4, 2008
    7
    Long, slow, boring, and often uneventful, but overall Daniel day lewis manages to create a memorable and believable character opposite an interesting preacher played by Paul Dano which collide together in a very unexpected and, in my opinion, good ending. I've definitely seen better, and the critics have praised this a good bit too much, but i still liked there will be blood and it Long, slow, boring, and often uneventful, but overall Daniel day lewis manages to create a memorable and believable character opposite an interesting preacher played by Paul Dano which collide together in a very unexpected and, in my opinion, good ending. I've definitely seen better, and the critics have praised this a good bit too much, but i still liked there will be blood and it was without a doubt much better than no country and atonement. Expand
  2. AlanH.
    Feb 5, 2008
    4
    A cinematically well-crafted movie that pays no regards to character truth or consistency or humanity. It's plodding and pretentious. Ditto for DDL's performance.
  3. ChipG.
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    Great acting by Daniel Day Lewis, beautiful cinematography, fascination editing, mesmerizing soundtrack, solid writing, original directing style all combine to make this a great movie. I must disagree with the criticism that there is not sufficient character development. Dramatic movies are interesting only if it is not a foregone conclusion that the characters will conquer there demons Great acting by Daniel Day Lewis, beautiful cinematography, fascination editing, mesmerizing soundtrack, solid writing, original directing style all combine to make this a great movie. I must disagree with the criticism that there is not sufficient character development. Dramatic movies are interesting only if it is not a foregone conclusion that the characters will conquer there demons in the end; otherwise one is confined to the sub-genre of the story of the epic hero. I will admit feeling some sympathy for the main character, Daniel Plainview (though not of course condoning his violence). In the beginning you see that he is a solitary prospector; a path often pursued by those who know that the baseness of the human condition overly inflames their passions. I hold back on a rating of 10, because I thought the conclusion between Daniel and his son H.W. was somewhat rushed, compared to the pacing of the rest of the movie. If Anderson felt (or was told) the movie was too long, then tough choices should have been made to cut or shorten other scenes to give that relationship the denouement it deserved. This is a DVD I will purchase for my personal collection. Expand
  4. TC
    Feb 7, 2008
    6
    One of the greatest movies ever until the plot starts to unravel late in its second hour. From then on, it gets worse, culminating in the most over-written and over-acted scene imaginable. Also, remember that many of these critics (like David Denby) thought "Crash" was great too, so they are not always reliable.
  5. SeanF.
    Mar 16, 2008
    4
    Over the top acting kind of disguises the fact that plot is peppered with illogical scenes which make little sense. Like having one actor playing the two Henry brothers in same character. Left me wondering for the most part if the preacher was supposed to have two personalities. The ending was cliched ('luke I'm not your father') and complete with gratuitous violence which Over the top acting kind of disguises the fact that plot is peppered with illogical scenes which make little sense. Like having one actor playing the two Henry brothers in same character. Left me wondering for the most part if the preacher was supposed to have two personalities. The ending was cliched ('luke I'm not your father') and complete with gratuitous violence which added nothing and detracting from the film itself. Sure the acting is good but that alone doesn't make a great film. Expand
  6. Chris
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    I am disappointed to see the user score of this movie to be a 7.5 I probably would have agreed witht hat score while I was watching the film. I feel that while I was watching the film, I did not appreciate. But now that it is over, and I am not watching it anymore. I appreciate it a lot more. It was an amazing film. People who didn't like it are either too old fashioned forI am disappointed to see the user score of this movie to be a 7.5 I probably would have agreed witht hat score while I was watching the film. I feel that while I was watching the film, I did not appreciate. But now that it is over, and I am not watching it anymore. I appreciate it a lot more. It was an amazing film. People who didn't like it are either too old fashioned for a movie like this or have the attention span of a 7 year old. For those of us that have no problem keeping our attention focused on this masterpiece through out its entirety (which is long compared to most movies) appreciate it. I have heard people claiming the last scene to be funny and not needed. To me, the ending scene was amazing. It was kind of funny, but only because if you were to have any other reaction to it, you might slip into a deep depression of which you might never come out of. Now, I am being slightly over the top / sarcastic but seriously. If you didnt laugh through out the entire movie, then you must not have any emotion left in you. I felt I needed to laugh at some parts to keep myself from feeling terrible. Like i said before, the ending was amazing. The now famous milkshake speech and the Title / Ending Scene correlation are something that nobody should miss out on. One of the best movies I have ever seen and as you are watching it, even if you get bored or ancy, stick it out to the end and you will thank yourself. It is truly an amazing movie. one last thought: Daniel Day Lewis is an amazing actor...... Expand
  7. LesterF.
    Mar 25, 2008
    8
    Oh for an eight and a half, but one must draw the line somewhere. An exercise in deconstructing the human psyche. Matching our innate frailty up against the dark challenge of power and money, the themes of this movie are borne of a well-worn path. Nevertheless, quick have been so many to proclaim this film great. Is it the film that is great or the performance of one man? (Lest I detract Oh for an eight and a half, but one must draw the line somewhere. An exercise in deconstructing the human psyche. Matching our innate frailty up against the dark challenge of power and money, the themes of this movie are borne of a well-worn path. Nevertheless, quick have been so many to proclaim this film great. Is it the film that is great or the performance of one man? (Lest I detract from the excellent but - let's face it - secondary performance of Paul Dano.) The fragmented storytelling here is less effective than in its contemporary: No Country for Old Men. There is no reading between the lines to be done. Almost everything is a touch heavy-handed, overwrought. But this is nitpicking. A restrained use of colours, a brave, effective and intriguing score and an awkward bent for humour make this well-worth seeing. So, the movie is without a doubt grand, but if not for the running time and 'faux-historical' context are we just looking at a slightly predictable pop-cultural diatribe. Then again, some have said similar of The Godfather. Expand
  8. AdamA.
    Mar 5, 2008
    7
    It was a very entertaining movie. The visual were amazing and the characters were deep. However, the ending leaves much to be desired. A good movie, but I agree with others when they say it is overrated.
  9. RussT.
    Mar 5, 2008
    6
    The film is inspired by Upton Sinclair
  10. PedroS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    6
    It
  11. RichardB.
    Apr 8, 2008
    9
    This movie was masterfully shot and acted, particularly by Day-Lewis and the actor who played H.W. For all those who (seem) to hate this movie because it's unpleasant, I beg you to consider how much that should affect your rating. You do not need to like a movie to rate it highly, and this is a tremendous movie. All those who think it's boring...well, what to say? You're This movie was masterfully shot and acted, particularly by Day-Lewis and the actor who played H.W. For all those who (seem) to hate this movie because it's unpleasant, I beg you to consider how much that should affect your rating. You do not need to like a movie to rate it highly, and this is a tremendous movie. All those who think it's boring...well, what to say? You're wrong. It's quite simple. Expand
  12. NolanB.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Loved this movie. Visually brilliant, paced perfectly. Wonderful, wonderful, beyond wonderful. Paul Dano, PT Anderson, Daniel Day Lewis. Great movie, wholly recommended
  13. JasonC.
    May 16, 2008
    10
    I thought Daniel day lewis was spectacular. He certainly deserved the award for best actor, and I thought this was easily the second best film of the year, behind No Country.
  14. JacobM.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Definitely a must-see. Day-Lewis explores his character yet again perfectly.
  15. Mark
    Jun 18, 2008
    4
    Only thing good about it was the acting. It was boring. I was expecting some kind of twist at the end or for the movie to rap up with some kind of moral theme, but the movie was pointless.
  16. ChrisM.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Amazing movie, script, acting. Shocking, tense, gripping..I could NOT stop watching this film.
  17. WatermelanjelloP.
    Sep 2, 2008
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, and I am not "going with the critics" as some may accuse. Sure, there it was drawn out at times and it could be dry, but this is still a great film. The cinematography was beautiful, the acting top notch, and it was ambitious to say the least.
  18. TPSK_Dual
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    On verge of souding hyperbolic, I regard "There will be blood" as unheralded modern masterpiece in tradition of John Huston and John Ford. Done in vein of a character study in proportions of Welles "Citizen Kane". DDL's performance merits engagement on its own, he functions as a Vehicle for an extremely ambitious film with an aggressively driven protagonist, Intense to a great On verge of souding hyperbolic, I regard "There will be blood" as unheralded modern masterpiece in tradition of John Huston and John Ford. Done in vein of a character study in proportions of Welles "Citizen Kane". DDL's performance merits engagement on its own, he functions as a Vehicle for an extremely ambitious film with an aggressively driven protagonist, Intense to a great degree, and yet with nuance no less important. The film is centered on the dawn of 20th century, with themes resonating to present-day. Something that works on different levels. Starting with personal & cultural decadency, the facade, and overblown- uprightness of the nation through two important factions of it. A bold framework, and a denouement that answers and questions in equal measures. Qualities akin to "Apocalypse now" in that respect. "There will be blood" carries a polemical subtext on Oil and Religion, Capitalism and Evangelism - the fraudulence of it all. In a Dickensian quality (not narrative or thematic methods), presents failed human beings. With that, the ability to "attack but not necessarily antagonize" is achieved. At least to yours truly, it is less problematic. The narrative is NOT a mere carrier for such reflections. However, by canons of film criticism, it is essential the social and political persuasions of the creation had to be dissected. The very absence of such a statement is in itself a political viewpoint. The filmmaker cannot hide. One couldn't make a film on carpentry without churning woods. It's a simple story, Oil prospector in Daniel Plainview, and a young priest, Eli, are two-fold manifestation of essentially the same. Daniel Plainview is flamed by burning desire to "hunt" for gold, by fermentation of his blood & sweat. As a characteristic baron/salesman, connives people for cheap off their land to drill oil. Eli is of ignoble ilk, connives people with false prophecies and superstition. they are both failed human beings. A film theorist once said films are moving pictures with accompanying sound. The story and themes are excuses to entice & indulge the audience. There will be blood provides enough to relish the experience. The Oil drilling has never been captured cinematically and as thrillingly as in show here. This being the primal period of drilling, the film stays true to some of the medieval methods, with stew-pans and sauce-pots. An unreliable Pumpjack made with manual shafts. There will Be casualties, but the drive of the protagonist remains unmatched for treasure. In that, it is no different to "Treasure of Sierra Madre" and many great Hollywood epics from 30-40s. There is one major set-piece where the fire gulfs from ground. Visual metaphors are aplenty in this film. Yet, such cinematic devices and symbolism are not aberrations to the narrative. A final word on DDL's performance to end this writeup. His rendition is probably the best of modern era. When we see him as aging Plainview and transformation to an Ogre, we are convinced he had gone through all the dangers and asperities of hands-on Oil drilling and failed human connection. His rough edged surface is backed with other subtleties. His reaction, introspections, and secretive quirks in private, especially to his son & faux-brother, are utter genius. This film also makes use of father-son thematics like other PTA films. Such nuance in acting. Expand
  19. JimmyJam
    Mar 3, 2009
    7
    Not as bad of a movie as some people are saying on this board, but definitely overrated. I'm not sure what exactly the critics were thinking on this film and No Country, but both movies failed to deliver. I will say that Lewis gives a phenomenal performance though.
  20. aarons
    Mar 30, 2009
    9
    I could give this a ten, but I'd have to watch it again to decide. The slow pace may turn some away, but I found that, in the end, it turned out to be a very good movie. One question, though. WHAT'S WITH THE AMERICAN RATING? How can this movie possibly be rated R?
  21. NathanK.
    Jul 30, 2009
    4
    Boring and contrived... one of the most horrid movies i've ever seen. the best part was the credits.
  22. MarvinWright
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    I don't have anything to add that hasn't been said already - this film is outstanding in every sense. . . . Something that troubles me, though, are the reactions of some of my fellow TWBB fans - Iain F and Nikko C ? . . . good grief guys - did some boorish prol torment you as children? Why the vitreol? Didn't I see you two rallying against public insensitivity on the boardI don't have anything to add that hasn't been said already - this film is outstanding in every sense. . . . Something that troubles me, though, are the reactions of some of my fellow TWBB fans - Iain F and Nikko C ? . . . good grief guys - did some boorish prol torment you as children? Why the vitreol? Didn't I see you two rallying against public insensitivity on the board for NCFOM too (an excellent film, certainly, but not as good as TWBB)? . . . I mean, just what is it that you think you're accomplishing? Shaming people for being boobs? The only thing you're accomplishing is showing people how to be dicks. Expand
  23. AricM
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    There is so much to take away from this film. But it does require a great deal of intelligence and emotional depth to appreciate. If you are an emotionally blocked person or have trouble concentrating on things - this is not a movie for you. One of the best films ever made.
  24. KidA
    Mar 14, 2010
    9
    @Robert M - "the movie failed to make me care about an ambitious, cold hearted oil tycoon" - that's the point, you moron. The film clearly isn't trying to make you care about him - he's a totally irredeemable character, and a great one at that. Also, lay off the exclamation marks. A true modern great.
  25. AaronG
    Mar 4, 2010
    9
    If you enjoy slow films that tell a story, get academy awards, and start internet memes (a la "I drink your milkshake"), this is a must-see.
  26. ChrisK.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    A jaw-dropping performance by Day-Lewis. Give him every award imaginable.
  27. DmitryP.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    "There Will Be Blood" is at least as good a movie as Shakespeare's "Richard III" is a play. Both present a monumentally monstrous, yet completely human, central character, whom you watch riveted and repulsed for the longest time before realizing you're staring at a mirror. All the performances, the cinematography, the music, the production design are superlative. The story leaps "There Will Be Blood" is at least as good a movie as Shakespeare's "Richard III" is a play. Both present a monumentally monstrous, yet completely human, central character, whom you watch riveted and repulsed for the longest time before realizing you're staring at a mirror. All the performances, the cinematography, the music, the production design are superlative. The story leaps from climax to climax, to a final scene of such jolting intensity, I couldn't breathe. People have compared this movie to the work of Stanley Kubrick, John Huston, David Lean. i think any one of them would have been proud to have made it. Expand
  28. MattH.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest movies that I have ever seen. Daniel Day-Lewis gives his best performance to date. PT Anderson's directiopn is flawles. Paul Dano shows great promise in a pivotal role in the film. Great Location, great supporting cast, and for a long movie it does keep you captivated and wanting more the whole time. I can't wait until it's released wide, so I can see it One of the greatest movies that I have ever seen. Daniel Day-Lewis gives his best performance to date. PT Anderson's directiopn is flawles. Paul Dano shows great promise in a pivotal role in the film. Great Location, great supporting cast, and for a long movie it does keep you captivated and wanting more the whole time. I can't wait until it's released wide, so I can see it again. PS Thank you to Allied ad company for the pass to the screening. Expand
  29. NormD.
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Probably the best film of 2007. (albeit another weak year---compare to 1974) Certainly the most successful in achieving its objectives thematically while enthralling and disturbing its audience. The only point holding this film from perfection is ironically its limited scope: in seeking to capture the essence of the Entreprenurial Spirit, its abundant flaws but inherent honesty, Anderson Probably the best film of 2007. (albeit another weak year---compare to 1974) Certainly the most successful in achieving its objectives thematically while enthralling and disturbing its audience. The only point holding this film from perfection is ironically its limited scope: in seeking to capture the essence of the Entreprenurial Spirit, its abundant flaws but inherent honesty, Anderson abandons a more far reaching exploration into the American psyche. That's okay, he has a career ahead to tackle everything. And with best director and best picture Oscars from this film, he should be granted a couple of opportunities. Here's hoping he casts DD Lewis in his next opuses and stays away from the John Reillys of the world. Expand
  30. ScottBarney
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    I truly enjoyed it, and thought the 2.5 hours flew by. My husband found it interesting from an engineering standpoint (learning about how oil rigs were built and laid at the turn of the 20th century) but found the film long-winded and a bit too much dialog. So some of you will like it, others won't;if you don't like films that are slow-action, you probably won't like this one.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There Will Be Blood is ferocious, and it will be championed and attacked with an equal ferocity. When the dust settles, we may look back on it as some kind of obsessed classic.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    100
    There Will Be Blood is, in fact, not a historical saga; rather, it's an absurdist, blackly comic horror film with a very idiosyncratic satanic figure at its core.
  3. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    100
    Daniel Day-Lewis stuns in Paul Thomas Anderson's saga of a soul-dead oil man.