Embassy Pictures Corporation | Release Date: September 8, 2000
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 74 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
6
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
rdaviesNov 1, 2010
80 mins of pure orgasm.

So good it hold its own genre: Rockumentary. This is so genius. So many laughs and what differentiates it from the usual slapstick comedy is that it feels real and still maintains a decent structure. It is impossible
80 mins of pure orgasm.

So good it hold its own genre: Rockumentary. This is so genius. So many laughs and what differentiates it from the usual slapstick comedy is that it feels real and still maintains a decent structure. It is impossible to rate this lower than 10.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ddayusaOct 9, 2010
Brilliant parody of rock music and rock musicians. As mocking and cutting as the movie, it still manages to express show the genre some love. My favorite moment is when David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean), playing and singing on stage, urgesBrilliant parody of rock music and rock musicians. As mocking and cutting as the movie, it still manages to express show the genre some love. My favorite moment is when David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean), playing and singing on stage, urges Nigel Tufnel (Christopher Guest) with a nod of his head to come out of the wings and join him on stage. Nigel had quit the band in disgust after David's meddling wife had attached herself uninvited to the band. Nigel hesitates but then walks across the stage, straps on a guitar and plays in unison with David. It's a special moment in a special film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JeffF.Jan 19, 2006
Very funny. One drummer choked on someone elses vomit. I wish Metalica some kind of monster would have been this good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleM.Jan 27, 2006
The tasteless cover is a good indication of the lack of cinematic invention within. The musical growth of this cast cannot even be charted. They are treading water in a sea of retarded sexuality and bad poetry. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamW.May 30, 2006
I just picked this up on DVD. Of course, it's a great movie. But I had to wonder whether the Metacritic people realized that the Village Voice review by Jessica Winter to which they assigned a "50" is actually a joke, written as if it I just picked this up on DVD. Of course, it's a great movie. But I had to wonder whether the Metacritic people realized that the Village Voice review by Jessica Winter to which they assigned a "50" is actually a joke, written as if it were a perfectly serious attempt to use the release of the DVD as the occasion to consider the band's legacy. Or are the Metacritic people just going along with the joke? With deadpan upon deadpan upon deadpan, it gets hard to tell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColmM.Sep 1, 2006
A classic in every sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Apr 25, 2007
Perhaps my favorite movie of all time. As Nigel noted (if I remember it correctly), "there's a fine line between clever and stupid" and this movie is never stuipid. It's hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveK.Jun 29, 2006
Great movie! The satirical content in this is great, any big band would think this is hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
j30Sep 20, 2011
Great movie. My favorite comedy. You owe it to yourself to watch this and laugh your ass off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
charmanderpantsJun 17, 2012
Witty and good fun, even if it was a bit over done.
You have already reviewed this product. You can submit a new review and rating now if you wish to make changes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 14, 2015
This Is Spinal Tap is absolutely hilarious. The problem I find with many comedies is that they are not as funny as I want them to be, but here, that is anything but the problem. From the interactions between the band members to the lyrics inThis Is Spinal Tap is absolutely hilarious. The problem I find with many comedies is that they are not as funny as I want them to be, but here, that is anything but the problem. From the interactions between the band members to the lyrics in their songs, the comedy never stops here and really, you barely have time to recover between jokes. All of the band members, Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer, are hilarious and turn in strong performances to boot. Rob Reiner is great here as well, as are Tony Hendra, June Chadwick, and then I really liked Bruno Kirby's small part as well. The fact that much of the dialogue was ad libbed makes this one even better and really helped to make it feel so natural. Spinal Tap is obviously not a real band, but it truly felt like it was at times since the interviews and interactions felt so natural and authentic. In every way imaginable, This Is Spinal Tap is a classic comedy from the 80's that is worthy of the praise it has received over the years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"This Is Spinal Tap" is a 1984 Rob Reiner mockumentary about the failing fictitious rock and roll group, Spinal Tap, and their attempts to get back on top of the charts. The film stars Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer as"This Is Spinal Tap" is a 1984 Rob Reiner mockumentary about the failing fictitious rock and roll group, Spinal Tap, and their attempts to get back on top of the charts. The film stars Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer as the main group members. What surprised me most about this film is that most of the films dialogue was improvised by Reiner, McKean, Guest, and Shearer. It works quite well throughout the film, as the jokes feel more organic and not staged. There's not much else to say about "Spinal Tap". It's a really clever movie that's modestly executed and it, in all honesty, pays off. While, it's not a solid eleven (ha ha see what I did there?) in my book, it's still a freaking hilarious movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Jan 18, 2014
One of the first mockumentaries ever made and also mostly improvised This Is Spinal Tap isn't exactly your straightforward comedy. Nowadays we have new fake documentaries and found footage movies every week. Back in 1984 with one or two minorOne of the first mockumentaries ever made and also mostly improvised This Is Spinal Tap isn't exactly your straightforward comedy. Nowadays we have new fake documentaries and found footage movies every week. Back in 1984 with one or two minor exceptions, this was a new idea and new way of making comedies. Take a look at the score out of 10 people obviously liked this new style of funny movies, this new template of how to make you laugh. And you laugh a lot. From how loud the amps can go to the story about how their drummer spontaneously combusted, pretty much everything is some kind of a joke. Overall it might not be as laugh out loud hilarious as it's reputation suggests it to be, but I definitely laughed an above average amount of times and really enjoyed myself with This Is Spinal Tap. It undoubtedly deserves it's cult status. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScreenagerApr 8, 2013
Not only does this succeed at being a satire of rock bands, it also acts as a satire of documentaries themselves. There are many scenes that are memorable and easily quotable lines. A silly, ridiculous, funny mock-rockumentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
askewglassesAug 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first time I saw this it was just an okay movie. But the more I watch it the funnier it gets, the dialog is clever, and the music is hilarious and great to listen to. The interactions between the characters is so well done and feels very real. It may not be a very well known movie but I highly suggest watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoFeb 13, 2015
I'd give this film 11/10 if i could. This is quite easily one of the greatest comedies/mocumentaries ever made! Dry, witty humour at it's finest. This goes to 11.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DrastreApr 29, 2014
One of my favorite movie ever. It's witty, funny and clever. They take what could have been a crappy movie and cranked it up to 11. It is fantastic. 11/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RalfbergsNov 20, 2016
I only watched this movie now and really enjoyed it - can definitely see why it is considered as a classic and one of the trendsetters in mockumentary style movies/tv series. The story was interesting, there were plenty of comedy (and what isI only watched this movie now and really enjoyed it - can definitely see why it is considered as a classic and one of the trendsetters in mockumentary style movies/tv series. The story was interesting, there were plenty of comedy (and what is good is that it wasn't just a slapstick comedy) and was interesting to watch throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews