This Is the End

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 669 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 95 out of 669
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    5
    I felt pretty meh about this. No doubt that this comedy will be a big hit with a lot of people. I did get some laughs out of it, although it took about 30 minutes before they started to come. I'm surprised it is doing so incredibly well on reviews when frankly I have seen funnier films.
  2. Lyn
    Sep 8, 2013
    6
    Raunchy, vulgar and incredibly, ignorantly profane. But I'm green-lighting it for the laughs, which I really needed today. From the mildly funny stuff (e.g. Seth Rogen trying to compare the Trinity to neapolitan ice cream) to the laugh-out-loud shtick (e.g. Aziz Ansari's fate!) it is full of insidery humor. And a hint of a moral, amid all the immorality. Might just be me, but I would haveRaunchy, vulgar and incredibly, ignorantly profane. But I'm green-lighting it for the laughs, which I really needed today. From the mildly funny stuff (e.g. Seth Rogen trying to compare the Trinity to neapolitan ice cream) to the laugh-out-loud shtick (e.g. Aziz Ansari's fate!) it is full of insidery humor. And a hint of a moral, amid all the immorality. Might just be me, but I would have enjoyed at least one lasting female presence to break up the repetitive bromances and perhaps limit the talk of penises and masturbation. Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    After so many Seth Rogen ensemble comedies it was inevitable that the jokes would be harder to come by and harder to land, I mean there are only so many Danny McBride rants you can take before you have to slam Up in the Air in the DVD drive just so you can see him do something different for a change. This is the End tells the story of what happens when Jay Baruchel and Seth Rogen go to aAfter so many Seth Rogen ensemble comedies it was inevitable that the jokes would be harder to come by and harder to land, I mean there are only so many Danny McBride rants you can take before you have to slam Up in the Air in the DVD drive just so you can see him do something different for a change. This is the End tells the story of what happens when Jay Baruchel and Seth Rogen go to a house party at James Franco's house and the apocalypse begins leaving them, Jonah Hill, Craig Robinson and Danny McBride to fend for themselves and try to make it out alive. It's a clever concept as it allows real laughs while exploring everything meta comedy has to offer which turns out isn't a lot. The central joke that these people really exist an its funny to watch them do despicable things gets old really fast (except for the unveiling of a gimp at the end, that's hilarious). The idea of six celebrities trying to survive a horrible event is interesting but they do so by hiding away in the same building for almost the entire movie making for a very slow moving comedy. The film relies upon lengthy set ups to pretty regular material so there are long boring sequences to struggle through. That being said the last 30 minutes are fun, fast paced and exciting because there is actual momentum. The film suffers from bad plotting and never really recovers but it's worth watching for some surprisingly well directed action and a few genuinely laugh out loud moments. Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    6
    Rogen 3/10, sorry, he just isnt funny.
    Robinson 8/10, great work, i look forward to seeing what he does next
    Baruchel, 7/10, he played a good level-headed foil for the most part. Hill, 5/10, has his moments but just not a funny man McBride, 8/10, breathed life into the film at the right time Franco, 8/10, his confession line about Li-lo had me laughing uncontrollably. All in all,
    Rogen 3/10, sorry, he just isnt funny.
    Robinson 8/10, great work, i look forward to seeing what he does next
    Baruchel, 7/10, he played a good level-headed foil for the most part.
    Hill, 5/10, has his moments but just not a funny man
    McBride, 8/10, breathed life into the film at the right time
    Franco, 8/10, his confession line about Li-lo had me laughing uncontrollably.

    All in all, better than i thought it would be and a strange non standard flick
    Collapse
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    4
    Not enough laughs. Not enough story. Review must be 150 characters long, Not enough laughs. Not enough story. Not enough laughs. Not enough story. Got it?
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    4
    In a simple conclusion, this film is a high budget youtube video distributed for mass consumption. The jokes are rather redundant after 30 minutes into the film. If you enjoyed Superbad or 40 Year Old Virgin, then this movie will disappoint. The characters do a wonderful job with their improvisation, and the cinematography is great. Outside of that, the film is a major let down.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    If I were younger I would probably like this movie more, but I've seen too many films similar to this. If you're tired of men being portrayed as stupid, bumbling idiots, like every commercial on television, then you probably won't like this film. It was refreshing that the actors play themselves, and make fun of themselves and other actors, but there just wasn't quite enough laughs toIf I were younger I would probably like this movie more, but I've seen too many films similar to this. If you're tired of men being portrayed as stupid, bumbling idiots, like every commercial on television, then you probably won't like this film. It was refreshing that the actors play themselves, and make fun of themselves and other actors, but there just wasn't quite enough laughs to recommend. The special effects surprised me they were excellent. All the actors are excellent as well I just wish I laughed more. Expand
  8. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    Yes it's a comedy all right. You know what to expect when Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and similar are starring... It does have a few funny lines, not too many but still... Silly-funny, not smart-funny but (excuse the repetition) it was expected. So, for the most part it was amusing to watch. Yet when I was leaving the theater I felt sad. These talented actors are already all in their 30's yetYes it's a comedy all right. You know what to expect when Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and similar are starring... It does have a few funny lines, not too many but still... Silly-funny, not smart-funny but (excuse the repetition) it was expected. So, for the most part it was amusing to watch. Yet when I was leaving the theater I felt sad. These talented actors are already all in their 30's yet the way they talk and behave is as if they are teenage half-wits who can only think about drugs and fornication. This movie could be easily done with marionettes instead of actors, "Team America"-style. In fact, it would be even funnier. What I mean is there is nothing to play in that script and it seems to be a waste of actors' skills. Is it a quest for easy money or inability to get out of an established stereotype screen character? Expand
  9. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    it was kinda funny i guess, but it was kinda just to silly in some/most areas for me to fully enjoy it. some jokes they tried to run with ran to long and became quite boring or just awkward scenes. overall the movie was cool for like a one time ever viewing, i'll probably never watch it again though.
  10. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    Is it stupid you bet, but overall its widely entertaining and hilarious film that puts a different spin on things. With nothing but below average comedies so far this year, This is the End is a good comedy that could have used a few tweaks to make it a great.
  11. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    This movie is not for everyone and it could offend some. I strongly do not believe this is a movie appropriate for children aged 8 to 12 (or younger). There is a lot of violence, sexual references, language, etc.

    Now, having said that, it is very funny in places and highly creative. It is not a main street type movie so be prepared that it is a little odd that's what makes it
    This movie is not for everyone and it could offend some. I strongly do not believe this is a movie appropriate for children aged 8 to 12 (or younger). There is a lot of violence, sexual references, language, etc.

    Now, having said that, it is very funny in places and highly creative. It is not a main street type movie so be prepared that it is a little odd that's what makes it watchable. The cast is wonderful, relaxed and engaging. If you've seen Seth's work before, you know his general type of film. This film continues in his general genre but with even more enthusiasm and authenticness. it's like all the constraints are gone.

    If you're ready for something a little unusual are not offended easily I suspect you will enjoy this movie.
    Have fun!
    Expand
  12. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    WoW! I've not yet watched This Is The End. According to CRITICS this movie is way better than Man Of Steel, LOL!!! I'll definitely watch once it releases in my country.
  13. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    There are too many reviews that list it as a 0 or a 10 where the truth is, it is somewhere between. I thought the movie was ok and very enjoyable at times but not quite as funny as I had hoped..
  14. May 18, 2015
    6
    Actors often have a reputation for playing themselves and in This is the End the actors are literally playing themselves. Seth Rogan and Jay Baruchel arrival at Los Angeles and go to a party hosted by James Franco featuring a bunch of other celebrities. If this sounds like an excuse to cram as many famous actors into one movie it is and it leads to a lot of the James Franco and Seth RoganActors often have a reputation for playing themselves and in This is the End the actors are literally playing themselves. Seth Rogan and Jay Baruchel arrival at Los Angeles and go to a party hosted by James Franco featuring a bunch of other celebrities. If this sounds like an excuse to cram as many famous actors into one movie it is and it leads to a lot of the James Franco and Seth Rogan raunchy comedy humor you’ve come to expect from such films as Pineapple Express, which is surprisingly still engaging despite the fact that is been done before. The unique aspect of the film is of course that since the actors are playing themselves a lot of jokes in the film are the actors making fun of each other and themselves from their successes to their failures. The most prominent joke in the film is that Jay Baruchel is the outcast in the group and I’ve seen the outcast before but its handled well. I haven’t seen him in many films so it works. The only downside of having this be the bulk of the comedy is that the film will probably be dated in a decade or two as a lot of these actors are stars at the time but eventually they won’t be the face of comedy anymore and future audiences will be scratching their heads. Even if the jokes wear out though, the energy the actors give off will still hold up. All of the characters play well off each other having arguments about minor things such as water, Harry Potter, and everything but the apocalypse at times. It feels like a raunchy frat party at times and its fun. James Franco is great here. I’m starting to find that he really shines at comedy. There’s also a bit of heart in terms of studying how people would deal with the apocalypse and the good within everyone. The film takes a while to get going though, some of the raunchy jokes are little too raunchy, and there are some lulls of boredom. Nonetheless, This is the End is fun. Its great to see all these actors together and I am bummed I didn’t get to see this in the theater because if I did I’d probably be joining the chorus of laughter that I know this film got. Expand
  15. Jun 28, 2014
    6
    This Is The End is a pretty funny horror comedy that features a decent spate of jokes along side some genuine scares. That said, the film also misses a few crucial shots and comes off a little too self-satisfied. It's fun entertainment but no classic.
  16. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    Starts off well, but by the middle I wish this movie was at its end. The story is actually pretty boring. I found myself drifting off, not even realizing what was happening. Something about the direction was unappealing, and it just was not as funny as it could have been.
  17. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    The most peculiar and odd film out there. This makes Franco's Spring Breakers look almost normal. Certainly not the movie you would expect by looking at the movie posters. Cameos and decent performances make this story an enjoyable one. Some of the humor though kinda turned me off but that is just personal taste. The movie is good and a lot of the humor is spot on. Leave the kids at homeThe most peculiar and odd film out there. This makes Franco's Spring Breakers look almost normal. Certainly not the movie you would expect by looking at the movie posters. Cameos and decent performances make this story an enjoyable one. Some of the humor though kinda turned me off but that is just personal taste. The movie is good and a lot of the humor is spot on. Leave the kids at home and enjoy this one, just keep an open mind. Expand
  18. Feb 14, 2014
    6
    As a whole I though it was enjoyable, but perhaps a bit too over the top at times.

