User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 656 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 656
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    8
    This Is the End starts out hilarious, fresh and has the makings of a great movie. As the movie gets into its final third, it starts to drag a little bit and the high begins to wear off, but overall the actors were vey funny and the film itself was enjoyable.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Good friends Seth Rogen and Jay Baruchel go to a party at James Franco's. While they're there, the apocalypse happens. This leave them (plus Jonah Hill, Danny McBride & Craig Robinson) alone to survive as disaster and the Devil overtake. A liberal sprinkling of celeb cameos adds to the fun. Watching this posse of self-involved, insult-spewing, wimps as they panic and offend provides lotsGood friends Seth Rogen and Jay Baruchel go to a party at James Franco's. While they're there, the apocalypse happens. This leave them (plus Jonah Hill, Danny McBride & Craig Robinson) alone to survive as disaster and the Devil overtake. A liberal sprinkling of celeb cameos adds to the fun. Watching this posse of self-involved, insult-spewing, wimps as they panic and offend provides lots of quick-fire laffs. Much of the humor is absurd, wacky and plenty raunchy, which makes it even more hilarious. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    7
    Not perfect, but still pretty darn funny. It's crude, rude, occasionally offensive, often disgusting, and totally inappropriate. It often trips and stumbles over itself, but when the stars are making fun of themselves and their careers it's not hard to laugh. Admittedly a lot of the shock-humor moments fall short, but the cameos make up for it. Overall I enjoyed laughing at it. even if itNot perfect, but still pretty darn funny. It's crude, rude, occasionally offensive, often disgusting, and totally inappropriate. It often trips and stumbles over itself, but when the stars are making fun of themselves and their careers it's not hard to laugh. Admittedly a lot of the shock-humor moments fall short, but the cameos make up for it. Overall I enjoyed laughing at it. even if it isn't always the funniest movie out there. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    From Superbad to Pineapple Express and now This is the End, the West Coast writing duo Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg have specialized in movies about modern bro-ships. In with their new apocalyptic comedy This is The End, friendships are strained as never before and yet the calamity always starts from a kernel of truth. A prank for TMZ-obsessed times, This is the End features a galaxy ofFrom Superbad to Pineapple Express and now This is the End, the West Coast writing duo Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg have specialized in movies about modern bro-ships. In with their new apocalyptic comedy This is The End, friendships are strained as never before and yet the calamity always starts from a kernel of truth. A prank for TMZ-obsessed times, This is the End features a galaxy of stars playing themselves, like a Mad Magazine parody brought to life. The story starts simply Montrealer Jay Baruchel flies to L.A. to meet up with his Canadian homey Seth Rogen. Baruchel is looking forward to a quiet evening of dope and Xbox but Rogen wants to hang with his hip Hollywood friends. James Franco's having a party at his new pad. And so the dynamic is set. Rogen as the mellow peacemaker Baruchel as the reluctant insider who never really belongs. So we see Franco playing it up as the pretentious poser, his Hollywood digs covered in his latest art acquisitions. Jonah Hill comes off as a polite, but snide, social climber, with a gaudy diamond to accent his d-bag status. Craig Robinson just wants to chill, appearing as a towel-slinging Romeo looking to ride out his last days. In terms of just what is occurring in This is the End, I don't want to reveal too much, but let's just say it gets Biblical. In terms of pure schadenfreude, it's unlikely you've seen this many famous faces fall to their death since The Poseidon Adventure. But the breezy 1970s disaster movie production values give the carnage an almost campy feel. Like a demonic cross between The Hangover and Ghostbusters, This is the End works because the comedy springs from an emotional truth. Every riff seems to come from the question "What would I do now?" Like so many Seth/Evan collaborations the action is anchored around the friendship in this case between Seth and Jay. It might sound dull, but in a comedy filled with dangling demon parts and hell hounds, it helps to be grounded. It's that mix of improv, irreverence and reality-based beginnings that makes This is the End a comedic revelation. Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    Is it stupid you bet, but overall its widely entertaining and hilarious film that puts a different spin on things. With nothing but below average comedies so far this year, This is the End is a good comedy that could have used a few tweaks to make it a great.
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Ranchy, asinine, and nauseating throughout, "This Is The End" may not be for some who are easily offended, but it's most assuredly one of the uniquely hilarious black comedies I have ever seen.
  7. Aug 31, 2014
    7
    Sometimes the best ideas are the simplest ones, that come to you while having a drink with friends at a bar. Unlike this groups other films, the story and plot aren't the focus here. This Is The End features a ton of Hollywood's top comedic stars, playing extremely stereotypical version of themselves. Their characters are based on rumors, gossip, and over exaggerations of their trueSometimes the best ideas are the simplest ones, that come to you while having a drink with friends at a bar. Unlike this groups other films, the story and plot aren't the focus here. This Is The End features a ton of Hollywood's top comedic stars, playing extremely stereotypical version of themselves. Their characters are based on rumors, gossip, and over exaggerations of their true persona's, resulting in a hilarious film, that not only delighted their fans, but also gave a huge middle finger to the paparazzi. The film starts with Jay Baruchel visiting Seth Rogen in L.A. Baruchel, a notorious introvert, wants to stay in, but Rogen wants to go to James Franco's housewarming party. Reluctantly the pair agree to go to the big time Hollywood shindig, when the fun is interrupted by the apocolypse, and I don't mean a zombie one, the actual end of the world. The pampered actors find themselves in a fight for survival in the home of James Franco. The whole cast was hilarious and while watching it you realize that the characters they develop really aren't that dissimilar from who they really are. Jay Baruchel surprised me, as I knew very little about him, besides his awkward performance in She's Out of League. I haven't really seen him as more than a ancillary character, and it was really fun to see him fit in with the gang. Rogen, Hill, Franco, and Robinson don't disappoint, giving you exactly what you'd expect from them, and unfortunately so does Danny McBride. I really don't get the appeal of this guy! He is way over the top, super annoying, and just a big dumb redneck, that just doesn't seem to fit in with the likes of these comedic geniuses. If I had the choice I'd much rather have had Michael Cera or Paul Rudd trapped with them instead of McBride, who didn't get more than an annoyed grunt out of me. This Is The End is a very funny film, wrapped in an awful story, but it gives great insight into the personalities of some of our favorite actors and that really is the whole point of this film. It's just one of those things that either you'll get it and love it, or you won't. Expand
  8. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The funniest film I've seen in a long time. This is what an R rated comedy should be like not playing safe andjust going for it. The cameos in this film are also fantastic from Emma Watson to coked out Michael Cera to Channing Tatum this film is hilarious. Expand
  9. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    Starts off well, but by the middle I wish this movie was at its end. The story is actually pretty boring. I found myself drifting off, not even realizing what was happening. Something about the direction was unappealing, and it just was not as funny as it could have been.
  10. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    " Seth Rogan's directorial comedy is THE BEST OF THE CENTURY OF ALL COMEDIES ". fgjbhrngfsreionhfiugthhgbtugvbfyugvbugvbtnuygfbvuyvbrgvjbvuyfbvgyvfuibvgrhuybvyuhb
  11. Jun 28, 2014
    6
    This Is The End is a pretty funny horror comedy that features a decent spate of jokes along side some genuine scares. That said, the film also misses a few crucial shots and comes off a little too self-satisfied. It's fun entertainment but no classic.
  12. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    'This Is the End' has a quality to sit, perhaps a satirical point-of-view to the well dramatized biblical Apocalypse. Though its ridiculousness and flat irony about an Apocalypse is the main drive for this unconventional comedy, Rogen and Goldberg write a neatly balanced comedy with the ribaldry and the reactions of the disaster-riddled night of actors of Franco, Hill, Robinson, Baruchel,'This Is the End' has a quality to sit, perhaps a satirical point-of-view to the well dramatized biblical Apocalypse. Though its ridiculousness and flat irony about an Apocalypse is the main drive for this unconventional comedy, Rogen and Goldberg write a neatly balanced comedy with the ribaldry and the reactions of the disaster-riddled night of actors of Franco, Hill, Robinson, Baruchel, and especially McBride. All in all, a funny film that's worth a rewatch Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    I think This is the End is a bit overrated. Apocalypse is a topic that has been covered over and over again in several genres of film, we have already all seen Zombieland. This movie is a little bit different but I just didn't really find it as funny as everyone else seemed too.
  14. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    This is the end is the most unique comedy since the original Hangover. The concept of real life actors experiencing the apocalypse in a comedic sense is absolutely hilarious. Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, James Franco, Craig Robinson, and Jonah Hill shine as the core of the group of celebrity friends and I loved the cameos by all of the other celebrities but especially by Emma Watson, MichaelThis is the end is the most unique comedy since the original Hangover. The concept of real life actors experiencing the apocalypse in a comedic sense is absolutely hilarious. Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, James Franco, Craig Robinson, and Jonah Hill shine as the core of the group of celebrity friends and I loved the cameos by all of the other celebrities but especially by Emma Watson, Michael Cera, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, and Rihanna (though I wish Emma had a bigger role... there's no such thing as too much Emma!). The laughter was almost from beginning to end. Honestly, the end is kind of why this film didn't get a higher rating from me. While there were still some parts that made me chuckle, it generally wasn't as funny as the first two-thirds or so of the movie and felt a bit rushed. All-in-all though, this is a must watch comedy, if you don't mind ridiculous and crude guy humor. Expand
  15. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    After so many Seth Rogen ensemble comedies it was inevitable that the jokes would be harder to come by and harder to land, I mean there are only so many Danny McBride rants you can take before you have to slam Up in the Air in the DVD drive just so you can see him do something different for a change. This is the End tells the story of what happens when Jay Baruchel and Seth Rogen go to aAfter so many Seth Rogen ensemble comedies it was inevitable that the jokes would be harder to come by and harder to land, I mean there are only so many Danny McBride rants you can take before you have to slam Up in the Air in the DVD drive just so you can see him do something different for a change. This is the End tells the story of what happens when Jay Baruchel and Seth Rogen go to a house party at James Franco's house and the apocalypse begins leaving them, Jonah Hill, Craig Robinson and Danny McBride to fend for themselves and try to make it out alive. It's a clever concept as it allows real laughs while exploring everything meta comedy has to offer which turns out isn't a lot. The central joke that these people really exist an its funny to watch them do despicable things gets old really fast (except for the unveiling of a gimp at the end, that's hilarious). The idea of six celebrities trying to survive a horrible event is interesting but they do so by hiding away in the same building for almost the entire movie making for a very slow moving comedy. The film relies upon lengthy set ups to pretty regular material so there are long boring sequences to struggle through. That being said the last 30 minutes are fun, fast paced and exciting because there is actual momentum. The film suffers from bad plotting and never really recovers but it's worth watching for some surprisingly well directed action and a few genuinely laugh out loud moments. Expand
  16. Feb 1, 2014
    2
    Now when a bunch of celebrities meet up, dope themselves to mammoth highs, and then decide to have a whale of a time by making a fully ad-libbed film, who am I to bash them? It’s just that the yield of this frenzy cannot possible be enjoyed as long as the same jag isn’t reached by the audiences. Thus, if drugs aren’t your cup of tea, This Is the End won’t be either. Scatological humour,Now when a bunch of celebrities meet up, dope themselves to mammoth highs, and then decide to have a whale of a time by making a fully ad-libbed film, who am I to bash them? It’s just that the yield of this frenzy cannot possible be enjoyed as long as the same jag isn’t reached by the audiences. Thus, if drugs aren’t your cup of tea, This Is the End won’t be either. Scatological humour, downright terrible special effects, unbearable cheesiness, and drugs and gore in superfluous abundance pile up to one of the hugest disappointments the film year 2013 has held for me. Expand
  17. May 18, 2015
    6
    Actors often have a reputation for playing themselves and in This is the End the actors are literally playing themselves. Seth Rogan and Jay Baruchel arrival at Los Angeles and go to a party hosted by James Franco featuring a bunch of other celebrities. If this sounds like an excuse to cram as many famous actors into one movie it is and it leads to a lot of the James Franco and Seth RoganActors often have a reputation for playing themselves and in This is the End the actors are literally playing themselves. Seth Rogan and Jay Baruchel arrival at Los Angeles and go to a party hosted by James Franco featuring a bunch of other celebrities. If this sounds like an excuse to cram as many famous actors into one movie it is and it leads to a lot of the James Franco and Seth Rogan raunchy comedy humor you’ve come to expect from such films as Pineapple Express, which is surprisingly still engaging despite the fact that is been done before. The unique aspect of the film is of course that since the actors are playing themselves a lot of jokes in the film are the actors making fun of each other and themselves from their successes to their failures. The most prominent joke in the film is that Jay Baruchel is the outcast in the group and I’ve seen the outcast before but its handled well. I haven’t seen him in many films so it works. The only downside of having this be the bulk of the comedy is that the film will probably be dated in a decade or two as a lot of these actors are stars at the time but eventually they won’t be the face of comedy anymore and future audiences will be scratching their heads. Even if the jokes wear out though, the energy the actors give off will still hold up. All of the characters play well off each other having arguments about minor things such as water, Harry Potter, and everything but the apocalypse at times. It feels like a raunchy frat party at times and its fun. James Franco is great here. I’m starting to find that he really shines at comedy. There’s also a bit of heart in terms of studying how people would deal with the apocalypse and the good within everyone. The film takes a while to get going though, some of the raunchy jokes are little too raunchy, and there are some lulls of boredom. Nonetheless, This is the End is fun. Its great to see all these actors together and I am bummed I didn’t get to see this in the theater because if I did I’d probably be joining the chorus of laughter that I know this film got. Expand
  18. Feb 14, 2014
    6
    As a whole I though it was enjoyable, but perhaps a bit too over the top at times.

    The first two thirds of the movie are priceless, filled with funny as hell moments that make this movie worth seeing. But the last third and it start going a bit on the stupid side, practically shattering the vibe set before. Overall: While I was disappointed with the end, I still though it was fun to
    As a whole I though it was enjoyable, but perhaps a bit too over the top at times.

    The first two thirds of the movie are priceless, filled with funny as hell moments that make this movie worth seeing. But the last third and it start going a bit on the stupid side, practically shattering the vibe set before.

    Overall:
    While I was disappointed with the end, I still though it was fun to watch.

    Side Note:
    Emma Watson kicks ass! A shame she wasn't in it more.
    Expand
  19. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    If I were younger I would probably like this movie more, but I've seen too many films similar to this. If you're tired of men being portrayed as stupid, bumbling idiots, like every commercial on television, then you probably won't like this film. It was refreshing that the actors play themselves, and make fun of themselves and other actors, but there just wasn't quite enough laughs toIf I were younger I would probably like this movie more, but I've seen too many films similar to this. If you're tired of men being portrayed as stupid, bumbling idiots, like every commercial on television, then you probably won't like this film. It was refreshing that the actors play themselves, and make fun of themselves and other actors, but there just wasn't quite enough laughs to recommend. The special effects surprised me they were excellent. All the actors are excellent as well I just wish I laughed more. Expand
  20. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    This was a very funny movie and perhaps could have had a perfect rating if it wasn't for Danny McBride. He was the film's biggest problem and I loathed any scenes with him, but McBride aside the film's concept and delivery from the cast was spot on! A lot of the jokes were hilarious and I really enjoyed Craig Robinson, as well as leads Baruchel & Rogen. Sure its silly but in a way thatThis was a very funny movie and perhaps could have had a perfect rating if it wasn't for Danny McBride. He was the film's biggest problem and I loathed any scenes with him, but McBride aside the film's concept and delivery from the cast was spot on! A lot of the jokes were hilarious and I really enjoyed Craig Robinson, as well as leads Baruchel & Rogen. Sure its silly but in a way that simply works well for the film and I can see a lot of people really enjoying this movie like I did Expand
  21. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Man, oh Man! This movie was way different than I thought it would be. It is extremely hilarious and fun/enjoyable to watch. It's weird how, the story (in a sense) is kind of unoriginal. I mean, it's an apocalypse movie. But when you combine it with a story where the actors play exaggerated versions of themselves in the same situation, you have one killer movie. Everyone in this movie wasMan, oh Man! This movie was way different than I thought it would be. It is extremely hilarious and fun/enjoyable to watch. It's weird how, the story (in a sense) is kind of unoriginal. I mean, it's an apocalypse movie. But when you combine it with a story where the actors play exaggerated versions of themselves in the same situation, you have one killer movie. Everyone in this movie was awesome and funny. Let me also say this. Craig Robinson, you've had a rough start this year, but I'm happy to say that you've redeemed yourself. Your officially on my good side once again. Also, the story and the humor mixed in is surprisingly clever. Plus the fact that they also mention stuff from there other movies as well. Like James Franco's fake arm from "127 Hours" and Danny ranting on Seth's previous roles. If you don't know what I mean by that, watch the teaser trailer. I even loved Emma Watson in this movie. Yet, she's not really a full blown cameo, but all the time she was in this movie, I loved her. But the best part of this movie was Micheal Cera. I've never really been a big fan of him, but now I can say that even though he wasn't in the movie very long, he was f-ing awesome for the time he was in the movie. I've been so excited to see this movie, and now that it's hear, I'm glad that it was an amazing movie. Overall, it's an original/outrageously hilarious apocalypse movie. Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie does not have enough action and the humor is not so funny but there is some good parts and some funny moments.The worst part of the movie is at the end of the movie when they are in the heaven,this is so random.But it stays a good movie to watch. Expand
  23. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    This is the End is very certainly a fun and entertaining film, providing plenty of laughs and amusing celebrity cameos. Even though I liked the film, it is definitely flawed; some of the humour fell flat (most of them worked though), I didn't necessarily care for any of the characters (actors) and there is plenty of cheap CG. But in the end (pun intended), This is the End is an enjoyableThis is the End is very certainly a fun and entertaining film, providing plenty of laughs and amusing celebrity cameos. Even though I liked the film, it is definitely flawed; some of the humour fell flat (most of them worked though), I didn't necessarily care for any of the characters (actors) and there is plenty of cheap CG. But in the end (pun intended), This is the End is an enjoyable comedy that is worth watching, even if it is flawed. Expand
  24. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    The trailers looked good and I didn't really know the plot of the movie, so I was seeing it "fresh" sort of speak. First I can say it was better than I thought, with a few good LOL points of the movie. I also liked the music soundtrack for the flick. But if the movie didn't have all these "b" listers sprinkled throughout the first 20 minutes of the movie, who would really like this? TheThe trailers looked good and I didn't really know the plot of the movie, so I was seeing it "fresh" sort of speak. First I can say it was better than I thought, with a few good LOL points of the movie. I also liked the music soundtrack for the flick. But if the movie didn't have all these "b" listers sprinkled throughout the first 20 minutes of the movie, who would really like this? The plot is decent but the acting and premise is childish. Which is good if your a child I suppose. Expand
  25. May 25, 2014
    8
    ust an EPIC movie simple as that most fun iv'e had at the movie theaters this year by far. I have been waiting for this movie for about 6 now year back when it was called "Jay and Seth vs. the apocalypse". I'm so glad that it was made and it's really everything I thought it was going to be. Non stop laughing from start to finish and it has amazing main cast James Franco, Jonah Hill, Sethust an EPIC movie simple as that most fun iv'e had at the movie theaters this year by far. I have been waiting for this movie for about 6 now year back when it was called "Jay and Seth vs. the apocalypse". I'm so glad that it was made and it's really everything I thought it was going to be. Non stop laughing from start to finish and it has amazing main cast James Franco, Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Danny McBride, Craig Robinson. I love all those guys and have watched movies with them in them multiple times.

    Now the film opens up Seth Rogen picking up Jay Baruchel from the airport so they can chill and hang out together at Rogen' house. Then Rogen get's a call about a party over at James Franco's house Jay doesn't really want to go but they end up going anyway. While at the party you see LOADS of cameos from more amazing actors like Michael Cera, Emma Watson, Paul Rudd, Jason Segel and plenty more but Michael Cera stole every scene he was in. He was just a coked up party whore they whole time and everything he says and does was golden and had me laughing.

    Jay ends up needing a pack of cigarettes so him and Seth walk to a nearby store when Jay again tries to go back to Seth's house and just chill and then BOOM everything starts go down earthquake, dark skies, people disappearing. They run back to Franco's house to see that nothing has happened and they try to tell people what going on but no one believes them until another earthquake happens and everyone runs outside to see what's going on. They see that LA is up in flames and there's no where to go that's when a hole starts to appear right in front of them killing some people while others just runs away and this is how we get are main cast. So they get all the food, drinks, drugs, and put them all in one place and they try to go to sleep for the night when they wake up the next morning they see Danny McBride cooking and eating all their remaining food. From here we see them doing crazy stuff like doing a homemade sequel of films that they have done so we see them do "Pineapple Express 2 Red's Revenge" that was just too funny they also get robbed by Emma Watson that part was great.

    More crazy stuff happens but that's for you to find out when you watch this amazing movie also the ending was just pure amazingness.

    Overall i give it a 8.0 for sure blu ray, for sure watching multiple times!!! can't wait
    Expand
  26. Lyn
    Sep 8, 2013
    6
    Raunchy, vulgar and incredibly, ignorantly profane. But I'm green-lighting it for the laughs, which I really needed today. From the mildly funny stuff (e.g. Seth Rogen trying to compare the Trinity to neapolitan ice cream) to the laugh-out-loud shtick (e.g. Aziz Ansari's fate!) it is full of insidery humor. And a hint of a moral, amid all the immorality. Might just be me, but I would haveRaunchy, vulgar and incredibly, ignorantly profane. But I'm green-lighting it for the laughs, which I really needed today. From the mildly funny stuff (e.g. Seth Rogen trying to compare the Trinity to neapolitan ice cream) to the laugh-out-loud shtick (e.g. Aziz Ansari's fate!) it is full of insidery humor. And a hint of a moral, amid all the immorality. Might just be me, but I would have enjoyed at least one lasting female presence to break up the repetitive bromances and perhaps limit the talk of penises and masturbation. Expand
  27. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    I haven't laughed so hard in a long time. A mega party of celebrities at James Franco's house goes awfully wrong when the Apocalypse strikes.

    Just when you think you've got the movie figured out, it twists and surprises again. It makes you laugh even when people are dying all around. The celebrities play their own parodied selves_ backstabbing, lying, cheating at every turn. You think
    I haven't laughed so hard in a long time. A mega party of celebrities at James Franco's house goes awfully wrong when the Apocalypse strikes.

    Just when you think you've got the movie figured out, it twists and surprises again. It makes you laugh even when people are dying all around. The celebrities play their own parodied selves_ backstabbing, lying, cheating at every turn. You think you can spot the good ones until they do not conform to God's minimal standard of being raised into Heaven and saved from the demons. And sometimes the ones you think are going to get the worst of it redeem themselves and are saved.

    The mood is comic even with the fires of hell burning all around and everything going to s***. The concept of the Apocalypse is taken from the Bible and adjusted for comedy, but the bad guys still pay and the good ones still make it to Heaven. I don't get the people hating on this. If you're so afraid of being challenged out of your comfort zones, maybe you should stick to the feel-good movies where you might always be able to predict everything and feel so safe as not to be amazed at all.
    Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    A surprisingly well done movie. It's speckled with funny moments through out the entire movie and what really makes this film succeed is the fact that it's not just a comedy parody movie. It's a comedy and a apocalypse film. It's decently funny and is filled with gratuitous celebrity deaths. Honestly what else can you ask for? Although it's not the best film ever it's much better than theA surprisingly well done movie. It's speckled with funny moments through out the entire movie and what really makes this film succeed is the fact that it's not just a comedy parody movie. It's a comedy and a apocalypse film. It's decently funny and is filled with gratuitous celebrity deaths. Honestly what else can you ask for? Although it's not the best film ever it's much better than the average comedy of the past several years. Expand
  29. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    This Is The End is hilarious and has one of the funniest endings to a movie since Life of Brian. I hope Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg are planning another movie to direct.
  30. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    The most peculiar and odd film out there. This makes Franco's Spring Breakers look almost normal. Certainly not the movie you would expect by looking at the movie posters. Cameos and decent performances make this story an enjoyable one. Some of the humor though kinda turned me off but that is just personal taste. The movie is good and a lot of the humor is spot on. Leave the kids at homeThe most peculiar and odd film out there. This makes Franco's Spring Breakers look almost normal. Certainly not the movie you would expect by looking at the movie posters. Cameos and decent performances make this story an enjoyable one. Some of the humor though kinda turned me off but that is just personal taste. The movie is good and a lot of the humor is spot on. Leave the kids at home and enjoy this one, just keep an open mind. Expand
  31. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    Yes it's a comedy all right. You know what to expect when Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and similar are starring... It does have a few funny lines, not too many but still... Silly-funny, not smart-funny but (excuse the repetition) it was expected. So, for the most part it was amusing to watch. Yet when I was leaving the theater I felt sad. These talented actors are already all in their 30's yetYes it's a comedy all right. You know what to expect when Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and similar are starring... It does have a few funny lines, not too many but still... Silly-funny, not smart-funny but (excuse the repetition) it was expected. So, for the most part it was amusing to watch. Yet when I was leaving the theater I felt sad. These talented actors are already all in their 30's yet the way they talk and behave is as if they are teenage half-wits who can only think about drugs and fornication. This movie could be easily done with marionettes instead of actors, "Team America"-style. In fact, it would be even funnier. What I mean is there is nothing to play in that script and it seems to be a waste of actors' skills. Is it a quest for easy money or inability to get out of an established stereotype screen character? Expand
  32. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Seth Rogen and company singlehandedly save 2013 from the being the worst year in comedy of the last five. I adore and appreciate This is The End for this reason, and because it was mainly improvised. If you're in the mood for a laugh, check it out.
  33. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    "This is the End" is a highly original meta-comedy that puts well known actors into an apocalyptic world. It’s self-referential and the actors essentially play an exaggerated version of themselves. The film is filled with strong creative writing with a lot of laughs. The themes are about being a good person and sacrificing yourself for something greater. The punches keep rolling, only"This is the End" is a highly original meta-comedy that puts well known actors into an apocalyptic world. It’s self-referential and the actors essentially play an exaggerated version of themselves. The film is filled with strong creative writing with a lot of laughs. The themes are about being a good person and sacrificing yourself for something greater. The punches keep rolling, only slowing down in a few spots. Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg’s direction is pretty good. They handle spectacle and slow moments very well. I really enjoy how this film manages to throw curve balls once in a while and have the audience on their toes as the movie gets bigger.

    The actors play an exaggerated version of themselves. Jay Baruchel is the main character and fights for his friendship with Seth Rogen over James Franco and has a rivalry between Jonah Hill, who is the funniest amongst the whole crew. The cast has great chemistry together as they play off each other very well and you can get a pretty good vibe that these guys are actually friends in real life. They’re all jerks and have to deal with judgment day as they attempt to survive and become better human beings. There are some great cameos from other actors in the film. The best would have to be Emma Watson as she plays a version of herself that we aren’t really used to. The only person that I didn’t like is Danny McBride. He’s annoying and aside from his introduction isn’t all too funny. The cast as a whole is pretty strong and work well together to bring us the laughs.

    Overall “This is the End" is an excellent and highly original comedy. It’s extremely funny and smart filled with slapstick, situational, and self-referential humor. The laughs keep coming and only slows down a few times in the beginning and some parts in the middle. The special effects are handled well and the soundtrack supports the film very well. The actors have a fun time playing tabloid versions of themselves and play off each other very effectively. Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg’s script is top-notch and they greatly handle the ever growing scale of the film. I give it 4/5, original and great premise accompanied by a committed cast and laugh out loud humor.
    Expand
  34. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This film had me laughing from start to finish. What a great concept for a film and with the brilliant dialogue, superb performances (especially from Danny McBride), awesome special effects and superb ending, this film stands out in mind as one of the best comedies I've ever seen. It even managed to succeed my high expectations.
  35. Jul 16, 2013
    3
    This Is the End only holds your interest when this movie is at the beginning. There is a new genre of Hollywood film that seems to have been invented by Seth Rogen--I call it The Gross & the Vulgar (G&V). G&V films use a lot of sexual obscenity and are often obsessed with scatological references. Admittedly, there is not a single display of excrement in this G&V film. However, we seeThis Is the End only holds your interest when this movie is at the beginning. There is a new genre of Hollywood film that seems to have been invented by Seth Rogen--I call it The Gross & the Vulgar (G&V). G&V films use a lot of sexual obscenity and are often obsessed with scatological references. Admittedly, there is not a single display of excrement in this G&V film. However, we see Michael Cera as a weird druggie who humiliates a woman after she performs fellatio in the bathroom at a wild party held by James Franco. Cera is supposed to be playing himself, but it's unclear whether he is in fact that stupid in real life. Franco plays himself as a spoiled rich kid who can afford the house of his fantasies and is the leader of the pack. All of Franco's friends including Jonah Hill, Jay Baruchel and others are successful actors who are playing themselves. When they poke fun at their own fame, wealth, and lifestyle, there is some measure of amusement, but this aspect of the film only holds for the first half hour or so. There is an amusing conversation about what it means to be on a gluten-free diet, as Baruchel and Rogen act dumber than they presumably are in real life: “Everything that's bad has gluten...calories have gluten.”

    However, the movie soon deteriorates into a disaster film, but the disaster is being caused by God Himself who has decided to usher in the Day of Judgment. Los Angeles is now right in there with Sodom and Gomorrah, and given the party that was being held at Franco's house when the hell-fires broke loose, one can understand why the Lord finally got fed up with the human race. The Devil himself has taken over the city, and he is a giant demon with an equally giant phallus. Those who are pure and good are spared this scenario, for a blue light beams them up like a suction tube so that they can reside in a heavenly abode. Those left behind are sinners who have yet to redeem themselves, but they too can get beamed up at the last possible moment if they sacrifice themselves for the sake of love and kindness.

    There are painful scenes in this movie--Franco and Danny McBride have an obscenely juvenile conversation about whose masturbatory practices and seminal output are more prodigious. At one point, as the clan holes up in Franco's mansion, which acts as a crucible for the ensemble as the populace burns to death outdoors, a stranger sticks his head through a hole in the door and begs the boys to take him in. The group debates the matter for too long, for the Devil sees the poor shlemiel with his head stuck in the door and decapitates him, so that the head rolls into Franco's house. The boys don't quite know what to do with the bloody body part, so naturally they end up kicking it around in an impromptu game of soccer ball before they decide that this behavior is insensitive, tasteless, and inappropriate. Given the nature of the entire film, this display of remorse is a little out of character.

    Unfortunately, in the end, This Is the End, another G&V film from Seth Rogen, is simply asinine, half-witted, and puerile.
    Expand
  36. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Are you people insane? If this is what you are willing to pay your hard earned money to see then why should anyone work at their craft. Possibly the most juvenile idiotic movie I have ever seen. Is this what Hollywood now calls entertainment. I have as good as sense of humor as the next person but this flick was awful. The people connected in making this should be ashamed.
  37. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    It's a decent comedy, has a good number of laughs, but overall it's not at the level of the funniest movies. This is above average, nothing more nothing less!
  38. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    This movie was better than expected, though not spectacular by any means. The star-power alone should be enough to draw interest, and I mean... EMMA WATSON. Although I wish Aziz had a more of a role since I do like him as a comedian. Often funny (sometimes not so much) and some good over-the-top but in a good way scenarios, this is definitely a funny enough movie to watch if you're lookingThis movie was better than expected, though not spectacular by any means. The star-power alone should be enough to draw interest, and I mean... EMMA WATSON. Although I wish Aziz had a more of a role since I do like him as a comedian. Often funny (sometimes not so much) and some good over-the-top but in a good way scenarios, this is definitely a funny enough movie to watch if you're looking for some laughs. Expand
  39. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    Despite its gross-out humor that might lead to some audiences being turned off, This is The End is a funny satire movie about the end of the world with its funny ensemble cast and cameos.
  40. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    Very simply an instant classic!! One of the funniest films I've seen in a long time. It's ridiculously hilarious!! Based on Seth and Jay vs. The Apocolypse, This Is The End finally hits the big screen. The plot centres around Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Jonah Hill, James Franco, Craig Robinson & Danny McBride, where fictional versions of themselves must deal with the aftermath of anVery simply an instant classic!! One of the funniest films I've seen in a long time. It's ridiculously hilarious!! Based on Seth and Jay vs. The Apocolypse, This Is The End finally hits the big screen. The plot centres around Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Jonah Hill, James Franco, Craig Robinson & Danny McBride, where fictional versions of themselves must deal with the aftermath of an apocalypse! In many ways the film shouldn't work. But believe me it does! It's just genius comedy I mean c'mon there are worse ways to spend an apolocypse than homing up at James Franco's house with a bunch of stoned celebrities! It's such an audacious comedy. Yet it succeeds because of it's creativity. Some of the cameo roles are genius! Rihanna? Emma Watson?! But, the best is Michael Cera. Unmissable!! It's the wildest comedy of the year but something that you truly have to witness for yourself. There really isn't a lot of words that you can use to tell you about this it's one of they films you just have to see for yourself. The dialogue alone is outrageously funny! I haven't laughed naturally so much at a film in a long time. This is the must see comedy film of the year. Make no mistakes, it's daring, rude, crude, smart, inspiring and utterly hilarious. Expand
  41. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    To be honest, the jokes are mediocre and sometimes just stupid. I would only recommend this if you're a fan of these guys, then no doubt you'll like it.
  42. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    A fun premise, with a bunch of great comedy actors playing themselves. I knew this movie would be hilarious, and it is. A little too vulgar, but hilarious.
  43. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    The most original unoriginal movie I've ever seen. I'm not a fan of most comedies, but this movie was one of the rare gems that pop out every now and then. Rogen, Baruchel, Franco, and Robinson are amazing as exaggerated versions of themselves. Truthfully, the movie made me feel like I was watching how myself and some of my bros would deal with the same situation. Excellent film andThe most original unoriginal movie I've ever seen. I'm not a fan of most comedies, but this movie was one of the rare gems that pop out every now and then. Rogen, Baruchel, Franco, and Robinson are amazing as exaggerated versions of themselves. Truthfully, the movie made me feel like I was watching how myself and some of my bros would deal with the same situation. Excellent film and absolutely hilarious. Expand
  44. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Imagine all comedic actors, or at least a good portion of them, now, think of them reciting profanity in 2 hour movie, now, think of 'This Is The End'. Now, it's up to you to say if this is good or not.
  45. Oct 18, 2014
    8
    Prometía poco al principio (estuve bastante serio durante los primeros 20 minutos), pero en cuanto llega el apocalipsis, la trama mejora mucho. Es muy absurda y excesivamente malhablada pero consigue hacer reír al fin y al cabo.
  46. Jul 12, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Didnt expect much, very underrated movie, it was a great comedy. The chemistry was good, very absurd at the end, the cameo from tatum was **** genius Expand
  47. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    You should know what you are getting into coming into this movie. It's not for the easily offended. On that hand it wasn't the best crude comedy I have ever seen. I guess I expected more from this movie or maybe I just missed some of it because I was intoxicated while watching (which should have made it better). It is just "one of those" movies. I did like that everyone played themselves,You should know what you are getting into coming into this movie. It's not for the easily offended. On that hand it wasn't the best crude comedy I have ever seen. I guess I expected more from this movie or maybe I just missed some of it because I was intoxicated while watching (which should have made it better). It is just "one of those" movies. I did like that everyone played themselves, that was really cool. I think they could have done better but it was a fairly good time anyway. Expand
  48. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Instant classic. This movie is so funny, so outrageous, so filled with energy you should put Man of Steel and every other movie on hold. Do yourself a huge favor and just go see it.
  49. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    This has to be one of the most pointless movies I have ever seen. I enjoy stupid comedy like many others but the jokes seem forced and the bromance element was poorly done. I loved superbad and pineapple express but this lacked any real meaning. It went from one predictable scene to the next forcing one issue after another with lame fart jokes and fake buddy buddy crap. This was unwatchable
  50. Aug 31, 2014
    0
    Seriosly..this is a nice movie? Damn...

    *************************************************************************************************************
  51. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    WoW! I've not yet watched This Is The End. According to CRITICS this movie is way better than Man Of Steel, LOL!!! I'll definitely watch once it releases in my country.
  52. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Great movie! I thought it was hilarious!! I love all the actors in it and its one of those movies that just doesn't get old! Possibly the best comedy since Shaun of the Dead or the first Anchorman.
  53. Mar 20, 2015
    9
    I don't get the hate this film is getting...everywhere I go to look at the user reviews, it's all negative...everybody seems to hate this movie. Last time I checked, this is a comedy film...co-written and co-directed by Seth Rogen. He's known for making crude and obnoxious comedies...seriously people LIGHTEN THE F**K UP!!!

    Alright, basically the plot to this movie is that everybody in
    I don't get the hate this film is getting...everywhere I go to look at the user reviews, it's all negative...everybody seems to hate this movie. Last time I checked, this is a comedy film...co-written and co-directed by Seth Rogen. He's known for making crude and obnoxious comedies...seriously people LIGHTEN THE F**K UP!!!

    Alright, basically the plot to this movie is that everybody in here are playing fictional versions of themselves. Jay Baruchel returns to Los Angeles with his friend Seth Rogen. Seth decides that he wants to go to James Franco's new house as he is having a party. Jay isn't so enthusiastic about this as he doesn't seem to get along with any of Seth's other "Hollywood" friends, but Seth manages to drag Jay along despite being a little pessimistic about it.

    They arrive at James Franco's house and they meet some of Seth's other friends including; Jonah Hill (very funny and camp), Craig Robinson (very down-to-earth) and a host of other celebrities are there as well including a drug-consuming Michael Cera who keeps slapping Rihanna's butt and Emma Watson.

    When Jay and Seth are taking a trip to the shop, the apocalypse begins and everybody seems to die in a horrific manner, or they are mysteriously being beamed up into the sky. When they arrive back at James Franco's house, they see the destruction and that's where the comedy really begins.

    We see a number of celebrities dying in very hilarious situations simply because they are celebrities with a certain reputation and don't mind being degraded on screen.

    Of course, the one man gate-crashing the party is an uninvited Danny McBride who makes everybody's life hell as he eats the food, doesn't help with finding survival items and more. One of the funniest scenes in the movie is when Emma Watson returns and thinks that she is about to get raped by one of the guys, so she breaks Seth Rogen's nose and steals their alcohol supplies. Another funny scene involves James Franco and Danny McBride arguing for about five minutes over who can ejaculate on whom. This scene had me in stitches.

    I've never laughed so hard in so long...all of the negativity must be due to the fact that people found it offensive...it's a SETH ROGEN comedy...of course it'll be offensive. If you don't like it, there is no talking to you.
    Expand
  54. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    This movie was different from the others. It was total chaos but due to the cumulative magnitude of some of the best comedians, this movie was saved. Otherwise, it was ok...
  55. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Best comedy I've seen in a long time. Last year's blockbuster comedy, Ted, was hilarious, but was tedious. This is the years Blockbuster comedy, This Is The End, was written & directed by Seth Rogen & Evan Goldberg, was excellent. Some people complain about the story, but come on.... its a comedy, stop taking it so serious. Anyway, best comedy you'll see this year. I guarantee it.
  56. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Finally an ejoyable comedy with an interresting story to it, too."This Is The End" brings together a large cast of Hollywood stars playing none other than themselves, struggling to survive in James Franco's house after the Apocalypse rains down on Earth.
  57. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    The actors playing pseudo versions of themselves premise is inspired, and This Is The End ranks among the funniest and most outrageous comedies I have seen. Rogen and Goldberg prove themselves more than capable directors, and have crafted one of 2013's best
  58. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    This is the End es una película bastante satírica, filmada de una manera muy poco madura, con un humor negro y crudo, la profanidad cruza sus límites, hay fiestas, hay actores graciosos y con talento, hay severas obscenidades a religión y, lo más importante, risas sin parar.
    Recomendaría This is the End a las personas que disfrutan del humor negro (así como yo) y entonces la disfrutarán
    This is the End es una película bastante satírica, filmada de una manera muy poco madura, con un humor negro y crudo, la profanidad cruza sus límites, hay fiestas, hay actores graciosos y con talento, hay severas obscenidades a religión y, lo más importante, risas sin parar.
    Recomendaría This is the End a las personas que disfrutan del humor negro (así como yo) y entonces la disfrutarán mucho y tendrán muchas carcajadas, además el reparto que se interpreta a sí mismo es delicioso y bien actuado (supuestamente porque no es muy difícil actuar como uno mismo). Gran comedia.
    Expand
  59. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    Out of all of the previous comedies to come out by these guys, this could possibly be the best so far. The humour portrayed crosses the lines of referential, slander, foreshadowing, over exaggeration of one’s personalities, and even toilet humour. What makes this story so interesting to follow is that it is simple and it’s “characters” are outstanding as themselves. You would think that aOut of all of the previous comedies to come out by these guys, this could possibly be the best so far. The humour portrayed crosses the lines of referential, slander, foreshadowing, over exaggeration of one’s personalities, and even toilet humour. What makes this story so interesting to follow is that it is simple and it’s “characters” are outstanding as themselves. You would think that a comedy starring 6 A-list comedians would be pretty straightforward. However, there are some very very creative, and sometimes dark, ideas all throughout this movie, filled with overblown personalities and endless cameos that are so short, that they make you want more, but making sure that no idea is overused, thus making it easily the best comedy of the summer to date. Expand
  60. LTR
    Oct 5, 2013
    7
    This is a funny movie about actors trying to survive the apocalypse.The story is good,all the actors are funny and is a interesting idea.The end is pretty good
  61. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    The funniest comedy in years, and has a great original idea. I think it makes it all the better because everyone in it plays themselves. It's funny because they point out and exaggerate things about each other, and they all feel like friends who get on each others nerves. Hilarious and original movie!

    This is the End gets an 8.4/10
  62. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Out of all of the previous comedies to come out by these guys, this could possibly be the best so far. The humour portrayed crosses the lines of referential, slander, foreshadowing, over exaggeration of one’s personalities, and even toilet humour. What makes this story so interesting to follow is that it is simple and it’s “characters” are outstanding as themselves. You would think that aOut of all of the previous comedies to come out by these guys, this could possibly be the best so far. The humour portrayed crosses the lines of referential, slander, foreshadowing, over exaggeration of one’s personalities, and even toilet humour. What makes this story so interesting to follow is that it is simple and it’s “characters” are outstanding as themselves. You would think that a comedy starring 6 A-list comedians would be pretty straightforward. However, there are some very very creative, and sometimes dark, ideas all throughout this movie, filled with overblown personalities and endless cameos that are so short, that they make you want more, but making sure that no idea is overused, thus making it easily the best comedy of the summer to date. Expand
  63. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Classic comedy with a few scary moments. Yes, the humor does trend a little crude at times, but if you could not guess that from the trailers, you are not paying attention. All in all a good comedy that could have used a few tweaks to make a great comedy.
  64. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "This is the End" is a laugh riot. Has Seth Rogen ever been in a bad movie? His lowest rated movie per RottenTomatoes is "The Watch" (16%), but I thought that was a pretty funny and entertaining movie. I think "The Green Hornet" is the limpest of the bunch. I you are offended by that adjective, you definitely should NOT watch this movie as there are more male body/sex/potty jokes than I've seen in any other movie in my lifetime (and I am old enough to remember Porky's).

    At face value, it seems like it would be pretty hard to screw this movie up with Seth Rogen, James Franco, Jonah Hill, Danny McBride, Michael Cera and a dozen others playing themselves during the "Apocalypse." Even Rihanna and Harry Potter's Emma-freaking-Watson have extended cameos. There is one cameo that is so absurd and crazy that it would be a major spoiler to reveal it.

    Speaking of spoiler alerts, you'd think that the cause of the Apocalypse wouldn't be revealed, but that hasn't been the case with one reviewer mentioning that it as a literal interpretation of the Bible's Book of Revelations. You're at least 45 minutes into the movie before they reveal what is really happening (unless you are, or were, raised Catholic. Then you get it pretty early on).

    Yeah, it's also a riff on the egocentricity of Hollywood celebrities, but who really cares unless you are an avid reader of TMZ or Perez Hilton. The real brilliance is in the dialogue, a ton of which has to be ad-lib/improv. There are so many jokes in this movie told in the context of the story it would fill a TV comedy series for multiple seasons.

    This is a two-hour comedy movie. Do they make any comedy movie that long? I just hope it has a "Lord of the Rings" style Extended Edition on DVD.
    Expand
  65. Rem
    Jun 1, 2014
    6
    I'll be forthright with this, This Is the End needed more Michael Cera. Other than that, this movie's improvisation allowed the actors to be more free with their portrayals of themselves, which makes certain scenes, including the porno magazine, a laugher. However the movie could use less Jonah Hill, who just comes off as uninteresting and unfunny in the film.
  66. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    This is a really funny movie. The whole cast are out of different movies that i really like so i was excited for this and will have to say that it is way better than i thought it be i knew that i would like it but i didnt think that it would this good of a movie. There were some really stuid parts but that is the whole comedy of the movie the stupid parts are the comedy
  67. Jul 22, 2014
    0
    what is this crap
    I gave in and watched this movie after seeing a lot of positive reviews. After finishing the movie I have yet to find a funny moment. Not to mention totally uncalled for offensive garbage that fails at humor.
  68. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    I have to say, This Is The End is the best comedy of 2013, so far. The last movie that made me laugh for a lot of times, was 21 Jump Street. This movie was just damn funny, but the funny thing about the movie is the characters. The actors in this movie play as themselves and the movie gets us to know what happens in their normal lives, this was done very well throughout the movie. TheI have to say, This Is The End is the best comedy of 2013, so far. The last movie that made me laugh for a lot of times, was 21 Jump Street. This movie was just damn funny, but the funny thing about the movie is the characters. The actors in this movie play as themselves and the movie gets us to know what happens in their normal lives, this was done very well throughout the movie. The problem that I had with this movie is that it takes a long time for these characters to develop or change to a different characteristic and their were also scenes that got a bit draggy. The movie does a good job on making you laugh, and they succeed on that because their are a lot of scenes and punchlines that makes you laugh nonstop. This Is The End is a really good comedy flick and I am going to give it an 8/10. Expand
  69. May 10, 2014
    6
    this film is not perfect but it is very funny and difrent to all comedy that i have seen abit strainge at times to but it works in the films favor and while at the begining in the party you do have to laught at all the faces that you seen and coments they make nothing special but not terible worth a watch
  70. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    The worst movie I've ever seen full of b-list actors. I didn't laugh once. Boring, stupid, a huge waste of time. Don't even bother watching this garbage.
  71. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    Nice comedy, lots of fun and pretty good effects, too I liked the "actors acting themselves" concept and parodizing themselves throughout the movie. Good nomination for a future classic cult comedy.
  72. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This Is the End is one of the best comedies I've watched in a long time. It's basically celebrities (comedians in particular) playing themselves, making fun of themselves, during the apocalypse. There are some of the best cameos around, and right off the bet there's a joke about Seth Rogen. Every star gets their fair share of screen time and has a personality established for them. This isThis Is the End is one of the best comedies I've watched in a long time. It's basically celebrities (comedians in particular) playing themselves, making fun of themselves, during the apocalypse. There are some of the best cameos around, and right off the bet there's a joke about Seth Rogen. Every star gets their fair share of screen time and has a personality established for them. This is by no means a comedy for the mature, there are penis jokes galore, but the cast is so damn funny you'll smile throughout the entire movie and have tons of laughs. The overall message is pretty simple and the movie is somewhat predictable, but at the end of the day I went to this movie to laugh, and I laughed my ass off and it's been one of the best crude comedies I've seen in a long time. Expand
  73. Aug 19, 2014
    0
    Absolutely atrocious. No thought of effort went into this. Famous potheads ad-libbing does not make an interesting film. Very lazy. One of the worst movies I've seen in a long time.
  74. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    This is the End feels like the epitome of something I've been waiting a long time for. In reality it is slightly odd to think that this kind of product would ever be made and sold to general audiences, but luckily it seems the one almost guaranteed way for these actors who have now become staples of the American comedy scene to regain their place among the Hollywood elite and re-establishThis is the End feels like the epitome of something I've been waiting a long time for. In reality it is slightly odd to think that this kind of product would ever be made and sold to general audiences, but luckily it seems the one almost guaranteed way for these actors who have now become staples of the American comedy scene to regain their place among the Hollywood elite and re-establish themselves as the kings of the comedy genre is to make fun of themselves and they do that to hilarious results here. Anyone who has ever been really into movies and has ever loved a certain comedic actor or group of actors knows what it's like to want to hang out with those kinds of guys and girls because you too feel like they would love to be your friend if not for anything else but because you share that same sense of humor they've branded. As creepy as that may come off or as much as they probably wouldn't care to be your friend at all we come to feel we know the actors in our comedies better than anyone else in the movies because they always relate closest to the kind of people around us, if not always intentionally. That may come off as slightly delusional to some, but to those who watch a good amount of movies, especially comedies, and to those that surround themselves with people that they find to be genuinely funny than I imagine it is as true for them as it is for me. All of that is to say that my anticipation and expectations for This is the End were pretty high. As one of the many apocalyptic comedies coming out this year I was also worried the film may not get the recognition I hoped it would so likely deserve, but first time directors Seth Rogen and his long time collaborator Evan Goldberg strike just the right chord between horror and comedy and lay claim to the fact they've had this in the works longer than anyone else. Thankfully, This is the End gives this brand of goofy subversive humor new life in the form of a sharp satire that invites us to experience the end of the world with who our minds have come to place as some of the most ridiculously funny people working today.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Expand
  75. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    This Is the End has a great cast and delivers from start to finish. If you are a fan of the movies that these actors make you will laugh your ass off. Must watch.
  76. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This is the end review

    When was the last time a movie blew your expectations away? And it did it not with lots of drama, emotions or even action, but comedy? Well for me it was a long time ago. And I'll tell you, my expectations where very high about this one. I love Evan Goldberg movies and with the help of Seth Rogen something good had to come out of it. So when this movie began I
    This is the end review

    When was the last time a movie blew your expectations away? And it did it not with lots of drama, emotions or even action, but comedy? Well for me it was a long time ago. And I'll tell you, my expectations where very high about this one. I love Evan Goldberg movies and with the help of Seth Rogen something good had to come out of it.
    So when this movie began I was a little worried. Though I cracked up many times at the beginning at at the party sequence there was something missing. And I'm not saying it was bad at all! There where some really funny references with celebrities and coked up Michael Cera was some really funny I'm just saying it was going somewhere different than I expected.
    But ten minutes later the apocalypse started. hit the fan celebrities died and then we got the five friends trapped in James Franco's house. From here the mechanic, the acting, the improvising, the writing just improved by the second. And this lasted till the END of the movie! The chemistry between all of the actors was so natural and the timing of the jokes was so spot on! Danny McBride had some of his funniest scenes that I've seen in his movies in This is the End and Jonah Hill played this version of himself that I just crack up when thinking about it. Of course Franco, Baruchel and Robinson also where hilarious and smartly done. The Emma Watson sequence adds some lady badassery to the movie! And *SPOILERS* *SPOILERS* by the time near the ending when they go out of the house and encounter the "new" McBride was my favorite twist in scenery o the movie. The gimp man! I was gagging for air in that scene! When Channing Tatum says like "I loove hiim" I went full on peeing my pants laughter.
    What follows... Celine Dione, The Backstreet Boys did the satyrical part of the movie. The be good do good to go to heaven was smartly written and the awesome never-ending party in the skies was a perfect representation of what we actually would expect heaven to be!
    By the end you had this feeling of having had the best and funniest time watching this awesome ****.
    This movie showed the audience and the industry that we don't need all the cheap hit comedies that use the getting hit in the balls and fart humor that is getting worse by the day. Adam Sandler just got by this movie.
    I hope Rogen and Goldberg keep making these marbles and keep cracking us up. Congrats dudes!
    I'm giving this good time a 10 outta 10.
    Expand
  77. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    A hilarious film which isn't anything special, but it delivers laughs. I mean ,the humor is the thing here, because it fails with the relatively generic plot. But a lot of surprises and a lot of laughs await in this solid movie.
    Don't except something ground-braking, because this movie honestly isn't. But if you like humor and weirdness, I recommend this movie. (Final Score: 6.95)
  78. Jul 4, 2014
    7
    The first half was hard to watch - watching spoiled celebrity brats doing their spoiled celebrity things does not amuse me. However, the second half of "This Is the End" really turned the film into something hilarious and worth watching. The film's message is also surprisingly poignant, didn't expect that either.
  79. Jun 17, 2013
    0
    I loved Superbad which is why I went to The End. Huge mistake. What a horrid piece of junk, made by a bunch of guys who are not nearly as funny as they think they are by a long shot. I want my 2 hours back.
  80. Jun 24, 2013
    5
    I felt pretty meh about this. No doubt that this comedy will be a big hit with a lot of people. I did get some laughs out of it, although it took about 30 minutes before they started to come. I'm surprised it is doing so incredibly well on reviews when frankly I have seen funnier films.
  81. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    So hilarious and very fun to watch. This movie had me and my family laughing so hard. it wasn't really what i thought it would be so it really took me by a whole lot of surprises. it was very random like a comedy movie should be for my taste of opinion.
  82. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    I am not a Seth Rogen fan, however, this movie is truly a great funny comedy. This movie is not going to win any Oscars but it is damn funny.

    Everyone plays themselves, or should I say a version of themselves, in this comedy gem from director Seth Rogen. The movie is an end of days apocalypse movie with a message about what it means to be an honest and good person. As Seth Rogen and
    I am not a Seth Rogen fan, however, this movie is truly a great funny comedy. This movie is not going to win any Oscars but it is damn funny.

    Everyone plays themselves, or should I say a version of themselves, in this comedy gem from director Seth Rogen. The movie is an end of days apocalypse movie with a message about what it means to be an honest and good person. As Seth Rogen and company venture through the impending doom and rapture, they encounter everything from beasts and exorcisms to one pissed off Hermione. Speaking of which, the cameos in this film are all great and get pretty decent screen time too. I had pretty low expectations going into this film but I can safely say this is a DVD purchase and it has tremendous rewatchability with tons of quotable one liners.

    Watch for Danny McBride, who is this film's scene stealer and delivers probably one of the best laugh out loud moments I've had in a long time. He is an underrated comedic genius in this movie.

    I highly recommend this movie to be seen in the movie theater and worth the price of admission. It might be the best comedy of the year.
    Expand
  83. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    The funniest movie I have seen in a long time. I was a big fan of Jonah Hill and Seth Rogen especially before this and they were funny as hell, but not a patch on Danny McBride, he was on another level of funny. I also enjoyed the fact they played themselves and were able to just rip the hell out of each other, you wouldn't see many Hollywood actors doing that.

    Go see this movie, now.
  84. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Went to see this with a mixed crowd of folks, age-wise, and all of us agreed it's one of the funniest comedies in a long while. It's a fun ride, and I want to take it again!

    The movie works on a bunch of levels: comedy, horror, thriller, spiritual (really) and bromance. Big smile on my face. It's not just a stoner flick.

