User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1166 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KaseyS
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    I still can't get it out of my mind. Horrifying. Excellent. I praise the return of silence in movies. It makes the sparse dialogue that much more meaningful.
  2. GlennC
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    Audrey, you are a complete moron. This film was the best of the year. Go see a terrible film like P.S. I love you.
  3. Toddb
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I would let day-lewis sleep with my wife just to raise his offspring. thats all that needs to be said he's a genius and you people who think this movie is boring or over hyped, go watch your saw movies and shut the hell up. your uncultured and useless to society.
  4. noelw
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    best american movie since taking of pelham 123
  5. BlakeJ
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    The new American epic. Daniel Plainview will resonate forever as a man trying to accomplish the American Dream. Day-Lewis' performance is mesmerizing. In every frame he IS Plainview. From the first scene you know you're dealing with a Goliath. Paul Dano will surely move from this movie and become one of the next big stars, I predict an Oscar in his future. Paul Thomas Anderson The new American epic. Daniel Plainview will resonate forever as a man trying to accomplish the American Dream. Day-Lewis' performance is mesmerizing. In every frame he IS Plainview. From the first scene you know you're dealing with a Goliath. Paul Dano will surely move from this movie and become one of the next big stars, I predict an Oscar in his future. Paul Thomas Anderson crafts the perfect story...everything circling his main character...The whole time I was trying to figure out who the antagonist was...but then I realized Plainview is his own protagonist and antagonist...he is ultimately the one at fault for his downfall, a downfall not dissimilar to that of Scarface. Expand
  6. Zaj
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Audrey, the deal is your ignorance. Do you eat feces daily? Because clearly you have an appetite for shit.
  7. LeslieW.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    The best film I've seen in years! The score was wonderfully juxtaposed against the story. Day-Lewis performance was the best of his career, wicked and frightening, passionately paranoid, completely, madly driven! Paul Dano is incredible. I can't wait to see it again.
  8. DavidS.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    one of the few films where i did not feel a minute was self-indulgent
  9. BiilyM
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    An unparalleled examination of one man's conflict with his soul: on the one hand Daniel Plainview is a staunch capitalist-man made, profoundly ambitious and unemotional in business; on the other a self-stated aspiring "family man" desperate for authentic contact with trustworthy individuals. The conflict that arises, coupled with an eerily affecting Paul Dano as a staunch opportunist An unparalleled examination of one man's conflict with his soul: on the one hand Daniel Plainview is a staunch capitalist-man made, profoundly ambitious and unemotional in business; on the other a self-stated aspiring "family man" desperate for authentic contact with trustworthy individuals. The conflict that arises, coupled with an eerily affecting Paul Dano as a staunch opportunist veiled by his holy mania, is classic fodder for epic film-making, and PTA-as usual-succeeds in grand fashion. Expand
  10. EliS.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    This should definitely win Best Picture. Daniel Day Lewis has the performance of the year, and the underrated supporting work by Paul Dano as an evangelical preacher was snubbed for Best Supporting Actor. The haunting theme still resonates, the score is fantastic, it never gets boring and it's as deliciously, scarily dark as Plainview's oil wells.
  11. MichaelR.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    There were so many aspects of that movie that scared the s**t out of me. It had the most realistic and wrathful acting that would rock many film watchers to their core. It was a fantastic movie, that I'm going wait to see again.
  12. IanS-H
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    I honestly can't remember the last time I've been so giddy and satisfied after seeing a movie. Music/Cinematography/Acting... all stunning. Stop reading review and go see it. It's pretty obvious by this point (A metacritic 92!!) that it's worth seeing.
  13. NolanB.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Loved this movie. Visually brilliant, paced perfectly. Wonderful, wonderful, beyond wonderful. Paul Dano, PT Anderson, Daniel Day Lewis. Great movie, wholly recommended
  14. JasonC.
    May 16, 2008
    10
    I thought Daniel day lewis was spectacular. He certainly deserved the award for best actor, and I thought this was easily the second best film of the year, behind No Country.
  15. JacobM.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Definitely a must-see. Day-Lewis explores his character yet again perfectly.
  16. MarvinWright
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    I don't have anything to add that hasn't been said already - this film is outstanding in every sense. . . . Something that troubles me, though, are the reactions of some of my fellow TWBB fans - Iain F and Nikko C ? . . . good grief guys - did some boorish prol torment you as children? Why the vitreol? Didn't I see you two rallying against public insensitivity on the boardI don't have anything to add that hasn't been said already - this film is outstanding in every sense. . . . Something that troubles me, though, are the reactions of some of my fellow TWBB fans - Iain F and Nikko C ? . . . good grief guys - did some boorish prol torment you as children? Why the vitreol? Didn't I see you two rallying against public insensitivity on the board for NCFOM too (an excellent film, certainly, but not as good as TWBB)? . . . I mean, just what is it that you think you're accomplishing? Shaming people for being boobs? The only thing you're accomplishing is showing people how to be dicks. Expand
  17. AricM
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    There is so much to take away from this film. But it does require a great deal of intelligence and emotional depth to appreciate. If you are an emotionally blocked person or have trouble concentrating on things - this is not a movie for you. One of the best films ever made.
  18. ChrisK.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    A jaw-dropping performance by Day-Lewis. Give him every award imaginable.
