User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 598 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 598

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    This Is The End is hilarious and has one of the funniest endings to a movie since Life of Brian. I hope Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg are planning another movie to direct.
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    2
    The first 20 minutes or so was okay but not nearly good enough to justify the rest of the movie that followed. It was painfully long, unfunny, and predictable, completely failing at being a parody or whatever the hell it was trying to be.
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Imagine all comedic actors, or at least a good portion of them, now, think of them reciting profanity in 2 hour movie, now, think of 'This Is The End'. Now, it's up to you to say if this is good or not.
  4. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Finally an ejoyable comedy with an interresting story to it, too."This Is The End" brings together a large cast of Hollywood stars playing none other than themselves, struggling to survive in James Franco's house after the Apocalypse rains down on Earth.
  5. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    Consensus: This Is The End is definitely one of the funniest films i've seen in years, it's over the top, astonishing and insane. 91/100 [A-]

    All Jay Baruchel expected coming to LA was a fun time with Seth Rogen with all the wild partying to have both by themselves and at James Franco's housewarming party. Suddenly, the Rapture hits and the Biblical Apocalypse has begun. Now, Jay and
    Seth are desperately sheltering in James' house for rescue along with a few other friends.

    Together, they must band together to attempt to survive the end of the world, only for Jay to find that they are all too dumb and superficial to do it until they discover the only way out. First of all "This Is The End" is a big film, lots of moments and so many situations here. These type of movies need a very clever and twisted direction, and this film has it. The cast is impeccable and the chemestry and friendship between the performers are genuine. All the cast is funny and likable, the script is brainless but amazing.

    The CGI effects are amazing, the design of the monsters/demons is creepily funny, James Franco, Emma Watson and the whole cast is hilarious. Too many laughs and excessive humor. It's just too much, over the top! hilarious, no more words!. Though the ending is unfunny and unlikable, This Is The End overall, it's one of the most over-the-top and extremely-funny films i've seen my life. [A-] Check out my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The funniest film I've seen in a long time. This is what an R rated comedy should be like not playing safe andjust going for it. The cameos in this film are also fantastic from Emma Watson to coked out Michael Cera to Channing Tatum this film is hilarious. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    You should know what you are getting into coming into this movie. It's not for the easily offended. On that hand it wasn't the best crude comedy I have ever seen. I guess I expected more from this movie or maybe I just missed some of it because I was intoxicated while watching (which should have made it better). It is just "one of those" movies. I did like that everyone played themselves, that was really cool. I think they could have done better but it was a fairly good time anyway. Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "This is the End" is a laugh riot. Has Seth Rogen ever been in a bad movie? His lowest rated movie per RottenTomatoes is "The Watch" (16%), but I thought that was a pretty funny and entertaining movie. I think "The Green Hornet" is the limpest of the bunch. I you are offended by that adjective, you definitely should NOT watch this movie as there are more male body/sex/potty jokes than I've seen in any other movie in my lifetime (and I am old enough to remember Porky's).

    At face value, it seems like it would be pretty hard to screw this movie up with Seth Rogen, James Franco, Jonah Hill, Danny McBride, Michael Cera and a dozen others playing themselves during the "Apocalypse." Even Rihanna and Harry Potter's Emma-freaking-Watson have extended cameos. There is one cameo that is so absurd and crazy that it would be a major spoiler to reveal it.

    Speaking of spoiler alerts, you'd think that the cause of the Apocalypse wouldn't be revealed, but that hasn't been the case with one reviewer mentioning that it as a literal interpretation of the Bible's Book of Revelations. You're at least 45 minutes into the movie before they reveal what is really happening (unless you are, or were, raised Catholic. Then you get it pretty early on).

    Yeah, it's also a riff on the egocentricity of Hollywood celebrities, but who really cares unless you are an avid reader of TMZ or Perez Hilton. The real brilliance is in the dialogue, a ton of which has to be ad-lib/improv. There are so many jokes in this movie told in the context of the story it would fill a TV comedy series for multiple seasons.

    This is a two-hour comedy movie. Do they make any comedy movie that long? I just hope it has a "Lord of the Rings" style Extended Edition on DVD.
    Expand
  9. Rem
    Jun 1, 2014
    6
    I'll be forthright with this, This Is the End needed more Michael Cera. Other than that, this movie's improvisation allowed the actors to be more free with their portrayals of themselves, which makes certain scenes, including the porno magazine, a laugher. However the movie could use less Jonah Hill, who just comes off as uninteresting and unfunny in the film.
  10. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    WoW! I've not yet watched This Is The End. According to CRITICS this movie is way better than Man Of Steel, LOL!!! I'll definitely watch once it releases in my country.
  11. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    It's a decent comedy, has a good number of laughs, but overall it's not at the level of the funniest movies. This is above average, nothing more nothing less!
  12. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best comedies I've seen in recent memory, and i'm the type of movie fan that goes to see everything. Also, best ending to a comedy ever.
  13. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    Little did I expect This is the End would become my favourite film of 2013 so far and perhaps even one of my favourite comedies of all time. The dialogue is spot on, every joke hits and hits hard and somehow each scene was funnier than the last! A must see.
  14. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    This Is the End is by far one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. First off, the movie does something that hasn't really been done in a comedy. It is actually portrayed as if it is real life and the actors are played as themselves. This does sound very gimmicky and seems like something that may not work out right, but this movie plays it off very well. But this movie is pretty over the top, but not to over the top as many of the other Seth Rogan, Jonah Hill, etc. movies can be....well except the last part. So many laughs here and there. And going into the movie, I did not know that Jay Baruchel was like the main main person, but it works out nicely as well. Other than that, I think the movie is amazing, the only downside for me was the very end. It's just a little too cheesy for me. But that's just me. Expand
  15. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    This movie is really hilarious and fun to watch. If there is a best comedy movie released in 2013 yet, then it is This Is The End. This is a must watch. An intelligent blend of comedy and apocalyptic film elements.
  16. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    This movie, while crass, is refreshing in its honesty. It's great fun to see some of the biggest names in the business poke fun at each other. Definitely worth watching, but save it for a night out with the bros rather than a date with your significant other.
  17. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    Esta pelicula me gusto, tuvo comedia."This Is the End" es una comedia apocaliptica que no se muestra inteligente como los otros filmes de Seth Rogen, pero que es capaz de sacarte algunas risas.
  18. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    So hilarious and very fun to watch. This movie had me and my family laughing so hard. it wasn't really what i thought it would be so it really took me by a whole lot of surprises. it was very random like a comedy movie should be for my taste of opinion.
  19. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Great movie! Everyone in the cast did an awesome job but I especially loved Michael Cera's performance. Laugh out loud funny from beginning to end. The fact that it's the apocalypse and not some global disaster is a nice change of pace. If you are fan of any of these guys at all you must see this movie! Go now!
  20. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Excerpt from the blog: tilfilmdouspart.blogspot.ca

    Although the film had a very thin script, it is full of laughs and has outrageous gags that works in the end for a very enjoyable film. I would not recommend this movie to people easily offended though, for me, the offensive is hilarious. Reportedly Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg (the co-directors) had a running joke on set to see how
    many people would say "I can't do that", Seth was the only person to not say so. The movie provided an interesting insight into a Hollywood party that isn't real but makes you wonder how some celebrities are in real life. For example, is Michael Cera really a coke head that slaps women's butts and has a huge penis(per Mindy Kaling's opinion), doubtful but fun to imagine.

    At the heart of this film is the bromance between Jay and Seth and to a lesser extent Seth and James. I felt that Jay's character got too bad of a rap for the first 2/3 of the movie. He is described by everyone else as self righteous, to me he just appeared to not enjoy himself but due to this labeling he seems to move into the role later on. Their story is somewhat sad though, watching two old friends drift apart.

    Some not so great parts. At 107 minutes, the movie felt as long as it was. For Rogen and Goldberg's first foray into directing it wasn't anything special from a direction aspect. The film benefited mostly from the script written by the two and the performances from the group. That it is for parts I did not like about it. It was that enjoyable.

    I would highly recommend seeing this movie. The laughs are nonstop, the cameos are epic and the movie is somewhat believable in how the cast would react to the apocalypse. 9/10

    -Hailey

    Edited by Josh.
    Expand
  21. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Excerpt from the blog: 'Til Film Do Us Part
    http://tilfilmdouspart.blogspot.ca/

    This is the End is a thinly written but hilarious comedy that examines how a group of celebrities would behave during the apocalypse. The writers and directors (Evan Goldberg and Seth Rogen) have no intention of providing the audience with a thought-provoking story or complex characters. It seems that the
    main purpose of the movie is to simply make people laugh, and boy does it succeed. Expand
  22. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Fun and funny movie. Very crude comedy but it was well done along with the plot of the story. Great chemistry between the actors and funny seeing celebrity die in funny ways.
  23. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    This Is The End Review

    An interesting concept for Seth Rogan's first attempt to direct a movie, which could really have been a hit or miss. End of the world movies usually fall flat (2012), but the all star cast managed to make a pretty good movie. The appeal of the movie for me is that everyone plays themselves. Seth Rogan is "Seth Rogan", Jonah Hill is "Jonah Hill" and so on. It
    works well for the most part, but some actors come of annoying. I can simply not stand Danny McBride, he just bothers me. He is the sole reason 30 Minutes Or Less was not a good movie. In this movie his only purpose is to be a dick to everyone and its not that funny. But thankfully Franco and Hill manage to keep the movie afloat. Their are several cameos in the movie which was cool, especially one toward the end. Their are several hilarious moments and small inserts of violence that felt a little to forward, but funny none the less. Theirs something about playing soccer with a decapitated head of man that just offered to f**k" Seth Rogan that's just perfect. The special effects are comically awful, which I feel was done on purpose. Craig Robinson was probably my favorite part about the movie, and has one of the funnier scenes at the beginning of the movie while singing with Rihanna. To be able to get all the references in movie you have to be familiar with some of actors pass works. Actually I would encourage to watch Pineapple Express before seeing this as it has a pretty large part in the movie. Overall my only real compliant is that I wish that they would have worked on McBrides dialogue in the movie. Although being a jerk was his role in the movie, they could have made it funnier. This Is a good movie that I recommend to see if you have seen Rogan's and Franco's past work. If not wait for the rental, your not missing out by not going to the theater.

    8.3/10
    Expand
  24. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    The funniest movie I have seen in a long time. I was a big fan of Jonah Hill and Seth Rogen especially before this and they were funny as hell, but not a patch on Danny McBride, he was on another level of funny. I also enjoyed the fact they played themselves and were able to just rip the hell out of each other, you wouldn't see many Hollywood actors doing that.

    Go see this movie, now.
  25. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Out of all of the previous comedies to come out by these guys, this could possibly be the best so far. The humour portrayed crosses the lines of referential, slander, foreshadowing, over exaggeration of one’s personalities, and even toilet humour. What makes this story so interesting to follow is that it is simple and it’s “characters” are outstanding as themselves. You would think that a comedy starring 6 A-list comedians would be pretty straightforward. However, there are some very very creative, and sometimes dark, ideas all throughout this movie, filled with overblown personalities and endless cameos that are so short, that they make you want more, but making sure that no idea is overused, thus making it easily the best comedy of the summer to date. Expand
  26. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    this movie is absolutely hilarious! James Franco leads the acting with a hilarious and unforgettable performance. Seth, Jay, and Craig are hilarious, and Michael Cera was shockingly brazen, as opposed to shy in the majority of his film work.
  27. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This is one of the funniest movies I have seen in forever. I laughed throughout the entire movie to the point of tummy aching and tears running. Don't read anything about the movie beforehand...don't watch the trailers...just go see it. The surprises are the best part and there are many. Brilliant cast, hilarious concept, fantastically funny. Seriously...go see and eff these idiots who gave this movie a zero. Expand
  28. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Haven't laughed this hard in a long time. It's raunchy, vulgar and immature which is exactly what I expected. Anyone scoring this film at less than 6 out of 10 is likely clinically dead.
  29. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    An absurd comedy that is laugh out loud funny. Sometimes you sit in the ocean ready to surf a wave and you sit there all day; this movie catches the wave and provides a most satisfying ride. The main stars in it are in virtually every scene,no bit roles here. Their relationships, self absorption and glean into Hollywood mentality brew together as a comedic roller coaster. Yes there are a few scenes that are less than, but what comedy doesn't? Overall this film is definitely worth the time and price of admission. Expand
  30. Jun 21, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this movie was just excellent and every man did a good job selling their own characters. The plot was pretty good I don't think that many film creators have thought of this idea. Of course the movie was super funny at parts but in other parts they tried to hard to be funny that it wasn't funny. My other complaints about this movie are that it had a lot of blood and gore. Although some of the parts that featured those things were really funny. I liked the fact that the movie had a lot of inside jokes between actors such as James Franco and Seth Rogen. It was also funny when many people didn't know who Jay Baruchel was due to the fact that he has only been in a few movies. Overall this movie was pretty great with a lot of laughs and creativity.
    Overall: 7.75/10
    Expand
  31. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    "This Is The End" is a classic example of how comedies are supposed to be made. Straight up weirdness, craziness, and randomness. Yeah, it goes a bit over the top at times but it's still the best comedy to date in 2013. Also, if you haven't heard, Craig Robinson is the bomb.
  32. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    All of our favorite guys from the current generation of comics as themselves in a insane comedy. I really liked the movie because of the natural timing and skill of the cast. Some of the demon stuff was a little hokey, alright a lot hokey, but it was limited so it did not take away from the movie too much. The movie was not "scary" but my wife was more nervous during this than in World War Z. It is worth the watch and I will be ready for Pineapple Express 2! Expand
  33. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Consistently funny from beginning to end, with a lot of self-deprecating humor. I loved the finale with a particular musical cue that was gut splitting. I think the thing I appreciate most, was the attention to technical detail that the filmmakers gave to crafting this gem. It would have been easy to have low grade special effects, but all of the visual effects work was solid, which only enhances this masterpiece. Michael Cera, and Danny McBride really steal the show, never failing to skewer their own image, or really go there with being despicable and hedonistic. This is one for the ages. Well done, Seth Rogen! Expand
  34. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    This hysterical and witty play of Armageddon is tremendously undervalued. "This is the End" will have you laughing and leaving you wanting more. The trailers for this movie led me into believing that this was going to be a mindless comedy but I was pleasantly surprised of the wittiness of James Franco, Danny McBride and company. The only thing I would change about this comedic film is less Jay and more Danny. Expand
  35. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not going to lie the ending sucks. But the first half was so good that I don't even care. Definitely worth checking out and probably the best comedy we'll see this summer. Expand
  36. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This movie was shockingly good. I am decidedly not their target audience (29 year old married female professional) but I was choking with laughter. I saw World War Z immediately after and this movie crushed it. Loved Jay Baruchel, Craig T Robinson and Danny McBride. They were amazing.
  37. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    I laughed a lot and I enjoyed it, but I was a tiny bit disappointed. People raved about it, and I just didn't think it was THAT funny. Definitely above average, though.
  38. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    There are too many reviews that list it as a 0 or a 10 where the truth is, it is somewhere between. I thought the movie was ok and very enjoyable at times but not quite as funny as I had hoped..
  39. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    I thought this is the end is a very funny film, I found me and my friends laughing the whole way through, well worth the money. I read a review from the daily mail about this is the end and they gave it 1 star, which is completely despicable. I thought all the character were unbelievably funny, I loved all the characters couldn't of been casted any differently, the critics are stupid just listen to the user reviews and I highly recommend this film easily 9 out of 10:)! Expand
  40. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    OH.MY.GOSH. i just watched the movie, what an awesome one hahah i laughed so freakin' hard definetely one of the best movies of this year so far.. for real.
  41. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    While it is certainly no OSCAR contender, it is a well written, funny movie. The main players do a great job performing as their caricatures, and there are multiple laugh out loud moments. The plot gets a little wonky at times, but it is likely intended that way. I only wish we had seen more of Michael Cera, his scenes steal the movie.
  42. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Loved this flick. Plot wasn't amazing, but that really wasn't the important part. The interplay between characters as themselves is amazing. It is a bit vulgar, but if you expect anything less from these guys that would be silly. I may be a bit biased though because these guys are all in my list of favorite actors... except maybe Jay, but he was awesome in this too.
  43. LTR
    Oct 5, 2013
    7
    This is a funny movie about actors trying to survive the apocalypse.The story is good,all the actors are funny and is a interesting idea.The end is pretty good
  44. May 25, 2014
    8
    ust an EPIC movie simple as that most fun iv'e had at the movie theaters this year by far. I have been waiting for this movie for about 6 now year back when it was called "Jay and Seth vs. the apocalypse". I'm so glad that it was made and it's really everything I thought it was going to be. Non stop laughing from start to finish and it has amazing main cast James Franco, Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Danny McBride, Craig Robinson. I love all those guys and have watched movies with them in them multiple times.

    Now the film opens up Seth Rogen picking up Jay Baruchel from the airport so they can chill and hang out together at Rogen' house. Then Rogen get's a call about a party over at James Franco's house Jay doesn't really want to go but they end up going anyway. While at the party you see LOADS of cameos from more amazing actors like Michael Cera, Emma Watson, Paul Rudd, Jason Segel and plenty more but Michael Cera stole every scene he was in. He was just a coked up party whore they whole time and everything he says and does was golden and had me laughing.

    Jay ends up needing a pack of cigarettes so him and Seth walk to a nearby store when Jay again tries to go back to Seth's house and just chill and then BOOM everything starts go down earthquake, dark skies, people disappearing. They run back to Franco's house to see that nothing has happened and they try to tell people what going on but no one believes them until another earthquake happens and everyone runs outside to see what's going on. They see that LA is up in flames and there's no where to go that's when a hole starts to appear right in front of them killing some people while others just runs away and this is how we get are main cast. So they get all the food, drinks, drugs, and put them all in one place and they try to go to sleep for the night when they wake up the next morning they see Danny McBride cooking and eating all their remaining food. From here we see them doing crazy stuff like doing a homemade sequel of films that they have done so we see them do "Pineapple Express 2 Red's Revenge" that was just too funny they also get robbed by Emma Watson that part was great.

    More crazy stuff happens but that's for you to find out when you watch this amazing movie also the ending was just pure amazingness.

    Overall i give it a 8.0 for sure blu ray, for sure watching multiple times!!! can't wait
    Expand
  45. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    What a terrible movie. okay so the big mistake was using the real actors names. this was misleading because the actors are NOT playing themselves. they pretend that they are, but are really just acting like brain-dead stoners. really weird, unrealistic acting, not funny at all. really disappointing, i was exited for this one too.
  46. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    'This Is the End' has a quality to sit, perhaps a satirical point-of-view to the well dramatized biblical Apocalypse. Though its ridiculousness and flat irony about an Apocalypse is the main drive for this unconventional comedy, Rogen and Goldberg write a neatly balanced comedy with the ribaldry and the reactions of the disaster-riddled night of actors of Franco, Hill, Robinson, Baruchel, and especially McBride. All in all, a funny film that's worth a rewatch Expand
  47. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    This Is The End: Easily the funniest film of 2013 I haven't seen The World's End yet). This movie was just fantastic, all the actors played their parts very well, the story was surprisingly good for a film like this and at times the film got a bit dark and disturbing. Seth Rogen and Jay Baruchel are easily the main characters in this movie and they both are extremely good in this movie, James Franco serves to be a bit of a leader for the film, Craig Robinson is the lovable funny guy, Jonah Hill is awkward and a bit annoying here. The standout character in the film would have to be Danny McBride as a crazy version of himself who really causes all the problems. A few people have some good scenes such as a coked up Michael Cera, an extremely cautious Emma Watson and a really strange appearance from Channing Tatum. All in all this is an extremely entertaining film, if you're a fan of these guys then definitely watch it. 9/10. Expand
  48. Sep 7, 2013
    2
    This movie was a train wreck! Seriously do not waste your time. 5 people got up and left the theater I was in. You know a movie has to be worthless if people are wasting their $9 that they spent and making for the exits. It was distasteful, the plot was scetchy, and it just looked poorly written. I had higher standards for the all star professional cast, but they all appeared as armatures in a play made by stoned high schoolers. This is the End... of their careers, most likely. Expand
  49. Jan 30, 2014
    8
    This Is the End starts out hilarious, fresh and has the makings of a great movie. As the movie gets into its final third, it starts to drag a little bit and the high begins to wear off, but overall the actors were vey funny and the film itself was enjoyable.
  50. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    The movie have funny interpretations of the characters and the turn of events come so fast and so odd lest you have nothing to do but laught. Both the writer and director are genius.
  51. Oct 11, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie has a few moments where i belly laughed. Michel Cera slapping Rihanna's ass was the definite high water mark but he was quickly phased out. There was too much filler and it seemed to slow down-speed up-slow down again awkwardly. Just not enough funny material. Other movies that use the same formula (actors using their real "self" are generally funny; especially Curb Your Enthusiasm. Too bad this isn't one of those movies we seem to get more out of the more times watched such as The Big Lebowski. Anyhow, its good once but I wont be watching again. Expand
  52. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg hit it out of the park out again. This time, taking the biblical foretelling of the apocalypse and injecting it with weed humor, celebrity cliches, and a whole lot of other fun stuff. We are introduced to fictionalized, exaggerated take offs of their real life counterparts; Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel James Franco, Craig Robinson, Jonah Hill and Danny McBride face off the apocalypse when it comes to James Franco's doorstep, following a house-warming he was throwing for himself.

    The film is sprinkled with cameos left in right, one minute you see the coke-head Michael Cera, next you're seeing the dulling-everything-down Jason Segel, and you can't forget the singing-to-explain-everything Rihana. Normally, it would bother me to see something like this happening, but these exaggerated counterparts add the right spice. In their counterparts, Seth Rogen is, obviously, a huge pot-head, Jay Baruchel is a nation-prided Canadian who hates every last minute of being in the US, Jonah Hill is the too-friendly nice guy of the group, James Franco is a self-centered art aficionado, Craig Robinson... is here, and Danny McBride is royally screwing up everyone's crap.

    You could tell that nearly every line of this film was improved, Rogen even stated in an interview that "50 percent of it was improvised." But, leaving the movie in the caring hands of such great actors is the right call, I usually like to read scripts of films after seeing them, but I have the strong feeling that I don't need to read this one, as much as I respect source materials, I have to say; whatever Rogen and Goldberg could have even written probably couldn't meet the comedic level broken by this film.
    Expand
  53. Oct 19, 2013
    1
    I didn't go see the movie, just saw it on Pay per View. I give it a generous '1'. Seems like a group of people, who think they are funny, getting drunk and making each other laugh. I guess you had to be there, on this side of the screen, any laughter is non-existent for the most part. You know how your mother tries to be funny? Well, she does a better job. Next time, have someone else write the story, yawn...zzzzzzzzzzz Expand
  54. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    A hilarious film which isn't anything special, but it delivers laughs. I mean ,the humor is the thing here, because it fails with the relatively generic plot. But a lot of surprises and a lot of laughs await in this solid movie.
    Don't except something ground-braking, because this movie honestly isn't. But if you like humor and weirdness, I recommend this movie. (Final Score: 6.95)
  55. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Do you like art? I like art. This movie “This is the End” is art. As James Franco says, “You’ve ever been to Subway? You order a sandwich, someone put that together for you. That’s art”.
      If you are looking for a great laugh “This is the End” is the movie for you. From beginning to end it is filled with weed, drugs, dick jokes and Seth Rogen laughs. The basic plot revolves around Jay Baruchel who visits from Canada to spend time with one of his best friends, Seth Rogen. Jay is not much of a people person and does not really like the “L.A. lifestyle”. Seth wants Jay to get to know his Hollywood friends so Jay and Rogen go to James Franco party filled with celebrities such as Michael Cera, McLovin, Kevin Hart, Jona Hill, Craig Robinson, and Danny Mcbride. When Jay and Seth decide to walk to the store an earthquake starts and beams of light begin sucking people into the sky. As the ground starts to crumble beneath them, Seth, Jay, Franco, Hill, Craig, and Danny take refuge in James Franco’s newly built house. As they try to figure out what is going on, all six of the friends have to deal with an apocalyptic world and each other in order to stay alive. As the story progresses, everyone’s true feelings about each other surface.
      If I had to take a guess, I believe this is how a celebrity party would go down. Craig Robinson would be playing the piano while Michael Cera does coke and slaps Rihanna’s ass. The actors are essentially playing themselves. In a way, I think this is how their personalities truly are, just exaggerated.
      Some of the things I enjoyed about the movie was the way they foreshadowed certain events. For example, in the beginning Seth and Franco are sitting down during the party discussing a sequel to “Pineapple Express”. Franco says the ending of the movie should involve Franco saving Seth and Danny eating Franco. This is exactly what happens at the end of the movie. Franco sacrifices himself for Seth and eventually gets eaten by cannibal Danny McBride. This brings me to Danny. He is by far the funniest main character. He played the obnoxious friend that people eventually get fed up with.
      Another thing I appreciated was the soundtrack. Each track complemented perfectly with it’s scene. Psy’s ‘Gangam Style’, Backstreet Boys, and Cypress Hill exemplified the diversity within the movie’s music.
      In the end, the friends started to believe the biblical apocalypse was happening. Their goal was to do right by each other in hopes that God will save them and they’ll go to heaven.
      The moral of the story is, no matter what wrong you do you can always make them right. “This is the End” was easily the funniest movie of the summer, possibly, the year. This was the funniest movie I’ve seen in awhile. If you have not seen it yet, I would definitely Redbox or buy it. “This is the End” gets five stars and two thumbs up.
    Expand
  56. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    Some laughs, for sure. But a llot of idiotic dialogue in between. Would be mad if paid full theater prices. Some of the cameos by actors weren't too bad.
  57. May 10, 2014
    6
    this film is not perfect but it is very funny and difrent to all comedy that i have seen abit strainge at times to but it works in the films favor and while at the begining in the party you do have to laught at all the faces that you seen and coments they make nothing special but not terible worth a watch
  58. Nov 28, 2013
    2
    I feel like I should be enjoying it, but I just can't. The jokes only appeal to immature man-children and idiot teenagers. The entire movie is just "DRUGS R COOL XD" and a bunch of juvenile humour designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator. An absolutely terrible movie; I had never been a fan of James Franco or Seth Rogen but this just cements my opinion of them being awful actors.
  59. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    This movie was different from the others. It was total chaos but due to the cumulative magnitude of some of the best comedians, this movie was saved. Otherwise, it was ok...
  60. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    To be honest, the jokes are mediocre and sometimes just stupid. I would only recommend this if you're a fan of these guys, then no doubt you'll like it.
  61. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Saying this pathetic movie was targeted to a younger generation would be insulting to their intelligence. I am shocked that the actors were playing "themselves." Hilarious? Not by a long shot unless you giggle at references to a penis and banter about rape. Enjoyable? Hand me the Tums please. Of course in reality these actors are actually more intelligent than the characters they portrayed in the movie. Right? Expand
  62. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    The actors playing pseudo versions of themselves premise is inspired, and This Is The End ranks among the funniest and most outrageous comedies I have seen. Rogen and Goldberg prove themselves more than capable directors, and have crafted one of 2013's best
  63. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    The funniest comedy in years, and has a great original idea. I think it makes it all the better because everyone in it plays themselves. It's funny because they point out and exaggerate things about each other, and they all feel like friends who get on each others nerves. Hilarious and original movie!

    This is the End gets an 8.4/10
  64. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    I really like Jonah Hill, a great actor, has made many films that I liked, the good of this movie is that it has many well-known actors, this film also met Seth Rogen, too many unknowns, but the problem is that this film offends religion the other because I do not believe in paradise will have sex and drugs party, believe in paradise will be a place where only people who redeemed their sins as they did go there, but I believe that getting there will not have this kind of thing as well? will commit the same sins again? Expand
  65. Jan 17, 2014
    9
    This Is The End is great very funny good acting story is original although one part they did not need was demons with Dicks really who wants to see that and really It makes the movie not as great as it could have been and probably in 5 years people will forget about this because notable scenes will get cut when this airs on regular Tv or stations won't even show it because of that. Overall I think 21 jump street was the best comedy I seen in a while, this is right up their but not by a lot but it is good the best comedy of 2013 Expand
  66. Jan 24, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I also thought this movie would be a winner considering the actors involved. However, I was truly disappointed and shocked at some scenes.

    Any truly hilarious moments were completely overshadowed by scenes containing demons with large penis's, cum, and/or rape. The end segment in heaven softened the blow a little and there were some really funny moments but overall this was a disappointment. If they would have taken out the shocking scenes this movie would have been a winner but instead they choose to shock and awe which cost them some longtime fans.
    Expand
  67. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    This Is The End is a movie that really shouldn't have worked, yet had me doubled over laughing for the entire film. The idea of a bunch of Hollywood actors playing exaggerated versions of themselves as a band of survivors in the Biblical Apocalypse sounds like something that should fall flat on its face, but it surprisingly carries the whole way through, in part because the actors look like they're having a ball making it. To say more would risk spoiling some hilarious scenes, so I'll give you some brief non-spoiler comedic highlights: Jonah Hill's shtick as the nicest guy in the world, Jason Siegel lampooning his own role on How I Met Your Mother, Michael Cera as an unapologetic sex and cocaine addict, anything that Craig Robinson does, the fake trailer for Pineapple Express 2, and EVERYTHING involving Emma Watson. So if you're into getting some unapologetically raunchy and ridiculous comedy with a surprising amount of heart, catch it in theaters while you can. That said, approach with caution if you're allergic to the Backstreet Boys because you'll have that stuck in your head after you're done. Expand
  68. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Great movie! I thought it was hilarious!! I love all the actors in it and its one of those movies that just doesn't get old! Possibly the best comedy since Shaun of the Dead or the first Anchorman.
  69. Apr 28, 2014
    1
    the only good thing about this movie is that it's funny no more no less, the damn movie is very FUKIN bad it's so FUKIN shallow . i don't know why so many people like this sh!t but me i think It FUKIN SUCKED . DON'T WATCH THIS SH!T AND WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY . unless you are a guy who want to laugh and feel that bad taste after .
  70. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie does not have enough action and the humor is not so funny but there is some good parts and some funny moments.The worst part of the movie is at the end of the movie when they are in the heaven,this is so random.But it stays a good movie to watch. Expand
  71. Jul 4, 2014
    7
    The first half was hard to watch - watching spoiled celebrity brats doing their spoiled celebrity things does not amuse me. However, the second half of "This Is the End" really turned the film into something hilarious and worth watching. The film's message is also surprisingly poignant, didn't expect that either.
  72. Jul 12, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Didnt expect much, very underrated movie, it was a great comedy. The chemistry was good, very absurd at the end, the cameo from tatum was **** genius Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    This apocalypse isn’t a nightmare so much as the ultimate bromantic fantasy, one in which – with the removal of any responsibility – the boys are free to bicker, banter, and bed down together.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    No comedy classic, then, but a good natured and engaging slice of goonish self-mockery.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    Some funny stuff, but a rental/download only.