Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 26, 2007
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1347 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,057
Mixed:
120
Negative:
170
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ScottBarneyJan 17, 2008
I truly enjoyed it, and thought the 2.5 hours flew by. My husband found it interesting from an engineering standpoint (learning about how oil rigs were built and laid at the turn of the 20th century) but found the film long-winded and a bitI truly enjoyed it, and thought the 2.5 hours flew by. My husband found it interesting from an engineering standpoint (learning about how oil rigs were built and laid at the turn of the 20th century) but found the film long-winded and a bit too much dialog. So some of you will like it, others won't;if you don't like films that are slow-action, you probably won't like this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RVJan 18, 2008
After reading the review of the reviews of this movie I was immediately amazed! Never have I been moved by such poignant criticism of criticism. Seeming to take the term "Metacritic" in an unexpectedly creative direction, Joel K turns theAfter reading the review of the reviews of this movie I was immediately amazed! Never have I been moved by such poignant criticism of criticism. Seeming to take the term "Metacritic" in an unexpectedly creative direction, Joel K turns the lens of the popular website's comment section back in on itself, describing the reviews as "patheitc." Also stating, "Was ready to see this film," Joel K poses as an individual none to familiar with proofreading or personal pronouns in a successful effort to skewer those without such acute senses of critical irony. He gets a ten! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryB.Jan 19, 2008
There Will Be Blood is one of the greatest films made in many years. It has grabbed me and will not let go. It was a pleasure reading the critics insightful reviews. I have seen it twice in three days and will be seeing it again very soon There Will Be Blood is one of the greatest films made in many years. It has grabbed me and will not let go. It was a pleasure reading the critics insightful reviews. I have seen it twice in three days and will be seeing it again very soon and again and again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianJan 19, 2008
I'm still trying to figure out what the film was actually about. None of you self-aggrandizing 'critics' are helping.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChrisJan 21, 2008
This film has a lot going for; a high quality writer/director, a great cast, and an excellent score. Sadly, it does not amount to much. The movie moves slowly and is never very captivating. Day-Lewis gives a great performance at the This film has a lot going for; a high quality writer/director, a great cast, and an excellent score. Sadly, it does not amount to much. The movie moves slowly and is never very captivating. Day-Lewis gives a great performance at the beginning and end of the film, however, he loses focus during the middle. Paul Dano is fantastic should garner some Academy consideration. I wish this film had been more interesting, but it just a dull period piece. The film does have some interesting themes such as religion and greed, but leaves many questions unanswered. Sadly, this is a 2 hour 40 minute hike that leaves you unfulfilled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregTJan 20, 2008
Wow... Simply brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulLJan 21, 2008
Oscar nomination caliber cinematography and acting by Daniel Day Lewis. Good direction by PTA and Paul Dano surprised on the upside at times. The movie is a bit long and is not "Godfather" great but serious movie viewers may want to see it Oscar nomination caliber cinematography and acting by Daniel Day Lewis. Good direction by PTA and Paul Dano surprised on the upside at times. The movie is a bit long and is not "Godfather" great but serious movie viewers may want to see it on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DylanP.Jan 20, 2008
I'm no movie critic (thank god ;) ), but the moview was thought provoking. Maybe it was more enjoyable because I watched it under the influence of some controlled substances (haha), but it did raise some interesting questions. Also, it I'm no movie critic (thank god ;) ), but the moview was thought provoking. Maybe it was more enjoyable because I watched it under the influence of some controlled substances (haha), but it did raise some interesting questions. Also, it does seem a little slow, but if you're willing to ride it out it has a good flow to it in a completely chaotic and impossible-to-follow kind of way. I liked it (as simple as I can get). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jan 23, 2008
P.T. Anderson has had one dynamite career thus far
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffJohnsonJan 27, 2008
This impressive film is an intelligent treatment of a time when hard physical work, relentless business acumen and pure greed were what got the oil industry off the ground in its early days. The movie is a bit confusing with regard to someThis impressive film is an intelligent treatment of a time when hard physical work, relentless business acumen and pure greed were what got the oil industry off the ground in its early days. The movie is a bit confusing with regard to some characters (Paul and Eli) and the passage of time. Day-Lewis is, as usual, amazing; all of the actors are very good. The movie is beautiful to watch. The story, however, moves a unevenly and takes an abrupt turn at the last 20 minutes when it jumps ahead many years and leaves the viewer guessing about a number of things. Overall, it's a fine, entertaining and thoughtful movie, but not clearly the best movie of the year, in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustB.Jan 28, 2008
From Day-Lewis, who has been garnering universal acclaim for this movie for a reason; to Paul Dano, who also impresses beyond all expectations; to the direction, which feels almost Kubrickian it, along with the film's style, is that From Day-Lewis, who has been garnering universal acclaim for this movie for a reason; to Paul Dano, who also impresses beyond all expectations; to the direction, which feels almost Kubrickian it, along with the film's style, is that good; to the music, which is pulse-pounding and amazing; There Will Be Blood is an endeavor in superior filmmaking and storytelling, the likes of which no one should miss. I see a comment by a "joe k." who thinks the critics praising this film have severely lost touch with the movie-going public. And yet his review is nothing but quoting them and somehow trying to disprove (and commenting on someone's lack of punctuation. Yes, we get it, commas make you intellectually superior) their praise. Ah yes, and then he made a wonderful comparison to the human body regarding this film in an attempt to be clever. And yet here I am, an average movie-goer, and I rate this movie a 10/10. Perhaps some people just don't have an appreciation of cinema anymore. Real shame. Go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Jan 28, 2008
I'm sorry if your attention span is that of a chimp, because this is one of the most well written and cleverly crafted movies I've seen in a long time. The acting alone could make this movie great, but its the character development I'm sorry if your attention span is that of a chimp, because this is one of the most well written and cleverly crafted movies I've seen in a long time. The acting alone could make this movie great, but its the character development and the dramatic turning points in the story that make this movie great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCJan 30, 2008
There Will Be Blood is easily the greatest disaster film ever made. Plainview is less a man than he is a volcano, that we watch percolate for nearly 2.5 hours before it explodes in the appropriate climax the film had been working towards theThere Will Be Blood is easily the greatest disaster film ever made. Plainview is less a man than he is a volcano, that we watch percolate for nearly 2.5 hours before it explodes in the appropriate climax the film had been working towards the entire time. Unlike, your typical piece of crap disaster film there is no Brosnan running around to save the women and children...the disaster wins! Plainview destroys all in his path, sucking them dry of their humanity (both lit and figuratively) as he did the earth of its oil. No one is spared Plainview's wrath that was brought to life be an excellent performance from Daniel Day Lewis.
The film's score is one of the best in recent memory as it manages to be both Kubrickian and Hitchockian. The landscaping shots and set-pieces like the oil well catching fire, were simply perfect. Perhaps people just "want to be different" or do not like Kubrick either, but There Will Be Blood is not only the best film of 2007, but also the best of the decade thus far.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OshiA.Jan 30, 2008
May be slightly better than No Country for Old Men, but only due to its relevance in current culture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
syzygyJan 5, 2008
This is a performance driven pseudo-epic. The plot takes some wild, feverish turns in adapting one of upton sinclair's more rich-baiting novels. there is little of the crusader spirit in the either work, certainly nothing of the good or This is a performance driven pseudo-epic. The plot takes some wild, feverish turns in adapting one of upton sinclair's more rich-baiting novels. there is little of the crusader spirit in the either work, certainly nothing of the good or relishes sinclair's primitive old world socialism and does his best with daniel day-lewis to scream that across the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErichH-LJan 5, 2008
Forgive my plain spoken words: a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
roberti.Jan 5, 2008
The most powerful portrait of evil I've ever seen, without any reasons why.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DNJan 5, 2008
Awesome!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickSJan 6, 2008
saw this when it came out. an amazing film. the best film to come out in the last five years. i was torn between this and No Country For Old Men, but Day-Lewis won me over. a true good for sake American epic. p.t.anderson is a genius hands saw this when it came out. an amazing film. the best film to come out in the last five years. i was torn between this and No Country For Old Men, but Day-Lewis won me over. a true good for sake American epic. p.t.anderson is a genius hands down. Warning: if you are an idiot and like to ask questions while watching a movie, then this is not for you. sad really when people cant fallow coherent storytelling. if this film is too advanced for those of whom i speak of, then please feel free to exchange your tickets for National Treasure 2 or something along the same lines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
THATMOVIEGUYJan 6, 2008
This movie has the perfection of Kubrick. That may say it all right there, but when you combine that concept with a PT Anderson, that has come out of hibernation, more equipped and clever than ever before (which is saying A LOT), you have a This movie has the perfection of Kubrick. That may say it all right there, but when you combine that concept with a PT Anderson, that has come out of hibernation, more equipped and clever than ever before (which is saying A LOT), you have a true Masterpiece on your hands. Choosing Jonny Greenwood's music for the score was pure genius. Having said in an interview with Henry Rollins while TWBB was still in pre-production, that he was imagining violent Polish composer Penderecki's music along the script, commissioning Greenwood is 2 steps beyond that. NOT b/c he's melody maker of Radiohead, but b/c his own love for atonal modern classical, and recent ventures in this (the pieces he's written and performed recently for the BBC), is the true marraige needed to take this film into the realm of classics (such as A Clockwork Orange and Wendy Carlos' revolutionary use of the Mood Synthesizer). Daniel Day Lewis give one of the greatest performances of our time. The character is so deep and mysterious, yet so uncompromisingly real, his role in this movie truly embodies how much an actor really can do as an artist in this age of movies, centered more around flashy blahblahblah and a "clever" script at best. There Will Be Blood is NOT a "clever movie" ("Memento", "Fight Club", "Magnolia"). It isn't even a breakthrough return to form movie ("No Country for Old Men"). It's a timeless movie, that has as much depth as it does immediate, if mainly aesthetic, satisfaction. It's not a David Lynch type movie, for film snobs only, like myself. It holds a strong narrative that I'm confidant would connect to the widest of audiences. There are so many nuances to this movie that I seem to realize day after day, after having seen it new things. I have no idea when the last time THAT happened to me after seeing a movie. If ever... There Will Be Blood, grabs my boyish love for the film art form, and carries me away into realms of divine bliss. Bliss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EZimmJan 7, 2008
simply a fantastic movie. no critics are wrong in declaring this the year's best film. Day-Lewis is a modern marvel. He embodies his character. the score by Greenwood is exceptional. everything about this movie is great. for people simply a fantastic movie. no critics are wrong in declaring this the year's best film. Day-Lewis is a modern marvel. He embodies his character. the score by Greenwood is exceptional. everything about this movie is great. for people saying it's boring and doesnt go anywhere....jesus, you need to get your head out of the sand. if you want formulaic drivel you might want to apply for a job with Disney. save me all the high-brow language too. it's unnecessary...if you want to feel smart you can continue reading the dictionary for fun to 4th graders Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BzzD.Jan 7, 2008
For all the good reasons shared by others, this is what a movie should be. I'm mainly writing to get a rating in, and to comment on people such as Glen C.'s "reviews": Shame on you, you pretentious fop, for writing a sour, niggling For all the good reasons shared by others, this is what a movie should be. I'm mainly writing to get a rating in, and to comment on people such as Glen C.'s "reviews": Shame on you, you pretentious fop, for writing a sour, niggling review that spoils a major plot twist for all who are kind enough to take the time to read your words. "This commentator" wonders what "pedestrian mainstream" you barely flopped out of, as your "hollow posturing" indicates an overwrought effete snob at work. To not even respect that you may ruin something for someone else is the lowest form of "shallow meditation". Glen C. is a shameful spoiler! This movie is great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
adamwJan 7, 2008
A more appropriate title would be "There Won't be a Plot". It's long and boring and I still can't figure out why it's called what it is. Critics are often fooled by long movies with good acting, but in the end, it's A more appropriate title would be "There Won't be a Plot". It's long and boring and I still can't figure out why it's called what it is. Critics are often fooled by long movies with good acting, but in the end, it's just long, boring, and pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJan 9, 2008
Fantastic film! The performance from Daniel Day-Lewis may be his best ever, possibly even better than My Left Foot. I'm not sure how people can rate this a zero. It deserves every award it is nominated for and wins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexandraJan 9, 2008
Exceptional character study. Exceptional score. Exceptional acting. Daniel Day Lewis is my hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaborA.Jan 9, 2008
A flawed masterpiece. So much so that further description of this film is challenging. It evokes similar feelings in me as Heart of Darkness or a good McCarthy novel where the story is not all that engrossing but the characters, themes, and A flawed masterpiece. So much so that further description of this film is challenging. It evokes similar feelings in me as Heart of Darkness or a good McCarthy novel where the story is not all that engrossing but the characters, themes, and the craft are so perfect that its still utterly captivating. I'm still convinced the ending was problematic for PT with numerous rewrites. It draws the correct conclusion, terminates the characters in the right place, but could have been crafted more eloquently. This may not be the most entertaining movie of the year, but its the most artistically impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorS.Feb 11, 2008
Some of the reviews missed the point of the movie completely. Pretty much it is a story of greed and what people do under the influence of money. Nobody is a good person who has it. Is this concept so hard to understand? It was a beautiful, Some of the reviews missed the point of the movie completely. Pretty much it is a story of greed and what people do under the influence of money. Nobody is a good person who has it. Is this concept so hard to understand? It was a beautiful, powerful movie with great performances and direction all around. The music is different and adds a layer of insanity to every scene. No body is a good guy and that can let the people who like bullshit movies down. But this is a study of a man who loses sight of everything-it's just a shame that people can't understand it. What else needs to be addressed? It's not a story of oil, it's the story of the man behind the oil and the madness he has. Everyone has some kind madness and that was what I got from the movie. One thing is true I guess, you either love it or hate it but how the hell can anyone hate such a powerful movie?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarryHFeb 1, 2008
Great gritty movie about greed and self-righteousness. Anderson, Lewis and the film are all worthy of the Oscar. As with all of Anderson's movies, this is definitely not a film for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredM.Feb 11, 2008
A brilliant minimalist yet epic portrait of the oil industry's birth in the American West at the turn of the 20th century. Daniel Day-Lewis' unforgettable, riveting performance as an obsessed, greedy, cunning, cruel misanthrope A brilliant minimalist yet epic portrait of the oil industry's birth in the American West at the turn of the 20th century. Daniel Day-Lewis' unforgettable, riveting performance as an obsessed, greedy, cunning, cruel misanthrope reveals the darkest aspects of capitalism. Paul Dano also gives an excellent performance as the hypocritical and deluded preacher who stands in the way of the oilman. Sweeping vistas, slow tempos, intimate and intense moments give a timeless feel to this American masterpiece. A classic for the ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyEFeb 12, 2008
I'm not going to waste my time in explaining how well this movie was done because it was perfect in every way. People who gave this movie a 0 obviously don't have the brain capacity to absorb such a powerful movie about life. Im I'm not going to waste my time in explaining how well this movie was done because it was perfect in every way. People who gave this movie a 0 obviously don't have the brain capacity to absorb such a powerful movie about life. Im sure those people most likely gave biodome a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful