Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 17, 2012
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
56
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
MarcDoyleFeb 23, 2012
As I've asserted in the past, knowing what the critics think about a movie is a great way to moderate your expectations for a movie. In this case, I liked the trailer, but hesitated when the critics dogged it. But I caught a late showAs I've asserted in the past, knowing what the critics think about a movie is a great way to moderate your expectations for a movie. In this case, I liked the trailer, but hesitated when the critics dogged it. But I caught a late show anyway, with mega-low expectations, and was pleasantly surprised - I actually laughed throughout this film. I mean there's BAD (see Katherine Heigl's "One for the Money"), and then there's light humor and McG-style action with a heart. This movie delivers the latter in spades. I have a feeling that some of the pro critics shut it down before the movie even got going, because this is not a "red" film. I'd even recommend it - again, for what it is! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Aug 1, 2012
"This Means War" is downright bland. Reese Witherspoon's acting can't get any **** and so goes to the weak triangular chemistry between the main characters. Subtract out the action and what do you get? A **** romantic comedy.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
5
GilbertoAug 3, 2012
This Means War is an OK movie, but thats about it. Its the perfect movie to see if there is really nothing else to see or do because at its core it provides some entertainment particularly at its mid term. Otherwise, this is a bland movieThis Means War is an OK movie, but thats about it. Its the perfect movie to see if there is really nothing else to see or do because at its core it provides some entertainment particularly at its mid term. Otherwise, this is a bland movie that falls under a predictable and (kind of boring) route. Theres some decent chemistry between the characters, but nothing too outstanding or good for that matter. The action sequences are laughable, and the romance falls into merely believable. What saves the movie is its actual main hook of two best friends fighting for an undecided woman using their arsenal of agency weapons and espionage which does provides some entertaining moments. The problem is when it changes its pace and tries to cover other more in-depth areas, which it doesnt do effectively. In fact, some of the scenes seem unnecessary, some just end with no reason whatsoever without accomplishing anything important- leaving the feeling that it was unnecessary. Overall, this is not bad, but it is not good either, and to be completely honest it strives more into bad than good. Watch it if there is nothing else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
muzzikloverMar 17, 2012
I thought this movie was okay. Though critics hated it, I thought it was watchable and I did laugh at some scenes in the movie even though they're quite contrived. I thought it would've worked better as a romantic comedy by itself instead ofI thought this movie was okay. Though critics hated it, I thought it was watchable and I did laugh at some scenes in the movie even though they're quite contrived. I thought it would've worked better as a romantic comedy by itself instead of an action-romantic comedy as the action scenes were kind of dull and didn't really need a villain. The film stumbles whenever it tries to juggle between trying to appeal to both women (Reese Witherspoon's relationship dilemma) and men (Chris Pine's and Tom Hardy's CIA work) and it ruins the consistency of tone. I also found some of the jokes kind of flat and repeating myself, the action scenes are again, kind of dull. Chris Pine and Tom Hardy have the most screen time but they have to keep swapping between each other's scenes with Witherspoon, which is very distracting. Chris Pine plays your typical womanising, arrogant douche bag but not in a likable sense and Tom Hardy plays the nice guy who just wants a serious relationship (contradictory with all his tattoos). Reese Witherspoon was okay but her character has trouble sticking to one personality, either she is an amazing, smart and interesting woman or a dumb broad who doesn't have any luck with relationships. The thing I hated the most about this film is Reese Witherspoon character's best friend who is obnoxious, irritating and just there as a walking sex joke and shouldn't be in the movie at all. The best thing about this film is of course, Tom Hardy. His charm and cool disposition gives the film a charismatic identity though it's strange to see him play as the straight guy and it would've made more sense if he played the womanising douche. Overall, I think this film is okay. It's your typical romantic comedy with a quote-on-quote "action" twist but what do you expect? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryFeb 23, 2012
Two CIA agents (Chris Pine & Tom Hardy) are best buds, until they fall for the same woman (Reese Witherspoon) and employ their spy skills to sabotage each other's game. There's potential for comedy and combat, but the script is prettyTwo CIA agents (Chris Pine & Tom Hardy) are best buds, until they fall for the same woman (Reese Witherspoon) and employ their spy skills to sabotage each other's game. There's potential for comedy and combat, but the script is pretty pedestrian with few laughs and the action (with the exception of the final chase) is unimaginative. Both of the men are charming, but lack comic chops. Witherspoon does her best, but the paltry dialogue leaves her little to work with. While it's never dull, it's never especially special or fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
allystewMar 8, 2012
