Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 575 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 11, 2013
    100
    In its own sloppy, raunchy, sophomoric, occasionally self-pleased and consistently energetic way, This Is the End is just about perfect at executing its mission, which is to poke fun at its stars, exhaust every R-rated possibility to get a laugh, and even sneak in a few insights into Hollywood, the celebrity culture and the nature of faith.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 11, 2013
    88
    A one-joke movie, but it’s a joke whose recurring rimshots grow as loud as our laughter.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 14, 2013
    80
    That film is far more interesting in concept, and infinitely more elegant in execution, than what Rogen and his buddies have cooked up in This Is the End — but I've gotta admit, it's not nearly as funny.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    By the time September arrives, This is the End will probably be in the running for "funniest comedy of the 2013 summer."
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 12, 2013
    67
    Maybe it has something to do with Jewish writers riffing on the apocalypse, but This Is the End doesn’t really know how to end.
  6. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jun 23, 2013
    60
    Is the movie fun? Yes, for half the time. An hour would have sufficed. [24 June 2013, p.84]
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 12, 2013
    38
    There are a few laughs at the start of This Is the End, and a couple more at the end of This is the End. As for the endless middle, it’s middling.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 165
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I never write reviews, but this movie is an instant classic. The creativity and the improvisation are, as always, big parts of what make the movie work. But also just the sheer joy of watching Hollywood's lovable actors cooped up in one house with one each other during an invasion make this movie sure a memorable time at the theaters. "This Is the End" is a perfect watch throughout the strand of disappointing comedies as of late. Maybe its because of the lack of creativity in Hollywood or because it really is sheer genius, "This Is the End" is the funniest movie I can remember watching in the theaters. Must see. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This movie was shockingly good. I am decidedly not their target audience (29 year old married female professional) but I was choking with laughter. I saw World War Z immediately after and this movie crushed it. Loved Jay Baruchel, Craig T Robinson and Danny McBride. They were amazing. Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    The most original unoriginal movie I've ever seen. I'm not a fan of most comedies, but this movie was one of the rare gems that pop out every now and then. Rogen, Baruchel, Franco, and Robinson are amazing as exaggerated versions of themselves. Truthfully, the movie made me feel like I was watching how myself and some of my bros would deal with the same situation. Excellent film and absolutely hilarious. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    Every year we get a whole new lot of comedies rolling out into cinemas. Rarely ever do they do what "This Is the End" does. "This Is the End" dares to be different, without losing sight of being absolutely side splittingly hilarious!

    Seth Rogen, Craig Robinson, James Franco, Jonah Hill, Danny McBride, Michael Cera, Emma Watson and many many others all join together to create one of the funniest comedies I have seen to date. Personally for me after reading the cast for this movie I was very hesitant as most movies with all star casts tend to crash and burn under their own weight (ex. Movie 43). Luckily however, this is really just a bunch of friends getting together to make a hysterical movie and on that it succeeds brilliantly.

    It's refreshing that the plot of this movie does not stick to most of the comedies structures that we see all the time, recent example "The Internship". The movie hardly ever takes itself seriously, aside from some scary and graphic scenes. But even then you'll be laughing almost immediately after. The great thing about this movie is that the plot had key points in which the actors would have to get to to progress the story but other than that every line is essentially ad libbed and improved based on all the actors just playing off each other.

    Easily the best part of this movie is the inside jokes about the actors. For example James Franco makes jokes and references to his movies such as "127 Hours" and even references to his work with Seth Rogen in "Pineapple Express" and several other movies. You don't need to know their past work but it definitely will increase your appreciation for this movie.

    Overall, I can't say for sure that if you don't like any of the actors involved that you will enjoy yourself. But I can say that it is one of the most original and down right raunchy comedies I have seen in a long while. All of the actor's "playing themselves" worked wonderfully and it was a roller coaster of laughs from start to finish.

    I give "This Is the End" a 8.0/10
    Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    This is the end is the most unique comedy since the original Hangover. The concept of real life actors experiencing the apocalypse in a comedic sense is absolutely hilarious. Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, James Franco, Craig Robinson, and Jonah Hill shine as the core of the group of celebrity friends and I loved the cameos by all of the other celebrities but especially by Emma Watson, Michael Cera, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, and Rihanna (though I wish Emma had a bigger role... there's no such thing as too much Emma!). The laughter was almost from beginning to end. Honestly, the end is kind of why this film didn't get a higher rating from me. While there were still some parts that made me chuckle, it generally wasn't as funny as the first two-thirds or so of the movie and felt a bit rushed. All-in-all though, this is a must watch comedy, if you don't mind ridiculous and crude guy humor. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    If I were younger I would probably like this movie more, but I've seen too many films similar to this. If you're tired of men being portrayed as stupid, bumbling idiots, like every commercial on television, then you probably won't like this film. It was refreshing that the actors play themselves, and make fun of themselves and other actors, but there just wasn't quite enough laughs to recommend. The special effects surprised me they were excellent. All the actors are excellent as well I just wish I laughed more. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Saying this pathetic movie was targeted to a younger generation would be insulting to their intelligence. I am shocked that the actors were playing "themselves." Hilarious? Not by a long shot unless you giggle at references to a penis and banter about rape. Enjoyable? Hand me the Tums please. Of course in reality these actors are actually more intelligent than the characters they portrayed in the movie. Right? Expand

See all 165 User Reviews

Trailers