This Is the End

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    This apocalypse isn’t a nightmare so much as the ultimate bromantic fantasy, one in which – with the removal of any responsibility – the boys are free to bicker, banter, and bed down together.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    No comedy classic, then, but a good natured and engaging slice of goonish self-mockery.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    Some funny stuff, but a rental/download only.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jun 23, 2013
    60
    Is the movie fun? Yes, for half the time. An hour would have sufficed. [24 June 2013, p.84]
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    The film, at its phoned-in worst and also at its riotous best, has a terminal feeling. It suggests that a comic subgenre based on the immaturity, sexual panic and self-mocking tendencies of men who should be old enough to know better has reached its expiration date.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 10, 2013
    60
    The real point of This is The End, however, is to make people laugh -- and it accomplishes that. Often, in fact -- and satisfyingly.
  7. 50
    Some of that fun is infectious. For a while. Maybe 45 minutes. But when actors look as if they’re having a better time than you are, the buzz wears off fast. You turn into a wallflower at an especially obnoxious party.
  8. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 12, 2013
    50
    I enjoyed the hell out of it for a while, but it got irritating and self-congratulatory long before it was over and I desperately do not want to see it again.
  9. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 11, 2013
    50
    Rogen and his friends may have set out to celebrate virtue at its uneasiest, but they’re clearly still most at home with earthly delights.
  10. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Jun 10, 2013
    50
    It's disheartening that, despite some half-hearted overtures toward shifting the comedy paradigm, the filmmakers make little attempt to expand their comedic palette.
  11. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    May 31, 2013
    50
    Your mileage with the movie will depend on how much you like these guys to begin with, because even if you're a fan, the one joke premise has a hard time sustaining a full length movie.
  12. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 11, 2013
    40
    It's no minor accomplishment to make one of the most indulgent projects in Hollywood history. But with This Is the End, Seth Rogen and his pals have indeed achieved this dubious goal.
  13. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 11, 2013
    40
    It’s a hit-and-mostly-miss affair: For every gut-buster like McBride and Franco’s lengthy exchange about drenching each other in seminal fluid, there’s a fall-flat gag.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 670 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 185
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    0
    What has happened to society!? Are male members really worth basing an entire movie on? I didn't find the humor in this at all and was reallyWhat has happened to society!? Are male members really worth basing an entire movie on? I didn't find the humor in this at all and was really looking forward to a LOL movie. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Are you people insane? If this is what you are willing to pay your hard earned money to see then why should anyone work at their craft.Are you people insane? If this is what you are willing to pay your hard earned money to see then why should anyone work at their craft. Possibly the most juvenile idiotic movie I have ever seen. Is this what Hollywood now calls entertainment. I have as good as sense of humor as the next person but this flick was awful. The people connected in making this should be ashamed. Full Review »
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    0
    Don't waste your time. I thought this must be funny after hearing such a positive review, 4.5 stars, by David Blaustein of ABC and WJR.Don't waste your time. I thought this must be funny after hearing such a positive review, 4.5 stars, by David Blaustein of ABC and WJR. There are a couple of laughs but that is about it. We walked out after about 40min. It may help if you are high before going. Totally over rated. I now know to ignore Blaustein. Rent a Cheech and Chong movie. Full Review »