User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2012
    6
    As the lead character (Kinear) starts down what seems like a funnel of bad decisions, the movie struck me as a combination of Fargo and A Simple Plan, which worried me. The story has been done, I thought to myself. But the staccato performances of the supporting characters suggested there was more going on than a series of unlucky events confronting this scoundrel. In particular, BillyAs the lead character (Kinear) starts down what seems like a funnel of bad decisions, the movie struck me as a combination of Fargo and A Simple Plan, which worried me. The story has been done, I thought to myself. But the staccato performances of the supporting characters suggested there was more going on than a series of unlucky events confronting this scoundrel. In particular, Billy Crudup is fantastic. My real criticism of the film is that it took far too long to kick into crisis mode - the first 20 minutes were verging on boring as they established the key plot points. Without reveling anything too important about the story, I'll just say it's worth seeing. Collapse
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed the movie for being a Coen **** type of film. Then I read Roger Ebert's review and found out that the studio re-edited and changed the film without the consent of the director who now refers to the film as something with her name on it that isn't really her film. I hope the DVD has a directors' cut so we can see what was really intended. Still, even as is, the film is worth seeing.
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    Viewed this film at Sundance 2011 and loved it!! Greg Kinear is indeed on thin ice in this caper and hilarious film. It reminded me of "Little Miss Sunshine", with alot of the same cast. Loved it!!
  4. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Thin Ice pulls you in with its uncomfortably edgy, eerie and yet comical approach. It was interesting and entertaining, even if just for the acting alone, which is superb. A good mix of turmoil, tension and comedy. Greg Kinnear is fantastic as is Billy Crudup. Alan Arkin is great but not in it as much as the other two. Lea Thompson should have had a bit more of a role, really like her.Thin Ice pulls you in with its uncomfortably edgy, eerie and yet comical approach. It was interesting and entertaining, even if just for the acting alone, which is superb. A good mix of turmoil, tension and comedy. Greg Kinnear is fantastic as is Billy Crudup. Alan Arkin is great but not in it as much as the other two. Lea Thompson should have had a bit more of a role, really like her. Some of the way part of the film was handled is questionable but overall I liked it a lot. I love special fx done the right way in a film but there's no CGI or special fx here, just a good film with great acting. Love to see big actors in raw indie films. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2012
    3
    An interesting concept and the makings of what could have been a cool scam. If only it wasn't burdened by an extremely slow story that took way too long to get to its climax. Then, when it did, it only maintained it's interesting edge for about 10 minutes. The scam turned out pretty clever, but it simply too long to get there. My interest was LONG gone. Had it not been for someAn interesting concept and the makings of what could have been a cool scam. If only it wasn't burdened by an extremely slow story that took way too long to get to its climax. Then, when it did, it only maintained it's interesting edge for about 10 minutes. The scam turned out pretty clever, but it simply too long to get there. My interest was LONG gone. Had it not been for some fantastic actors, I would have had a hard time giving it a single star. A plot like this deserved a lot better. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    Crafted by writer-director Jill Sprecher and co-writer sister Karen - a filmmaking duo who are sometimes jokingly referred to as the "Coen sisters" - it will erase any lingering memories of "Fargo."
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    The movie never fully clicks.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Mar 2, 2012
    75
    Thin Ice resides just slightly south of "Fargo."