Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Jun 20, 2014
    38
    All these folks are pretty bland, really; then again, even gorgeous, charismatic actors like these can get steamrolled when Hart is around.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Henderson
    Jun 19, 2014
    38
    That this retrograde "straight talk" somehow managed to emerge on screen as a reasonably genial ensemble comedy speaks to the strength of its performers.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 19, 2014
    38
    If you laughed at Tim Story's first "Think," based on Steve Harvey's bestselling advice book for women, you'll probably ride along for this jacked-up, Vegas-set sequel in which dudes and dolls offer sexist approaches to throwing a bachelor party.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 19, 2014
    38
    Silly, unfunny and formulaic.
  5. 38
    This generally mild-mannered comedy sinks or swims on Hart’s back. And as one scene makes clear, Little Man can’t swim.
  6. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 18, 2014
    33
    Think Like A Man was a memorably bad movie; the most eccentric thing about this sequel is its title.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Jun 19, 2014
    30
    Returning director Tim Story lays out the narrative wares with all the subtlety of a neon sign on the Strip, not that the screenplay from Keith Merryman and David A. Newman (who also co-wrote the first one) gives him much to work with.
  8. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 19, 2014
    30
    Mostly, the movie swings wildly between mania when Hart is on-screen and relative serenity when he's not. It gives the film a multiple-personality feel that does not work in its favor.
  9. Reviewed by: Anita Gates
    Jun 19, 2014
    30
    Things turn loud and desperate and stay that way.
  10. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jun 19, 2014
    30
    Think Like A Man Too isn’t a movie, or even an arbitrary sequel to an arbitrary adaptation of a novelty book, so much as an extended victory lap from filmmakers and actors convinced that all they have to do is show up to equal or top the first film’s success. The sad thing is that they’re probably right.
  11. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 20, 2014
    20
    Unfortunately, Think Like a Man Too never takes the time to elevate any of those characters to beyond mere cardboard cutouts.
  12. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jun 19, 2014
    20
    Coming across as more than a little desperate in its unrelenting freneticism, Think Like a Man Too possesses none of the charm of its predecessor. By the time the seemingly endless film reaches its conclusion, you’ll wish that what happened in Vegas had stayed in Vegas.
  13. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jun 18, 2014
    12
    If Think Like a Man Too was a man, he would be the world’s worst date: humorless, shrill, speaking primarily in clichés (“what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas!”) and absolutely terrified of women.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    My appreciation for this film comes from knowing what I was looking at, and from not looking for more than what's there. It's a comedy. IMy appreciation for this film comes from knowing what I was looking at, and from not looking for more than what's there. It's a comedy. I don't say "comedy" as a description of the genre to which this film belongs (which is the sad case for a lot of garbage being passed of as comedy). Hart's delivery, and the performance of the [mostly] well-put together cast, produces spontaneous, and sometimes explosive, laughter throughout the film. The film was also enjoyable because I saw myself in its humor, its sensibility, and its perspective. It didn't try too hard to create "types" of black people. These characters could easily be me and my friends doing everything on our cliche list of things we HAVE to do while we're in Vegas [minus the celebrity factor and the public brawl, of course]. What's more, the film was not designed to be a definitive statement on romantic relationships. The [not really] dramatic elements provided continuity, as a sequel, and gave the film just enough substance to distinguish itself in a genre dominated by pointless fluff. It's an excellent date movie that left me with an unexpected feeling of lightheartedness. My take-away's: Create your own adventures. Make life fun and interesting. Pay attention to the needs of others.Be ready to take a stand and commit yourself to something when the time is right. But, you'll enjoy life more, and laugh much louder and longer when you don't try so hard to make things work. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    6
    No, it's not high art, but it's FUN! Some of these critics in the "red" zone have no sense of humor. Kevin Hart is hilarious, as usual, andNo, it's not high art, but it's FUN! Some of these critics in the "red" zone have no sense of humor. Kevin Hart is hilarious, as usual, and the cast is pretty amazing. (Pretty cool to see Detective Carter from "Person of Interest" let her hair down....) It's definitely better than the 2nd and 3rd Hangover movies, though not as good as as the original or Bridesmaids. I laughed VERY hard many times during this sucker. Great to see Dennis Haysbert crash the party. Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2014
    1
    Think Like A Man Too is what most sequels to successful comedies are, a cash grab. With no real creativity this stereotypical Las Vegas-basedThink Like A Man Too is what most sequels to successful comedies are, a cash grab. With no real creativity this stereotypical Las Vegas-based Rom-Com draws the occasional laugh in an otherwise reserved and rather stale story. With this cast the film had the potential to get a little raunchier than the previous one with the Vegas atmosphere but instead decides to tone back and the quality is greatly affected. Should have stuck to a single movie story. Full Review »