Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 617 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 11, 2013
    100
    In its own sloppy, raunchy, sophomoric, occasionally self-pleased and consistently energetic way, This Is the End is just about perfect at executing its mission, which is to poke fun at its stars, exhaust every R-rated possibility to get a laugh, and even sneak in a few insights into Hollywood, the celebrity culture and the nature of faith.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 11, 2013
    88
    A one-joke movie, but it’s a joke whose recurring rimshots grow as loud as our laughter.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 14, 2013
    80
    That film is far more interesting in concept, and infinitely more elegant in execution, than what Rogen and his buddies have cooked up in This Is the End — but I've gotta admit, it's not nearly as funny.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    By the time September arrives, This is the End will probably be in the running for "funniest comedy of the 2013 summer."
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 12, 2013
    67
    Maybe it has something to do with Jewish writers riffing on the apocalypse, but This Is the End doesn’t really know how to end.
  6. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jun 23, 2013
    60
    Is the movie fun? Yes, for half the time. An hour would have sufficed. [24 June 2013, p.84]
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 12, 2013
    38
    There are a few laughs at the start of This Is the End, and a couple more at the end of This is the End. As for the endless middle, it’s middling.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 177
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I never write reviews, but this movie is an instant classic. The creativity and the improvisation are, as always, big parts of what make the movie work. But also just the sheer joy of watching Hollywood's lovable actors cooped up in one house with one each other during an invasion make this movie sure a memorable time at the theaters. "This Is the End" is a perfect watch throughout the strand of disappointing comedies as of late. Maybe its because of the lack of creativity in Hollywood or because it really is sheer genius, "This Is the End" is the funniest movie I can remember watching in the theaters. Must see. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    Little did I expect This is the End would become my favourite film of 2013 so far and perhaps even one of my favourite comedies of all time. The dialogue is spot on, every joke hits and hits hard and somehow each scene was funnier than the last! A must see. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    The funniest movie I have seen in a long time. I was a big fan of Jonah Hill and Seth Rogen especially before this and they were funny as hell, but not a patch on Danny McBride, he was on another level of funny. I also enjoyed the fact they played themselves and were able to just rip the hell out of each other, you wouldn't see many Hollywood actors doing that.

    Go see this movie, now.
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    A surprisingly well done movie. It's speckled with funny moments through out the entire movie and what really makes this film succeed is the fact that it's not just a comedy parody movie. It's a comedy and a apocalypse film. It's decently funny and is filled with gratuitous celebrity deaths. Honestly what else can you ask for? Although it's not the best film ever it's much better than the average comedy of the past several years. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this movie was just excellent and every man did a good job selling their own characters. The plot was pretty good I don't think that many film creators have thought of this idea. Of course the movie was super funny at parts but in other parts they tried to hard to be funny that it wasn't funny. My other complaints about this movie are that it had a lot of blood and gore. Although some of the parts that featured those things were really funny. I liked the fact that the movie had a lot of inside jokes between actors such as James Franco and Seth Rogen. It was also funny when many people didn't know who Jay Baruchel was due to the fact that he has only been in a few movies. Overall this movie was pretty great with a lot of laughs and creativity.
    Overall: 7.75/10
    Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Imagine all comedic actors, or at least a good portion of them, now, think of them reciting profanity in 2 hour movie, now, think of 'This Is The End'. Now, it's up to you to say if this is good or not. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    What a terrible movie. okay so the big mistake was using the real actors names. this was misleading because the actors are NOT playing themselves. they pretend that they are, but are really just acting like brain-dead stoners. really weird, unrealistic acting, not funny at all. really disappointing, i was exited for this one too. Expand

See all 177 User Reviews

Trailers