There Will Be Blood

There Will Be Blood Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: When Daniel Plainview gets a mysterious tip-off that there's a little town out West where an ocean of oil is oozing out of the ground, he heads there with his son, H.W., to take their chances in dust-worn Little Boston. In this hardscrabble town, where the main excitement centers around theWhen Daniel Plainview gets a mysterious tip-off that there's a little town out West where an ocean of oil is oozing out of the ground, he heads there with his son, H.W., to take their chances in dust-worn Little Boston. In this hardscrabble town, where the main excitement centers around the HOLY ROLLER church of charismatic preacher Eli Sunday, Plainview and H.W. make their lucky strike. But even as the well raises all of their fortunes, nothing will remain the same as conflicts escalate and every human value--love, hope, community, belief, ambition, and even the bond between father and son--is imperiled by corruption, deception, and the flow of oil. (Paramount Vantage) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There Will Be Blood is ferocious, and it will be championed and attacked with an equal ferocity. When the dust settles, we may look back on it as some kind of obsessed classic.
  2. 100
    With There Will Be Blood, Paul Thomas Anderson has taken a stab at making The Great American Movie -- and I daresay he’s made one of them.
  3. 100
    In terms of excitement, imagination and rule-busting experimentation, it's a gusher.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Boldly and magnificently strange, There Will Be Blood marks a significant departure in the work of Paul Thomas Anderson.
  5. Sprawling yet cramped, There Will Be Blood may not be the best movie of the year, but it's certainly the strangest. It evokes passing comparisons to everything from "Giant" to "Citizen Kane" but it's impossible to pigeonhole.
  6. 88
    Between D-Day, the sheer ambition of Paul Thomas Anderson's historical epic and Robert Elswit's dazzling cinematography, this is a must-see movie - even though its emotional temperature rarely rises above freezing and the climax goes way, way, way over the top.
  7. 42
    Anderson and Day-Lewis strip themselves of their natural talents for invention and poetry, as if any hint of romance, nobility or fun would soften the film.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. JeffN.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I can see why some people wouldn't like it, but I was riveted the entire This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I can see why some people wouldn't like it, but I was riveted the entire time thanks to Day-Lewis. I won't go so far as to say it was the greatest performance by a lead actor that I've ever seen, but I can't think of one that I can definitively say was better. I thought everything about it was perfect, and I found myself smiling more and more as Plainview become more paranoid and disillusioned. This is a movie that 20, 30 years from now people will look back on and say, "One for the ages." Expand
  2. SinjinnN.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This is a love it or hate it film. a lot of people complain about charachter development and plot but i think there is plenty of charachter This is a love it or hate it film. a lot of people complain about charachter development and plot but i think there is plenty of charachter development , it just doesnt go the way they expect or want. the plot is also not contrived , it isnt a mystery , an action flick or a comedy or a romance, it is instead very original . the truth of of it is that this is a great film with a great cast which some movie goers will hate because it doesnt funnel you down a familiar and comfortable and contrived plot. Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Daniel Day-Lewis and Paul Thomas Anderson have created one of the greatest movies of this time and perhaps of all time. There is so muchDaniel Day-Lewis and Paul Thomas Anderson have created one of the greatest movies of this time and perhaps of all time. There is so much ambition, brilliance, detail, and probably everything that you would put in a great movie. I don't think that anything, and anything could top this level of amazement for me. The film has put me through a cathartic and dogmatic experience by just watching. Truly outstanding on every **** level. A masterpiece. Collapse
  4. PaulM
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    I found the film's intensity enormous, its characters well-designed (they're supposed to be singular and in final review of one I found the film's intensity enormous, its characters well-designed (they're supposed to be singular and in final review of one chord), its cinematography absolutely engrossing, and the soundtrack that some find annoying (which I can understand), I found to be appropriately maddening. Its a movie about dedication to the point of obsession, the folly of singular devotion, the power and destruction of taking without giving, and the aspects of greed, power and selfishness that are in us all - but that in the wrong circumstances/people/both become toxic. Plainview is a man who knows only how to beat, pick or pound the thing from which he needs some kind of satisfaction or end. And he does so until it explodes something that releases the dark humanity within him (anger, greed, paranoia, withdrawal, depression, psychosis). His maniacal mantra of "drainage" in the final scene is appropriate - not so much about the obvious metaphor (which, yes, may be clumsy) but about the concept (maybe, call it a meta-metaphor)underlying -- that there are always those willing to take, by force and by persuasion, not only theirs but yours, his, hers and everyone elses. Further, it illustrates how that process leaves one bordering on, and often falling into, an abyss of lonesome psychosis. Expand
  5. MichaelM
    Mar 4, 2008
    7
    I have not yet seen this movie, therefore I will give it the average rating. I am writing this to let the others posting on this board know I have not yet seen this movie, therefore I will give it the average rating. I am writing this to let the others posting on this board know that all of you who are praising the film for it's aesthetic appeal or it's amazing acting just sound like a bunch of pretentious douche bags who are trying to impress one another with how sophisticated you are, that you can see the inner allegorical meaning of a movie etc. etc. I'm sorry to say that I believe you have lost site of what movies are supposed to do and that is of course entertain. From what I have heard this film was made by film nerds for film nerds, thus making it unfit for mass consumption. Expand
  6. CaptainSpaulding
    May 25, 2008
    4
    To paraphrase Phil Hartman as Frank Sinatra, "What is all this crap?!" If not for the excellent acting of Daniel Day-Lewis, this movie would To paraphrase Phil Hartman as Frank Sinatra, "What is all this crap?!" If not for the excellent acting of Daniel Day-Lewis, this movie would be horrid. If not for Mr. Day-Lewis, I'd give his a negative number if possible. A horrid movie and 2 hours of your life that you'll never get back! Quick advice? RENT SOMETHING ELSE! Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2015
    0
    i hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever.i hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Why watch 3 hours of someone who is mean and horrible all the way to their very death? there is no moral, the movie didn't really have a point, so far as i could tell, and i don't understand how anyone likes it. i feel complete disdain and hate for this movie. Expand

See all 545 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  4. Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: June 28, 2010
    While it's unlikely that this week's "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse" will merit consideration on our list, here are the ten movies it would have to beat out to be considered the top vampire film since 1980. We've added five additional vampire movies from the other end of the quality spectrum, but there aren't any "Twilight" films among them ... yet.