Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 12, 2013
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 735 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
519
Mixed:
119
Negative:
97
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ragoo47Jun 26, 2013
This is a witless steaming pile of dog poo. SAVE YOUR MONEY! The moronic sense of self-satisfaction that is displayed by the half-wits that compiled this garbage truly depresses me. A waste of money and time.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
acquiredtastes2Jun 27, 2013
Before I start, I should write that I am a Seth Rogan fan and thoroughly enjoy his past work such as Knocked Up, Pineapple Express etc.. I had high expectations for this film after hearing Seth and Evan Goldberg interviewed on the AdamBefore I start, I should write that I am a Seth Rogan fan and thoroughly enjoy his past work such as Knocked Up, Pineapple Express etc.. I had high expectations for this film after hearing Seth and Evan Goldberg interviewed on the Adam Carolla Podcast. I went to the film, sat patiently waiting to be entertained, ready to laugh and my face and inward demeanour rarely changed from a blank expression and inner calm throughout the whole showing. I did smile occasionally but did not at any time have a full laugh and I mean that sincerely. The persons behind and in frontof me also showed no emotion whatsoever throughout the film although I did hear an occasional laugh in the audience in another part of the theatre. I found the film almost painful to sit through. However, a black comedy is usually more clever and inciteful on society and relationships than a regular comedy. I found the film neither clever or inciteful and certainly not entertaining. I will not give up on Seth though as he has shown a comic flair in his writing in the past and hope the future holds more Knocked Up-type humour. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
coopJul 8, 2013
This was the worst movie I have seen in years. I was so looking forward to it too. Do not go! It was a total waste of time and money. The target audience must be 13-16 year old immature pimple faced boys who have never had a date and boysThis was the worst movie I have seen in years. I was so looking forward to it too. Do not go! It was a total waste of time and money. The target audience must be 13-16 year old immature pimple faced boys who have never had a date and boys who smoke dope and love to hear about dick and penis jokes. This will be my last Seth Rogan movie ever. He has now taken over for Adam Sadler for making a the longest string of bad movies that nobody wants to see. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
1
CmeNOWsoFLYiiJun 29, 2013
I keep hearing how people love this film and they claim that if you're a fan of the actors involved you'll love this, this is not the case. I'm a big fan of all these actors & instead of listing the films I liked them in, I'll just name theI keep hearing how people love this film and they claim that if you're a fan of the actors involved you'll love this, this is not the case. I'm a big fan of all these actors & instead of listing the films I liked them in, I'll just name the one I didn't like, "Your Highness". Automatically I couldn't wait to see this, I knew exactly what I was in for however the jokes were unfunny, the acting was bad and the story was flat. I can't help but hate this film & I really can't understand how anyone could like it. Massive disappointment especially considering these actors have been in films like Pinneapple Express, Superbad & Knocked Up which are all real comedies. This film is a joke and I mean that in a negative way. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
3
ClariseSamuelsJul 16, 2013
This Is the End only holds your interest when this movie is at the beginning. There is a new genre of Hollywood film that seems to have been invented by Seth Rogen--I call it The Gross & the Vulgar (G&V). G&V films use a lot of sexualThis Is the End only holds your interest when this movie is at the beginning. There is a new genre of Hollywood film that seems to have been invented by Seth Rogen--I call it The Gross & the Vulgar (G&V). G&V films use a lot of sexual obscenity and are often obsessed with scatological references. Admittedly, there is not a single display of excrement in this G&V film. However, we see Michael Cera as a weird druggie who humiliates a woman after she performs fellatio in the bathroom at a wild party held by James Franco. Cera is supposed to be playing himself, but it's unclear whether he is in fact that stupid in real life. Franco plays himself as a spoiled rich kid who can afford the house of his fantasies and is the leader of the pack. All of Franco's friends including Jonah Hill, Jay Baruchel and others are successful actors who are playing themselves. When they poke fun at their own fame, wealth, and lifestyle, there is some measure of amusement, but this aspect of the film only holds for the first half hour or so. There is an amusing conversation about what it means to be on a gluten-free diet, as Baruchel and Rogen act dumber than they presumably are in real life: “Everything that's bad has gluten...calories have gluten.”

However, the movie soon deteriorates into a disaster film, but the disaster is being caused by God Himself who has decided to usher in the Day of Judgment. Los Angeles is now right in there with Sodom and Gomorrah, and given the party that was being held at Franco's house when the hell-fires broke loose, one can understand why the Lord finally got fed up with the human race. The Devil himself has taken over the city, and he is a giant demon with an equally giant phallus. Those who are pure and good are spared this scenario, for a blue light beams them up like a suction tube so that they can reside in a heavenly abode. Those left behind are sinners who have yet to redeem themselves, but they too can get beamed up at the last possible moment if they sacrifice themselves for the sake of love and kindness.

There are painful scenes in this movie--Franco and Danny McBride have an obscenely juvenile conversation about whose masturbatory practices and seminal output are more prodigious. At one point, as the clan holes up in Franco's mansion, which acts as a crucible for the ensemble as the populace burns to death outdoors, a stranger sticks his head through a hole in the door and begs the boys to take him in. The group debates the matter for too long, for the Devil sees the poor shlemiel with his head stuck in the door and decapitates him, so that the head rolls into Franco's house. The boys don't quite know what to do with the bloody body part, so naturally they end up kicking it around in an impromptu game of soccer ball before they decide that this behavior is insensitive, tasteless, and inappropriate. Given the nature of the entire film, this display of remorse is a little out of character.

Unfortunately, in the end, This Is the End, another G&V film from Seth Rogen, is simply asinine, half-witted, and puerile.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
fantasyJul 18, 2013
Are you people insane? If this is what you are willing to pay your hard earned money to see then why should anyone work at their craft. Possibly the most juvenile idiotic movie I have ever seen. Is this what Hollywood now callsAre you people insane? If this is what you are willing to pay your hard earned money to see then why should anyone work at their craft. Possibly the most juvenile idiotic movie I have ever seen. Is this what Hollywood now calls entertainment. I have as good as sense of humor as the next person but this flick was awful. The people connected in making this should be ashamed. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
1
anishsanaJul 8, 2013
One of the worst movies ever! It can be termed comedy is boring is the new funny. Senseless jokes and awful acting. Thankfully, it gets better at the end but the first quarter of the movie there was only one person laughing in the entireOne of the worst movies ever! It can be termed comedy is boring is the new funny. Senseless jokes and awful acting. Thankfully, it gets better at the end but the first quarter of the movie there was only one person laughing in the entire theatre. Just terrible! Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
0
oringetoeJul 15, 2013
'This Is the End' I was hoping 5 minutes into this hunk of junk. Jason Segal got out of there early, although he was still in it so he's now out. Stick to the f**king muppets man, they have way more character than these lame pricks.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
gamerblueJun 18, 2013
If you have seen "Your Highness" then you know what to expect in this movie =tons of Penis's on screen with alot of akward jokes about rape, etc. I really wanted to like this movie but its gross out humor and over the top acting was a bit tooIf you have seen "Your Highness" then you know what to expect in this movie =tons of Penis's on screen with alot of akward jokes about rape, etc. I really wanted to like this movie but its gross out humor and over the top acting was a bit too much to enjoy. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
2
DanilNov 4, 2013
The movie is painfully unfunny and blunt. Half of the moments that I chuckled at were in the trailers. The acting is abysmally bad, feels like an extremely cheap sitcom. For a moment I thought that they acted so cheesy on purpose but it isThe movie is painfully unfunny and blunt. Half of the moments that I chuckled at were in the trailers. The acting is abysmally bad, feels like an extremely cheap sitcom. For a moment I thought that they acted so cheesy on purpose but it is not the case. This Is The End is almost as bad as Your Highness.

And no I am not a puritan, normally I laugh my lungs out on dumb vulgar movies.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
cybersisi09Jul 11, 2013
Worst movie ever! It was embarrassing to watch or to hear! It was a horror movie for me, way to dirty, gross, boring! The trailer is a lie, doesn't honor what it promises. I mean really! All you see is a bunch of dumb actors, getting high andWorst movie ever! It was embarrassing to watch or to hear! It was a horror movie for me, way to dirty, gross, boring! The trailer is a lie, doesn't honor what it promises. I mean really! All you see is a bunch of dumb actors, getting high and talking about their male parts! A total waste of money and time! I hated it! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
benpacoJun 25, 2013
It has a few funny lines here and there, I suppose. Unfortunately, every joke that made me laugh during this was at Michael Cera, who is only actually in about 10 minutes of the film. It drags on FOREVER. The length between laugh out loudIt has a few funny lines here and there, I suppose. Unfortunately, every joke that made me laugh during this was at Michael Cera, who is only actually in about 10 minutes of the film. It drags on FOREVER. The length between laugh out loud lines is sometimes unbearable. I will admit some of the visual effects were better than I thought they would be, although the shear lack of comedy just couldn't be made up for. From the reviews it looks like mostly people enjoyed it, although when I saw it the theater was almost silent the entire time, laughing only at a few moments. Only part that seemed to please everyone was the BSB cameo that say a lot about a movie, I'd say. I wanted to enjoy this movie, as the first 20 minutes is very funny, but me and my friend actually talked about leaving about 40 minutes in we decided to stick it out but this was a mistake. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
0
iamacriticJun 16, 2013
What has happened to society!? Are male members really worth basing an entire movie on? I didn't find the humor in this at all and was really looking forward to a LOL movie. To say I was disappointed is an understatement.
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
1
stevebollingerJun 21, 2013
This was the worst film i have see in a long time. Most of the shock value type potty humor falls flat and gets boring fast. The are much better ways to inspire others to be honest and truthful to their feelings, than the fear of beingThis was the worst film i have see in a long time. Most of the shock value type potty humor falls flat and gets boring fast. The are much better ways to inspire others to be honest and truthful to their feelings, than the fear of being raped by ugly demons of the Apocalypse. A crappy movie at best. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
WhySoSerious54Jun 19, 2013
This has to be one of the most pointless movies I have ever seen. I enjoy stupid comedy like many others but the jokes seem forced and the bromance element was poorly done. I loved superbad and pineapple express but this lacked any realThis has to be one of the most pointless movies I have ever seen. I enjoy stupid comedy like many others but the jokes seem forced and the bromance element was poorly done. I loved superbad and pineapple express but this lacked any real meaning. It went from one predictable scene to the next forcing one issue after another with lame fart jokes and fake buddy buddy crap. This was unwatchable Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
0
faultiestFleaAug 5, 2013
How can any civilized person think a movie based around demon rape and rape jokes is even remotely acceptable? How on earth did they manage to get an R rating for this?
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
Serafino24Oct 10, 2013
This movie is hilarious! I would love to hang with those guys but alas I'm too old. Had I known people like that (Rogan, Hill, Robinson, Franco, McBride, & Baruchel) when I was the age they are now my life would have probably turned outThis movie is hilarious! I would love to hang with those guys but alas I'm too old. Had I known people like that (Rogan, Hill, Robinson, Franco, McBride, & Baruchel) when I was the age they are now my life would have probably turned out differently (for the good). I've taken life (as brief as it is) far too seriously and have been stressed out my existence. Those guys teach a very valuable lesson: chill!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
pauly9681Nov 3, 2013
This is the end is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It was not funny and frankly I want my $1.50 back How people could think the movie is funny is beyond me.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
PeterJuliusJun 16, 2013
Don't waste your time. I thought this must be funny after hearing such a positive review, 4.5 stars, by David Blaustein of ABC and WJR. There are a couple of laughs but that is about it. We walked out after about 40min. It may help if youDon't waste your time. I thought this must be funny after hearing such a positive review, 4.5 stars, by David Blaustein of ABC and WJR. There are a couple of laughs but that is about it. We walked out after about 40min. It may help if you are high before going. Totally over rated. I now know to ignore Blaustein. Rent a Cheech and Chong movie. Expand
9 of 19 users found this helpful910
All this user's reviews
3
Cwilson336Jun 16, 2013
Born in the 70s, am I getting too old? This movie falls along the same line of all the over-the-top, how many can we offend, let's see if we can shock anybody, movies of the last decade. The Apatow school of comedy filmmaking.

Apparently
Born in the 70s, am I getting too old? This movie falls along the same line of all the over-the-top, how many can we offend, let's see if we can shock anybody, movies of the last decade. The Apatow school of comedy filmmaking.

Apparently the majority of the dialog was improvised, which I felt was very obvious. I don't mind raunchy humor, I just don't find it funny when it's just done for raunchy sake. I walked in expecting There's Something About Mary, Tropic Thunder, and Talladega Nights, and instead it felt more like Borat. It was like watching the Seth Rogan comedy hour live with no script.

I score it a 3, because it does have some laughable moments, especially when it involved the self deprecating jokes towards the narcissistic Hollywood lifestyle. But this movie just didn't click for me.

In our large, crowded theater, the room was clearly divided with half the room applauding, exclaiming "best movie ever" and the other half shaking their head, wondering why they didn't leave early.
Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
0
weisbergerJun 17, 2013
I loved Superbad which is why I went to The End. Huge mistake. What a horrid piece of junk, made by a bunch of guys who are not nearly as funny as they think they are by a long shot. I want my 2 hours back.
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
0
elmerodoclesOct 18, 2013
what a crap!.... i don't know why americans filmakers like to praise drugs, sex and idiocy this movie it's just a bad joke... just watch ren and stimpy or beavis and butthead instead for more fun
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
casmithDec 27, 2013
Saying this pathetic movie was targeted to a younger generation would be insulting to their intelligence. I am shocked that the actors were playing "themselves." Hilarious? Not by a long shot unless you giggle at references to a penis andSaying this pathetic movie was targeted to a younger generation would be insulting to their intelligence. I am shocked that the actors were playing "themselves." Hilarious? Not by a long shot unless you giggle at references to a penis and banter about rape. Enjoyable? Hand me the Tums please. Of course in reality these actors are actually more intelligent than the characters they portrayed in the movie. Right? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
m2727xzJun 15, 2013
boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooring
6 of 22 users found this helpful616
All this user's reviews
0
killingspreeOct 10, 2013
The worst movie I've ever seen full of b-list actors. I didn't laugh once. Boring, stupid, a huge waste of time. Don't even bother watching this garbage.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
Critic7719Dec 16, 2013
It is appalling that the actors and people associated with this film's existence make as much money as they do. This is the most sac religious movie I have ever seen. These people sold their soul to the devil for money and fame. This movieIt is appalling that the actors and people associated with this film's existence make as much money as they do. This is the most sac religious movie I have ever seen. These people sold their soul to the devil for money and fame. This movie makes me never want to watch a movie starring Seth Rogan, James Franco and the rest of the cast. I have respect for actors that use discretion when choosing roles. These guys clearly don't care or enjoy being blasphemous. This movie was not even worth the $1.20 to rent it from RedBox. More importantly, I can't get back the time I WASTED watching this garbage. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
JonDocAug 19, 2014
Absolutely atrocious. No thought of effort went into this. Famous potheads ad-libbing does not make an interesting film. Very lazy. One of the worst movies I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
coustoeSep 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You could see that this movie reflected the same emptyness as the actors lives it was based on. I admit its a great movie if your high on pot or drunk or just stupid. But you know the actor writer is completely bankrupt of any creativity and ideas when they resort to sheer shock value and star power for the whole movie.

This movie is definitely a Jump the Shark moment for Seth Rogen and his crew, unfortunately, just the feel goods self affirmation this will give stoners of their lives will make all the potheads give it good reviews, if youre anyone else this movie will be something worth skipping
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
axelkochFeb 1, 2014
Now when a bunch of celebrities meet up, dope themselves to mammoth highs, and then decide to have a whale of a time by making a fully ad-libbed film, who am I to bash them? It’s just that the yield of this frenzy cannot possible be enjoyedNow when a bunch of celebrities meet up, dope themselves to mammoth highs, and then decide to have a whale of a time by making a fully ad-libbed film, who am I to bash them? It’s just that the yield of this frenzy cannot possible be enjoyed as long as the same jag isn’t reached by the audiences. Thus, if drugs aren’t your cup of tea, This Is the End won’t be either. Scatological humour, downright terrible special effects, unbearable cheesiness, and drugs and gore in superfluous abundance pile up to one of the hugest disappointments the film year 2013 has held for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AikiNoodlesFeb 20, 2014
A pile of steaming crap, sadly. It's just a hall of fame (sort of) of good to 'meh' actors or producers (writers, nobodies, etc.) having fun in a movie that has a plot written on glass of water's coaster - because the person who wrote thisA pile of steaming crap, sadly. It's just a hall of fame (sort of) of good to 'meh' actors or producers (writers, nobodies, etc.) having fun in a movie that has a plot written on glass of water's coaster - because the person who wrote this hack must be as boring as someone who drinks the same liquid he pisses into.
$32.000.000 budget movie with 95% spent on convincing people they will not blow their career's path or, maybe for the desperate ones, making it any better.

Anybody and i repeat, anybody giving this puke puddle more than a 7 isn't probably a human being because being drunk and/or stupid and/or a fanboy can be an excuse but even the 3 combined couldn't reach the level of foulness it requires to glorify this mistake.

It makes me sick that this .. THING won awards, ergh.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SoapertJan 5, 2014
The first 20 minutes or so was okay but not nearly good enough to justify the rest of the movie that followed. It was painfully long, unfunny, and predictable, completely failing at being a parody or whatever the hell it was trying to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
asdasd33aJul 22, 2014
what is this crap
I gave in and watched this movie after seeing a lot of positive reviews. After finishing the movie I have yet to find a funny moment. Not to mention totally uncalled for offensive garbage that fails at humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MaricaAug 31, 2014
Seriosly..this is a nice movie? Damn...

*************************************************************************************************************
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BroomsSep 7, 2013
This movie was a train wreck! Seriously do not waste your time. 5 people got up and left the theater I was in. You know a movie has to be worthless if people are wasting their $9 that they spent and making for the exits. It was distasteful,This movie was a train wreck! Seriously do not waste your time. 5 people got up and left the theater I was in. You know a movie has to be worthless if people are wasting their $9 that they spent and making for the exits. It was distasteful, the plot was scetchy, and it just looked poorly written. I had higher standards for the all star professional cast, but they all appeared as armatures in a play made by stoned high schoolers. This is the End... of their careers, most likely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
griseousOct 19, 2013
I didn't go see the movie, just saw it on Pay per View. I give it a generous '1'. Seems like a group of people, who think they are funny, getting drunk and making each other laugh. I guess you had to be there, on this side of the screen, anyI didn't go see the movie, just saw it on Pay per View. I give it a generous '1'. Seems like a group of people, who think they are funny, getting drunk and making each other laugh. I guess you had to be there, on this side of the screen, any laughter is non-existent for the most part. You know how your mother tries to be funny? Well, she does a better job. Next time, have someone else write the story, yawn...zzzzzzzzzzz Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ff33ooNov 28, 2013
I feel like I should be enjoying it, but I just can't. The jokes only appeal to immature man-children and idiot teenagers. The entire movie is just "DRUGS R COOL XD" and a bunch of juvenile humour designed to appeal to the lowest commonI feel like I should be enjoying it, but I just can't. The jokes only appeal to immature man-children and idiot teenagers. The entire movie is just "DRUGS R COOL XD" and a bunch of juvenile humour designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator. An absolutely terrible movie; I had never been a fan of James Franco or Seth Rogen but this just cements my opinion of them being awful actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MovieWatcher713Jan 24, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I also thought this movie would be a winner considering the actors involved. However, I was truly disappointed and shocked at some scenes.

Any truly hilarious moments were completely overshadowed by scenes containing demons with large penis's, cum, and/or rape. The end segment in heaven softened the blow a little and there were some really funny moments but overall this was a disappointment. If they would have taken out the shocking scenes this movie would have been a winner but instead they choose to shock and awe which cost them some longtime fans.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Gamer2014Apr 28, 2014
the only good thing about this movie is that it's funny no more no less, the damn movie is very FUKIN bad it's so FUKIN shallow . i don't know why so many people like this sh!t but me i think It FUKIN SUCKED . DON'T WATCH THIS SH!T AND WASTEthe only good thing about this movie is that it's funny no more no less, the damn movie is very FUKIN bad it's so FUKIN shallow . i don't know why so many people like this sh!t but me i think It FUKIN SUCKED . DON'T WATCH THIS SH!T AND WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY . unless you are a guy who want to laugh and feel that bad taste after . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HWieseMay 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Either I did not understand the deeper message of the movie or there is none. I guess, it's the latter...

It's pretty much the **** worst movie I've ever watched. I don't understand how well known and popular actors like James Franco, Channing Tatum (in a more than just degrading roll), hell, Emma Watson (who actually did pretty well during the few seconds that she appeared) could be willing to take part in such a gigantic load of crap. Furthermore I don't understand how people can find things as embarrassing and low down as this (e.g. a heavy argument about jerking off everywhere of about 2 minutes or more, a demon literally **** his soul into one of the protagonists...) at least a little bit funny...

I mean, admittedly, I chuckled once or twice but during the rest of the movie I was just sitting there facepalming and head-shaking and thinking what the **** am I watching here... Hangover 2 should have won an Oscar compared to this. And after watching Hangover 2 I thought it couldn't get any worse (I don't want to see shemale schlongs in cinema!!!).

How stoned does one have to be to create such a ****
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews