User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RebeccaD.
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    I gave this movie a 10 simply for the fact that the issue,as it was played out with incredible insight, left me feeling raw and damaged,as if I,myself, had been raped.The characters were well assigned to the actors,who have the incredible ability to be hard enough to portray the anger,yet tender enough to expose the pain, that was still ever-present as adults,almost as vividly as the time I gave this movie a 10 simply for the fact that the issue,as it was played out with incredible insight, left me feeling raw and damaged,as if I,myself, had been raped.The characters were well assigned to the actors,who have the incredible ability to be hard enough to portray the anger,yet tender enough to expose the pain, that was still ever-present as adults,almost as vividly as the time of occurrance. It was also moving to see the role reversal of the two victims,with owen playing the sensitive part,and sherry having been hardened by the devastating experience.It left me feeling helpless in my sadness of seeing a young love lost so tragically,yet relief at the victims coming together in facing the night-mare for some sense of resolution. It is also an example of how we can alter peoples lives,however great or small,leaving them to deal with the issues that linger for their lifetime. This movie hopefully gives clear insight to any (even potential) rapist who might have the guts to watch it. Expand
  2. MikeJ.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    I loved this film, I thought it was really really powerful.
  3. AlanG.
    May 23, 2004
    9
    Moving to the core. There are numerous understated scenes that will resonate with most people--lost love, the agony of carrying a secret, the difficulties of keeping it together. I am almost never moved by a movie, but this one did it and I cannot get it out of my head. Cinematography was the weak link, but the story and acting are impossibly good.
  4. ThomasM,Jr.
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    A powerful, sad and sometimes poignant film, filled with superb performances. I especially admired the way the film never tried to sugarcoat its tale. We watch the characters grow during the coarse of the film, but we never reach a happy-ever-after destination. We see that these people, whose lives have forever been ravaged by trauma, can never hope to undo the nightmare, but that they A powerful, sad and sometimes poignant film, filled with superb performances. I especially admired the way the film never tried to sugarcoat its tale. We watch the characters grow during the coarse of the film, but we never reach a happy-ever-after destination. We see that these people, whose lives have forever been ravaged by trauma, can never hope to undo the nightmare, but that they CAN hope to reconcile their pasts, and free themselves from the bondage of hatred and self-loathing. A hard film to watch, but worth the effort. Expand
  5. RutherK.
    Nov 22, 2005
    6
    Generally good with some not so well considered passages, sometimes the credibility and the story suffers from the will to speak an opinion.
  6. ChadS.
    May 21, 2007
    6
    "Things Behind the Sun" is sort of like the indie version of "The Accused". The film wants to convince you otherwise, but Owen(Gabriel Mann) had a choice, and he made the wrong one. What's missing from Sherry(Kim Dickens) is an outburst of rage towards Owen(however unfair, he was tiny compared to the other boys) for not protecting her from being group-raped. The problem with "Things "Things Behind the Sun" is sort of like the indie version of "The Accused". The film wants to convince you otherwise, but Owen(Gabriel Mann) had a choice, and he made the wrong one. What's missing from Sherry(Kim Dickens) is an outburst of rage towards Owen(however unfair, he was tiny compared to the other boys) for not protecting her from being group-raped. The problem with "Things Behind the Sun" is that Owen's premature ejaculation problem tries to compete with Sherry's inability to conceive a child for our sympathy. The screenplay is a bit too ambitious, and in one aspect, naive. If Owen knew other girls were being raped at his house, wouldn't he warn his first love from coming over? At least the filmmaker remembers to set Sherry's pain apart from Owen's own issues when he tries to apologize for that fateful day. Expand
  7. LisaC.
    May 21, 2003
    10
    The acting in this movie is phenominal, and the characters are very well cast. this movie is heartwrenching, but i really loved it.
  8. TeriP.
    Jul 14, 2003
    0
    This has to be one of the worst films I have every seen. The leading man delivered a laughably wooden performance, and the screenwriter should be sentenced to writing porn flicks. Pity the technical folks and the crew whose names appeared in the credits. This film is an example of why film makers sometimes use aliases.
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. 60
    This potent drama might be dismissed as therapy in the guise of filmmaking if it weren't so clear-eyed. At its core are three remarkable performances.
  2. So unsparingly honest in the way it treats human cruelty and resilience that it makes fashionably bleak films like "In the Company of Men" and even "Boys Don't Cry" seem unforgivably trite or exploitative.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Sanger
    60
    While its heart is in the right place and the cast gives powerful performances, Things Behind the Sun doesn't shed any new viewpoint or perspective on the subject matter.