I wanted to hate This Means War but I couldn't. It actually was a movie that I had a few laughs at and could enjoy as the movie doesn't take itself too seriously. There are many short comings such as being very predictable and clichedI wanted to hate This Means War but I couldn't. It actually was a movie that I had a few laughs at and could enjoy as the movie doesn't take itself too seriously. There are many short comings such as being very predictable and cliched characters. The best thing I can say about this movie is that I still hate its director more, McG will never be forgiven for Terminator Salvation! If you want an easy watch that you can go to see with the girlfriend/wife/partner you could do worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eliteco3Jul 3, 2012
A fun Romcom with a bromance between Pine and Hardy that brings some on screen chemistry to the picture. The explosions and cheesy scenes are overdone. The plot drags along like a Ben Bernake financial news conference. Casual movie goers willA fun Romcom with a bromance between Pine and Hardy that brings some on screen chemistry to the picture. The explosions and cheesy scenes are overdone. The plot drags along like a Ben Bernake financial news conference. Casual movie goers will enjoy the simplicity of the character development and simple plot. In the end This Means War is another film that defines average to its core Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HfahmyMar 9, 2012
Non sophsticated yet entertaining movie. When somebody knows his goals and limits, he definitely will earn appreciation, that's the status of this movie, it is just for fun and pass time, no more. Two secret agents (Chris Spine) and (TomNon sophsticated yet entertaining movie. When somebody knows his goals and limits, he definitely will earn appreciation, that's the status of this movie, it is just for fun and pass time, no more. Two secret agents (Chris Spine) and (Tom Hardy) compete, unlawfully, for the same girl (Rise Witherspoon), they use the power they have for their own good, tracking each other trails with the girl they both want. The girl is unable of making her choice, her life has dramatically twisted, from suffering dry times to having to make a hard selection of a lover from the two offerings. Her councillor and adviser is a friend (Chelsea Handler) who usually gives the non correct opinion. This short and fast running movie didn't waste time, from trying to win the girl along with some intelligence operations, the romantic final comes in favor of the American agent, the British agent returns to his ex-wife and son. Don't expect complex scenario or acting, there is no room for either, just laughter from time to time, semi exciting car races and fighting, and some love scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KadeemluvmusicDec 25, 2014
It was okay, but it wasn't that half bad. I'm not so sure why anybody called this a flop, but it did receive a minor success at the box office just barely made it to the top 5. I thought Reese Witherspoon's career was going to be doomed againIt was okay, but it wasn't that half bad. I'm not so sure why anybody called this a flop, but it did receive a minor success at the box office just barely made it to the top 5. I thought Reese Witherspoon's career was going to be doomed again thanks to the awful 2010 flop with Owen Wilson. But I thought her performance in "This Means War" is pretty good, but the whole movie is decent at some point. I have a hard time with this one because the critics are right on the ball and McG should've just stick to Charlie's Angels unless you want to be famous for being a joke of a music video-turned-movie director. Sure, I love romantic comedies, but some sucked including those Heigl what's-her-name embarrassments. And I'm not so sure on the term "action romantic-comedy" either. I felt that something needs to change drastically in "This Means War" including a confusing script and the chemistry (which is good, but not great) between Reese, Pine, and that other dude. I'd prefer a rental, but I wouldn't be too excited. I forgot, Tom Hardy in the movie, Pretty weird. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellFeb 20, 2012
I can't make myself hate this movie because I actually enjoyed it. There is enough comedy to make it amusing, and the story is not bad either. It is short on action, but there are just enough thrills to make it an overall good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
StevenFJan 11, 2013
It was nice to see these three screen stars take a break and enjoy a silly popcorn movie, but this was just ridiculous.
We see federal agents Tuck (Tom Hardy) and FDR (Chris Pine) going about their usual routine of Bonding it through the
It was nice to see these three screen stars take a break and enjoy a silly popcorn movie, but this was just ridiculous.
We see federal agents Tuck (Tom Hardy) and FDR (Chris Pine) going about their usual routine of Bonding it through the first ten minutes, until they accidentally start dating the same girl, Lauren (Reese Witherspoon) which sets off a chain reaction of pointless drama and repetitive lines that never stops. Attempting to sabotage each other dates through equipment used on the field, they soon come to blows, predictably, over who she prefers. The idea was funny, but director McG missed the point completely, the first mission at the start of the film ends tragically for the enemy which as usual sets up a 'big boss' final battle, which was mediocre at best. Hardy seems to realise halfway through the film, "what have I done?" but Pine does to relish his role as the womanising FDR, Witherspoon almost settles back into the ditzy blonde of yester-year we first seen in Legally Blonde. Bane vs Captain Kirk, where did all go wrong?
Well, there simply wasn't enough of these two beating the hell out of the bad guys or out of each other, these were easily the best parts of the film.
This film also fell into the trap of putting all the best parts into the trailer, there was nothing left to ponder, bland and predictable.
This score simply because of the talent involved
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
pauljohnsonMay 28, 2012
A decent film that does what it's supposed to. It's pretty entertaining and has some funny moments, I wouldn't go out of my way to watch it, its the sort of film I'd enjoy watching with friends. Hardy and Pine make a good double act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JectosFeb 17, 2012
Fairly entertaining with enough chuckles to keep your interest through most of the movie. A number of the scenes were a little over the top which caused it to lose traction but this is expected with this type of movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HomeReviewerMay 6, 2012
This movie was highly predictable, flash and glitter, but despite all that, fun to watch. It has little redeeming value in way of script or story but the scenes are executed flawlessly and lots of money was put into it; this accounts for theThis movie was highly predictable, flash and glitter, but despite all that, fun to watch. It has little redeeming value in way of script or story but the scenes are executed flawlessly and lots of money was put into it; this accounts for the very poor critics scoring and rather satisfying audience scoring in contrast. I enjoyed it for little more reasons than the director's sense of timing and a change of subject matter (after a few heavy flicks, a light whatever this is was welcomed). There are three key characters at play here: Lauren, FDR Foster and Tuck, respectively played by Reese Witherspoon, Chris Pine and Tom Hardy. The other actors with some degree of screen time are Til Schweiger and Chelsea Handler; the former I'm familiar with, am usually satisfied with his performances and is well cast, while the latter I know little about and is also well cast based on this movie's performance. As for the three main actors, I never much cared for Witherspoon and this movie has done nothing to change my indifference; I enjoyed Pine's performance in both the 2009 Star Trek motion picture in which he played the lead, as well as the performance in this movie, and as for Tom Hardy, I'm simply a fan based on nine movies I've seen him in (Warrior, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Inception, Bronson, RocknRolla, Sucker Punch, Layer Cake and Black Hawk Down). If you watch the 2011 movie Warrior and don't count yourself as a fan, don't say you are when he gets nominated or even wins an Oscar one day. So now you know why I bother to watch it after reading the outline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
iVaughtTVJul 18, 2012
Some parts of the movie were funny, and there is a good dynamic between the characters, but ultimately I was not satisfied by the film in its entirety.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
snazzyjuiceJul 18, 2012
Hey, cut it some slack, it's a popcorn movie and it knows that. Sometimes it's good to see a mindless action movie. Maybe, if the plot wasn't so stupid we could have a good movie. But, for now, we have this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GoodfellaJul 21, 2012
This is movie making by commitee and no surprise to see it was made by 'mcg'. Lots of action for the guys. Check. A romantic plot for the girls. Check. Three hot leads. Check. A plot to appeal to teenage girls. Check. As usual, trying to makeThis is movie making by commitee and no surprise to see it was made by 'mcg'. Lots of action for the guys. Check. A romantic plot for the girls. Check. Three hot leads. Check. A plot to appeal to teenage girls. Check. As usual, trying to make a movie that will appeal to everyone always fails to deliver, and this does big time. Tom hardy is my favourite actor around right now, but comedy, errr....no. Chris pine fairs much better and is the only good thing in this movie. Reese witherspoon is as adorable as ever, but the whole thing is just uninvolving and boring. Oh, and witherspoons 'kooky' and 'hilarious' friend offering advice (Check) has been done to death over the past 25 years and should now surely be laid to rest. A wish fulfillment movie for teenage girls, everyone else should probably steer clear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
The trailer told me this was an action comedy which it is to a degree but contains spaced out violence, hit and miss humour and lets be honest its a bit cheesy. Tom Hardy was the only decent thing about this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MaricaAug 31, 2014
"Don't choose the better guy, choose the guy that's gonna make you the better girl." - Trish

A combiation of Action Movie with Comedy Romance..It's ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BrianMcCriticJun 19, 2013
This film has Tom Hardy, Chris Pine, and Reese Witherspoon and it's not good tells you something about the director. McG who screwed up Terminator makes this and the script is poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews