This Is It

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 171
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VoR2Reason
    Feb 15, 2010
    0
    I agree with Voice of Reason. He was a pedophile and a very disturbed individual. An example is dangling babies over a balcony. Yes I know, maybe some of you demented parents reading this forum do this on a regular basis. But guess what, it's a sick behavior and should be treated as such. Any of his accomplishments become null and void.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    This movie was a shameful money grab. Pure and simple. They wanted to make money pulling on the heart strings of MJ's many fans from around the world. This is a total disgrace to his memory, and the people who made this movie should be ashamed of themselves. If you are a fan of MJ, do yourself a favor, listen to his CD's dance around your living room, but do not waste your time This movie was a shameful money grab. Pure and simple. They wanted to make money pulling on the heart strings of MJ's many fans from around the world. This is a total disgrace to his memory, and the people who made this movie should be ashamed of themselves. If you are a fan of MJ, do yourself a favor, listen to his CD's dance around your living room, but do not waste your time and money on this movie, so a few greedy heartless people can profit from his death. Expand
  3. VoiceofReason
    Jan 28, 2010
    0
    This man was a pedophile. Anyone who goes to this movie is living with there head in the sand.
  4. geoffb
    Nov 29, 2009
    2
    To be honest I didn't expect much from this film, and i didn't really want to go but as the rest of the family was going i was forced to go, My expectations were right what a load of old rubbish, it just couldn't decide whether it was a documentary or a concert.
  5. Chrisb
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    Your all vultures, its sad to see firsthand exactly what is wrong with the mindset of this country. if this film was released 1 year ago, not even 5 people would have seen this. damned lemmings... have fun living your lives as it is sold to you. think about it for one second in your mindless lives.
  6. JackD
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    Anyone who claims to have gotten any insight into Michael Jackson's life from watching this film or any of the other things I have heard people saying about this film are pretentious idiots, pretending to understand a layer of this film that is not there. Not to say that this film is horrible, it's kind of interesting in a way, but still you will consider leaving and will Anyone who claims to have gotten any insight into Michael Jackson's life from watching this film or any of the other things I have heard people saying about this film are pretentious idiots, pretending to understand a layer of this film that is not there. Not to say that this film is horrible, it's kind of interesting in a way, but still you will consider leaving and will definitely feel cheated out of your money. Expand
  7. sinproducerX
    Nov 3, 2009
    3
    None of you people would've bought tickets to this movie if it wasn't to pay respects. Its just sad people have to die to be seen in a different light.
  8. CodyB.
    Nov 3, 2009
    1
    I feel that if I were to go to this movie, it would be the same as paying money to support the child porn industry. NOT GONNA HAPPEN!
  9. zach
    Oct 31, 2009
    0
    Everyone is so bandwagon. When he was alive everyone was putting him down as a pedofile which he was. Now he is dead and everyone is like he was the best man that ever lived. Goodbye MJ or should I say Screw off and the movie was not good.
  10. Bart
    Oct 31, 2009
    0
    Please put the letters "SH" in front of the last word in the title, and you will know how "good" this film is. After watching "This Is Shit", watching your relatives 20 year old wedding video will be very entertaining.
  11. Paul
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    Someone should tell the producer that they forgot the letters "SH' off of the last word in the title.
  12. SviatlanaP
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    I am genuinely surprised why so many Michael Jackson fans turned up for the premier of This Is It. If you have any respect for the genius of Michael Jackson how can you ever go see a movie like that? The man is dead, but in this plastic culture no one has respect for anything, not even death it seems, and instead of letting the man be, we are still peeping, still prying, still trying to I am genuinely surprised why so many Michael Jackson fans turned up for the premier of This Is It. If you have any respect for the genius of Michael Jackson how can you ever go see a movie like that? The man is dead, but in this plastic culture no one has respect for anything, not even death it seems, and instead of letting the man be, we are still peeping, still prying, still trying to catch the juicy bits, no different from the apish, out-for-a-quick-buck, brainless paparazzi. I haven Expand
  13. MONTYQ
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    Cant believe that this pedo is still going strong even after his death.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. 100
    [An] extraordinary documentary, nothing at all like what I was expecting to see. Here is not a sick and drugged man forcing himself through grueling rehearsals, but a spirit embodied by music. Michael Jackson was something else.
  2. He could dance brilliantly right up to the end, it’s clear.This Is It may be a court documentary, but as a heavily lawyered portrait of an artist, it’s still pretty compelling.
  3. What this strange yet strangely beguiling film does is capture one of pop culture's great entertainers in the feverish grips of pure creativity.