User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 603 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 603

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    0
    what is this crap
    I gave in and watched this movie after seeing a lot of positive reviews. After finishing the movie I have yet to find a funny moment. Not to mention totally uncalled for offensive garbage that fails at humor.
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    Out of all of the previous comedies to come out by these guys, this could possibly be the best so far. The humour portrayed crosses the lines of referential, slander, foreshadowing, over exaggeration of one’s personalities, and even toilet humour. What makes this story so interesting to follow is that it is simple and it’s “characters” are outstanding as themselves. You would think that a comedy starring 6 A-list comedians would be pretty straightforward. However, there are some very very creative, and sometimes dark, ideas all throughout this movie, filled with overblown personalities and endless cameos that are so short, that they make you want more, but making sure that no idea is overused, thus making it easily the best comedy of the summer to date. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Didnt expect much, very underrated movie, it was a great comedy. The chemistry was good, very absurd at the end, the cameo from tatum was **** genius Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    Consensus: This Is The End is definitely one of the funniest films i've seen in years, it's over the top, astonishing and insane. 91/100 [A-]

    All Jay Baruchel expected coming to LA was a fun time with Seth Rogen with all the wild partying to have both by themselves and at James Franco's housewarming party. Suddenly, the Rapture hits and the Biblical Apocalypse has begun. Now, Jay and
    Seth are desperately sheltering in James' house for rescue along with a few other friends.

    Together, they must band together to attempt to survive the end of the world, only for Jay to find that they are all too dumb and superficial to do it until they discover the only way out. First of all "This Is The End" is a big film, lots of moments and so many situations here. These type of movies need a very clever and twisted direction, and this film has it. The cast is impeccable and the chemestry and friendship between the performers are genuine. All the cast is funny and likable, the script is brainless but amazing.

    The CGI effects are amazing, the design of the monsters/demons is creepily funny, James Franco, Emma Watson and the whole cast is hilarious. Too many laughs and excessive humor. It's just too much, over the top! hilarious, no more words!. Though the ending is unfunny and unlikable, This Is The End overall, it's one of the most over-the-top and extremely-funny films i've seen my life. [A-] Check out my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2014
    7
    The first half was hard to watch - watching spoiled celebrity brats doing their spoiled celebrity things does not amuse me. However, the second half of "This Is the End" really turned the film into something hilarious and worth watching. The film's message is also surprisingly poignant, didn't expect that either.
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    6
    This Is The End is a pretty funny horror comedy that features a decent spate of jokes along side some genuine scares. That said, the film also misses a few crucial shots and comes off a little too self-satisfied. It's fun entertainment but no classic.
  7. Rem
    Jun 1, 2014
    6
    I'll be forthright with this, This Is the End needed more Michael Cera. Other than that, this movie's improvisation allowed the actors to be more free with their portrayals of themselves, which makes certain scenes, including the porno magazine, a laugher. However the movie could use less Jonah Hill, who just comes off as uninteresting and unfunny in the film.
  8. May 25, 2014
    8
    ust an EPIC movie simple as that most fun iv'e had at the movie theaters this year by far. I have been waiting for this movie for about 6 now year back when it was called "Jay and Seth vs. the apocalypse". I'm so glad that it was made and it's really everything I thought it was going to be. Non stop laughing from start to finish and it has amazing main cast James Franco, Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Danny McBride, Craig Robinson. I love all those guys and have watched movies with them in them multiple times.

    Now the film opens up Seth Rogen picking up Jay Baruchel from the airport so they can chill and hang out together at Rogen' house. Then Rogen get's a call about a party over at James Franco's house Jay doesn't really want to go but they end up going anyway. While at the party you see LOADS of cameos from more amazing actors like Michael Cera, Emma Watson, Paul Rudd, Jason Segel and plenty more but Michael Cera stole every scene he was in. He was just a coked up party whore they whole time and everything he says and does was golden and had me laughing.

    Jay ends up needing a pack of cigarettes so him and Seth walk to a nearby store when Jay again tries to go back to Seth's house and just chill and then BOOM everything starts go down earthquake, dark skies, people disappearing. They run back to Franco's house to see that nothing has happened and they try to tell people what going on but no one believes them until another earthquake happens and everyone runs outside to see what's going on. They see that LA is up in flames and there's no where to go that's when a hole starts to appear right in front of them killing some people while others just runs away and this is how we get are main cast. So they get all the food, drinks, drugs, and put them all in one place and they try to go to sleep for the night when they wake up the next morning they see Danny McBride cooking and eating all their remaining food. From here we see them doing crazy stuff like doing a homemade sequel of films that they have done so we see them do "Pineapple Express 2 Red's Revenge" that was just too funny they also get robbed by Emma Watson that part was great.

    More crazy stuff happens but that's for you to find out when you watch this amazing movie also the ending was just pure amazingness.

    Overall i give it a 8.0 for sure blu ray, for sure watching multiple times!!! can't wait
    Expand
  9. May 10, 2014
    6
    this film is not perfect but it is very funny and difrent to all comedy that i have seen abit strainge at times to but it works in the films favor and while at the begining in the party you do have to laught at all the faces that you seen and coments they make nothing special but not terible worth a watch
  10. Apr 28, 2014
    1
    the only good thing about this movie is that it's funny no more no less, the damn movie is very FUKIN bad it's so FUKIN shallow . i don't know why so many people like this sh!t but me i think It FUKIN SUCKED . DON'T WATCH THIS SH!T AND WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY . unless you are a guy who want to laugh and feel that bad taste after .
  11. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie does not have enough action and the humor is not so funny but there is some good parts and some funny moments.The worst part of the movie is at the end of the movie when they are in the heaven,this is so random.But it stays a good movie to watch. Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2014
    7
    Not perfect, but still pretty darn funny. It's crude, rude, occasionally offensive, often disgusting, and totally inappropriate. It often trips and stumbles over itself, but when the stars are making fun of themselves and their careers it's not hard to laugh. Admittedly a lot of the shock-humor moments fall short, but the cameos make up for it. Overall I enjoyed laughing at it. even if it isn't always the funniest movie out there. Expand
  13. Feb 20, 2014
    3
    A pile of steaming crap, sadly. It's just a hall of fame (sort of) of good to 'meh' actors or producers (writers, nobodies, etc.) having fun in a movie that has a plot written on glass of water's coaster - because the person who wrote this hack must be as boring as someone who drinks the same liquid he pisses into.
    $32.000.000 budget movie with 95% spent on convincing people they will not
    blow their career's path or, maybe for the desperate ones, making it any better.

    Anybody and i repeat, anybody giving this puke puddle more than a 7 isn't probably a human being because being drunk and/or stupid and/or a fanboy can be an excuse but even the 3 combined couldn't reach the level of foulness it requires to glorify this mistake.

    It makes me sick that this .. THING won awards, ergh.
    Expand
  14. Feb 14, 2014
    6
    As a whole I though it was enjoyable, but perhaps a bit too over the top at times. The first two thirds of the movie are priceless, filled with funny as hell moments that make this movie worth seeing. But the last third and it start going a bit on the stupid side, practically shattering the vibe set before. Overall: While I was disappointed with the end, I still though it was fun to watch.

    Side Note:
    Emma Watson kicks ass! A shame she wasn't in it more.
    Expand
  15. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Great movie! I thought it was hilarious!! I love all the actors in it and its one of those movies that just doesn't get old! Possibly the best comedy since Shaun of the Dead or the first Anchorman.
  16. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    This is the End es una película bastante satírica, filmada de una manera muy poco madura, con un humor negro y crudo, la profanidad cruza sus límites, hay fiestas, hay actores graciosos y con talento, hay severas obscenidades a religión y, lo más importante, risas sin parar.
    Recomendaría This is the End a las personas que disfrutan del humor negro (así como yo) y entonces la disfrutarán
    mucho y tendrán muchas carcajadas, además el reparto que se interpreta a sí mismo es delicioso y bien actuado (supuestamente porque no es muy difícil actuar como uno mismo). Gran comedia. Expand
  17. Feb 1, 2014
    2
    Now when a bunch of celebrities meet up, dope themselves to mammoth highs, and then decide to have a whale of a time by making a fully ad-libbed film, who am I to bash them? It’s just that the yield of this frenzy cannot possible be enjoyed as long as the same jag isn’t reached by the audiences. Thus, if drugs aren’t your cup of tea, This Is the End won’t be either. Scatological humour, downright terrible special effects, unbearable cheesiness, and drugs and gore in superfluous abundance pile up to one of the hugest disappointments the film year 2013 has held for me. Expand
  18. Jan 30, 2014
    8
    This Is the End starts out hilarious, fresh and has the makings of a great movie. As the movie gets into its final third, it starts to drag a little bit and the high begins to wear off, but overall the actors were vey funny and the film itself was enjoyable.
  19. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    This Is The End is a movie that really shouldn't have worked, yet had me doubled over laughing for the entire film. The idea of a bunch of Hollywood actors playing exaggerated versions of themselves as a band of survivors in the Biblical Apocalypse sounds like something that should fall flat on its face, but it surprisingly carries the whole way through, in part because the actors look like they're having a ball making it. To say more would risk spoiling some hilarious scenes, so I'll give you some brief non-spoiler comedic highlights: Jonah Hill's shtick as the nicest guy in the world, Jason Siegel lampooning his own role on How I Met Your Mother, Michael Cera as an unapologetic sex and cocaine addict, anything that Craig Robinson does, the fake trailer for Pineapple Express 2, and EVERYTHING involving Emma Watson. So if you're into getting some unapologetically raunchy and ridiculous comedy with a surprising amount of heart, catch it in theaters while you can. That said, approach with caution if you're allergic to the Backstreet Boys because you'll have that stuck in your head after you're done. Expand
  20. Jan 24, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I also thought this movie would be a winner considering the actors involved. However, I was truly disappointed and shocked at some scenes.

    Any truly hilarious moments were completely overshadowed by scenes containing demons with large penis's, cum, and/or rape. The end segment in heaven softened the blow a little and there were some really funny moments but overall this was a disappointment. If they would have taken out the shocking scenes this movie would have been a winner but instead they choose to shock and awe which cost them some longtime fans.
    Expand
  21. Jan 17, 2014
    9
    This Is The End is great very funny good acting story is original although one part they did not need was demons with Dicks really who wants to see that and really It makes the movie not as great as it could have been and probably in 5 years people will forget about this because notable scenes will get cut when this airs on regular Tv or stations won't even show it because of that. Overall I think 21 jump street was the best comedy I seen in a while, this is right up their but not by a lot but it is good the best comedy of 2013 Expand
  22. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    I really like Jonah Hill, a great actor, has made many films that I liked, the good of this movie is that it has many well-known actors, this film also met Seth Rogen, too many unknowns, but the problem is that this film offends religion the other because I do not believe in paradise will have sex and drugs party, believe in paradise will be a place where only people who redeemed their sins as they did go there, but I believe that getting there will not have this kind of thing as well? will commit the same sins again? Expand
  23. Jan 5, 2014
    2
    The first 20 minutes or so was okay but not nearly good enough to justify the rest of the movie that followed. It was painfully long, unfunny, and predictable, completely failing at being a parody or whatever the hell it was trying to be.
  24. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    This Is The End is hilarious and has one of the funniest endings to a movie since Life of Brian. I hope Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg are planning another movie to direct.
  25. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    The funniest comedy in years, and has a great original idea. I think it makes it all the better because everyone in it plays themselves. It's funny because they point out and exaggerate things about each other, and they all feel like friends who get on each others nerves. Hilarious and original movie!

    This is the End gets an 8.4/10
  26. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    The actors playing pseudo versions of themselves premise is inspired, and This Is The End ranks among the funniest and most outrageous comedies I have seen. Rogen and Goldberg prove themselves more than capable directors, and have crafted one of 2013's best
  27. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    What a terrible movie. okay so the big mistake was using the real actors names. this was misleading because the actors are NOT playing themselves. they pretend that they are, but are really just acting like brain-dead stoners. really weird, unrealistic acting, not funny at all. really disappointing, i was exited for this one too.
  28. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Saying this pathetic movie was targeted to a younger generation would be insulting to their intelligence. I am shocked that the actors were playing "themselves." Hilarious? Not by a long shot unless you giggle at references to a penis and banter about rape. Enjoyable? Hand me the Tums please. Of course in reality these actors are actually more intelligent than the characters they portrayed in the movie. Right? Expand
  29. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    This movie was different from the others. It was total chaos but due to the cumulative magnitude of some of the best comedians, this movie was saved. Otherwise, it was ok...
  30. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    This is the End is very certainly a fun and entertaining film, providing plenty of laughs and amusing celebrity cameos. Even though I liked the film, it is definitely flawed; some of the humour fell flat (most of them worked though), I didn't necessarily care for any of the characters (actors) and there is plenty of cheap CG. But in the end (pun intended), This is the End is an enjoyable comedy that is worth watching, even if it is flawed. Expand
  31. Dec 16, 2013
    0
    It is appalling that the actors and people associated with this film's existence make as much money as they do. This is the most sac religious movie I have ever seen. These people sold their soul to the devil for money and fame. This movie makes me never want to watch a movie starring Seth Rogan, James Franco and the rest of the cast. I have respect for actors that use discretion when choosing roles. These guys clearly don't care or enjoy being blasphemous. This movie was not even worth the $1.20 to rent it from RedBox. More importantly, I can't get back the time I WASTED watching this garbage. Expand
  32. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    To be honest, the jokes are mediocre and sometimes just stupid. I would only recommend this if you're a fan of these guys, then no doubt you'll like it.
  33. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    So hilarious and very fun to watch. This movie had me and my family laughing so hard. it wasn't really what i thought it would be so it really took me by a whole lot of surprises. it was very random like a comedy movie should be for my taste of opinion.
  34. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    Starts off well, but by the middle I wish this movie was at its end. The story is actually pretty boring. I found myself drifting off, not even realizing what was happening. Something about the direction was unappealing, and it just was not as funny as it could have been.
  35. Nov 28, 2013
    2
    I feel like I should be enjoying it, but I just can't. The jokes only appeal to immature man-children and idiot teenagers. The entire movie is just "DRUGS R COOL XD" and a bunch of juvenile humour designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator. An absolutely terrible movie; I had never been a fan of James Franco or Seth Rogen but this just cements my opinion of them being awful actors.
  36. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    I haven't laughed so hard in a long time. A mega party of celebrities at James Franco's house goes awfully wrong when the Apocalypse strikes.

    Just when you think you've got the movie figured out, it twists and surprises again. It makes you laugh even when people are dying all around. The celebrities play their own parodied selves_ backstabbing, lying, cheating at every turn. You think
    you can spot the good ones until they do not conform to God's minimal standard of being raised into Heaven and saved from the demons. And sometimes the ones you think are going to get the worst of it redeem themselves and are saved.

    The mood is comic even with the fires of hell burning all around and everything going to s***. The concept of the Apocalypse is taken from the Bible and adjusted for comedy, but the bad guys still pay and the good ones still make it to Heaven. I don't get the people hating on this. If you're so afraid of being challenged out of your comfort zones, maybe you should stick to the feel-good movies where you might always be able to predict everything and feel so safe as not to be amazed at all.
    Expand
  37. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    Despite its gross-out humor that might lead to some audiences being turned off, This is The End is a funny satire movie about the end of the world with its funny ensemble cast and cameos.
  38. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Imagine all comedic actors, or at least a good portion of them, now, think of them reciting profanity in 2 hour movie, now, think of 'This Is The End'. Now, it's up to you to say if this is good or not.
  39. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    A hilarious film which isn't anything special, but it delivers laughs. I mean ,the humor is the thing here, because it fails with the relatively generic plot. But a lot of surprises and a lot of laughs await in this solid movie.
    Don't except something ground-braking, because this movie honestly isn't. But if you like humor and weirdness, I recommend this movie. (Final Score: 6.95)
  40. Nov 4, 2013
    2
    The movie is painfully unfunny and blunt. Half of the moments that I chuckled at were in the trailers. The acting is abysmally bad, feels like an extremely cheap sitcom. For a moment I thought that they acted so cheesy on purpose but it is not the case. This Is The End is almost as bad as Your Highness.

