Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 17, 2012
    60
    So with a wink, a nudge and a heaping portion of Midwestern charm, Thin Ice reels us in. Comparisons to "Fargo" and other convoluted little capers like "House of Games" are fair, but when taken on its own terms, this quirky drama thrums along in a low-blood-pressure way.
  2. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Feb 16, 2012
    60
    If you can get past the rough patches - a slightly sluggish start and a coda that feels like one punch line too many - there is some sinister fun to be had in watching Kinnear skating toward disaster on ice that is very thin indeed.
  3. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Feb 16, 2012
    60
    It is Mr. Kinnear's slippery charm that keeps Thin Ice from sinking into the frosty Wisconsin slush toward which it seems to be heading from the start.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 14, 2012
    60
    When a movie is this predicated on aping the Coen brothers (effectively, it should be added, in fits and starts), surprise won't be its strong suit.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    Crafted by writer-director Jill Sprecher and co-writer sister Karen - a filmmaking duo who are sometimes jokingly referred to as the "Coen sisters" - it will erase any lingering memories of "Fargo."
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    The movie never fully clicks.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 29, 2012
    50
    Good performances give this movie a pleasant shine, but in all honesty, Thin Ice relies on too many familiar setups to feel wholly fresh.
  8. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Feb 20, 2012
    50
    I haven't watched "Fargo" in a few years, but I still remember almost every scene. I saw Thin Ice two nights ago and cannot in all honesty tell you how it ends.
  9. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Feb 17, 2012
    50
    With a handful of blackly humorous jolts and some game performances by a good cast, Thin Ice is a watchable, if not terribly original, piece of Midwestern noir.
  10. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Feb 16, 2012
    50
    Thin Ice itself, while not entirely unpleasant, is gnawingly familiar, a slice of room-temperature heartland quirk that tries to blend low-key comedy with violence and mayhem.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Thin Ice pulls you in with its uncomfortably edgy, eerie and yet comical approach. It was interesting and entertaining, even if just for theThin Ice pulls you in with its uncomfortably edgy, eerie and yet comical approach. It was interesting and entertaining, even if just for the acting alone, which is superb. A good mix of turmoil, tension and comedy. Greg Kinnear is fantastic as is Billy Crudup. Alan Arkin is great but not in it as much as the other two. Lea Thompson should have had a bit more of a role, really like her. Some of the way part of the film was handled is questionable but overall I liked it a lot. I love special fx done the right way in a film but there's no CGI or special fx here, just a good film with great acting. Love to see big actors in raw indie films. Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed the movie for being a Coen **** type of film. Then I read Roger Ebert's review and found out that the studio re-edited and changedI enjoyed the movie for being a Coen **** type of film. Then I read Roger Ebert's review and found out that the studio re-edited and changed the film without the consent of the director who now refers to the film as something with her name on it that isn't really her film. I hope the DVD has a directors' cut so we can see what was really intended. Still, even as is, the film is worth seeing. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    â