Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 17, 2012
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
56
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
SwarleyStinsonMay 4, 2012
This film might have been good if it was a lot shorter. It takes half an hour for the actual premise to even start but even once it does, the only good parts with the 2 agents competing/fighting are the ones in the trailer and rest is justThis film might have been good if it was a lot shorter. It takes half an hour for the actual premise to even start but even once it does, the only good parts with the 2 agents competing/fighting are the ones in the trailer and rest is just RomCom-y dating scenes. There is also some scenes of them hunting down some guy for their actual CIA jobs and they are just a an annoying and pointless distraction. Its not funny enough to be a comedy, and it doesn't have enough action to be an action comedy so its basically just a bad Rom Com. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
MrMovieBuffOct 30, 2015
Another one of those movies where three fine actors; Reese Witherspoon, Chris Pine and Tom Hardy end up becoming victims of a dumb comedy movie with a ridiculous plot that seems to get more ridiculous as the movie's run time goes on.

There
Another one of those movies where three fine actors; Reese Witherspoon, Chris Pine and Tom Hardy end up becoming victims of a dumb comedy movie with a ridiculous plot that seems to get more ridiculous as the movie's run time goes on.

There are some really unfunny moments here, I don't even know where to begin as to how unfunny it is.

The premise mainly follows two detectives, Chris Pine and Tom Hardy, coincidentally dating the same woman, Reese Witherspoon. They both do whatever they can to make sure that neither of them has the chance to go out with her.

Both Pine and Hardy do share some terrific chemistry as two guys who grow jealous of each other.

The two men stop at nothing to try and impress, but at the same time make Witherspoon feel disgusted at either of them.

I rarely laughed here, the comedy is dry, the premise is unrealistically bad and the movie itself is just plain pointless. I guess you could give it the benefit of the doubt that most comedies have ridiculous plots, but when they make it believable, it works. Not here, though.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
oscar52Feb 22, 2012
The probable reason that critics are generally not favorable to this movie is because they are "critics". We are not, we aim to enjoy the movie. It is undeniable that the movie is extremely illogical, but indeed it's ridiculously fun. TheThe probable reason that critics are generally not favorable to this movie is because they are "critics". We are not, we aim to enjoy the movie. It is undeniable that the movie is extremely illogical, but indeed it's ridiculously fun. The plot is highly predictable but if you want to have good laughs, this movie is your choice. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleFeb 23, 2012
As I've asserted in the past, knowing what the critics think about a movie is a great way to moderate your expectations for a movie. In this case, I liked the trailer, but hesitated when the critics dogged it. But I caught a late showAs I've asserted in the past, knowing what the critics think about a movie is a great way to moderate your expectations for a movie. In this case, I liked the trailer, but hesitated when the critics dogged it. But I caught a late show anyway, with mega-low expectations, and was pleasantly surprised - I actually laughed throughout this film. I mean there's BAD (see Katherine Heigl's "One for the Money"), and then there's light humor and McG-style action with a heart. This movie delivers the latter in spades. I have a feeling that some of the pro critics shut it down before the movie even got going, because this is not a "red" film. I'd even recommend it - again, for what it is! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
preciouskikiFeb 19, 2012
I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. I'd never heard of Tom Hardy before, but now I'd like to look up his bio and find out what else he's been in. I'm so glad that movies are letting some actors use their natural English accents,I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. I'd never heard of Tom Hardy before, but now I'd like to look up his bio and find out what else he's been in. I'm so glad that movies are letting some actors use their natural English accents, which are so sexy. He has a great voice. At first I didn't think I would care for either male lead, but they both did an excellent job. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Aug 1, 2012
"This Means War" is downright bland. Reese Witherspoon's acting can't get any **** and so goes to the weak triangular chemistry between the main characters. Subtract out the action and what do you get? A **** romantic comedy.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
daniFeb 20, 2012
I think this movie is exactly what it promises to be. If you think you're going to like it, you probably will. If you think you'll hate it, you should probably see something else. It was a completely predictable entertaining bromance. TheI think this movie is exactly what it promises to be. If you think you're going to like it, you probably will. If you think you'll hate it, you should probably see something else. It was a completely predictable entertaining bromance. The focus was more on the friendship between the two men, then the love triangle, and the action was very entertaining and tongue in cheek. If you want suspense and mystery, do not watch this movie. If you want something light, and funny, this is a good pick. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MustBe21orUpFeb 18, 2012
The critics must have sticks up their asses. This was a fun and enjoyable date movie that should be seen if you feel like going out to the movies and having a food time. You're not supposed to take movies like this so seriously, as it seemsThe critics must have sticks up their asses. This was a fun and enjoyable date movie that should be seen if you feel like going out to the movies and having a food time. You're not supposed to take movies like this so seriously, as it seems the critics are. Lighten up. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
overpavementFeb 19, 2012
Obviously, if a movie is directed by someone called 'McG', it's going to be terrible. The sad thing is, once again the male characters are too dumb and weak for Reese Witherspoon's character. In 'How Do You Know', she chose a limp, muggingObviously, if a movie is directed by someone called 'McG', it's going to be terrible. The sad thing is, once again the male characters are too dumb and weak for Reese Witherspoon's character. In 'How Do You Know', she chose a limp, mugging Paul Rudd, and it pushed a movie that was already in trouble over the cliff. Here, the two guys are clearly more attracted to each other than they are to any woman, so the story makes no sense. And the conversations between Witherspoon and Chelsea Handler are just sad. Two smart women who can't talk about a single thing besides men. It's loud, incoherent, humorless, predictable, dumb, and bad. Other than that, it's still not very good. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Schmit93Mar 14, 2012
McG is a poor mans Michael Bay, which is pretty damn bad. If you don't see the ending coming from a mile away, you must be slow. Predictable, unfunny and for an "action rom-com" the action is pretty **** and the comedy is lacking, only thingMcG is a poor mans Michael Bay, which is pretty damn bad. If you don't see the ending coming from a mile away, you must be slow. Predictable, unfunny and for an "action rom-com" the action is pretty **** and the comedy is lacking, only thing is the "romance" which seems to be more of a "bro-mance" if anything. No chemistry between either lead male and Reese. Train wreck, but no where near as bad as any Adam Sandler movie from last year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
batlantern_87Feb 20, 2012
I really don't know why this movie is getting such awful reviews. It is exactly what you pay for. A easy going buddy cop movie with a romance story at the center. It never stops being fun to watch. You may never laugh so hard it hurts butI really don't know why this movie is getting such awful reviews. It is exactly what you pay for. A easy going buddy cop movie with a romance story at the center. It never stops being fun to watch. You may never laugh so hard it hurts but you'll smile the entire time and be glad you saw something so fun. The story is weak and predictable but the fun is 100% pure and easy going. This Means War is totally entertaining! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
jurrabiMar 18, 2012
Giving a 9 or a 10 to this movie takes away the credit of that user.

Something isn't a 10 because "this movie is exactly what it promises to be". If that was the norm a ten should be the score for a movie entitled "the worst movie ever"...
Giving a 9 or a 10 to this movie takes away the credit of that user.

Something isn't a 10 because "this movie is exactly what it promises to be". If that was the norm a ten should be the score for a movie entitled "the worst movie ever"...

I can agree with a 6 or even a 7 if you were entertained by it... But a 9 or a 10 is for "the best movies in your opinion"... Is, for anyone that commented here, this the case of this movie?

Please... help others decide when commenting.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
GBearMar 26, 2012
This film was highly enjoyable. As a RomCom it did everything it should and if you are expecting something other than a RomCom then perhaps you won't enjoy it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobMay 31, 2012
I generally hate any film like this but I like Tom Hardy so I decided to get it a chance. Not only was I suprised that I liked it but I actually loved it. I think it was funny through out, The acting was solid as well. The only flaw of thisI generally hate any film like this but I like Tom Hardy so I decided to get it a chance. Not only was I suprised that I liked it but I actually loved it. I think it was funny through out, The acting was solid as well. The only flaw of this film is the poor looking action sequences, You can easily tell what is real and what is green screen and that is quite disapointing. Besides that, It was a pretty good movie and definently worth the watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
RyanMovieCriticFeb 18, 2012
More of a chick-flick than an action movie, but for couples on a date not wanting to go see Beauty and the Beast it's a good alternative with some action, comedy and skin.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 29, 2012
Other terrible, and horrible rating. This Means War have the same situation like What's Your Number? is a great comedy film, with an excellent (or in this case better) cast. Reese Whiterspoon is fantastic, Chris Pine and Tom Hardy, wow,Other terrible, and horrible rating. This Means War have the same situation like What's Your Number? is a great comedy film, with an excellent (or in this case better) cast. Reese Whiterspoon is fantastic, Chris Pine and Tom Hardy, wow, awesome. The screenplay, soundtrack, score, all do of This Means War one of the most funny comedy films of this year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheUnguidedMar 11, 2012
I don't care what critics say or what others say, but I really liked the movie. I don't require perfection from the movie, I enjoyed it and I can say it's at least worth of 9. It wasn't like "the best movie of all time" but it was great.I don't care what critics say or what others say, but I really liked the movie. I don't require perfection from the movie, I enjoyed it and I can say it's at least worth of 9. It wasn't like "the best movie of all time" but it was great. Great actors, good humor and even quite nice effects, although it wasn't supposed to be pretension with effects. Some cuts from random scenes were able to see with bare eyes, but so it's in many other movies too and it doesn't matter so much. I'm definitely going to buy this when it's coming out and I recommend this for all who likes good action and comedy movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
orchidApr 1, 2012
HILARIOUS! and serious eye candy. It was funny. It was sexy. It was pointless but so so good. Reese was a nice addition and the boys were super sexy. "make it rain" LOVE THAT!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cooley123Jun 8, 2012
This movie made me laugh a lt. This means war had a great story it was full of action. The director MCG also directed Charlies Angels Full Throttle which also made me laugh this is a good movie very enjoyable
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
GilbertoAug 3, 2012
This Means War is an OK movie, but thats about it. Its the perfect movie to see if there is really nothing else to see or do because at its core it provides some entertainment particularly at its mid term. Otherwise, this is a bland movieThis Means War is an OK movie, but thats about it. Its the perfect movie to see if there is really nothing else to see or do because at its core it provides some entertainment particularly at its mid term. Otherwise, this is a bland movie that falls under a predictable and (kind of boring) route. Theres some decent chemistry between the characters, but nothing too outstanding or good for that matter. The action sequences are laughable, and the romance falls into merely believable. What saves the movie is its actual main hook of two best friends fighting for an undecided woman using their arsenal of agency weapons and espionage which does provides some entertaining moments. The problem is when it changes its pace and tries to cover other more in-depth areas, which it doesnt do effectively. In fact, some of the scenes seem unnecessary, some just end with no reason whatsoever without accomplishing anything important- leaving the feeling that it was unnecessary. Overall, this is not bad, but it is not good either, and to be completely honest it strives more into bad than good. Watch it if there is nothing else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
muzzikloverMar 17, 2012
I thought this movie was okay. Though critics hated it, I thought it was watchable and I did laugh at some scenes in the movie even though they're quite contrived. I thought it would've worked better as a romantic comedy by itself instead ofI thought this movie was okay. Though critics hated it, I thought it was watchable and I did laugh at some scenes in the movie even though they're quite contrived. I thought it would've worked better as a romantic comedy by itself instead of an action-romantic comedy as the action scenes were kind of dull and didn't really need a villain. The film stumbles whenever it tries to juggle between trying to appeal to both women (Reese Witherspoon's relationship dilemma) and men (Chris Pine's and Tom Hardy's CIA work) and it ruins the consistency of tone. I also found some of the jokes kind of flat and repeating myself, the action scenes are again, kind of dull. Chris Pine and Tom Hardy have the most screen time but they have to keep swapping between each other's scenes with Witherspoon, which is very distracting. Chris Pine plays your typical womanising, arrogant douche bag but not in a likable sense and Tom Hardy plays the nice guy who just wants a serious relationship (contradictory with all his tattoos). Reese Witherspoon was okay but her character has trouble sticking to one personality, either she is an amazing, smart and interesting woman or a dumb broad who doesn't have any luck with relationships. The thing I hated the most about this film is Reese Witherspoon character's best friend who is obnoxious, irritating and just there as a walking sex joke and shouldn't be in the movie at all. The best thing about this film is of course, Tom Hardy. His charm and cool disposition gives the film a charismatic identity though it's strange to see him play as the straight guy and it would've made more sense if he played the womanising douche. Overall, I think this film is okay. It's your typical romantic comedy with a quote-on-quote "action" twist but what do you expect? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryFeb 23, 2012
Two CIA agents (Chris Pine & Tom Hardy) are best buds, until they fall for the same woman (Reese Witherspoon) and employ their spy skills to sabotage each other's game. There's potential for comedy and combat, but the script is prettyTwo CIA agents (Chris Pine & Tom Hardy) are best buds, until they fall for the same woman (Reese Witherspoon) and employ their spy skills to sabotage each other's game. There's potential for comedy and combat, but the script is pretty pedestrian with few laughs and the action (with the exception of the final chase) is unimaginative. Both of the men are charming, but lack comic chops. Witherspoon does her best, but the paltry dialogue leaves her little to work with. While it's never dull, it's never especially special or fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
allystewMar 8, 2012
I wanted to hate This Means War but I couldn't. It actually was a movie that I had a few laughs at and could enjoy as the movie doesn't take itself too seriously. There are many short comings such as being very predictable and clichedI wanted to hate This Means War but I couldn't. It actually was a movie that I had a few laughs at and could enjoy as the movie doesn't take itself too seriously. There are many short comings such as being very predictable and cliched characters. The best thing I can say about this movie is that I still hate its director more, McG will never be forgiven for Terminator Salvation! If you want an easy watch that you can go to see with the girlfriend/wife/partner you could do worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eliteco3Jul 3, 2012
A fun Romcom with a bromance between Pine and Hardy that brings some on screen chemistry to the picture. The explosions and cheesy scenes are overdone. The plot drags along like a Ben Bernake financial news conference. Casual movie goers willA fun Romcom with a bromance between Pine and Hardy that brings some on screen chemistry to the picture. The explosions and cheesy scenes are overdone. The plot drags along like a Ben Bernake financial news conference. Casual movie goers will enjoy the simplicity of the character development and simple plot. In the end This Means War is another film that defines average to its core Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HfahmyMar 9, 2012
Non sophsticated yet entertaining movie. When somebody knows his goals and limits, he definitely will earn appreciation, that's the status of this movie, it is just for fun and pass time, no more. Two secret agents (Chris Spine) and (TomNon sophsticated yet entertaining movie. When somebody knows his goals and limits, he definitely will earn appreciation, that's the status of this movie, it is just for fun and pass time, no more. Two secret agents (Chris Spine) and (Tom Hardy) compete, unlawfully, for the same girl (Rise Witherspoon), they use the power they have for their own good, tracking each other trails with the girl they both want. The girl is unable of making her choice, her life has dramatically twisted, from suffering dry times to having to make a hard selection of a lover from the two offerings. Her councillor and adviser is a friend (Chelsea Handler) who usually gives the non correct opinion. This short and fast running movie didn't waste time, from trying to win the girl along with some intelligence operations, the romantic final comes in favor of the American agent, the British agent returns to his ex-wife and son. Don't expect complex scenario or acting, there is no room for either, just laughter from time to time, semi exciting car races and fighting, and some love scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
garethvkFeb 17, 2012
Itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KadeemluvmusicDec 25, 2014
It was okay, but it wasn't that half bad. I'm not so sure why anybody called this a flop, but it did receive a minor success at the box office just barely made it to the top 5. I thought Reese Witherspoon's career was going to be doomed againIt was okay, but it wasn't that half bad. I'm not so sure why anybody called this a flop, but it did receive a minor success at the box office just barely made it to the top 5. I thought Reese Witherspoon's career was going to be doomed again thanks to the awful 2010 flop with Owen Wilson. But I thought her performance in "This Means War" is pretty good, but the whole movie is decent at some point. I have a hard time with this one because the critics are right on the ball and McG should've just stick to Charlie's Angels unless you want to be famous for being a joke of a music video-turned-movie director. Sure, I love romantic comedies, but some sucked including those Heigl what's-her-name embarrassments. And I'm not so sure on the term "action romantic-comedy" either. I felt that something needs to change drastically in "This Means War" including a confusing script and the chemistry (which is good, but not great) between Reese, Pine, and that other dude. I'd prefer a rental, but I wouldn't be too excited. I forgot, Tom Hardy in the movie, Pretty weird. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellFeb 20, 2012
I can't make myself hate this movie because I actually enjoyed it. There is enough comedy to make it amusing, and the story is not bad either. It is short on action, but there are just enough thrills to make it an overall good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
rydermusicJul 20, 2013
With Reese Witherspoon and Tom Hardy in the worse shape, This Means War is a idiot film with a frightening lack of humor and one of the worst action-comedy of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
StevenFJan 11, 2013
It was nice to see these three screen stars take a break and enjoy a silly popcorn movie, but this was just ridiculous.
We see federal agents Tuck (Tom Hardy) and FDR (Chris Pine) going about their usual routine of Bonding it through the
It was nice to see these three screen stars take a break and enjoy a silly popcorn movie, but this was just ridiculous.
We see federal agents Tuck (Tom Hardy) and FDR (Chris Pine) going about their usual routine of Bonding it through the first ten minutes, until they accidentally start dating the same girl, Lauren (Reese Witherspoon) which sets off a chain reaction of pointless drama and repetitive lines that never stops. Attempting to sabotage each other dates through equipment used on the field, they soon come to blows, predictably, over who she prefers. The idea was funny, but director McG missed the point completely, the first mission at the start of the film ends tragically for the enemy which as usual sets up a 'big boss' final battle, which was mediocre at best. Hardy seems to realise halfway through the film, "what have I done?" but Pine does to relish his role as the womanising FDR, Witherspoon almost settles back into the ditzy blonde of yester-year we first seen in Legally Blonde. Bane vs Captain Kirk, where did all go wrong?
Well, there simply wasn't enough of these two beating the hell out of the bad guys or out of each other, these were easily the best parts of the film.
This film also fell into the trap of putting all the best parts into the trailer, there was nothing left to ponder, bland and predictable.
This score simply because of the talent involved
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
pauljohnsonMay 28, 2012
A decent film that does what it's supposed to. It's pretty entertaining and has some funny moments, I wouldn't go out of my way to watch it, its the sort of film I'd enjoy watching with friends. Hardy and Pine make a good double act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
I thought this movie was outstanding. Chris Pine and Tom Hardy are both great in their roles. Reese Witherspoon is stunning as usual. But the best character was Chelsea Handler. She was absolutely hilarious and really provided the best laughsI thought this movie was outstanding. Chris Pine and Tom Hardy are both great in their roles. Reese Witherspoon is stunning as usual. But the best character was Chelsea Handler. She was absolutely hilarious and really provided the best laughs in the film. The story was also pretty cool and the action sequences were explosive, though not quite realistic. Still, it's not meant to be all about realism. It is exactly what it set out to be; A lighthearted film with lots of laughs and explosions. It wasn't perfect but it's definitely one of my favorite movies I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
subhadip1524Mar 16, 2012
I loved it.
The movie was a delight from start to finish. It was gorgeous, for one thing, and I am not just talking about the actors, although they're gorgeous, too. The cinematography is splendid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaAug 24, 2014
One of the funniest movies I've seen, this year or any year.

There's a secret agent who meets a girl - and then wants the girl but cannot be totally honest of what he does for a living. Only there are two agents, who are partners and
One of the funniest movies I've seen, this year or any year.

There's a secret agent who meets a girl - and then wants the girl but cannot be totally honest of what he does for a living.

Only there are two agents, who are partners and friends, and they decide to do this in a gentleman-like fashion.

The movie gives what it promises: lots of laughs when two men do anything in their power to ruin each others' special moments with the girl they want for themselves.

Chris Pine and Tom Hardy do very well in this one. Their covert missions to find their own shortcomings are awesome, and they never stop being badass agents.

Reese Witherspoon, indecisive and feeling bad for having two guys on her arm at the same time, isn't all that impressive but she does what she's required.

I'm not sure how I wanted the movie to end. It was a bit disappointing, maybe, how easily they resolved the problem for everyone, but still satisfying enough that it left me feeling happy and giddy from all the laughs and awesome situations these two men put each other in for one girl's attentions.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JectosFeb 17, 2012
Fairly entertaining with enough chuckles to keep your interest through most of the movie. A number of the scenes were a little over the top which caused it to lose traction but this is expected with this type of movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
madhatter868Feb 23, 2012
I think if you want a predictable, goofy spy/love film that runs a little too long then I think this film would be enjoyable. However, I must admit this was a mistake for myself, but seen as I can only review how I felt, here it goes. TheI think if you want a predictable, goofy spy/love film that runs a little too long then I think this film would be enjoyable. However, I must admit this was a mistake for myself, but seen as I can only review how I felt, here it goes. The opening scene is rather good, a lot of nice action and explosions but it is a downwards spiral from there. The characters were underdeveloped and the plot a little ridiculous, but this movie was never claiming to have award winning potential. Made for valentine's day this one, and even at that when you don't want your brain to be used or simply to pass time when you have nothing else to do. 3/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VizualDzeMay 16, 2012
This isn't just your average chick flick, it does well to get the right mix of action and comedy as well. My only real gripe with the film is that I don't feel the story is fully realised. About half way through I found myself wonderingThis isn't just your average chick flick, it does well to get the right mix of action and comedy as well. My only real gripe with the film is that I don't feel the story is fully realised. About half way through I found myself wondering where the hell they were going (and not in the good, suspense-filled way), while as it drew to a close, without spoiling anything, I wondered how an outcome that left the viewers happy and satisfied was possible.

That said, this is not a bad film by any means. It does a fairly decent job in catering to all markets, whether it be romance, comedy or action that you are looking for. My suggestion would be to give this one a go, it may surprise you.

Twitter @VizualDze
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ArchalolApr 2, 2012
Even though this film was my girlfriend's pick, it still had me entertained throughout the entire film. The characters are both likeable, acting is decent and the ending actually had me surprised. I won't spoil it, but keep in mind that forEven though this film was my girlfriend's pick, it still had me entertained throughout the entire film. The characters are both likeable, acting is decent and the ending actually had me surprised. I won't spoil it, but keep in mind that for once, the most obvious Hollywood choice of who gets the girl does not apply here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Pb200Apr 17, 2012
Total crap. It only earns points because there was a little bit of comedy every now and then. But horrible otherwise. Acting was so fake in the movie.20/100
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HomeReviewerMay 6, 2012
This movie was highly predictable, flash and glitter, but despite all that, fun to watch. It has little redeeming value in way of script or story but the scenes are executed flawlessly and lots of money was put into it; this accounts for theThis movie was highly predictable, flash and glitter, but despite all that, fun to watch. It has little redeeming value in way of script or story but the scenes are executed flawlessly and lots of money was put into it; this accounts for the very poor critics scoring and rather satisfying audience scoring in contrast. I enjoyed it for little more reasons than the director's sense of timing and a change of subject matter (after a few heavy flicks, a light whatever this is was welcomed). There are three key characters at play here: Lauren, FDR Foster and Tuck, respectively played by Reese Witherspoon, Chris Pine and Tom Hardy. The other actors with some degree of screen time are Til Schweiger and Chelsea Handler; the former I'm familiar with, am usually satisfied with his performances and is well cast, while the latter I know little about and is also well cast based on this movie's performance. As for the three main actors, I never much cared for Witherspoon and this movie has done nothing to change my indifference; I enjoyed Pine's performance in both the 2009 Star Trek motion picture in which he played the lead, as well as the performance in this movie, and as for Tom Hardy, I'm simply a fan based on nine movies I've seen him in (Warrior, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Inception, Bronson, RocknRolla, Sucker Punch, Layer Cake and Black Hawk Down). If you watch the 2011 movie Warrior and don't count yourself as a fan, don't say you are when he gets nominated or even wins an Oscar one day. So now you know why I bother to watch it after reading the outline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
iVaughtTVJul 18, 2012
Some parts of the movie were funny, and there is a good dynamic between the characters, but ultimately I was not satisfied by the film in its entirety.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
snazzyjuiceJul 18, 2012
Hey, cut it some slack, it's a popcorn movie and it knows that. Sometimes it's good to see a mindless action movie. Maybe, if the plot wasn't so stupid we could have a good movie. But, for now, we have this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kinghridoyJul 19, 2012
Well, honesty I enjoyed so much watching this movie. I found nothing negative in this film. In fact, I think Chris & Tom both had done a great job. I love the story as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GoodfellaJul 21, 2012
This is movie making by commitee and no surprise to see it was made by 'mcg'. Lots of action for the guys. Check. A romantic plot for the girls. Check. Three hot leads. Check. A plot to appeal to teenage girls. Check. As usual, trying to makeThis is movie making by commitee and no surprise to see it was made by 'mcg'. Lots of action for the guys. Check. A romantic plot for the girls. Check. Three hot leads. Check. A plot to appeal to teenage girls. Check. As usual, trying to make a movie that will appeal to everyone always fails to deliver, and this does big time. Tom hardy is my favourite actor around right now, but comedy, errr....no. Chris pine fairs much better and is the only good thing in this movie. Reese witherspoon is as adorable as ever, but the whole thing is just uninvolving and boring. Oh, and witherspoons 'kooky' and 'hilarious' friend offering advice (Check) has been done to death over the past 25 years and should now surely be laid to rest. A wish fulfillment movie for teenage girls, everyone else should probably steer clear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CBeckman25Jul 22, 2012
Saw This Means War early today. Another fun movie from McG. From the trailers I thought Tom hardy seemed like a kind of miscast but he actually turned out being really good. He played a different character than he usually does and I liked it.Saw This Means War early today. Another fun movie from McG. From the trailers I thought Tom hardy seemed like a kind of miscast but he actually turned out being really good. He played a different character than he usually does and I liked it. He and Chris Pine were rellly good together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
The trailer told me this was an action comedy which it is to a degree but contains spaced out violence, hit and miss humour and lets be honest its a bit cheesy. Tom Hardy was the only decent thing about this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MaricaAug 31, 2014
"Don't choose the better guy, choose the guy that's gonna make you the better girl." - Trish

A combiation of Action Movie with Comedy Romance..It's ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThegodfathersonMar 12, 2013
Great chases are provided and filled with entertainment in This Means War, along with great characters and personalities. This means war is full fun filled a flick that is worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BrianMcCriticJun 19, 2013
This film has Tom Hardy, Chris Pine, and Reese Witherspoon and it's not good tells you something about the director. McG who screwed up Terminator makes this and the script is poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MadeleinerodzApr 7, 2013
Overall, I really enjoyed this movie and I think critics were way too hard on it. No, This Means War is not an Oscar worthy film. Yes, the majority of the action scenes were not realistic and it was easy to tell when a green screen was used,Overall, I really enjoyed this movie and I think critics were way too hard on it. No, This Means War is not an Oscar worthy film. Yes, the majority of the action scenes were not realistic and it was easy to tell when a green screen was used, but This Means War isn't meant to be purely action based nor is it meant to be taken seriously. As a Rom-Com, the movie was spot-on. The acting was great (my personal favorite was Pine not only is the man BEAUTIFUL but he was very fun and charismatic) and I found myself laughing quite a bit throughout. If you're looking for a lighthearted and fun Rom-Com, I would absolutely recommend This Means War. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysApr 23, 2014
No matter what the rest of the critics say, you have to go and see the movie for yourself. That is one of the fundamentals of movie reviewing: you can't just rely on the critics for everything. In fact, I thought this movie was alright. INo matter what the rest of the critics say, you have to go and see the movie for yourself. That is one of the fundamentals of movie reviewing: you can't just rely on the critics for everything. In fact, I thought this movie was alright. I enjoyed the story, even if it was predictable at some points. I dreaded the fact that you could see the ending coming from a mile away, as I wanted a more random twist to happen. But it was fun to see the journey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscApr 17, 2015
Despite how dumb the humor material is and cheap action sequences that director McG does behind the camera, the film has actors Chris Pine and Tom Hardy who know to do "action" well despite the director. I just do not get why ResseDespite how dumb the humor material is and cheap action sequences that director McG does behind the camera, the film has actors Chris Pine and Tom Hardy who know to do "action" well despite the director. I just do not get why Resse Witherspoon is in this action ball buster, apparently in a McG film you have to have an academy award winner not look good. It's surprising and impressive that good action stars Pine and Hardy can handle the material. Chelsea Handler's character is totally wasted in this movie or funny. Grade B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
NerdConsultantDec 29, 2014
This Means War is one of the most poorly concived and poorly made films in recent memory even for a romantic comedy. tom hardy is really out of place and chris pine and reese witherspoon do not give their best performances by a long shot.This Means War is one of the most poorly concived and poorly made films in recent memory even for a romantic comedy. tom hardy is really out of place and chris pine and reese witherspoon do not give their best performances by a long shot. it's clear this was reedited to within a inch of it's life and none of it helps the terrible slightly sinister story, awful characters and worthless action sequences Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MattBrady99Mar 13, 2015
I'm so happy that Tom Hardy and Chris Pine still have a career after this movie, because this almost ruining their acting career's, well to me it did.

This Means War is about these two deadly CIA operatives are inseparable partners and
I'm so happy that Tom Hardy and Chris Pine still have a career after this movie, because this almost ruining their acting career's, well to me it did.

This Means War is about these two deadly CIA operatives are inseparable partners and best friends until they fall for the same woman. Having once helped bring down entire enemy nations, they are now employing their incomparable skills and an endless array of high-tech gadgetry against their greatest nemesis ever - each other.

The one thing I always hate about these brain dead action comedy movies, is the fact that the action and comedy itself isn't well done and it feels out of place. Well what am I expecting from the same director who previously bought us Ouija, Terminator Salvation and 3 Days To Kill. If you haven't guess yet I hated this movie.

This Means War unsettle me in so many wrong ways. The all film feels like it was written by a 13 year old boy who loves action films and was a big fan of Chris Pine and Tom Hardy, and also a fan of boobs, explosions and simply turning off you're brain and just take whatever is on the screen. This is the time were my job feels like living torture.

The director of the film "McG" who's the best example to show to young film maskers out there of what not to do or what to avoid making a film, because this guy can't even directed action or even a good movie. Every shot looks cheap, lazy and uninspiring.

The writing in this movie is... AWFUL!. Every time a character says something that suppose to be charming or cool comes off painful and extremely cliche to the point where I wanted to punch my TV screen to end the movie quicker. Dialogue is the most important thing to have in movies, and yeah in silent movies you didn't hear people talking, but you sawed the letters of dialogue on the screen and their lips moving, but when your main problem is the dialogue in you're film, you're movie is going nowhere.

These one scene in this movie where Tom Hardy and Chris Pine meet with Reese Witherspoon character. At one point she couldn't decide who's better in bed, Hardy or Pine. So she has this big drama you know the crying and the running away to cry somewhere else. Now right they you can clearly see that the film wants me to care about her character and I simply don't, she's a freaking whore and deserves lots of pain, because she dated two guys at once, cheating on them and can't decide who's better in bed and she only pick one of them who's good at sex. Do you know why I hate this character and I will pay good money to see Captain Kirk and Bane teaming up to ruining this women life.

Overall This Means War is terribly cliche with a weak finale and a awful screenplay. Nobody should waste their time with this film because it's just not worth it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AaronDWassermanJun 27, 2015
This movie is exactly what it aimed to be...stupid fun. There are so many moments that are so funny and you get sold by Hardy and Pine fighting over these girls. tons of laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenOct 22, 2015
This is a usual romantic comedy, don't expect anything more than that. It's a good one, though. It serves its purpose, it's funny. I could laugh at many jokes, it was entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews