User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2013
    6
    I think Sorrentino would not have pulled this one off without the involvement of Sean Penn who yet again diversifies his repertoire and like a chameleon he just blends in. Yes it is slow and long, but there is also a fine soundtrack and plenty of food of thought weaved into the storyline.
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    This film was created solely to test those who rate films. If you gave it more than a 5 (out of 10) then you are too dumb to rate movies. There is nothing going on here. It is a waste of talent and should never have been green-lighted.
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm glad I came along for the ride with Cheyenne. This is one of the best trips I've ever taken. I realize that maybe this film is not for everybody, but for me it hits a lot of the right spots, including most of all, how everyone misunderstands everybody else. As the movie ended, it felt, as Cheyenne said, that "something's not quite right here. I'm not sure what exactly. But something...." Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    Never in a million years would I have thought to see Sean Penn dressed as Robert Smith. Which catched my attention making me curious to see this film being a big fan of David Byrne and Robert Smith. This film is a perfect definition on an independent film since it's only for a specific audience who can appreciate misunderstood classic artist which Sean Penn does a perfect example of. The film had a great soundtrack and an unforgettable execution. This film isn't for everybody but I personally enjoyed it. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    3
    Just a mess. This film feels like it was written by a class of stoned film students. Ideas are thrown together seemingly at random. The first part is set in Dublin, with Sean Penn playing Robert Smith. Penn delivers all his lines as though he is watching a really good TV show and is very, very tired. That is ok for the first 10 minutes. France's McDormand doesn't even have to try to steal every scene, and the film gets worse when Penn and we leave her in Ireland and go to America. There's a road journey to Texas, which has no point, a quest which has something to do wight the holocaust (rather insultingly) and wasted cameos by David Byrne and Harry Dean Stanton. None of the characters are there for any reason other than to contribute to banal, disjointed scenes which become quite boring. One example - Penn drives through a puddle and drenches a uniformed marching band. He gets out and says he is sorry, although they should know he did it on purpose. This is the kind of scene that must seem like fun when you are high and desperate to come up with something, but when you string dozens of these scenes together, it's alienating, pointless, and a waste of the talent available. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers. I completely understand where Joe Morgenstern is coming from in his pan of this film - and when I truly think about it, it's not a film of immense substance, and it doesn't make sense in many ways. But there's something about the way that Penn plays the role that connects with me. The portrayal reminds me of a friend, and perhaps that colored my judgement a bit, but I really feel like I need to see this film again. His ultimate treatment of the Nazi war criminal seemed a bit out of left field to me, and I'm sure it was meant as food for thought. It's the most disturbing movie in an otherwise genial, benign flick. Collapse
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jan 11, 2013
    40
    There's no "place" in this place, no clear destination -- and no real payoff in a film that stands a cinematic curiosity but little more.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Nov 23, 2012
    63
    Penn has created a colorful tour guide, but in This Must Be the Place, there's no there there.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 15, 2012
    25
    This Must Be the Place is as emotionally zonked-out as its protagonist, and just as difficult to warm up to.