    The first two thirds of the movie are priceless, filled with funny as hell moments that make this movie worth seeing. But the last third and it start going a bit on the stupid side, practically shattering the vibe set before. Overall: While I was disappointed with the end, I still though it was fun to
    As a whole I though it was enjoyable, but perhaps a bit too over the top at times.

    The first two thirds of the movie are priceless, filled with funny as hell moments that make this movie worth seeing. But the last third and it start going a bit on the stupid side, practically shattering the vibe set before.

    Overall:
    While I was disappointed with the end, I still though it was fun to watch.

    Side Note:
    Emma Watson kicks ass! A shame she wasn't in it more.
    Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Imagine all comedic actors, or at least a good portion of them, now, think of them reciting profanity in 2 hour movie, now, think of 'This Is The End'. Now, it's up to you to say if this is good or not.
  20. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    You should know what you are getting into coming into this movie. It's not for the easily offended. On that hand it wasn't the best crude comedy I have ever seen. I guess I expected more from this movie or maybe I just missed some of it because I was intoxicated while watching (which should have made it better). It is just "one of those" movies. I did like that everyone played themselves,You should know what you are getting into coming into this movie. It's not for the easily offended. On that hand it wasn't the best crude comedy I have ever seen. I guess I expected more from this movie or maybe I just missed some of it because I was intoxicated while watching (which should have made it better). It is just "one of those" movies. I did like that everyone played themselves, that was really cool. I think they could have done better but it was a fairly good time anyway. Expand
  21. Rem
    Jun 1, 2014
    6
    I'll be forthright with this, This Is the End needed more Michael Cera. Other than that, this movie's improvisation allowed the actors to be more free with their portrayals of themselves, which makes certain scenes, including the porno magazine, a laugher. However the movie could use less Jonah Hill, who just comes off as uninteresting and unfunny in the film.
  22. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    It's a decent comedy, has a good number of laughs, but overall it's not at the level of the funniest movies. This is above average, nothing more nothing less!
  23. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    A hilarious film which isn't anything special, but it delivers laughs. I mean ,the humor is the thing here, because it fails with the relatively generic plot. But a lot of surprises and a lot of laughs await in this solid movie.
    Don't except something ground-braking, because this movie honestly isn't. But if you like humor and weirdness, I recommend this movie. (Final Score: 6.95)
  24. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    Some laughs, for sure. But a llot of idiotic dialogue in between. Would be mad if paid full theater prices. Some of the cameos by actors weren't too bad.
  25. May 10, 2014
    6
    this film is not perfect but it is very funny and difrent to all comedy that i have seen abit strainge at times to but it works in the films favor and while at the begining in the party you do have to laught at all the faces that you seen and coments they make nothing special but not terible worth a watch
  26. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    This movie was different from the others. It was total chaos but due to the cumulative magnitude of some of the best comedians, this movie was saved. Otherwise, it was ok...
  27. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    To be honest, the jokes are mediocre and sometimes just stupid. I would only recommend this if you're a fan of these guys, then no doubt you'll like it.
  28. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    I think This is the End is a bit overrated. Apocalypse is a topic that has been covered over and over again in several genres of film, we have already all seen Zombieland. This movie is a little bit different but I just didn't really find it as funny as everyone else seemed too.
  29. Jun 26, 2015
    4
    I did really enjoy this movie when I first watched it. Then upon more viewings.. This movie is very tiring, long and honestly very boring. Halfway through the second viewing, I didnt care much for it.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    This apocalypse isn’t a nightmare so much as the ultimate bromantic fantasy, one in which – with the removal of any responsibility – the boys are free to bicker, banter, and bed down together.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    No comedy classic, then, but a good natured and engaging slice of goonish self-mockery.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    Some funny stuff, but a rental/download only.