User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 190
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd (reprising the characters they created in "Knocked Up") turn 40 and deal with complications in their marriage, family and careers. There's not much of a plot line, just situations where they interact with each other and friends. In typical Judd Apatow style, the dialogue often feels improvised, but that doesn't stop it from being very funny. The supporting cast isLeslie Mann and Paul Rudd (reprising the characters they created in "Knocked Up") turn 40 and deal with complications in their marriage, family and careers. There's not much of a plot line, just situations where they interact with each other and friends. In typical Judd Apatow style, the dialogue often feels improvised, but that doesn't stop it from being very funny. The supporting cast is loaded with strong comic turns, esp. Albert Brooks & Melissa McCarthy. This movie is full insights into life and relationships that elicit chuckles of recognition and lots of laughs. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    It's sometimes sweet and often funny, the entire film is a brutally honest look at life around the mid-life crisis time. As far as comedy goes this movie can provide tons of laugh-out-loud moments that make excellent use of the film's vulgarity. It's not always providing hilarious moments, there are plenty of times when the film is relying on more dramatic and emotional moments, but theIt's sometimes sweet and often funny, the entire film is a brutally honest look at life around the mid-life crisis time. As far as comedy goes this movie can provide tons of laugh-out-loud moments that make excellent use of the film's vulgarity. It's not always providing hilarious moments, there are plenty of times when the film is relying on more dramatic and emotional moments, but the movie is at it's best when it is.

    The film is, for the most part, excellently cast. Most of the minor characters provide just as many hilarious moments as the main cast, but there are a few odd choices. For instance it's clear that they want Megan Fox's character to be more than just a minor inclusion, but they fail to make her character funny in any way shape or form, resulting in her being nothing more than eye candy. Also some of the funnier minor characters like Melissa McCarthy ended leaving me wishing they had more screen time.

    "This Is 40" is a very funny movie that will please audiences 40 and older the most. Not everything is going to stick with you, but what does stick will have you chuckling at the very thought of it. It's not going to appeal to everyone, I might have been too young to understand the more dramatic bits, but those who have been though this part in their life are sure to find a real treat with this movie. As long as you aren't expecting a masterpiece you shouldn't be disappointed.
    Expand
  3. May 27, 2015
    7
    This is 40 is a tale of 2 movies. The first hour and half seems forced, unnecessary and has mindless conversations. The last 40 minutes, Apatow brings back his old ways of comedy and has some of the funniest scenes since The 40 year old Virgin.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    I actually rather enjoyed it. A lot more then I did Knocked Up or the most torturous film of all time aka Funny People. It does follow the basic Apatow formula Struggling/Childish adults becoming more mature and emotionally stable. However, what saves this film isn't the comedy but that it's real life. The situations happening through out the film actually happen. We all have to deal withI actually rather enjoyed it. A lot more then I did Knocked Up or the most torturous film of all time aka Funny People. It does follow the basic Apatow formula Struggling/Childish adults becoming more mature and emotionally stable. However, what saves this film isn't the comedy but that it's real life. The situations happening through out the film actually happen. We all have to deal with money problems, supporting elderly parents or parents who were never around much when we were growing up, As well as martial problems. I like that and thought that aspect of the film was well done. The humor did make me chuckle a few times but nothing serious but then again I saw it more as a drama film then a comedy after seeing the trailers so I wasn't disappointed with it. The run time is a bit too much and the film would have been better or at least more bare-able for some viewers if it were shorter but I didn't mind it. I didn't really mind all the sub-plots either because it all tied in with the film's main plot well enough to not be a bother. Acting is good, Rudd and Mann are at their best imo. Easily the best work Apatow has put out in years. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    Pete and Debbie, the loveable couple from Knocked Up, are back in the "sort of sequel" This Is 40. The couple are both turning 40, within days of each other, and decide that the number means it's time for a change, for them, as well as their family. They get new jobs and reconnect with family on their journey toward becoming a more mature couple, but it comes at a cost. Judd Apatow writesPete and Debbie, the loveable couple from Knocked Up, are back in the "sort of sequel" This Is 40. The couple are both turning 40, within days of each other, and decide that the number means it's time for a change, for them, as well as their family. They get new jobs and reconnect with family on their journey toward becoming a more mature couple, but it comes at a cost. Judd Apatow writes and directs this unique comedy, so I was expecting another hilarious winner, but they can't all be winners. The cast is fantastic and there are more than a few good laughs here, but this movie is extremely long and drawn out for a romantic comedy, and while it starts out strong, it starts to grow tiresome. There are many scenes between husband and wife that are boring and completely unnecessary. What I did like was how Apatow cast his daughters to be Pete and Debbie's daughters. They really are sisters and there was no pressure working for their dad, allowing them to really make it seem like this is a real family, and it's a good thing too, because for as good as both Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are, they just didn't have much chemistry together. Both cast members were good in portraying their own characters, but when you put them together you see that something just isn't right about the pairing. I loved the concept and you will definitely laugh during this film, but it does lack a certain chemistry and is far too long for what it is. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    A typical Apatow movie funny with enjoyable stars, but a tad long. This film was enjoyable mainly because you have Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann two very likeable and funny stars.
  7. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    A remarkably funny movie based around concepts that feel so relatable and honest. The improvisation in this movie was great, and you really feel as if you understand the characters. Fun and serious and everything in between in only a way Judd Apatow could deliver.
  8. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    judd apatow films are amazing expect the 40 year old virgin . leslie mann and paul rudd are funny including melissa mccarthy . but judd keeps making r rated films . make a pg13 film first
  9. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    This Is 4o is an excellent movie from Judd Apatow. The nail is pretty much nailed on the head regarding marriage and children. There were just so many familiar sights on offer here! Plus it was really funny.
  10. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    I agree with much of bl_nk's review, but I'll add that it's very long, but I never felt that it was too long or that I wanted it to end. It almost felt like a full season of Parenthood (though much funnier) crammed into 5 episodes. Most of the black humor resonated with me in particular - I noticed that I was often the only one laughing (hard) among the 20 or so people seeing the late,I agree with much of bl_nk's review, but I'll add that it's very long, but I never felt that it was too long or that I wanted it to end. It almost felt like a full season of Parenthood (though much funnier) crammed into 5 episodes. Most of the black humor resonated with me in particular - I noticed that I was often the only one laughing (hard) among the 20 or so people seeing the late, late show with me. My primary criticism is that it might have bitten off a BIT more than it could chew in terms of subplots and storylines. But Rudd and Mann are just flat-out funny. And I appreciate the basic honesty of the story. Apatow's kids are also excellent in their roles. Albert Brooks may have been a bit too strong for the film - he stole his scenes to the extent that he pulled focus away from the rest of the movie. So yes, the film employed a bit of a buckshot approach and was a touch unfocused, but I enjoyed it thoroughly. Expand
  11. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    This is 40 is a movie for anyone in their teenage years to anyone in middle age. Its full of good laughs and this movie does very well considering Seth Rogen is not featured in the sequel to Knocked Up. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are great. Another great Judd Apatow film.
  12. Mar 28, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a disappointing movie, This is 40 turned out to be. Paul Rudd is hilarious and he was the best character from Knocked Up. Then factor in the premise of this film and you would think the movie would be fantastic. However, that couldn't be further from the truth. Yes, Paul Rudd is still great but other than him, this movie is horrible. First of all, the most obvious flaw is their daughters' complete and total lack of anything resembling acting ability. Honestly, is was just sad. I'm starting to side with a friend of mine who thinks kids should just be banned from acting in general because they're that bad. While I don't always agree with that assessment, he could use this film as Exhibit A when making his case. Secondly, the film's plot is pieced together like crap. I'm sorry but there's just no eloquent way to put it. This film made me question whether or not Judd Apatow even knows how to make a movie. Scenes jump from one to another without any rhyme or reason and a good portion of the scenes could be completely left out of the movie being that that add absolutely nothing to the character or plot development nor are they funny. Actually, that segues perfectly into my next point. This movie was WAY TOO LONG and you feel every minute of it, especially for the first half of the film, because of the terrible scene transitions. My last problem, the ending was a joke. Did Apatow forget about Rudd being hit by a car door? How does the result of that not get touched on before the conclusion of the film? Bottom line, Rudd is hilarious and Megan Fox is absolutely smoking but everything else about this movie is a big disappointment. Don't waste your time. Expand
  13. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    A family drama that doesn't end with a marriage collapsing or strengthening. A film that maintains the status quo while being utterly foul and equally as heartfelt. This is 40 follows Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up as they enter what they perceive to be middle age and decide to change their lives for the better although in reality it might just be for the worst, the absolute worst. It's aA family drama that doesn't end with a marriage collapsing or strengthening. A film that maintains the status quo while being utterly foul and equally as heartfelt. This is 40 follows Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up as they enter what they perceive to be middle age and decide to change their lives for the better although in reality it might just be for the worst, the absolute worst. It's a film designed for the modern family, or that's what all the posters and adverts seem to suggest but to be honest the idea that this film is something for the modern family is completely absurd. In fact the family portrayed in this film feels nothing like the modern family (does anyone really know what a modern family is?), it feels dated even for 2013, I mean even the Lost references (there are plenty) are 3 years old. It's a film that does have a lot to say about family and does display a interesting family unit and a unique view of what a family should look like as compared to the idealised one we have in our head. This family unit is a strong one and each character interacts well with each other. However that's not to say the film is just about family and portrays family perfectly, its a very flawed film too. It's middle suffers due to some boring plot developments and lackluster jokes that befit a much different film. Ultimately its a film that seems it was written in parts with the beginning and the end meshing with each other well but the middle feeling wholly out of place and wrong. The middle does have some merit in fact Megan Fox surprises with a hilarious supporting role as one of Debbie's employees. However it is the ending that really raises the film up above Apatow's usual fair with some touching family moments that feel real. The inclusion of Albert Brooks and John Lithgow as Pete and Debbie's respective fathers gives a nice contrast and makes for some decent conflict the these characters. It's a film that has a huge chunk of a flaw but its one that you can ultimately shrug off thanks to an ending that reminds you why you liked these characters to begin with. Expand
  14. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    "While it comes with many flaws. This is 40 is a calmly funny, up-beat comedy that takes us through the mid-life crisis. While its not always laugh out loud funny. Thanks to comedic timing by Rudd & Mann, this movie saved itself from being a much worse" C
  15. BKM
    Jul 18, 2013
    5
    The movie has its fair share of laughs, although none of them are of the gut busting variety, and Mann and Rudd do a commendable job of carrying the film on their combined shoulders. But This Is 40 ultimately fails due to a maddening lack of focus. It feels like it's trying to go in ten different directions at the same time.
  16. Jan 16, 2013
    6
    I give Apatow kudos for trying something decent with this. It has elements of a serious comedy, "Lost in Translation" style, but also silliness to try and equal it out. Often it works, but just as often it fails. The film has had great potential, and it is rather decent end-product overall, with good performances by the cast, especially Leslie Mann. There seems to be some disjointments inI give Apatow kudos for trying something decent with this. It has elements of a serious comedy, "Lost in Translation" style, but also silliness to try and equal it out. Often it works, but just as often it fails. The film has had great potential, and it is rather decent end-product overall, with good performances by the cast, especially Leslie Mann. There seems to be some disjointments in the story, but it is rather entertaining, though a tad too long. Not bad at all, but not a great film either. It's within the 'good' category, for sure. 6/10 Expand
  17. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    Paul Rudd on a toilet AGAIN !!! Come on find another skit for the guy. He did it 3 times in this movie alone. Hard to put a number on this one. Some jokes worked great others not so. Both fathers characters were overdone. The girls screamed and fought a bit too much. Other scenes like the one with the kid that looked like Tom Petty worked great. Although clever observations about life arePaul Rudd on a toilet AGAIN !!! Come on find another skit for the guy. He did it 3 times in this movie alone. Hard to put a number on this one. Some jokes worked great others not so. Both fathers characters were overdone. The girls screamed and fought a bit too much. Other scenes like the one with the kid that looked like Tom Petty worked great. Although clever observations about life are presented in this movie, development is scarce. Nice to see if there is nothing else on at the theater. Expand
  18. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    A little long, a little inconsistent, and a little full of unnecessary supporting characters. In the end its success hinges on the likability of its cast, and it that regard it mostly works.
  19. Mar 23, 2015
    6
    The story of one couples trials and tribulations as they approach 40 isn't the complete disaster some critics claim but it does become pretty wearing by the time the (excessive) 150 minute running time has elapsed. Rudd and Mann are likeable enough as the squabbling couple, but their problems are hard to sympathise with when they live in (what must amount to) a mansion, and despite theThe story of one couples trials and tribulations as they approach 40 isn't the complete disaster some critics claim but it does become pretty wearing by the time the (excessive) 150 minute running time has elapsed. Rudd and Mann are likeable enough as the squabbling couple, but their problems are hard to sympathise with when they live in (what must amount to) a mansion, and despite the constant moaning about lack of money and cost cutting seem to live like millionaires. Ostensibly a film about "first world problems" it will make you chuckle, but you won't have a shred of sympathy for anyone by the end. Expand
  20. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    It's hard to feel sorry for people who live in a $900.000 house, drive a 5 series BMW and a Lexus SUV, own a large heated swimming pool, use iPhones/iPads/iMacs, have a Spine surgeon as a father and who organise large garden BBQ parties. These 'poor' characters are bogged down by simple superficial problems that could be easlily solved and are plagued by their Mid-life crisis, coz theirIt's hard to feel sorry for people who live in a $900.000 house, drive a 5 series BMW and a Lexus SUV, own a large heated swimming pool, use iPhones/iPads/iMacs, have a Spine surgeon as a father and who organise large garden BBQ parties. These 'poor' characters are bogged down by simple superficial problems that could be easlily solved and are plagued by their Mid-life crisis, coz their relationship doesn't feel as fresh anymore. Mediocre acting by Mann & Rudd makes you care even less about the outcome of this 137 min long self indulgent nagfest. It seems Apatow only had one good movie in him, so maybe he should consider another job... Expand
  21. Aug 15, 2013
    2
    Cliche, predicable, boring, annoying add up to waste of time. It's just a sequence of celebrity and brand name dropping with adults acting out as irresponsible adolescents and adolescents acting out as mouthy brats. I watched half before calling time-of-death.
  22. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    There are so many wrong things about this un-funny comedy that I am not sure where to start. The very loose plot revolves around a rich married couple, with two daughters. All the members of this family spend most of their "quality" time shouting at each other.

    Despite this, hubby (Paul) and wife (Debbie) carry on their dysfunctional marriage for reasons impossible to understand. They
    There are so many wrong things about this un-funny comedy that I am not sure where to start. The very loose plot revolves around a rich married couple, with two daughters. All the members of this family spend most of their "quality" time shouting at each other.

    Despite this, hubby (Paul) and wife (Debbie) carry on their dysfunctional marriage for reasons impossible to understand. They both are immature, self-absorbed and kept together only by sex.
    Several scenes involve trivial language and cringe-inducing situations.

    To mention but a few: Debbie insults a kid, after having read his comments on her daughter's facebook page (how utterly pathetic to see an adult woman losing it with a kid for such a trivial reason...); Debbie going to the disco with her employee and behaving like a teenager; Paul spending a lot of time in the toilet (we have the pleasure of seeing him taking a dump not once but twice), etc.....

    The only saving grace for me was that this was supposed to be my in-flight entertainment, so at least I had the pleasure of not paying for a ticket.
    Expand
  23. Feb 27, 2015
    4
    I don't remember anything but somehow hating girls music a little more and paul rudd failing to make cupcakes funny...which isn't easy i bet....december 5th is my actual birthday too ......
  24. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    I really think Apatow is trying to win an Oscar. This film is so more serious and relatable than his previous ones, and I'm not sure how I like it. It's a pretty good movie and it definitely makes you question your realationships but the 2 and a half hour run time are felt, and at times it is more awkward than enjoyable. Still a pretty good movie even if it is nothing like the other ones.
  25. Dec 26, 2012
    5
    This movie is funny but ultimately bland and pointless. At least 45 minutes of the film (which never really goes anywhere, or has any sort of plot) could be cut out and the same message will still be gleaned. Fans of Knocked Up may enjoy this, but otherwise it is a mediocre romantic comedy.
  26. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    Not a movie so much as extended takes edited together (by no less than 3 credited editors) of improvised scenes from previous characters in another Judd Apatow movie. Like Funny People, this sacrifices story (and humor) for honesty, but the 2 hours of mean-spirited jaunt isn't worth the 9-minute payoff thrown together, nor the 2 minutes of outtakes at the end watching Melissa McCarthyNot a movie so much as extended takes edited together (by no less than 3 credited editors) of improvised scenes from previous characters in another Judd Apatow movie. Like Funny People, this sacrifices story (and humor) for honesty, but the 2 hours of mean-spirited jaunt isn't worth the 9-minute payoff thrown together, nor the 2 minutes of outtakes at the end watching Melissa McCarthy improvise. Fast forward to her 2 scenes and turn the rest off. Waste of time. Expand
  27. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    If you aren't laughing throughout this movie, then you are either not being honest with yourself about what it means to be 40ish, or take yourself W-A-Y too seriously. This movie was like staring into the mirror. And yes, if you are 40ish, married, living in the 'burbs, with kids you have definitely had one or more of the conversations / situations depicted in the film. Judd Apatow has aIf you aren't laughing throughout this movie, then you are either not being honest with yourself about what it means to be 40ish, or take yourself W-A-Y too seriously. This movie was like staring into the mirror. And yes, if you are 40ish, married, living in the 'burbs, with kids you have definitely had one or more of the conversations / situations depicted in the film. Judd Apatow has a knack for portraying comic honesty in real life. Judd Apatow's filmmaking seems to capture the basic flaw in Gen X, many of us lack some basic maturity. His films show us the reality of our stunted lives and make us laugh heartily. Congratulations to an accomplished filmmaker. Expand
  28. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    funnier than expected, but its a typical 1 time see movie and thats it.at least you can see leslie´s **** and megan is always welcome
  29. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    I was disappointed by this movie. I had high hopes that it would be funny and a good time to watch. It had it's funny moments but it wasn't anything special. I know the movie was going for a genuine relationship, but I just felt like were fighting the entire time. If I wanted to see a couple fight, I could have stayed home. The movie was also too long, the ending dragged on a lot and II was disappointed by this movie. I had high hopes that it would be funny and a good time to watch. It had it's funny moments but it wasn't anything special. I know the movie was going for a genuine relationship, but I just felt like were fighting the entire time. If I wanted to see a couple fight, I could have stayed home. The movie was also too long, the ending dragged on a lot and I feel like they could have deleted a few more scenes. Megan Fox was awesome to look and Paul Rudd is always adorable. In all, I just wasn't impressed. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Feb 11, 2013
    80
    With his fourth film as writer-director, Judd Apatow has arguably made his most personal film yet, without forgetting to make us laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Mueller
    Jan 11, 2013
    80
    Apatow's return creates a pleasantly sprawling, perceptive study of mid-life angst that never lacks for laughs. Promoting Rudd and Mann from Knocked Up's margins to centre stage proves to be a shrewd move.
  3. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Dec 21, 2012
    40
    It's not bad, exactly – but it is boring and very rarely funny. This is laboured. This is aimless. This Is 40. It's really quite a grind.