    And no I am not a puritan, normally I laugh my lungs out on dumb vulgar movies.
  41. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    This is the end is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It was not funny and frankly I want my $1.50 back How people could think the movie is funny is beyond me.
  42. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    Some laughs, for sure. But a llot of idiotic dialogue in between. Would be mad if paid full theater prices. Some of the cameos by actors weren't too bad.
  43. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Do you like art? I like art. This movie “This is the End” is art. As James Franco says, “You’ve ever been to Subway? You order a sandwich, someone put that together for you. That’s art”.
      If you are looking for a great laugh “This is the End” is the movie for you. From beginning to end it is filled with weed, drugs, dick jokes and Seth Rogen laughs. The basic plot revolves around Jay Baruchel who visits from Canada to spend time with one of his best friends, Seth Rogen. Jay is not much of a people person and does not really like the “L.A. lifestyle”. Seth wants Jay to get to know his Hollywood friends so Jay and Rogen go to James Franco party filled with celebrities such as Michael Cera, McLovin, Kevin Hart, Jona Hill, Craig Robinson, and Danny Mcbride. When Jay and Seth decide to walk to the store an earthquake starts and beams of light begin sucking people into the sky. As the ground starts to crumble beneath them, Seth, Jay, Franco, Hill, Craig, and Danny take refuge in James Franco’s newly built house. As they try to figure out what is going on, all six of the friends have to deal with an apocalyptic world and each other in order to stay alive. As the story progresses, everyone’s true feelings about each other surface.
      If I had to take a guess, I believe this is how a celebrity party would go down. Craig Robinson would be playing the piano while Michael Cera does coke and slaps Rihanna’s ass. The actors are essentially playing themselves. In a way, I think this is how their personalities truly are, just exaggerated.
      Some of the things I enjoyed about the movie was the way they foreshadowed certain events. For example, in the beginning Seth and Franco are sitting down during the party discussing a sequel to “Pineapple Express”. Franco says the ending of the movie should involve Franco saving Seth and Danny eating Franco. This is exactly what happens at the end of the movie. Franco sacrifices himself for Seth and eventually gets eaten by cannibal Danny McBride. This brings me to Danny. He is by far the funniest main character. He played the obnoxious friend that people eventually get fed up with.
      Another thing I appreciated was the soundtrack. Each track complemented perfectly with it’s scene. Psy’s ‘Gangam Style’, Backstreet Boys, and Cypress Hill exemplified the diversity within the movie’s music.
      In the end, the friends started to believe the biblical apocalypse was happening. Their goal was to do right by each other in hopes that God will save them and they’ll go to heaven.
      The moral of the story is, no matter what wrong you do you can always make them right. “This is the End” was easily the funniest movie of the summer, possibly, the year. This was the funniest movie I’ve seen in awhile. If you have not seen it yet, I would definitely Redbox or buy it. “This is the End” gets five stars and two thumbs up.
    Expand
  44. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    'This Is the End' has a quality to sit, perhaps a satirical point-of-view to the well dramatized biblical Apocalypse. Though its ridiculousness and flat irony about an Apocalypse is the main drive for this unconventional comedy, Rogen and Goldberg write a neatly balanced comedy with the ribaldry and the reactions of the disaster-riddled night of actors of Franco, Hill, Robinson, Baruchel, and especially McBride. All in all, a funny film that's worth a rewatch Expand
  45. Oct 19, 2013
    1
    I didn't go see the movie, just saw it on Pay per View. I give it a generous '1'. Seems like a group of people, who think they are funny, getting drunk and making each other laugh. I guess you had to be there, on this side of the screen, any laughter is non-existent for the most part. You know how your mother tries to be funny? Well, she does a better job. Next time, have someone else write the story, yawn...zzzzzzzzzzz Expand
  46. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    what a crap!.... i don't know why americans filmakers like to praise drugs, sex and idiocy this movie it's just a bad joke... just watch ren and stimpy or beavis and butthead instead for more fun
  47. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    A fun premise, with a bunch of great comedy actors playing themselves. I knew this movie would be hilarious, and it is. A little too vulgar, but hilarious.
  48. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    This movie was pretty funny. Some spots were just boring and same old dirty jokes, but there are moments that are flat out HILARIOUS and made me laugh out loud. Danny Mcbride's entrance was the funniest thing I have seen in years! I had to rewind that part 3 times. Perfect movie moment. While overall the story is pretty dumb and there are some slow moments, It's worth watching just for the few huge laughs you'll git in spots, in my opinion. Expand
  49. Oct 11, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie has a few moments where i belly laughed. Michel Cera slapping Rihanna's ass was the definite high water mark but he was quickly phased out. There was too much filler and it seemed to slow down-speed up-slow down again awkwardly. Just not enough funny material. Other movies that use the same formula (actors using their real "self" are generally funny; especially Curb Your Enthusiasm. Too bad this isn't one of those movies we seem to get more out of the more times watched such as The Big Lebowski. Anyhow, its good once but I wont be watching again. Expand
  50. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    The trailers looked good and I didn't really know the plot of the movie, so I was seeing it "fresh" sort of speak. First I can say it was better than I thought, with a few good LOL points of the movie. I also liked the music soundtrack for the flick. But if the movie didn't have all these "b" listers sprinkled throughout the first 20 minutes of the movie, who would really like this? The plot is decent but the acting and premise is childish. Which is good if your a child I suppose. Expand
  51. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    This movie is hilarious! I would love to hang with those guys but alas I'm too old. Had I known people like that (Rogan, Hill, Robinson, Franco, McBride, & Baruchel) when I was the age they are now my life would have probably turned out differently (for the good). I've taken life (as brief as it is) far too seriously and have been stressed out my existence. Those guys teach a very valuable lesson: chill!!!! Expand
  52. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    The worst movie I've ever seen full of b-list actors. I didn't laugh once. Boring, stupid, a huge waste of time. Don't even bother watching this garbage.
  53. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg hit it out of the park out again. This time, taking the biblical foretelling of the apocalypse and injecting it with weed humor, celebrity cliches, and a whole lot of other fun stuff. We are introduced to fictionalized, exaggerated take offs of their real life counterparts; Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel James Franco, Craig Robinson, Jonah Hill and Danny McBride face off the apocalypse when it comes to James Franco's doorstep, following a house-warming he was throwing for himself.

    The film is sprinkled with cameos left in right, one minute you see the coke-head Michael Cera, next you're seeing the dulling-everything-down Jason Segel, and you can't forget the singing-to-explain-everything Rihana. Normally, it would bother me to see something like this happening, but these exaggerated counterparts add the right spice. In their counterparts, Seth Rogen is, obviously, a huge pot-head, Jay Baruchel is a nation-prided Canadian who hates every last minute of being in the US, Jonah Hill is the too-friendly nice guy of the group, James Franco is a self-centered art aficionado, Craig Robinson... is here, and Danny McBride is royally screwing up everyone's crap.

    You could tell that nearly every line of this film was improved, Rogen even stated in an interview that "50 percent of it was improvised." But, leaving the movie in the caring hands of such great actors is the right call, I usually like to read scripts of films after seeing them, but I have the strong feeling that I don't need to read this one, as much as I respect source materials, I have to say; whatever Rogen and Goldberg could have even written probably couldn't meet the comedic level broken by this film.
    Expand
  54. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    OH.MY.GOSH. i just watched the movie, what an awesome one hahah i laughed so freakin' hard definetely one of the best movies of this year so far.. for real.
  55. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    You should know what you are getting into coming into this movie. It's not for the easily offended. On that hand it wasn't the best crude comedy I have ever seen. I guess I expected more from this movie or maybe I just missed some of it because I was intoxicated while watching (which should have made it better). It is just "one of those" movies. I did like that everyone played themselves, that was really cool. I think they could have done better but it was a fairly good time anyway. Expand
  56. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    This movie was better than expected, though not spectacular by any means. The star-power alone should be enough to draw interest, and I mean... EMMA WATSON. Although I wish Aziz had a more of a role since I do like him as a comedian. Often funny (sometimes not so much) and some good over-the-top but in a good way scenarios, this is definitely a funny enough movie to watch if you're looking for some laughs. Expand
  57. LTR
    Oct 5, 2013
    7
    This is a funny movie about actors trying to survive the apocalypse.The story is good,all the actors are funny and is a interesting idea.The end is pretty good
  58. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    This is the end is the most unique comedy since the original Hangover. The concept of real life actors experiencing the apocalypse in a comedic sense is absolutely hilarious. Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, James Franco, Craig Robinson, and Jonah Hill shine as the core of the group of celebrity friends and I loved the cameos by all of the other celebrities but especially by Emma Watson, Michael Cera, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, and Rihanna (though I wish Emma had a bigger role... there's no such thing as too much Emma!). The laughter was almost from beginning to end. Honestly, the end is kind of why this film didn't get a higher rating from me. While there were still some parts that made me chuckle, it generally wasn't as funny as the first two-thirds or so of the movie and felt a bit rushed. All-in-all though, this is a must watch comedy, if you don't mind ridiculous and crude guy humor. Expand
  59. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This film had me laughing from start to finish. What a great concept for a film and with the brilliant dialogue, superb performances (especially from Danny McBride), awesome special effects and superb ending, this film stands out in mind as one of the best comedies I've ever seen. It even managed to succeed my high expectations.
  60. Sep 29, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You could see that this movie reflected the same emptyness as the actors lives it was based on. I admit its a great movie if your high on pot or drunk or just stupid. But you know the actor writer is completely bankrupt of any creativity and ideas when they resort to sheer shock value and star power for the whole movie.

    This movie is definitely a Jump the Shark moment for Seth Rogen and his crew, unfortunately, just the feel goods self affirmation this will give stoners of their lives will make all the potheads give it good reviews, if youre anyone else this movie will be something worth skipping
    Expand
  61. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    The movie have funny interpretations of the characters and the turn of events come so fast and so odd lest you have nothing to do but laught. Both the writer and director are genius.
  62. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Finally an ejoyable comedy with an interresting story to it, too."This Is The End" brings together a large cast of Hollywood stars playing none other than themselves, struggling to survive in James Franco's house after the Apocalypse rains down on Earth.
  63. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Badass movie, what more can I say. These guys need to keep doing this

    If you're waying up whether to watch this or not.. WATCH IT

    Get your best friends over and you will have a blast
  64. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    Nice comedy, lots of fun and pretty good effects, too I liked the "actors acting themselves" concept and parodizing themselves throughout the movie. Good nomination for a future classic cult comedy.
  65. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    This movie is really hilarious and fun to watch. If there is a best comedy movie released in 2013 yet, then it is This Is The End. This is a must watch. An intelligent blend of comedy and apocalyptic film elements.
  66. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    This Is The End: Easily the funniest film of 2013 I haven't seen The World's End yet). This movie was just fantastic, all the actors played their parts very well, the story was surprisingly good for a film like this and at times the film got a bit dark and disturbing. Seth Rogen and Jay Baruchel are easily the main characters in this movie and they both are extremely good in this movie, James Franco serves to be a bit of a leader for the film, Craig Robinson is the lovable funny guy, Jonah Hill is awkward and a bit annoying here. The standout character in the film would have to be Danny McBride as a crazy version of himself who really causes all the problems. A few people have some good scenes such as a coked up Michael Cera, an extremely cautious Emma Watson and a really strange appearance from Channing Tatum. All in all this is an extremely entertaining film, if you're a fan of these guys then definitely watch it. 9/10. Expand
  67. Lyn
    Sep 8, 2013
    6
    Raunchy, vulgar and incredibly, ignorantly profane. But I'm green-lighting it for the laughs, which I really needed today. From the mildly funny stuff (e.g. Seth Rogen trying to compare the Trinity to neapolitan ice cream) to the laugh-out-loud shtick (e.g. Aziz Ansari's fate!) it is full of insidery humor. And a hint of a moral, amid all the immorality. Might just be me, but I would have enjoyed at least one lasting female presence to break up the repetitive bromances and perhaps limit the talk of penises and masturbation. Expand
  68. Sep 7, 2013
    2
    This movie was a train wreck! Seriously do not waste your time. 5 people got up and left the theater I was in. You know a movie has to be worthless if people are wasting their $9 that they spent and making for the exits. It was distasteful, the plot was scetchy, and it just looked poorly written. I had higher standards for the all star professional cast, but they all appeared as armatures in a play made by stoned high schoolers. This is the End... of their careers, most likely. Expand
  69. Aug 7, 2013
    6
    Rogen 3/10, sorry, he just isnt funny. Robinson 8/10, great work, i look forward to seeing what he does next Baruchel, 7/10, he played a good level-headed foil for the most part. Hill, 5/10, has his moments but just not a funny man McBride, 8/10, breathed life into the film at the right time Franco, 8/10, his confession line about Li-lo had me laughing uncontrollably. All in all, better than i thought it would be and a strange non standard flick Expand
  70. Aug 5, 2013
    0
    How can any civilized person think a movie based around demon rape and rape jokes is even remotely acceptable? How on earth did they manage to get an R rating for this?
  71. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    Is it stupid you bet, but overall its widely entertaining and hilarious film that puts a different spin on things. With nothing but below average comedies so far this year, This is the End is a good comedy that could have used a few tweaks to make it a great.
  72. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    This is a really funny movie. The whole cast are out of different movies that i really like so i was excited for this and will have to say that it is way better than i thought it be i knew that i would like it but i didnt think that it would this good of a movie. There were some really stuid parts but that is the whole comedy of the movie the stupid parts are the comedy
  73. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Seth Rogen and company singlehandedly save 2013 from the being the worst year in comedy of the last five. I adore and appreciate This is The End for this reason, and because it was mainly improvised. If you're in the mood for a laugh, check it out.
  74. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Loved this flick. Plot wasn't amazing, but that really wasn't the important part. The interplay between characters as themselves is amazing. It is a bit vulgar, but if you expect anything less from these guys that would be silly. I may be a bit biased though because these guys are all in my list of favorite actors... except maybe Jay, but he was awesome in this too.
  75. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    While it is certainly no OSCAR contender, it is a well written, funny movie. The main players do a great job performing as their caricatures, and there are multiple laugh out loud moments. The plot gets a little wonky at times, but it is likely intended that way. I only wish we had seen more of Michael Cera, his scenes steal the movie.
  76. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Are you people insane? If this is what you are willing to pay your hard earned money to see then why should anyone work at their craft. Possibly the most juvenile idiotic movie I have ever seen. Is this what Hollywood now calls entertainment. I have as good as sense of humor as the next person but this flick was awful. The people connected in making this should be ashamed.
  77. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    It wasn't fully funny throughout the movie, but does bring religion into play. I thought it was good. The jokes were decent and it reminds you that alot of people still view that the world will end this way.
  78. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    This Is the End offers a solid cast with some outrageous and witty moments that will have you laughing. All the actors have great chemistry and for the most part are real likable. If you like cameos, references, crude humor and apocalypse's then this movie is for you. But if you're into a little more clever along with less blunt and immature humor, you might have to look elsewhere.
  79. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    I have to say, This Is The End is the best comedy of 2013, so far. The last movie that made me laugh for a lot of times, was 21 Jump Street. This movie was just damn funny, but the funny thing about the movie is the characters. The actors in this movie play as themselves and the movie gets us to know what happens in their normal lives, this was done very well throughout the movie. The problem that I had with this movie is that it takes a long time for these characters to develop or change to a different characteristic and their were also scenes that got a bit draggy. The movie does a good job on making you laugh, and they succeed on that because their are a lot of scenes and punchlines that makes you laugh nonstop. This Is The End is a really good comedy flick and I am going to give it an 8/10. Expand
  80. Jul 16, 2013
    3
    This Is the End only holds your interest when this movie is at the beginning. There is a new genre of Hollywood film that seems to have been invented by Seth Rogen--I call it The Gross & the Vulgar (G&V). G&V films use a lot of sexual obscenity and are often obsessed with scatological references. Admittedly, there is not a single display of excrement in this G&V film. However, we see Michael Cera as a weird druggie who humiliates a woman after she performs fellatio in the bathroom at a wild party held by James Franco. Cera is supposed to be playing himself, but it's unclear whether he is in fact that stupid in real life. Franco plays himself as a spoiled rich kid who can afford the house of his fantasies and is the leader of the pack. All of Franco's friends including Jonah Hill, Jay Baruchel and others are successful actors who are playing themselves. When they poke fun at their own fame, wealth, and lifestyle, there is some measure of amusement, but this aspect of the film only holds for the first half hour or so. There is an amusing conversation about what it means to be on a gluten-free diet, as Baruchel and Rogen act dumber than they presumably are in real life: “Everything that's bad has gluten...calories have gluten.”

    However, the movie soon deteriorates into a disaster film, but the disaster is being caused by God Himself who has decided to usher in the Day of Judgment. Los Angeles is now right in there with Sodom and Gomorrah, and given the party that was being held at Franco's house when the hell-fires broke loose, one can understand why the Lord finally got fed up with the human race. The Devil himself has taken over the city, and he is a giant demon with an equally giant phallus. Those who are pure and good are spared this scenario, for a blue light beams them up like a suction tube so that they can reside in a heavenly abode. Those left behind are sinners who have yet to redeem themselves, but they too can get beamed up at the last possible moment if they sacrifice themselves for the sake of love and kindness.

    There are painful scenes in this movie--Franco and Danny McBride have an obscenely juvenile conversation about whose masturbatory practices and seminal output are more prodigious. At one point, as the clan holes up in Franco's mansion, which acts as a crucible for the ensemble as the populace burns to death outdoors, a stranger sticks his head through a hole in the door and begs the boys to take him in. The group debates the matter for too long, for the Devil sees the poor shlemiel with his head stuck in the door and decapitates him, so that the head rolls into Franco's house. The boys don't quite know what to do with the bloody body part, so naturally they end up kicking it around in an impromptu game of soccer ball before they decide that this behavior is insensitive, tasteless, and inappropriate. Given the nature of the entire film, this display of remorse is a little out of character.

    Unfortunately, in the end, This Is the End, another G&V film from Seth Rogen, is simply asinine, half-witted, and puerile.
    Expand
  81. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    'This Is the End' I was hoping 5 minutes into this hunk of junk. Jason Segal got out of there early, although he was still in it so he's now out. Stick to the f**king muppets man, they have way more character than these lame pricks.
  82. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Just watched this film last night and I have to say, well done to Evan Goldberg and Seth Rogen. I realize this film isn't everyone's cup of tea, and it's not. The humor is raunchy, it's extremely gory and provocative, and most feminists have already tallied all of the rape jokes featured. These traits does not make it a horrible movie by any means. It's actually quite thought provoking. I left the theater thinking how do I treat people? Would I actually be chosen if anything like this happened? Am I being judged by some higher power? I think that speaks a lot about such a film. Something you wouldn't get from most apocalyptic action flicks where the good guy saves the day in the end or someone makes a sacrifice where all of earth is saved. Earth is not saved, it's instead completely inhabited by demons and left to rot along with the remaining horrible people left. It's a fantastic insight into the apocalypse. Also the fact that it's surrounding the lives of a bunch of celebrities makes it that much better. Here's actors who are well loved by fans, who have a ton of money and power, and yet they aren't safe and no number of Oscars are able to keep them from being judged. You can easily judge this film harshly for its content, but what about films like Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, Scary Movie, or Tenacious D and the Pick of Destiny? I just can't see judging a film based off of it's raunchiness when there are plenty of films that are far worse. If anything, that's why there's an R rating to warn you that it's pushing the envelope and that it's not suitable for younger generations so as long as parents respect those, then you shouldn't have anything to worry about. Expand
  83. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This is the end review

    When was the last time a movie blew your expectations away? And it did it not with lots of drama, emotions or even action, but comedy? Well for me it was a long time ago. And I'll tell you, my expectations where very high about this one. I love Evan Goldberg movies and with the help of Seth Rogen something good had to come out of it.
    So when this movie began I
    was a little worried. Though I cracked up many times at the beginning at at the party sequence there was something missing. And I'm not saying it was bad at all! There where some really funny references with celebrities and coked up Michael Cera was some really funny I'm just saying it was going somewhere different than I expected.
    But ten minutes later the apocalypse started. hit the fan celebrities died and then we got the five friends trapped in James Franco's house. From here the mechanic, the acting, the improvising, the writing just improved by the second. And this lasted till the END of the movie! The chemistry between all of the actors was so natural and the timing of the jokes was so spot on! Danny McBride had some of his funniest scenes that I've seen in his movies in This is the End and Jonah Hill played this version of himself that I just crack up when thinking about it. Of course Franco, Baruchel and Robinson also where hilarious and smartly done. The Emma Watson sequence adds some lady badassery to the movie! And *SPOILERS* *SPOILERS* by the time near the ending when they go out of the house and encounter the "new" McBride was my favorite twist in scenery o the movie. The gimp man! I was gagging for air in that scene! When Channing Tatum says like "I loove hiim" I went full on peeing my pants laughter.
    What follows... Celine Dione, The Backstreet Boys did the satyrical part of the movie. The be good do good to go to heaven was smartly written and the awesome never-ending party in the skies was a perfect representation of what we actually would expect heaven to be!
    By the end you had this feeling of having had the best and funniest time watching this awesome ****.
    This movie showed the audience and the industry that we don't need all the cheap hit comedies that use the getting hit in the balls and fart humor that is getting worse by the day. Adam Sandler just got by this movie.
    I hope Rogen and Goldberg keep making these marbles and keep cracking us up. Congrats dudes!
    I'm giving this good time a 10 outta 10.
    Expand
  84. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    Worst movie ever! It was embarrassing to watch or to hear! It was a horror movie for me, way to dirty, gross, boring! The trailer is a lie, doesn't honor what it promises. I mean really! All you see is a bunch of dumb actors, getting high and talking about their male parts! A total waste of money and time! I hated it!
  85. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    This was a very funny movie and perhaps could have had a perfect rating if it wasn't for Danny McBride. He was the film's biggest problem and I loathed any scenes with him, but McBride aside the film's concept and delivery from the cast was spot on! A lot of the jokes were hilarious and I really enjoyed Craig Robinson, as well as leads Baruchel & Rogen. Sure its silly but in a way that simply works well for the film and I can see a lot of people really enjoying this movie like I did Expand
  86. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    After so many Seth Rogen ensemble comedies it was inevitable that the jokes would be harder to come by and harder to land, I mean there are only so many Danny McBride rants you can take before you have to slam Up in the Air in the DVD drive just so you can see him do something different for a change. This is the End tells the story of what happens when Jay Baruchel and Seth Rogen go to a house party at James Franco's house and the apocalypse begins leaving them, Jonah Hill, Craig Robinson and Danny McBride to fend for themselves and try to make it out alive. It's a clever concept as it allows real laughs while exploring everything meta comedy has to offer which turns out isn't a lot. The central joke that these people really exist an its funny to watch them do despicable things gets old really fast (except for the unveiling of a gimp at the end, that's hilarious). The idea of six celebrities trying to survive a horrible event is interesting but they do so by hiding away in the same building for almost the entire movie making for a very slow moving comedy. The film relies upon lengthy set ups to pretty regular material so there are long boring sequences to struggle through. That being said the last 30 minutes are fun, fast paced and exciting because there is actual momentum. The film suffers from bad plotting and never really recovers but it's worth watching for some surprisingly well directed action and a few genuinely laugh out loud moments. Expand
  87. Jul 8, 2013
    8
    Fricken Hilarious! I've seen this twice in the theater and I can't wait till it comes out on dvd. It's not perfect but it's funny most of the time and they all have really good chemistry together which makes watching it a lot of fun. I hope they do a sequel.
  88. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    Yes it's a comedy all right. You know what to expect when Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and similar are starring... It does have a few funny lines, not too many but still... Silly-funny, not smart-funny but (excuse the repetition) it was expected. So, for the most part it was amusing to watch. Yet when I was leaving the theater I felt sad. These talented actors are already all in their 30's yet the way they talk and behave is as if they are teenage half-wits who can only think about drugs and fornication. This movie could be easily done with marionettes instead of actors, "Team America"-style. In fact, it would be even funnier. What I mean is there is nothing to play in that script and it seems to be a waste of actors' skills. Is it a quest for easy money or inability to get out of an established stereotype screen character? Expand
  89. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    If I were younger I would probably like this movie more, but I've seen too many films similar to this. If you're tired of men being portrayed as stupid, bumbling idiots, like every commercial on television, then you probably won't like this film. It was refreshing that the actors play themselves, and make fun of themselves and other actors, but there just wasn't quite enough laughs to recommend. The special effects surprised me they were excellent. All the actors are excellent as well I just wish I laughed more. Expand
  90. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    I thought this is the end is a very funny film, I found me and my friends laughing the whole way through, well worth the money. I read a review from the daily mail about this is the end and they gave it 1 star, which is completely despicable. I thought all the character were unbelievably funny, I loved all the characters couldn't of been casted any differently, the critics are stupid just listen to the user reviews and I highly recommend this film easily 9 out of 10:)! Expand
  91. Jul 8, 2013
    1
    One of the worst movies ever! It can be termed comedy is boring is the new funny. Senseless jokes and awful acting. Thankfully, it gets better at the end but the first quarter of the movie there was only one person laughing in the entire theatre. Just terrible!
  92. Jul 8, 2013
    0
    This was the worst movie I have seen in years. I was so looking forward to it too. Do not go! It was a total waste of time and money. The target audience must be 13-16 year old immature pimple faced boys who have never had a date and boys who smoke dope and love to hear about dick and penis jokes. This will be my last Seth Rogan movie ever. He has now taken over for Adam Sadler for making a the longest string of bad movies that nobody wants to see. Expand
  93. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    If you're a fan of Seth Rogen's other movies you can probably assume you'll enjoy this too. However stay well away if you don't like wacky, surreal comedy, as this movie is jam packed with it. Certainly my favourite comedy movie since the original Hangover movie, and I got plenty of laughs for the price of my ticket
  94. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    There are too many reviews that list it as a 0 or a 10 where the truth is, it is somewhere between. I thought the movie was ok and very enjoyable at times but not quite as funny as I had hoped..
  95. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    "This is the End" is a highly original meta-comedy that puts well known actors into an apocalyptic world. It’s self-referential and the actors essentially play an exaggerated version of themselves. The film is filled with strong creative writing with a lot of laughs. The themes are about being a good person and sacrificing yourself for something greater. The punches keep rolling, only slowing down in a few spots. Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg’s direction is pretty good. They handle spectacle and slow moments very well. I really enjoy how this film manages to throw curve balls once in a while and have the audience on their toes as the movie gets bigger.

    The actors play an exaggerated version of themselves. Jay Baruchel is the main character and fights for his friendship with Seth Rogen over James Franco and has a rivalry between Jonah Hill, who is the funniest amongst the whole crew. The cast has great chemistry together as they play off each other very well and you can get a pretty good vibe that these guys are actually friends in real life. They’re all jerks and have to deal with judgment day as they attempt to survive and become better human beings. There are some great cameos from other actors in the film. The best would have to be Emma Watson as she plays a version of herself that we aren’t really used to. The only person that I didn’t like is Danny McBride. He’s annoying and aside from his introduction isn’t all too funny. The cast as a whole is pretty strong and work well together to bring us the laughs.

    Overall “This is the End" is an excellent and highly original comedy. It’s extremely funny and smart filled with slapstick, situational, and self-referential humor. The laughs keep coming and only slows down a few times in the beginning and some parts in the middle. The special effects are handled well and the soundtrack supports the film very well. The actors have a fun time playing tabloid versions of themselves and play off each other very effectively. Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg’s script is top-notch and they greatly handle the ever growing scale of the film. I give it 4/5, original and great premise accompanied by a committed cast and laugh out loud humor.
    Expand
  96. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    I laughed a lot and I enjoyed it, but I was a tiny bit disappointed. People raved about it, and I just didn't think it was THAT funny. Definitely above average, though.
  97. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This movie was shockingly good. I am decidedly not their target audience (29 year old married female professional) but I was choking with laughter. I saw World War Z immediately after and this movie crushed it. Loved Jay Baruchel, Craig T Robinson and Danny McBride. They were amazing.
  98. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    Very simply an instant classic!! One of the funniest films I've seen in a long time. It's ridiculously hilarious!! Based on Seth and Jay vs. The Apocolypse, This Is The End finally hits the big screen. The plot centres around Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Jonah Hill, James Franco, Craig Robinson & Danny McBride, where fictional versions of themselves must deal with the aftermath of an apocalypse! In many ways the film shouldn't work. But believe me it does! It's just genius comedy I mean c'mon there are worse ways to spend an apolocypse than homing up at James Franco's house with a bunch of stoned celebrities! It's such an audacious comedy. Yet it succeeds because of it's creativity. Some of the cameo roles are genius! Rihanna? Emma Watson?! But, the best is Michael Cera. Unmissable!! It's the wildest comedy of the year but something that you truly have to witness for yourself. There really isn't a lot of words that you can use to tell you about this it's one of they films you just have to see for yourself. The dialogue alone is outrageously funny! I haven't laughed naturally so much at a film in a long time. This is the must see comedy film of the year. Make no mistakes, it's daring, rude, crude, smart, inspiring and utterly hilarious. Expand
  99. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    The most original unoriginal movie I've ever seen. I'm not a fan of most comedies, but this movie was one of the rare gems that pop out every now and then. Rogen, Baruchel, Franco, and Robinson are amazing as exaggerated versions of themselves. Truthfully, the movie made me feel like I was watching how myself and some of my bros would deal with the same situation. Excellent film and absolutely hilarious. Expand
  100. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    it was kinda funny i guess, but it was kinda just to silly in some/most areas for me to fully enjoy it. some jokes they tried to run with ran to long and became quite boring or just awkward scenes. overall the movie was cool for like a one time ever viewing, i'll probably never watch it again though.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    This apocalypse isn’t a nightmare so much as the ultimate bromantic fantasy, one in which – with the removal of any responsibility – the boys are free to bicker, banter, and bed down together.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    No comedy classic, then, but a good natured and engaging slice of goonish self-mockery.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    Some funny stuff, but a rental/download only.