Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 4, 1988
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 82 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
68
Mixed:
8
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
RyanH.Jan 18, 2010
This movie rocks. there is absolutely no reason not to watch it! it is funny, intense, and generally all around bad-ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
"Non-Rowdy"GilbertMulroneycakesApr 7, 2003
"I told you to put on the GLASSES!" Okay, so it doesn't make much sense in terms of the movie or anything. It was just scripted as "Piper hits your black chap in the face, puts glasses on him". They just didn't like each other very "I told you to put on the GLASSES!" Okay, so it doesn't make much sense in terms of the movie or anything. It was just scripted as "Piper hits your black chap in the face, puts glasses on him". They just didn't like each other very much. So they actually had a fight, with fists. And Piper throws a few rasslin' moves into the mix, so who's complaining? It's a neat film. Even if it isn't a great one, it's worth a look if you don't want anything too taxing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarlMarxDec 15, 2004
Yes it's cheap, and yes mutch of the story is stupid but for anyone wanting a simple understanding of Marx and false class consiousness must see this movie. I'll acredit the low score to "burn the commies" right wing section of the Yes it's cheap, and yes mutch of the story is stupid but for anyone wanting a simple understanding of Marx and false class consiousness must see this movie. I'll acredit the low score to "burn the commies" right wing section of the amecrican media. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
littlePeteDec 16, 2004
The best movie quote of all time - "I came here to chew bubble gum and kick some ass. And I'm all out of bubble gum." for this quote alone the movie deserves a ten!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnW.Mar 25, 2005
It rocks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jcolesDec 1, 2011
The movie was well ahead of its time if one considers contemporary affairs (2011). The premise is both satirically hilarious and compelling on its own terms. The execution is admirable. This is a must see cult-classic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
DynamithixApr 6, 2012
Just saw this movie for the first time and damn was it good. I love the soundtrack and the build-up of it all, the main character's actor is also pretty good and now I see where Duke Nukem got some of his quotes, haha. Overall a good movie.Just saw this movie for the first time and damn was it good. I love the soundtrack and the build-up of it all, the main character's actor is also pretty good and now I see where Duke Nukem got some of his quotes, haha. Overall a good movie. Oh and don't believe the critics who gave negative reviews, they obey the authority. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
McCorpseSep 23, 2013
I love this movie. john carpenter has a way of making his actors iconic. he did it with kurt russel and he does it here with rod piper. The premise of the movie is pure genius and makes you think and mistrust the begin to question the worldI love this movie. john carpenter has a way of making his actors iconic. he did it with kurt russel and he does it here with rod piper. The premise of the movie is pure genius and makes you think and mistrust the begin to question the world around you. The violence is over the top fun and the one liners are the best ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ballpark_frankNov 24, 2012
Another 'rassler takes a try at acting on the big screen. The thing is, 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper actually plays the role, rather than injecting his wrestling persona into the character (unlike other wrestlers-turned-movie-actors). I find thisAnother 'rassler takes a try at acting on the big screen. The thing is, 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper actually plays the role, rather than injecting his wrestling persona into the character (unlike other wrestlers-turned-movie-actors). I find this movie very watchable. For one, it's science fiction (and I'm a sucker for that genre). The main objection I have about it is it's relentless 'persecution' of commercialization (not that it shouldn't be persecuted, just that the film keeps pile-driving the point home). The special effects really aren't too bad - but that's mostly limited to the makeup, which is rather cute (especially the results showing the 'special' glasses being put on and taken off). Another bone to pick is that it almost wants to lean heavily into the comedy genre, especially the closing sequences. But overall I enjoyed it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
talisencrwSep 21, 2014
Unexpectedly I loved it. Amazing fight between Piper and David! Nice bluesy-country feel to Carpenter's soundtrack. It really showed Carpenter's strengths, both in terms of ideas and visual storytelling. Piper's ad-libbed dialogue was hit andUnexpectedly I loved it. Amazing fight between Piper and David! Nice bluesy-country feel to Carpenter's soundtrack. It really showed Carpenter's strengths, both in terms of ideas and visual storytelling. Piper's ad-libbed dialogue was hit and miss, probably the film's only weakness, but still had some wonderful gold to mine. Sad to say, due to the state of the world, this is a film that not only doesn't age, but is years ahead of its time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YorkManApr 26, 2016
John Carpenter's modern masterpiece is an action/horror/comedy film wrapped up inside a narrative of Capitalism, greed, destruction, friendship and the struggle of the have-nots in a world of rampant consumerism and overt aspirationalJohn Carpenter's modern masterpiece is an action/horror/comedy film wrapped up inside a narrative of Capitalism, greed, destruction, friendship and the struggle of the have-nots in a world of rampant consumerism and overt aspirational advertising.
Oh,and there are aliens..... Never a bad thing in a big(gish) budget B-Movie, in fact in a lot of ways it's more of a B-Movie parody!
It's not a perfect film by any means. Carpenter's direction can get very distracting, the soundtrack is a 'love it or hate it' mash up of electronica and thumping basslines, the acting varies wildly in quality, and the pacing lurches from slow, to fast, then back to slow.

However, for all its flaws, it IS a fantastic movie. Criminally slated back in 1988, it's now a definitive 80's cult classic, watched as a rite of passage by teenagers everywhere!

If you're someone who missed it as a teenager, then find a copy and settle in for some serious fun and action.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Intention__PlayJul 27, 2016
Фильм, который открыл глаза многим на то, что нами управляют масоны, которые не жалеют, чтобы мы что-то осознавала, они нас контролируют, издеваются над нами, как могут, но мы сея верим, что рабство нет, но он есть и посмотрев этот фильм, выФильм, который открыл глаза многим на то, что нами управляют масоны, которые не жалеют, чтобы мы что-то осознавала, они нас контролируют, издеваются над нами, как могут, но мы сея верим, что рабство нет, но он есть и посмотрев этот фильм, вы проснитесь от долгого сна и осознаете что-то то, чего вы раньше никогда не знали. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews