User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 181

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    judd apatow films are amazing expect the 40 year old virgin . leslie mann and paul rudd are funny including melissa mccarthy . but judd keeps making r rated films . make a pg13 film first
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    So funny!!!!!! I laughed my butt off. I love all of Judd Appatow's movies. There is always a great combination of hilarious and meaningful sentiment towards them. Rudd and Mann make a great combo.
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    A remarkably funny movie based around concepts that feel so relatable and honest. The improvisation in this movie was great, and you really feel as if you understand the characters. Fun and serious and everything in between in only a way Judd Apatow could deliver.
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Absolutely loved it. Favorite comedy of the year! Thought it was fantastic from start to finish. Was my life! Cannot wait to see what Rudd does next! 10/10
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie and didn't want it to end. I can't wait another 5 years for a sequel, I want Apatow to write another immediately, or put everyone in a sitcom or reality show. I laughed and I cried, I love Leslie and her daughters the most.
  6. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This movie was hilarious. I wasn't expecting much because of the so-so reviews, but I was really surprised. The lines were great and the the cast carried them off beautifully. Loved Leslie Mann, but I thought that Albert Brooks stole the movie. Would've loved even more of him. Judd Apatow knew exactly what he was doing, maybe because it is his life, but even if not, he was spot on. Funniest movie of the year! Collapse
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This movie was hilarious! It had its serious moments that didn't get too dramatic and romantic moments that didn't get too cheesy. The humor was clever and probably too modern and advanced for the movie critics to comprehend. I really enjoyed the film and felt like a lot of the characters and situations between parents and children really hit close to home. Thanks for another great film Judd Apatow! Expand
  8. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This is 40 was hilarious. In my New York cinema on Christmas Day the crowd started laughing from the first line and didn't stop til the end. Metacritic can make you doubt the wisdom of critics sometimes; this was easily the most enjoyable film I saw all year (other than Brooklyn Castle). Go see it - and stay for the credits.
  9. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    If you aren't laughing throughout this movie, then you are either not being honest with yourself about what it means to be 40ish, or take yourself W-A-Y too seriously. This movie was like staring into the mirror. And yes, if you are 40ish, married, living in the 'burbs, with kids you have definitely had one or more of the conversations / situations depicted in the film. Judd Apatow has a knack for portraying comic honesty in real life. Judd Apatow's filmmaking seems to capture the basic flaw in Gen X, many of us lack some basic maturity. His films show us the reality of our stunted lives and make us laugh heartily. Congratulations to an accomplished filmmaker. Expand
  10. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    This movie offers truth, big laughs, and theories on what makes relationships so difficult to maintain in the modern world. The old saying "familiarity breeds contempt" could not be more true in most marriages and in these character's lives. I laughed almost every scene and so did the other four people with me. We all came out very surprised by how good it was. I would see it again. Although I would say Silver Linings Playbook is the funniest movie of the year, this is a close second. I would actually go see this again before I saw Silver Linings again. Because I understand these characters, I know these characters, most of us are these characters. Go see it, sit back and relax, and laugh. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Feb 11, 2013
    80
    With his fourth film as writer-director, Judd Apatow has arguably made his most personal film yet, without forgetting to make us laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Mueller
    Jan 11, 2013
    80
    Apatow's return creates a pleasantly sprawling, perceptive study of mid-life angst that never lacks for laughs. Promoting Rudd and Mann from Knocked Up's margins to centre stage proves to be a shrewd move.
  3. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Dec 21, 2012
    40
    It's not bad, exactly – but it is boring and very rarely funny. This is laboured. This is aimless. This Is 40. It's really quite a grind.