Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 604 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 11, 2013
    100
    In its own sloppy, raunchy, sophomoric, occasionally self-pleased and consistently energetic way, This Is the End is just about perfect at executing its mission, which is to poke fun at its stars, exhaust every R-rated possibility to get a laugh, and even sneak in a few insights into Hollywood, the celebrity culture and the nature of faith.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 11, 2013
    88
    A one-joke movie, but it’s a joke whose recurring rimshots grow as loud as our laughter.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 14, 2013
    80
    That film is far more interesting in concept, and infinitely more elegant in execution, than what Rogen and his buddies have cooked up in This Is the End — but I've gotta admit, it's not nearly as funny.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    By the time September arrives, This is the End will probably be in the running for "funniest comedy of the 2013 summer."
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 12, 2013
    67
    Maybe it has something to do with Jewish writers riffing on the apocalypse, but This Is the End doesn’t really know how to end.
  6. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jun 23, 2013
    60
    Is the movie fun? Yes, for half the time. An hour would have sufficed. [24 June 2013, p.84]
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 12, 2013
    38
    There are a few laughs at the start of This Is the End, and a couple more at the end of This is the End. As for the endless middle, it’s middling.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 174
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I never write reviews, but this movie is an instant classic. The creativity and the improvisation are, as always, big parts of what make the movie work. But also just the sheer joy of watching Hollywood's lovable actors cooped up in one house with one each other during an invasion make this movie sure a memorable time at the theaters. "This Is the End" is a perfect watch throughout the strand of disappointing comedies as of late. Maybe its because of the lack of creativity in Hollywood or because it really is sheer genius, "This Is the End" is the funniest movie I can remember watching in the theaters. Must see. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This movie was shockingly good. I am decidedly not their target audience (29 year old married female professional) but I was choking with laughter. I saw World War Z immediately after and this movie crushed it. Loved Jay Baruchel, Craig T Robinson and Danny McBride. They were amazing. Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    Very simply an instant classic!! One of the funniest films I've seen in a long time. It's ridiculously hilarious!! Based on Seth and Jay vs. The Apocolypse, This Is The End finally hits the big screen. The plot centres around Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Jonah Hill, James Franco, Craig Robinson & Danny McBride, where fictional versions of themselves must deal with the aftermath of an apocalypse! In many ways the film shouldn't work. But believe me it does! It's just genius comedy I mean c'mon there are worse ways to spend an apolocypse than homing up at James Franco's house with a bunch of stoned celebrities! It's such an audacious comedy. Yet it succeeds because of it's creativity. Some of the cameo roles are genius! Rihanna? Emma Watson?! But, the best is Michael Cera. Unmissable!! It's the wildest comedy of the year but something that you truly have to witness for yourself. There really isn't a lot of words that you can use to tell you about this it's one of they films you just have to see for yourself. The dialogue alone is outrageously funny! I haven't laughed naturally so much at a film in a long time. This is the must see comedy film of the year. Make no mistakes, it's daring, rude, crude, smart, inspiring and utterly hilarious. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    "This Is The End" is a classic example of how comedies are supposed to be made. Straight up weirdness, craziness, and randomness. Yeah, it goes a bit over the top at times but it's still the best comedy to date in 2013. Also, if you haven't heard, Craig Robinson is the bomb. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    This is the end is the most unique comedy since the original Hangover. The concept of real life actors experiencing the apocalypse in a comedic sense is absolutely hilarious. Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, James Franco, Craig Robinson, and Jonah Hill shine as the core of the group of celebrity friends and I loved the cameos by all of the other celebrities but especially by Emma Watson, Michael Cera, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, and Rihanna (though I wish Emma had a bigger role... there's no such thing as too much Emma!). The laughter was almost from beginning to end. Honestly, the end is kind of why this film didn't get a higher rating from me. While there were still some parts that made me chuckle, it generally wasn't as funny as the first two-thirds or so of the movie and felt a bit rushed. All-in-all though, this is a must watch comedy, if you don't mind ridiculous and crude guy humor. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    Yes it's a comedy all right. You know what to expect when Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and similar are starring... It does have a few funny lines, not too many but still... Silly-funny, not smart-funny but (excuse the repetition) it was expected. So, for the most part it was amusing to watch. Yet when I was leaving the theater I felt sad. These talented actors are already all in their 30's yet the way they talk and behave is as if they are teenage half-wits who can only think about drugs and fornication. This movie could be easily done with marionettes instead of actors, "Team America"-style. In fact, it would be even funnier. What I mean is there is nothing to play in that script and it seems to be a waste of actors' skills. Is it a quest for easy money or inability to get out of an established stereotype screen character? Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    What a terrible movie. okay so the big mistake was using the real actors names. this was misleading because the actors are NOT playing themselves. they pretend that they are, but are really just acting like brain-dead stoners. really weird, unrealistic acting, not funny at all. really disappointing, i was exited for this one too. Expand

See all 174 User Reviews

Trailers