Thin Ice

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 15, 2012
    83
    Throw in a nagging divorce settlement, an unplanned murder, and Billy Crudup - hilarious! - as a raging security man, and Jill Sprecher's film enjoyably fuses cleverness and sheer desperation.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Mar 2, 2012
    75
    Thin Ice resides just slightly south of "Fargo."
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Feb 23, 2012
    75
    This is a devilishly ingenious screenplay by the sisters Jill and Karen Sprecher.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 17, 2012
    75
    The cheesehead noir Thin Ice presents Greg Kinnear in a role that's almost too easy for him: He's a morally flexible Wisconsin insurance salesman for whom honesty is the least-likely policy.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 16, 2012
    75
    Writing with her sister, Karen, Jill Sprecher rigs up an elaborate cause-and-effect comedy of errors, with Kinnear's predatory protagonist as both perp and victim. I won't say more than that, but Thin Ice is deeper than it first appears.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Feb 15, 2012
    75
    The movie takes some dark, violent turns once Crudup enters the picture, and loses some of its initial soft, regional charm. But Kinnear and Crudup are funny, and the plot does fold together with the kind of cruel logic that these sorts of twist-a-thons often lack.
  7. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Feb 23, 2012
    70
    Their inexperience with thrillers is evident here in the cluttered exposition at the beginning and wholesale revelations at the end. In the middle, though, there's a pretty suspenseful stretch.
  8. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 16, 2012
    70
    It's an entertaining film and a deceptively gritty thriller, and Kinnear conveys Mickey's mounting desperation in winning fashion.
  9. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Feb 14, 2012
    70
    Working the long con and damn near getting away with it, this kissing cousin to "Fargo," "Cedar Rapids," and "Win Win" makes for a surprisingly entertaining and nonderivative February time-passer.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Thin Ice pulls you in with its uncomfortably edgy, eerie and yet comical approach. It was interesting and entertaining, even if just for theThin Ice pulls you in with its uncomfortably edgy, eerie and yet comical approach. It was interesting and entertaining, even if just for the acting alone, which is superb. A good mix of turmoil, tension and comedy. Greg Kinnear is fantastic as is Billy Crudup. Alan Arkin is great but not in it as much as the other two. Lea Thompson should have had a bit more of a role, really like her. Some of the way part of the film was handled is questionable but overall I liked it a lot. I love special fx done the right way in a film but there's no CGI or special fx here, just a good film with great acting. Love to see big actors in raw indie films. Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed the movie for being a Coen **** type of film. Then I read Roger Ebert's review and found out that the studio re-edited and changedI enjoyed the movie for being a Coen **** type of film. Then I read Roger Ebert's review and found out that the studio re-edited and changed the film without the consent of the director who now refers to the film as something with her name on it that isn't really her film. I hope the DVD has a directors' cut so we can see what was really intended. Still, even as is, the film is worth seeing. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    â