  19. DmitryP.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    "There Will Be Blood" is at least as good a movie as Shakespeare's "Richard III" is a play. Both present a monumentally monstrous, yet completely human, central character, whom you watch riveted and repulsed for the longest time before realizing you're staring at a mirror. All the performances, the cinematography, the music, the production design are superlative. The story leaps "There Will Be Blood" is at least as good a movie as Shakespeare's "Richard III" is a play. Both present a monumentally monstrous, yet completely human, central character, whom you watch riveted and repulsed for the longest time before realizing you're staring at a mirror. All the performances, the cinematography, the music, the production design are superlative. The story leaps from climax to climax, to a final scene of such jolting intensity, I couldn't breathe. People have compared this movie to the work of Stanley Kubrick, John Huston, David Lean. i think any one of them would have been proud to have made it. Expand
  20. MattH.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest movies that I have ever seen. Daniel Day-Lewis gives his best performance to date. PT Anderson's directiopn is flawles. Paul Dano shows great promise in a pivotal role in the film. Great Location, great supporting cast, and for a long movie it does keep you captivated and wanting more the whole time. I can't wait until it's released wide, so I can see it One of the greatest movies that I have ever seen. Daniel Day-Lewis gives his best performance to date. PT Anderson's directiopn is flawles. Paul Dano shows great promise in a pivotal role in the film. Great Location, great supporting cast, and for a long movie it does keep you captivated and wanting more the whole time. I can't wait until it's released wide, so I can see it again. PS Thank you to Allied ad company for the pass to the screening. Expand
  21. ScottBarney
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    I truly enjoyed it, and thought the 2.5 hours flew by. My husband found it interesting from an engineering standpoint (learning about how oil rigs were built and laid at the turn of the 20th century) but found the film long-winded and a bit too much dialog. So some of you will like it, others won't;if you don't like films that are slow-action, you probably won't like this one.
  22. RV
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    After reading the review of the reviews of this movie I was immediately amazed! Never have I been moved by such poignant criticism of criticism. Seeming to take the term "Metacritic" in an unexpectedly creative direction, Joel K turns the lens of the popular website's comment section back in on itself, describing the reviews as "patheitc." Also stating, "Was ready to see this film,"After reading the review of the reviews of this movie I was immediately amazed! Never have I been moved by such poignant criticism of criticism. Seeming to take the term "Metacritic" in an unexpectedly creative direction, Joel K turns the lens of the popular website's comment section back in on itself, describing the reviews as "patheitc." Also stating, "Was ready to see this film," Joel K poses as an individual none to familiar with proofreading or personal pronouns in a successful effort to skewer those without such acute senses of critical irony. He gets a ten! Expand
  23. GaryB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    There Will Be Blood is one of the greatest films made in many years. It has grabbed me and will not let go. It was a pleasure reading the critics insightful reviews. I have seen it twice in three days and will be seeing it again very soon and again and again.
  24. GregT
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Wow... Simply brilliant
  25. NickA.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    P.T. Anderson has had one dynamite career thus far
  26. DustB.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    From Day-Lewis, who has been garnering universal acclaim for this movie for a reason; to Paul Dano, who also impresses beyond all expectations; to the direction, which feels almost Kubrickian it, along with the film's style, is that good; to the music, which is pulse-pounding and amazing; There Will Be Blood is an endeavor in superior filmmaking and storytelling, the likes of which From Day-Lewis, who has been garnering universal acclaim for this movie for a reason; to Paul Dano, who also impresses beyond all expectations; to the direction, which feels almost Kubrickian it, along with the film's style, is that good; to the music, which is pulse-pounding and amazing; There Will Be Blood is an endeavor in superior filmmaking and storytelling, the likes of which no one should miss. I see a comment by a "joe k." who thinks the critics praising this film have severely lost touch with the movie-going public. And yet his review is nothing but quoting them and somehow trying to disprove (and commenting on someone's lack of punctuation. Yes, we get it, commas make you intellectually superior) their praise. Ah yes, and then he made a wonderful comparison to the human body regarding this film in an attempt to be clever. And yet here I am, an average movie-goer, and I rate this movie a 10/10. Perhaps some people just don't have an appreciation of cinema anymore. Real shame. Go see this movie. Expand
  27. MikeW.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    I'm sorry if your attention span is that of a chimp, because this is one of the most well written and cleverly crafted movies I've seen in a long time. The acting alone could make this movie great, but its the character development and the dramatic turning points in the story that make this movie great.
  28. AnonymousMC
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    There Will Be Blood is easily the greatest disaster film ever made. Plainview is less a man than he is a volcano, that we watch percolate for nearly 2.5 hours before it explodes in the appropriate climax the film had been working towards the entire time. Unlike, your typical piece of crap disaster film there is no Brosnan running around to save the women and children...the disaster wins!There Will Be Blood is easily the greatest disaster film ever made. Plainview is less a man than he is a volcano, that we watch percolate for nearly 2.5 hours before it explodes in the appropriate climax the film had been working towards the entire time. Unlike, your typical piece of crap disaster film there is no Brosnan running around to save the women and children...the disaster wins! Plainview destroys all in his path, sucking them dry of their humanity (both lit and figuratively) as he did the earth of its oil. No one is spared Plainview's wrath that was brought to life be an excellent performance from Daniel Day Lewis.
    The film's score is one of the best in recent memory as it manages to be both Kubrickian and Hitchockian. The landscaping shots and set-pieces like the oil well catching fire, were simply perfect. Perhaps people just "want to be different" or do not like Kubrick either, but There Will Be Blood is not only the best film of 2007, but also the best of the decade thus far.
    Expand
  29. OshiA.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    May be slightly better than No Country for Old Men, but only due to its relevance in current culture.
  30. ErichH-L
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Forgive my plain spoken words: a masterpiece.
  31. DN
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Awesome!!!