    Also, a call out to the writing. Tight script.
  85. Jun 16, 2013
    0
    What has happened to society!? Are male members really worth basing an entire movie on? I didn't find the humor in this at all and was really looking forward to a LOL movie. To say I was disappointed is an understatement.
  86. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This movie was straight up hilarious. I went with my dull brother and he "laughed a couple of times." I humor is just one of those things I'll never understand...not understand how some people view it.
  87. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Any movie as crude as this one will not receive great reviews. Don't let that put you off. The whole cinema was laughing out loud at least once every five minutes. Massively entertaining, and refreshingly conjured.
  88. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    This Is the End is by far one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. First off, the movie does something that hasn't really been done in a comedy. It is actually portrayed as if it is real life and the actors are played as themselves. This does sound very gimmicky and seems like something that may not work out right, but this movie plays it off very well. But this movie isThis Is the End is by far one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. First off, the movie does something that hasn't really been done in a comedy. It is actually portrayed as if it is real life and the actors are played as themselves. This does sound very gimmicky and seems like something that may not work out right, but this movie plays it off very well. But this movie is pretty over the top, but not to over the top as many of the other Seth Rogan, Jonah Hill, etc. movies can be....well except the last part. So many laughs here and there. And going into the movie, I did not know that Jay Baruchel was like the main main person, but it works out nicely as well. Other than that, I think the movie is amazing, the only downside for me was the very end. It's just a little too cheesy for me. But that's just me. Expand
  89. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    This movie is really hilarious and fun to watch. If there is a best comedy movie released in 2013 yet, then it is This Is The End. This is a must watch. An intelligent blend of comedy and apocalyptic film elements.
  90. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    These guys are hilarious, and they really put their comedic talents on display in "This is the End". If you liked "Superbad" and "Pineapple Express", do yourself a favor and see this movie. You won't be disappointed.
  91. Jun 21, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this movie was just excellent and every man did a good job selling their own characters. The plot was pretty good I don't think that many film creators have thought of this idea. Of course the movie was super funny at parts but in other parts they tried to hard to be funny that it wasn't funny. My other complaints about this movie are that it had a lot of blood and gore. Although some of the parts that featured those things were really funny. I liked the fact that the movie had a lot of inside jokes between actors such as James Franco and Seth Rogen. It was also funny when many people didn't know who Jay Baruchel was due to the fact that he has only been in a few movies. Overall this movie was pretty great with a lot of laughs and creativity.
    Overall: 7.75/10
    Expand
  92. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    The movie is raunchy and hilarious fun. There are a couple of slow spots in this almost two hour movie but the ending is so funny it is worth the wait.
  93. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    This movie is not for everyone and it could offend some. I strongly do not believe this is a movie appropriate for children aged 8 to 12 (or younger). There is a lot of violence, sexual references, language, etc.

    Now, having said that, it is very funny in places and highly creative. It is not a main street type movie so be prepared that it is a little odd that's what makes it
    This movie is not for everyone and it could offend some. I strongly do not believe this is a movie appropriate for children aged 8 to 12 (or younger). There is a lot of violence, sexual references, language, etc.

    Now, having said that, it is very funny in places and highly creative. It is not a main street type movie so be prepared that it is a little odd that's what makes it watchable. The cast is wonderful, relaxed and engaging. If you've seen Seth's work before, you know his general type of film. This film continues in his general genre but with even more enthusiasm and authenticness. it's like all the constraints are gone.

    If you're ready for something a little unusual are not offended easily I suspect you will enjoy this movie.
    Have fun!
    Expand
  94. Aug 7, 2013
    6
    Rogen 3/10, sorry, he just isnt funny.
    Robinson 8/10, great work, i look forward to seeing what he does next
    Baruchel, 7/10, he played a good level-headed foil for the most part. Hill, 5/10, has his moments but just not a funny man McBride, 8/10, breathed life into the film at the right time Franco, 8/10, his confession line about Li-lo had me laughing uncontrollably. All in all,
    Rogen 3/10, sorry, he just isnt funny.
    Robinson 8/10, great work, i look forward to seeing what he does next
    Baruchel, 7/10, he played a good level-headed foil for the most part.
    Hill, 5/10, has his moments but just not a funny man
    McBride, 8/10, breathed life into the film at the right time
    Franco, 8/10, his confession line about Li-lo had me laughing uncontrollably.

    All in all, better than i thought it would be and a strange non standard flick
    Expand
  95. Jun 29, 2013
    1
    I keep hearing how people love this film and they claim that if you're a fan of the actors involved you'll love this, this is not the case. I'm a big fan of all these actors & instead of listing the films I liked them in, I'll just name the one I didn't like, "Your Highness". Automatically I couldn't wait to see this, I knew exactly what I was in for however the jokes were unfunny, theI keep hearing how people love this film and they claim that if you're a fan of the actors involved you'll love this, this is not the case. I'm a big fan of all these actors & instead of listing the films I liked them in, I'll just name the one I didn't like, "Your Highness". Automatically I couldn't wait to see this, I knew exactly what I was in for however the jokes were unfunny, the acting was bad and the story was flat. I can't help but hate this film & I really can't understand how anyone could like it. Massive disappointment especially considering these actors have been in films like Pinneapple Express, Superbad & Knocked Up which are all real comedies. This film is a joke and I mean that in a negative way. Expand
  96. Jul 8, 2013
    1
    One of the worst movies ever! It can be termed comedy is boring is the new funny. Senseless jokes and awful acting. Thankfully, it gets better at the end but the first quarter of the movie there was only one person laughing in the entire theatre. Just terrible!
  97. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    This Is The End: Easily the funniest film of 2013 I haven't seen The World's End yet). This movie was just fantastic, all the actors played their parts very well, the story was surprisingly good for a film like this and at times the film got a bit dark and disturbing. Seth Rogen and Jay Baruchel are easily the main characters in this movie and they both are extremely good in this movie,This Is The End: Easily the funniest film of 2013 I haven't seen The World's End yet). This movie was just fantastic, all the actors played their parts very well, the story was surprisingly good for a film like this and at times the film got a bit dark and disturbing. Seth Rogen and Jay Baruchel are easily the main characters in this movie and they both are extremely good in this movie, James Franco serves to be a bit of a leader for the film, Craig Robinson is the lovable funny guy, Jonah Hill is awkward and a bit annoying here. The standout character in the film would have to be Danny McBride as a crazy version of himself who really causes all the problems. A few people have some good scenes such as a coked up Michael Cera, an extremely cautious Emma Watson and a really strange appearance from Channing Tatum. All in all this is an extremely entertaining film, if you're a fan of these guys then definitely watch it. 9/10. Expand
  98. Jun 23, 2013
    4
    In a simple conclusion, this film is a high budget youtube video distributed for mass consumption. The jokes are rather redundant after 30 minutes into the film. If you enjoyed Superbad or 40 Year Old Virgin, then this movie will disappoint. The characters do a wonderful job with their improvisation, and the cinematography is great. Outside of that, the film is a major let down.
  99. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    'This Is the End' I was hoping 5 minutes into this hunk of junk. Jason Segal got out of there early, although he was still in it so he's now out. Stick to the f**king muppets man, they have way more character than these lame pricks.
  100. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    This Is The End is a movie that really shouldn't have worked, yet had me doubled over laughing for the entire film. The idea of a bunch of Hollywood actors playing exaggerated versions of themselves as a band of survivors in the Biblical Apocalypse sounds like something that should fall flat on its face, but it surprisingly carries the whole way through, in part because the actors lookThis Is The End is a movie that really shouldn't have worked, yet had me doubled over laughing for the entire film. The idea of a bunch of Hollywood actors playing exaggerated versions of themselves as a band of survivors in the Biblical Apocalypse sounds like something that should fall flat on its face, but it surprisingly carries the whole way through, in part because the actors look like they're having a ball making it. To say more would risk spoiling some hilarious scenes, so I'll give you some brief non-spoiler comedic highlights: Jonah Hill's shtick as the nicest guy in the world, Jason Siegel lampooning his own role on How I Met Your Mother, Michael Cera as an unapologetic sex and cocaine addict, anything that Craig Robinson does, the fake trailer for Pineapple Express 2, and EVERYTHING involving Emma Watson. So if you're into getting some unapologetically raunchy and ridiculous comedy with a surprising amount of heart, catch it in theaters while you can. That said, approach with caution if you're allergic to the Backstreet Boys because you'll have that stuck in your head after you're done. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    This apocalypse isn’t a nightmare so much as the ultimate bromantic fantasy, one in which – with the removal of any responsibility – the boys are free to bicker, banter, and bed down together.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    No comedy classic, then, but a good natured and engaging slice of goonish self-mockery.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    Some funny stuff, but a rental/download only.