They Came Together

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 24, 2014
    90
    They Came Together is one joke repeated until you're broken down by the giggles. It shouldn't work as well as it does, and wouldn't if it weren't perfectly cast with America's Comedy Sweethearts.
  2. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Jan 27, 2014
    83
    It knows how to mock cliché big things, like jokes about set-dressing and music video montages; it’s also wise about small matters, right down to the font and the framing device.
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    They Came Together is a very fast, often very funny riff on a very tired Hollywood formula.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephan Lee
    Jun 27, 2014
    75
    Most of the jokes land bluntly – ”This is a cliché!” – but tight pacing and a killer cast, which also includes Ed Helms and Christopher Meloni, make up for the inconsistent gags.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 26, 2014
    75
    Thanks to a smart screenplay, direction that perfectly captures the tone of modern rom-coms and two of the most engaging comedic leads working in movies and TV today, “They Came Together” is more entertaining and (in its own insane way) more endearing than two-thirds of the legitimate romantic comedies I’ve seen over the last two decades.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 26, 2014
    75
    The film's most engaging character is not actually human: It's Manhattan, of course, a point made repeatedly over that protracted dinner by the voluble lovebirds.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 26, 2014
    75
    Occasionally very funny, and moderately funny the rest of the time. In mathematical terms that adds up to pretty funny or "funny enough."
  8. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jun 25, 2014
    75
    Seeing clichés mimicked this skillfully is plenty hilarious.
  9. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 24, 2014
    75
    There are probably funnier satires out there, but They Came Together is laser accurate in the way it skewers its targets.
  10. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Jun 23, 2014
    75
    What results is chaotic but ultimately focused, bound by an intense devotion to disassembling genre and narrative standards.
  11. Reviewed by: Robert Cameron Fowler
    Jan 27, 2014
    75
    In terms of its pure laughter quotient, They Came Together constantly delivers.
  12. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jun 27, 2014
    70
    Taking pretty much every rom-com trope and distilling it into highly concentrated ridiculousness, Wain’s film is both a takedown and a tribute: As with his summer-camp-movie spoof "Wet Hot American Summer," you walk away with a renewed love for the genre.
  13. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jan 27, 2014
    70
    A lively comic jamboree that’s sometimes smarter than it is funny and hits about as often as it misses, but is, on balance, a good deal of fun.
  14. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 26, 2014
    63
    Larky, witty and sometimes even wise, this spoof on every rom-com ever made is less a fully realized film than an extended skit, a series of set pieces that poke gentle and sometimes transgressively crude fun at the tropes of girl-meets-boy that have enchanted and addled audiences for generations.
  15. 63
    Poehler and Rudd riff and banter like old marrieds, and make even the cheesiest lines funny, make even the cliched dating montages set to syrupy pop music feel — if not fresh and new — at least funny enough to mock.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. May 2, 2015
    3
    Alright, I'll commend the start and, even, the premise. The film reaches a point of pure blatancy that proves to be neither humorous,Alright, I'll commend the start and, even, the premise. The film reaches a point of pure blatancy that proves to be neither humorous, entertaining or anything else. Before you know it, things will become even more bizarre (and I don't mean that in a good way). Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2014
    2
    This movie sucks on a level I never thought was possible. I could go on about the paper thin characters, the phoned in acting, and theThis movie sucks on a level I never thought was possible. I could go on about the paper thin characters, the phoned in acting, and the terrible presentation but at the end of the day that’s not the key thing to talk about when reviewing a comedy. This movie was not funny. 99% of the humor in this film failed it was ever a joke that feel flat or was just plain stupid and none of it was memorable. For as dumb as something like Movie 43 was at least some of the **** in that movie was memorable and I still remember it. At least it made me laugh. This movie is trying to be a parody of cheesy romance movies but while it is overly cheesy none of it leads to great comedy or satire of the genre and the cheesiness hurts the movie more than it helps it resulting in a movie that is even worse than the films it is trying to satirize. But the biggest sin this movie has made is its lack of lasting appeal. This movie is bland and forgettable with nothing memorable about it. For all the bad movies (specifically comedies like Movie 43) I’ve seen some of them were memorable and even if its for the wrong reasons I still remember them and their **** This movie on the other hand has none of that. I saw it once, I’ll never see it again, come tomorrow I won’t remember it and come a week and I’ll forget about it. And if there’s one thing you don’t want people to do is forget about your movie. I’m not going to recommend this film to anybody. I mean I’m not into romantic comedies but this isn’t me hating on a genre I don’t like this is me hating on a bad movie. So do yourself a favor and don’t waste your time with this movie. This is a bad movie that deserves to be ignored and forgotten. Full Review »
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    6
    Such a bizarre movie, I'm really not sure how to rate it. Before watching this movie, you absolutely need to know that this is a parody ofSuch a bizarre movie, I'm really not sure how to rate it. Before watching this movie, you absolutely need to know that this is a parody of romantic comedies. If you're expecting a standard romantic comedy, you're going to be really confused. The movie extremely outwardly and blatantly makes fun of itself throughout. It's very bizarre, but if you know what to expect, it is very funny. I laughed out loud many times...and also yelled things like "what the hell?!?" at the TV several times because weird things kept happening that wouldn't in real life with real people. Characters break the fourth wall making it hard to believe that the characters are real people, so empathy is difficult, so this movie is mainly just for the laughs. It has a fantastic cast with more familiar faces than I could name. Throughout the whole thing, I kept thinking "This really reminds me a lot of Wet Hot American Summer." Afterwards, I looked it up, and yep, I was right, same writer and director....partially the same cast (with lots of other people we all know from assorted sitcoms showing up.) So, if you're a fan of Wet Hot American Summer, like quirky comedies, and like to laugh at the conventions of typical romantic comedies, then the movie is worth watching. Full Review »