  32. NickS
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    saw this when it came out. an amazing film. the best film to come out in the last five years. i was torn between this and No Country For Old Men, but Day-Lewis won me over. a true good for sake American epic. p.t.anderson is a genius hands down. Warning: if you are an idiot and like to ask questions while watching a movie, then this is not for you. sad really when people cant fallow saw this when it came out. an amazing film. the best film to come out in the last five years. i was torn between this and No Country For Old Men, but Day-Lewis won me over. a true good for sake American epic. p.t.anderson is a genius hands down. Warning: if you are an idiot and like to ask questions while watching a movie, then this is not for you. sad really when people cant fallow coherent storytelling. if this film is too advanced for those of whom i speak of, then please feel free to exchange your tickets for National Treasure 2 or something along the same lines. Expand
  33. THATMOVIEGUY
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    This movie has the perfection of Kubrick. That may say it all right there, but when you combine that concept with a PT Anderson, that has come out of hibernation, more equipped and clever than ever before (which is saying A LOT), you have a true Masterpiece on your hands. Choosing Jonny Greenwood's music for the score was pure genius. Having said in an interview with Henry Rollins This movie has the perfection of Kubrick. That may say it all right there, but when you combine that concept with a PT Anderson, that has come out of hibernation, more equipped and clever than ever before (which is saying A LOT), you have a true Masterpiece on your hands. Choosing Jonny Greenwood's music for the score was pure genius. Having said in an interview with Henry Rollins while TWBB was still in pre-production, that he was imagining violent Polish composer Penderecki's music along the script, commissioning Greenwood is 2 steps beyond that. NOT b/c he's melody maker of Radiohead, but b/c his own love for atonal modern classical, and recent ventures in this (the pieces he's written and performed recently for the BBC), is the true marraige needed to take this film into the realm of classics (such as A Clockwork Orange and Wendy Carlos' revolutionary use of the Mood Synthesizer). Daniel Day Lewis give one of the greatest performances of our time. The character is so deep and mysterious, yet so uncompromisingly real, his role in this movie truly embodies how much an actor really can do as an artist in this age of movies, centered more around flashy blahblahblah and a "clever" script at best. There Will Be Blood is NOT a "clever movie" ("Memento", "Fight Club", "Magnolia"). It isn't even a breakthrough return to form movie ("No Country for Old Men"). It's a timeless movie, that has as much depth as it does immediate, if mainly aesthetic, satisfaction. It's not a David Lynch type movie, for film snobs only, like myself. It holds a strong narrative that I'm confidant would connect to the widest of audiences. There are so many nuances to this movie that I seem to realize day after day, after having seen it new things. I have no idea when the last time THAT happened to me after seeing a movie. If ever... There Will Be Blood, grabs my boyish love for the film art form, and carries me away into realms of divine bliss. Bliss. Expand
  34. EZimm
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    simply a fantastic movie. no critics are wrong in declaring this the year's best film. Day-Lewis is a modern marvel. He embodies his character. the score by Greenwood is exceptional. everything about this movie is great. for people saying it's boring and doesnt go anywhere....jesus, you need to get your head out of the sand. if you want formulaic drivel you might want to apply simply a fantastic movie. no critics are wrong in declaring this the year's best film. Day-Lewis is a modern marvel. He embodies his character. the score by Greenwood is exceptional. everything about this movie is great. for people saying it's boring and doesnt go anywhere....jesus, you need to get your head out of the sand. if you want formulaic drivel you might want to apply for a job with Disney. save me all the high-brow language too. it's unnecessary...if you want to feel smart you can continue reading the dictionary for fun to 4th graders Expand
  35. BzzD.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    For all the good reasons shared by others, this is what a movie should be. I'm mainly writing to get a rating in, and to comment on people such as Glen C.'s "reviews": Shame on you, you pretentious fop, for writing a sour, niggling review that spoils a major plot twist for all who are kind enough to take the time to read your words. "This commentator" wonders what "pedestrian For all the good reasons shared by others, this is what a movie should be. I'm mainly writing to get a rating in, and to comment on people such as Glen C.'s "reviews": Shame on you, you pretentious fop, for writing a sour, niggling review that spoils a major plot twist for all who are kind enough to take the time to read your words. "This commentator" wonders what "pedestrian mainstream" you barely flopped out of, as your "hollow posturing" indicates an overwrought effete snob at work. To not even respect that you may ruin something for someone else is the lowest form of "shallow meditation". Glen C. is a shameful spoiler! This movie is great! Expand
  36. Dave
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Fantastic film! The performance from Daniel Day-Lewis may be his best ever, possibly even better than My Left Foot. I'm not sure how people can rate this a zero. It deserves every award it is nominated for and wins.
  37. Alexandra
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Exceptional character study. Exceptional score. Exceptional acting. Daniel Day Lewis is my hero.
  38. TrevorS.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    Some of the reviews missed the point of the movie completely. Pretty much it is a story of greed and what people do under the influence of money. Nobody is a good person who has it. Is this concept so hard to understand? It was a beautiful, powerful movie with great performances and direction all around. The music is different and adds a layer of insanity to every scene. No body is a good Some of the reviews missed the point of the movie completely. Pretty much it is a story of greed and what people do under the influence of money. Nobody is a good person who has it. Is this concept so hard to understand? It was a beautiful, powerful movie with great performances and direction all around. The music is different and adds a layer of insanity to every scene. No body is a good guy and that can let the people who like bullshit movies down. But this is a study of a man who loses sight of everything-it's just a shame that people can't understand it. What else needs to be addressed? It's not a story of oil, it's the story of the man behind the oil and the madness he has. Everyone has some kind madness and that was what I got from the movie. One thing is true I guess, you either love it or hate it but how the hell can anyone hate such a powerful movie?! Expand
  39. FredM.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    A brilliant minimalist yet epic portrait of the oil industry's birth in the American West at the turn of the 20th century. Daniel Day-Lewis' unforgettable, riveting performance as an obsessed, greedy, cunning, cruel misanthrope reveals the darkest aspects of capitalism. Paul Dano also gives an excellent performance as the hypocritical and deluded preacher who stands in the way A brilliant minimalist yet epic portrait of the oil industry's birth in the American West at the turn of the 20th century. Daniel Day-Lewis' unforgettable, riveting performance as an obsessed, greedy, cunning, cruel misanthrope reveals the darkest aspects of capitalism. Paul Dano also gives an excellent performance as the hypocritical and deluded preacher who stands in the way of the oilman. Sweeping vistas, slow tempos, intimate and intense moments give a timeless feel to this American masterpiece. A classic for the ages. Expand
  40. BobbyE
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    I'm not going to waste my time in explaining how well this movie was done because it was perfect in every way. People who gave this movie a 0 obviously don't have the brain capacity to absorb such a powerful movie about life. Im sure those people most likely gave biodome a 10.
  41. KentE.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Great movie. This is the best film I have seen this year. It is good in a creepy way. I heard an older lady behind me at the theatre say that this movie is the most depressing movie she has ever seen, but she loved it. This movie will make you lose faith in the human race. Greed and money you would hope wouldn't drive people to do these things. But it does. Daniel Day Lewis is Great movie. This is the best film I have seen this year. It is good in a creepy way. I heard an older lady behind me at the theatre say that this movie is the most depressing movie she has ever seen, but she loved it. This movie will make you lose faith in the human race. Greed and money you would hope wouldn't drive people to do these things. But it does. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing, showing why he is one of the best actors in the business. What shouldn't be lost is Paul Dano's performance as Eli Sunday the crazy preacher who wants to use Daniel to make money for his church. The movies creepy music fits the story well. The movie is long, so if you cant sit through long movies then don't see this. But even though it is long it is done so well it doesn't seem like it is that long of a movie. At the end of the movie I wanted it to keep going I was so enthralled. Definitely a don't miss. Expand
  42. JeffN.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I can see why some people wouldn't like it, but I was riveted the entire time thanks to Day-Lewis. I won't go so far as to say it was the greatest performance by a lead actor that I've ever seen, but I can't think of one that I can definitively say was better. I thought everything about it was perfect, and I This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I can see why some people wouldn't like it, but I was riveted the entire time thanks to Day-Lewis. I won't go so far as to say it was the greatest performance by a lead actor that I've ever seen, but I can't think of one that I can definitively say was better. I thought everything about it was perfect, and I found myself smiling more and more as Plainview become more paranoid and disillusioned. This is a movie that 20, 30 years from now people will look back on and say, "One for the ages." Expand
  43. NicholsV.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    like, people giving zeros -- or twos, threes -- should, before pointing out problems with the 'plot' or whatever, think of something called 'study of character' -- of which the film is all about. and a film, a 'study of character' as it seems, may be boring and yet be great -- just as someone may say that Proust's work is a great humansocial account and like, people giving zeros -- or twos, threes -- should, before pointing out problems with the 'plot' or whatever, think of something called 'study of character' -- of which the film is all about. and a film, a 'study of character' as it seems, may be boring and yet be great -- just as someone may say that Proust's work is a great humansocial account and yet somewhat tiresome*.** *yes, a point that would take at least a two-page essay. **like, have you all seen tarkovsky's work? Expand
  44. PraC.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    Paul Thomas Anderson is the best director we have, and Daniel Day Lewis may well prove to be the best actor of all time. This film is a harrowing, illuminating journey that paints a bleaker, more honest picture of the human condition than any film I have ever seen. Johnny Greenwood's score cannot be ignored either; it was a perfect match for a near-perfect film.
  45. davidstevens
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    A magisterial work. Fulfilling the promise PT Anderson showed with the likes of Magnolia, the film is both an overwheling experience and a provocative comment on American capitalism, religion and the darkness of the human soul. Comaprisons wth Citizen Kane are misleading. In fact, one of Anderson's great achievements is not following the familiar tragic trajectory of that film andA magisterial work. Fulfilling the promise PT Anderson showed with the likes of Magnolia, the film is both an overwheling experience and a provocative comment on American capitalism, religion and the darkness of the human soul. Comaprisons wth Citizen Kane are misleading. In fact, one of Anderson's great achievements is not following the familiar tragic trajectory of that film and serving up something altogether more disturbing. A true original. Expand
  46. KieranL.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    I adored it: in fact, it blew my mind! I found it utterly original, a tad bonkers, and completely mesmerising
  47. ShaneM.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    This is a masterpiece of artistic and cinematic excellence. By combining realism and cinematic grandiose, P.T. Anderson has created a modern day epic that transcends time. Day-Lewis solidifies his acting supremacy in a role that is both satanic and also all to familiar. Forget these raters who consider the film pretentious. How can a film be pretentious if it accomplishes what it sets out This is a masterpiece of artistic and cinematic excellence. By combining realism and cinematic grandiose, P.T. Anderson has created a modern day epic that transcends time. Day-Lewis solidifies his acting supremacy in a role that is both satanic and also all to familiar. Forget these raters who consider the film pretentious. How can a film be pretentious if it accomplishes what it sets out to do. There Will Be Blood is a provocative, visceral cinematic experience well worth the two and a half hour running time. Expand
  48. HalW
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    My living hell would be to spend time with all the vapid douchebags who gave this movie low scores here. You didn't get the movie -- fine. But clearly, you have missed something big here. So keep your inane pronouncements about the plot, acting and soundtrack to yourselves, and go away and watch your re-runs of Friends. And remember to crank up the Nickelback.
  49. EwanR.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    Daniel Day Lewis is godly in this tour de force.
  50. ChrisB
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Superb and most definitely worthy of high praise. Rarely does a film come along and keep you thinking and pondering over the outcome and characters for long afterwards. A thinking person's movie most definitely. To those who have suggested it is boring and dull, I pity you. Inside this film you should find a great plot, great actors and characters and stunning cinematography and aSuperb and most definitely worthy of high praise. Rarely does a film come along and keep you thinking and pondering over the outcome and characters for long afterwards. A thinking person's movie most definitely. To those who have suggested it is boring and dull, I pity you. Inside this film you should find a great plot, great actors and characters and stunning cinematography and a mesmerizing screenplay. What more could anyone ask for? You have to have the right mindset for this film and obviously many people don't - which is why this film isn't a box office smash and wouldn't be the same if it was. People would rather stick to their Jumpers and Saw's and whatever else. For those of us in to truly great films, look no further. A classic Expand
  51. DylanM.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    one of the greatest films ever made. I've seen it three times now and i still cannot get it out of my head. this should have won best picture, but i suppose the almost as equally brilliant No Country will suffice.
  52. DanO
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    One of the best movies of the last few years, in no way is it dull, boring or overrated. It is a absolute masterpiece and anyone who says it isn't should take a trip to the mental asylum.
  53. JackC.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    A brilliant movie. A masterpiece. Iconic.
  54. JustinC.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    The only reason I made this is to tell Adam A. that he is an idiot and obviously wouldn't know a good movie if slapped him in the face, much like I wanna do for his idiotic review. Same for you Gloria. You should both start a club for people who have no business giving their opinion on movies. This film was odd, yet gripping and left a strange and unsettled feeling with me. I loved it.
  55. JenniferK.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    One of the best films I've seen in a very long time. Daniel Day Lewis' performance is extraordinary. I loved it and recommended to everyone I know. Great music by Jonny Greenwood from Radiohead!! He should have been nominated for it because it really intensified the movie.
  56. SteveT
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best movies ever made, IMO. An instant classic with Daniel Day Lewis giving the best performance so far in his acting career. He is brilliant. Why 'No Country For Old Men' won the Oscar for best picture over this movie is an enigma and proof that the academy is out to lunch. I'm a Cohen brothers fan and 'No County For Old Men' is not even This is one of the best movies ever made, IMO. An instant classic with Daniel Day Lewis giving the best performance so far in his acting career. He is brilliant. Why 'No Country For Old Men' won the Oscar for best picture over this movie is an enigma and proof that the academy is out to lunch. I'm a Cohen brothers fan and 'No County For Old Men' is not even anywhere near their best quality of film making. Expand
  57. Xyn1407
    Apr 6, 2008
    10
    Amazing Movie! I loved Daniel Day-Lewis. He did an excellent job. This is now my new favorite movie! The music was awesome, Very Suspenseful! I just got the 2 disc DVD for There Will Be Blood and it is a must have. The packaging is made recycled material almost like parchment paper. Two Disc which is the one I ordered. The Extras include 15 Minutes of pics, research, ETC., Trailers, Amazing Movie! I loved Daniel Day-Lewis. He did an excellent job. This is now my new favorite movie! The music was awesome, Very Suspenseful! I just got the 2 disc DVD for There Will Be Blood and it is a must have. The packaging is made recycled material almost like parchment paper. Two Disc which is the one I ordered. The Extras include 15 Minutes of pics, research, ETC., Trailers, Fishing sequence, Haircut/ Interrupted Hymm, Dailies Gone Wold and THE STORY OF PETROLEUM (ea 1923) Expand
  58. AaronF.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    Daniel Day-Lewis is unparalleled in one of the best acting jobs ever done by anyone in history. Even if the rest of the movie was unacceptable, Day-Lewis' performance would alone garner a 10.
  59. PaudR.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    magnificent, Daniel Day brillianiant, USERS REVIEWS CRAP SO FAR.
  60. BobbyE.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Greatest performance by an actor i've ever seen.
  61. AnthonyS.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    The movie was extraordinary. After three watches I can see how it is truley a character examination of Plainview and his realistic, darkly comic, and brutal interaction with the world around him. Anyone bashing the soundtrack obviously has little appreciation for real music, and while Johnny Greenwood may not have done the best job, his minimalist and serialist influences can still be The movie was extraordinary. After three watches I can see how it is truley a character examination of Plainview and his realistic, darkly comic, and brutal interaction with the world around him. Anyone bashing the soundtrack obviously has little appreciation for real music, and while Johnny Greenwood may not have done the best job, his minimalist and serialist influences can still be heard and appreciated. True work of art, none of the dumbed down bullshit so popular today. Expand
  62. ChrisJ.
    May 16, 2008
    10
    If you think this movie (and old country) was too "boring" for you, why don't you go watch some mindless BS that doesn't take an ounce of brain matter to enjoy. Seriously, there are two kinds of people my friends. Those that enjoy using their brains and actually thinking about what they are watching, and those that watch forest gump every weekend. Oh, and if you don't like If you think this movie (and old country) was too "boring" for you, why don't you go watch some mindless BS that doesn't take an ounce of brain matter to enjoy. Seriously, there are two kinds of people my friends. Those that enjoy using their brains and actually thinking about what they are watching, and those that watch forest gump every weekend. Oh, and if you don't like the music in this film, thats a pretty good indication that you have garbage taste in music, too. Expand
  63. ErikM.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    Complex character,secretly alcoholic, mean, and spiteful as he smiles to get what he wants, just like president Bush.
  64. VeikkoH.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This film deserves high scores because it's something fresh and brave compared to today's other films. It's in many ways like Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey": the score, cinematography and the bizarre stripped-down ending all match to "2001". It won't certainly entertain action freaks, but for friends of minimalism and originality it will be quite addictive.
  65. Nigel.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    Wow, an intelligent thought provoking film. All too rare these days. The central character played brilliantly by Day is one of the most complex and believable in cinema history. The story is thoroughly absorbing and well written too and the conflict between all the protagonists leads to an interesting conclusion about human nature, greed and what makes people truly happy. Beats the pants Wow, an intelligent thought provoking film. All too rare these days. The central character played brilliantly by Day is one of the most complex and believable in cinema history. The story is thoroughly absorbing and well written too and the conflict between all the protagonists leads to an interesting conclusion about human nature, greed and what makes people truly happy. Beats the pants off anything Will Smith and his multi-million dollar CGI bore-fests could ever hope to acheive. Cinematic greatness. Expand
  66. ShaunW
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    This movie is a breathtaking tale of a man torn apart by his own insensitivities and lust for money. It shows the true side of the era,. How ruthless you had to be to make it in America and in contrast to the current war for oil. Daniel Day Lewis delivers his lines superbly and mask his former characters perfectly. Don't base your opinion on a guy who writes sux.
  67. JimmyM
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    I can understand the people that didn't like the movie- but most of these negative reviews are ridiculous. I'm sure everyone who wants their "3 hours" will spend it watching "Friends" re-runs ad "The Fast and The Furious". This is the best movie of the decade. It just goes to show that audiences these days don't care about great films. Sad.
  68. MatthewH
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Daniel Day Lewis delivers the best acting performance I've ever seen in a film. Great storytelling and plot. There will be Blood reminds me of Citizen Kane in that its about a business men whose only ambition in life is to to amass wealth, but at the end of thier lives, their money is all that they have. One of of my top 10 movies of all time.
  69. HG
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Saw it in Austin. Brilliant.
  70. TimC.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Paul's magnum opus. Best film I've seen in a long time. An utter masterpiece of cinema.
  71. TimB.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Easily the best, though not the most comforting, movie of the year.
  72. GustavoC.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    The very best rewiew of this movie is still lacking on this site - the one of Time's. That magazine's critic got at the right point: the ending is the most eletrifying ever. And this is one of the best american movies ever crafted.
  73. PaulL.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    The pairing of Upton Sinclair and PT Anderson results in a volatile movie as explosive as the sticks of dynamite used to squelch a rig fire. Capitalism and Fundamentalism are both soul-less endeavors for most and this movie does a great job of telling a simple story of men obsessed with their pursuits. Flawless performances, understated but beautiful cinematography and production design The pairing of Upton Sinclair and PT Anderson results in a volatile movie as explosive as the sticks of dynamite used to squelch a rig fire. Capitalism and Fundamentalism are both soul-less endeavors for most and this movie does a great job of telling a simple story of men obsessed with their pursuits. Flawless performances, understated but beautiful cinematography and production design and a pensive pace that will throw some people off. An instant classic. Expand
  74. AmberF.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    This mesmerizing and brilliant work of art is one of the best films of our time. Please Mr. Anderson, don't ever stop making movies.
  75. ChristopherM
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    The internet has empowered hypercritical dorks like none other. You guys are such internet losers. It's depressing.
  76. jonl.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    One of the best films ever.
  77. BillD.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    This is a very big movie, an experience, an event. Exhilarating. The movie ended 2 hours ago, and I can't calm down. I'm speechless. If you like movies, you have got to see this.
  78. DarrylF.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Day-Lewis gives the best acting performance that I have ever seen !!!! it was pure joy watching this man act.... and it had some of the funniest scenes that had me laughing harder than some of what they call comedy today.
  79. JackH.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    It's nice to see a prestige picture that breaks from the traditional "heartbreaking-story-of-humanity" mold every once in a while, without becoming too politicized. This is one of the reasons "There Will Be Blood" is so incredible: it delicately treads the line between humanistic and intimate, and commentative, political. Day-Lewis's portrayal of Plainview is, without a doubt, It's nice to see a prestige picture that breaks from the traditional "heartbreaking-story-of-humanity" mold every once in a while, without becoming too politicized. This is one of the reasons "There Will Be Blood" is so incredible: it delicately treads the line between humanistic and intimate, and commentative, political. Day-Lewis's portrayal of Plainview is, without a doubt, the film's highlight, to be sure. Coming out of the theater, I was shaking and crying--not due to the sadness of the film, but rather due to Day-Lewis's performance (if he doesn't win Best Actor for that role, then there really will be blood.) This isn't to play down the rest of the film, though: it does an unusually good job of making all of its characters, not just the protagonist, complex and believable, and by the end, it'll be difficult to decide who's the de facto "good guy"--or if there even is one. Many comparisons have been drawn between this film and "Citizen Kane." To be sure, the capitan-of-industry aspect is there, along with the power-corrupts adage worked in. But somewhere between Johnny Greenwood's haunting soundtrack and Daniel Plainview's monologue about his hatred of humanity, you realize this film is nothing like "Citizen Kane"--it's a rags-to-riches story with all the hope and triumph drained from it,like so much oil in the ground, and it feels strangely relevant to the current world. Easily the best movie of the year. Expand
  80. IanT.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    I think 20, 30, 40 years from now, people will look back at There Will Be Blood as an epic work of American filmmaking, following in the tradition of movies like The Godfather.
  81. MarioB.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    An excellent film that hits you like a fever. Absolutely visceral and and hard to stomach, this movie focuses on characters that you will seldom find as the focus of a character study. Unsympathetic but charismatic, Daniel Plainview is portrayed to perfection by Daniel Day-Lewis.
  82. HaleL.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    I hate to sound extreme and toss my coin in with perfect ten crowd, but this is a goddamn great film. A pretty sprawling, Kubrick-esque American fable. The visuals are stunning, camera work subtle and sharp. Performances are, above all, memorable. Whether you dug it or not is your thing, but why else are we sitting around shitting about how AWESOME or TERRIBLE this thing is. It's aI hate to sound extreme and toss my coin in with perfect ten crowd, but this is a goddamn great film. A pretty sprawling, Kubrick-esque American fable. The visuals are stunning, camera work subtle and sharp. Performances are, above all, memorable. Whether you dug it or not is your thing, but why else are we sitting around shitting about how AWESOME or TERRIBLE this thing is. It's a stark work of art. And usually with one of those, there is mass division. So, don't feel bad or pretentious for digging it, and don't feel self-righteous and scornful if you didn't. Expand
  83. SeanP.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    It stunned me. 2007 had its share of great movies. I didn't think stuff like No Country For Old Men and The Diving Bell And The Butterfly could be beat, but this movie knocked me out like no other film from the last few years. Maybe even longer. The ending was over-the-top and bizarre, but it was also 10 minutes of some of the best one-person acting I've ever seen. Day-Lewis is It stunned me. 2007 had its share of great movies. I didn't think stuff like No Country For Old Men and The Diving Bell And The Butterfly could be beat, but this movie knocked me out like no other film from the last few years. Maybe even longer. The ending was over-the-top and bizarre, but it was also 10 minutes of some of the best one-person acting I've ever seen. Day-Lewis is spectacular throughout the whole film, but he just went all out at the end. A crazy masterpiece. Expand
  84. WilliamB
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece from PTA. Every shot is beautifully composed and in effect places you directly into the film. I don't even know where to begin with the acting performances. This may be Daniel Day-Lewis' greatest acting performance, which says a lot. If you thought Bill The Butcher was intense, merciless, and dynamic, wait until you see Daniel Plainview. Jonny Greenwood's A masterpiece from PTA. Every shot is beautifully composed and in effect places you directly into the film. I don't even know where to begin with the acting performances. This may be Daniel Day-Lewis' greatest acting performance, which says a lot. If you thought Bill The Butcher was intense, merciless, and dynamic, wait until you see Daniel Plainview. Jonny Greenwood's score is creates an uneasy anticipation throughout. It is perfect. There Will Be Blood is a must see film for cinephiles, but the average movie goer might leave the theater feeling empty or perhaps dirty inside. It has that kind of affect. Expand
  85. EricH.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    It is very rare that I will give a movie a ten out of ten. This film deserves it, hands down. Some say it's too slow, too boring, or too pointless. The opposite is the case. Sure; it does ride heavily on the back of Day-Lewis, but there are plenty of other fantastic actors to keep the movie afloat. What really needs to be taken into account here is character and theme. Put quite It is very rare that I will give a movie a ten out of ten. This film deserves it, hands down. Some say it's too slow, too boring, or too pointless. The opposite is the case. Sure; it does ride heavily on the back of Day-Lewis, but there are plenty of other fantastic actors to keep the movie afloat. What really needs to be taken into account here is character and theme. Put quite simply, the character development is spectacular and the numerous themes have you leaving the theater shaken and, quite frankly, changed. Sit this movie out and you will be rewarded. Expand
  86. Tom
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    The single greatest acting performance of my lifetime. For the life of me, I can't see how you'd rate this movie any less than a 9. I suppose if your attention span is more "Fast and the Furious 2" than "There Will Be Blood" you might find this a bit dull. But if you ever enjoyed a serious work of fiction, see this post-haste. It rewards thoughtfulness, understanding of The single greatest acting performance of my lifetime. For the life of me, I can't see how you'd rate this movie any less than a 9. I suppose if your attention span is more "Fast and the Furious 2" than "There Will Be Blood" you might find this a bit dull. But if you ever enjoyed a serious work of fiction, see this post-haste. It rewards thoughtfulness, understanding of character, and a sober assessment of what simultaneously makes our country great, and yet corrupts it. Expand
  87. CussR.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Does savage ambition inevitably breed insanity? Is true success earned only upon complete deprivation of human emotion? These are among the uncertainties haunting Paul Thomas Anderson
  88. StaciaM.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    One of the most amazing films in a long time.
  89. SteveF
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    One of the most brilliant screen performances that I have ever seen! Daniel Day and Paul Thomas have together made the ultimate masterpiece!!
  90. StevenM
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece, but a sure-fire audience splitter similar to the (near equally) "No Country for Old Men." On one side you have people who love to go to the cinema and be challenged, surprised, perplexed, even dare say, confused. We want to debate the film, what it means, what motivated the characters. To, you know, think. We are the people voting 9 and 10 here. The other side are folks who A masterpiece, but a sure-fire audience splitter similar to the (near equally) "No Country for Old Men." On one side you have people who love to go to the cinema and be challenged, surprised, perplexed, even dare say, confused. We want to debate the film, what it means, what motivated the characters. To, you know, think. We are the people voting 9 and 10 here. The other side are folks who want to go to the movies. To be spoon fed sugary treats, patted on the head, given a good night kiss and sent off to bed without a thought ringing in their heads. These are the folks slamming this film, and who probably just loved "National Treasure 2" and "Alvin and the Chipmunks". It's not wrong. Some people spend their hard earned cash on something and want exactly what they want -- to be entertained but without the hassles. Seriously, does anyone who's seen "National Treasure 2" remember if the next week, the next day, the next ... hour. No. "There Will be Blood" settles inside you like oil, and I know I'll be wrestling with it for weeks and months to come, until I see it again. You've read the plot posts already, Daniel Day-Lewis -- never more brilliant -- is an oil tycoon with oil for blood. He loves nothing but his ambition. He is the corruption of capitalism, which was meant to help all people but has been hijacked by the greed of a few. Paul Dano, who by God looks exactly like my brother who's now in Iraq, represents the corruption of America's other greatest gift, religion. He is an evangelist for himself, not God above. Both men destroy and push away every thing close to themselves until they have nothing but each other -- then they start tearing down again. One stands at the end, or rather slumps. This is a brilliant, methodical film that is as one poster here said, a brilliant disaster film. The disaster of the soul. Again like in "No Country," there is an innocent -- the adopted son of Daniel Planview (the Day-Lewis character). In a brilliant twist, the boy has his ear drums blown out by an oil rig accident and he goes deaf. It's heart-breaking to think a son will never hear his father say, "I love you." The irony is that Planview, when he tells his son exactly that, doesn't mean it. Alas, it's not worth hearing. Yes, it's long, yes, it's challenging, and hard to get a grip of, yes, there's deep, deep thought in every scene. Cinema, lovers: enjoy. All others, do pass. One final note: The score, by Johnny Greenwood of Radiohead, is the best this decade. Expand
  91. SteveG
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Art is very subjective. And the medium of film has perhaps the widest range of any art form. For example, one critic on this site's list of the best movies of the year has "The Borne Ultimatum" at #1. A young woman in front of me at the store last night told someone on the phone that "I am Legend" was the best movie ever made and that WIll Smith is the best actor in the history of Art is very subjective. And the medium of film has perhaps the widest range of any art form. For example, one critic on this site's list of the best movies of the year has "The Borne Ultimatum" at #1. A young woman in front of me at the store last night told someone on the phone that "I am Legend" was the best movie ever made and that WIll Smith is the best actor in the history of film. And a number of users here viscerally hate this film. Opinions are like noses (or any other body part) -- everyone has one. The reason this movie is so well received by critics is that it is stunningly shot and edited, very well acted and tackles a number of important issues. Not everyone has the attention span necessary to enjoy a film like this. Anderson's films tend to be a bit long in the tooth, and this is no exception. But as with "Boogie Nights" and "Magnolia," the long ride is worthwhile, not just for the destination, but for the ride itself. This movie is bearutiful and powerful and tragic and, at times, disturbing. It is also magnificent. I am often dumbfounded as to how people adore some of the movies that are popular. I am equally surprised by the few, but very adament, negative reviews of this film. Paul Thomas Anderson and Daniel Day Lewis will be nominated for Academy Awards again. Those acolades will be deserved. I loved this movie. If you have an attention span not dulled by music videos and sitcoms, and are not a pretentious film school malcontent, you should appreciate this movie too. Expand
  92. antoniom.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Daniel Day Lewis' performance is riveting.......easily the best performance by an actor this past year......every thing about the film is beautiful executed......a wonderful ride!!
  93. JackB.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I read metacritic constantly and rarely vote, but I just wanted to say that this is one of the finest films I've ever seen in my entire life.
  94. GeorgeH.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Inspiringly beautiful movie making on all levels. Don't be afraid of the misleading title and critics mistakingly pigeon-holing it as simply a Western; "There Will Be Blood" is one of the best films in years and will be remembered for many years to come.
  95. NeilK
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Best movie of the year. Hands down. See it now.
  96. PatrickB
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Best film of DDL's career, and the year's best. A must see in theaters. Well worth price of admission. I can't say enough about the acting on all accounts, but the writing too really is something, and the story twists and turns in gut-wrenching ways that you will be thinking about weeks after.
  97. leannem.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    A morality tale on a very big scale, a story told in bold strokes, cinematograthy and a sound track to jar your nerves (in a good way), evil vs evil in your face, There Willl Be Blood is terriffic entertianment and enlightening.
  98. JonS
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    The film-making is astonishing, the music haunting, and Daniel Day-Lewis' performance is unforgettable. There are missteps (Dano is only okay) but this is a masterful movie and will long be remembered and savored by everyone who loves film. Surely it's churlish to note that the negative reviews on this message board feature many misspellings and grammatical mistakes, but it The film-making is astonishing, the music haunting, and Daniel Day-Lewis' performance is unforgettable. There are missteps (Dano is only okay) but this is a masterful movie and will long be remembered and savored by everyone who loves film. Surely it's churlish to note that the negative reviews on this message board feature many misspellings and grammatical mistakes, but it should be mentioned that this movie is not for the impatient or the unimaginative. Expand
  99. MattS.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Possibly the best American film of the decade thus far, Day-Lewis is flawless, Greenwood's soundtrack enthralls, and Anderson reinvents himself as a director. A must see!
  100. IainF.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    This film is amazing. A relentless, brutal, gripping, psycologichally moving film. This and No Country For Old Men were two of the best films I've ever seen, the only difference in the two is that There Will Be Bloo has a distinct lead character. And this is Daniel Day Lewis' character, Daniel Plainview, a relentless and brutal oil man who cares about no one but himself and his This film is amazing. A relentless, brutal, gripping, psycologichally moving film. This and No Country For Old Men were two of the best films I've ever seen, the only difference in the two is that There Will Be Bloo has a distinct lead character. And this is Daniel Day Lewis' character, Daniel Plainview, a relentless and brutal oil man who cares about no one but himself and his own image. The anti-hero he plays is a interesting and complicated character, but whats most intriguing about this film is DDL's performance. If you've seen any of his other films such as My Left Foot, you'll be familiar with his work. He's absolutely amazing. However, after viewing metacritic and seeing the user reviews on NCFOM and TWBB, I realised something. These films I thought as brilliant aren't perfect. Far from it. They have one gigantic floor, and this is... Dumb people. Pathetic people who don't have the patience and brain capacity to appreciate the films magnificance and deeply moving narrative. They can't appreciate the script, the characters and there motives, the cinematography or anything. They just think, oh there hasn't been anyone slaughtered to death, or any sexy women yet, so i'm gonna give this film a zero. Think about it. It makes sense. And who are you gonna believe, film critics, who aren't dumb and can actually appreciate the film in it's entiretym or audiences who find anything other than porn stale, dull and boring. This film is a work of brilliance... Unmissable. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There Will Be Blood is ferocious, and it will be championed and attacked with an equal ferocity. When the dust settles, we may look back on it as some kind of obsessed classic.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    100
    There Will Be Blood is, in fact, not a historical saga; rather, it's an absurdist, blackly comic horror film with a very idiosyncratic satanic figure at its core.
  3. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    100
    Daniel Day-Lewis stuns in Paul Thomas Anderson's saga of a soul-dead oil man.