Thor

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1064 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    6
    Silly Marvel fun. My children (8 and 9) really enjoyed it. I did not have high expectations for the film but enjoyed it. I was not impressed by 3D rendering and found it distracting.
  2. May 24, 2011
    5
    I love the super-hero movie genre and I love fantasy action. I didn't think this movie would be much and I was right. First off, I never felt Thor as a god but more of an arrogant jock. Even at the end, that feeling never left. Action wise, it was great four years ago. Here it all felt dated especially coming behind two Iron Man movies and Incredible Hulk. The story didn't do it justice.I love the super-hero movie genre and I love fantasy action. I didn't think this movie would be much and I was right. First off, I never felt Thor as a god but more of an arrogant jock. Even at the end, that feeling never left. Action wise, it was great four years ago. Here it all felt dated especially coming behind two Iron Man movies and Incredible Hulk. The story didn't do it justice. On the one hand there is Thor and the jealous brother Loki. This could have been better except it feels like they are stuck at 12 years old. On the other hand, there is the relationship between Thor and Natalie Portman's character. It was really forced and cliched. Not to mention a love scene put in for no good reason. Idris Elba's character was great and should have been givin more to do. Odin was also really good and the only "god" in the movie. Special Effects looked awsome but a pretty picture wasn't enough to pull me in. I know this movie is only to provide insight as to how Thor becomes and Avenger, but it could have been better than this. Expand
  3. May 19, 2011
    6
    There is something very distinctive about Thor's character that was missing in this movie. He wasn't as arrogant as he should have been and way too sappy towards the end. While Jane's character did not add anything to the overall plot. Yes her Jane is a major character in Thor-lore, it was just superfluous in this instance. The movie is fun to watch though, i wish the battles were a littleThere is something very distinctive about Thor's character that was missing in this movie. He wasn't as arrogant as he should have been and way too sappy towards the end. While Jane's character did not add anything to the overall plot. Yes her Jane is a major character in Thor-lore, it was just superfluous in this instance. The movie is fun to watch though, i wish the battles were a little bigger. And what happened to the cry "Have at thee ....."? Expand
  4. May 7, 2011
    5
    While Chris Hemsworth does a solid job and is charming, and his band of buddies is fun, the movie as a whole is just flat. Way too much focus on the solely CGI "other" world, and not enough on the human (or superhuman) interactions. Kat Dennings is terrific, but Natalie Portman's character just seems starstruck throughout, and she doesn't do much acting. Probably the best acting job inWhile Chris Hemsworth does a solid job and is charming, and his band of buddies is fun, the movie as a whole is just flat. Way too much focus on the solely CGI "other" world, and not enough on the human (or superhuman) interactions. Kat Dennings is terrific, but Natalie Portman's character just seems starstruck throughout, and she doesn't do much acting. Probably the best acting job in the film is done by Idris Elba as the guardian of "the bridge." The movie pales in comparison to the best of the new generation of superhero movies - Batman Begins, Iron Man, and Dark Knight - but it is fun, and much better than the crap-fest that was Iron Man II. I'd say it's worth a look to acquire the knowledge necessary to watch The Avengers next year.... Expand
  5. May 6, 2011
    4
    Mediocre and boring. Visually it has some good and some bad, but the real failure is in the story and the direction of actors. The story is a complete frankenstein where none of the parts works even by itself, and much less in group.
  6. May 7, 2011
    4
    This was the worst of the Marvel Studio movies so far... let me list the ways: why are the frost giants sooo human-like and small? why do the action scenes suck? where are all the asgardians(there may have been 20 total)? And most importantly why was there no character in the entire movie that was an actual threat to Thor? Thor with his hammer could easily beat any of his nemesis in thisThis was the worst of the Marvel Studio movies so far... let me list the ways: why are the frost giants sooo human-like and small? why do the action scenes suck? where are all the asgardians(there may have been 20 total)? And most importantly why was there no character in the entire movie that was an actual threat to Thor? Thor with his hammer could easily beat any of his nemesis in this flick...LAME! Expand
  7. May 6, 2011
    4
    Great visuals, epic scenery and amazing CGI work, but it gets ruined by some mediocre script and awful plot (I watched it in 3D). Great start to the movie is ruined by predictable story. Its an entertaining flick if you don't mind spending extra for 3D and are not looking for a great plotline. Has good jokes and overall a nice touch to it. Good casting , but could have been better. I'llGreat visuals, epic scenery and amazing CGI work, but it gets ruined by some mediocre script and awful plot (I watched it in 3D). Great start to the movie is ruined by predictable story. Its an entertaining flick if you don't mind spending extra for 3D and are not looking for a great plotline. Has good jokes and overall a nice touch to it. Good casting , but could have been better. I'll give it 5/10 Expand
  8. Sep 14, 2011
    5
    Pertaining heavily lethargic action, unfunny humor, and a flat story that contains only 2 backgrounds (human world and the world of gods), Marvel rewrites summer blockbuster "Thor"'s preposterous comic odyssey into a f***ed up one.
  9. May 28, 2011
    5
    I love superhero films, but this is certainly one of the weaker Marvel entries. The film suffers from wildly inconsistent changes in tone, going from silly to deadly serious sometimes in the midst of a scene. The special effects also were inconsistent, sometimes looking cartoonish.
  10. May 6, 2011
    4
    About as dumb as these type of movies get. Nothing in Thor is remotely memorable, jaw-dropping, or exciting. But at the same time, it's not mind-numbingly boring either. It has the bare minimum amount of effort put into the story, and CGI stuffed into all the parts where the story drags. Speaking of dragging, why is there a romance in this? Hell, why are there human characters in this?About as dumb as these type of movies get. Nothing in Thor is remotely memorable, jaw-dropping, or exciting. But at the same time, it's not mind-numbingly boring either. It has the bare minimum amount of effort put into the story, and CGI stuffed into all the parts where the story drags. Speaking of dragging, why is there a romance in this? Hell, why are there human characters in this? They're written flatter than cardboard. Calling their performances wooden is giving them too much credit. What else is wrong with it? The action scenes are shot clumsily, making it way to hard to see what's going on, the special effects seemt unfinished, many scenes were blurry and hard to see (may have been our print of film or projector, so I'll give that a pass). In the end, Thor is just and thunder and no lighting. If you're looking for the next Iron Man, look elsewhere. Expand
  11. May 6, 2011
    6
    Thor is just okay superhero movie, but it's not that great just like the rest of the superhero movies. I did enjoy the action scenes and the setting looks pretty good, but I didn't see in 3D because it gets too much flashy scenes everywhere and why everybody else wanted to see this movie in 3D? The new actor who played the Thor is okay and he's very over the top, but way too much over theThor is just okay superhero movie, but it's not that great just like the rest of the superhero movies. I did enjoy the action scenes and the setting looks pretty good, but I didn't see in 3D because it gets too much flashy scenes everywhere and why everybody else wanted to see this movie in 3D? The new actor who played the Thor is okay and he's very over the top, but way too much over the top just like the rest of the cast. Some scenes are laughable and it could be much more fun. I didn't enjoy the story and the most of the characters, it gets fall flat, but not that bad. Okay movie and it's a little bit good, it wouldn't be near as Iron Man or The Incredible Hulk. I hope the new The Avengers will be good until next year. Expand
  12. May 7, 2011
    6
    I'm right on par with the professional critics... When I first saw the trailers for Thor, I was surprised, underwhelmed, and BEYOND pessimistic. But I decided to feed the Big-Hollywood machine anyway, and go see it, because everyone else was going to. The result? I'll put it this way.... Considering the challenge of dealing with this particularly ridiculous comic-inspired storyline, whileI'm right on par with the professional critics... When I first saw the trailers for Thor, I was surprised, underwhelmed, and BEYOND pessimistic. But I decided to feed the Big-Hollywood machine anyway, and go see it, because everyone else was going to. The result? I'll put it this way.... Considering the challenge of dealing with this particularly ridiculous comic-inspired storyline, while somehow tying in romantic interest and appealing to a broad audience... they did just about the best job they possibly could, which in my opinion, was "pretty decent." There are some continuity flaws and roll-your-eyes turning points, but most are manageable in this high-budget-low-brains context. I enjoyed the story, liked many of the battle scenes, and even laughed frequently as Thor stumbled to adjust to mortal life on Earth. Honestly, I feel that two of Hollywood's best talents, Portman and Hopkins, are really wasted here. You can get any pretty girl to spend two hours giggling and drooling at Hemsworth's muscles... and Hopkins's role, though executed flawlessly, perhaps should have been taken by a lesser-known actor, as to not overshadow Hemsworth's potential stardom. In sum: It's quite good, but not great. Certainly a worthy piece of entertainment, but not on the level with elite franchises such as the Spiderman and Batman movies. Expand
  13. May 11, 2011
    5
    I saw this flick in a brand new IMAX 3D theatre with 28,000 watts of audio and was more impressed by the sheer power of the sound track than what was transpiring on screen.
  14. May 11, 2011
    4
    NOT GOING> SICK OF THE STUPID 3D GLASSES. NOTHING BUT A GIMMICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ALMOST EVERY 3D MOVIE I HAVE BEEN TO WOULD BE JUST AS GOOD IN 2D. ESPECIALLY WHEN SHOT WITH HIGH QUALITY FILM. GIMMICK TO SCRATCH MORENOT GOING> SICK OF THE STUPID 3D GLASSES. NOTHING BUT A GIMMICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ALMOST EVERY 3D MOVIE I HAVE BEEN TO WOULD BE JUST AS GOOD IN 2D. ESPECIALLY WHEN SHOT WITH HIGH QUALITY FILM. GIMMICK TO SCRATCH MORE SCRATCH OUT OF YOUR POCKET. Expand
  15. May 12, 2011
    5
    When you look at "Thor" on paper, you see a film booming with all sorts of potential, intrigue, and an aptitude for something not yet seen from Marvel. Unfortunately, when you take the time to actually buy a ticket, sit down in your seat and prepare to relax, the film doesn't quite live up to such expectations. The film hem and haws at which time period it wants to delineate; theWhen you look at "Thor" on paper, you see a film booming with all sorts of potential, intrigue, and an aptitude for something not yet seen from Marvel. Unfortunately, when you take the time to actually buy a ticket, sit down in your seat and prepare to relax, the film doesn't quite live up to such expectations. The film hem and haws at which time period it wants to delineate; the conjugality between ancient Norse mythology and the modern 21st century are muddled together very awkwardly. Aside from such befuddlement, "Thor" is highly entertaining and holds its Aryan head on the shoulders of Hemsworth, who does very well to steer the film's direction and provide ample laughs. After you begin to examine the film after abstaining from Hemworth's charisma and allure, you can't help but notice the amount of plot holes and ambiguity that are left lingering. The pace seemed rushed, omitting essential and "needed" elements to the film. Besides Thor's smashing of a coffee cup in the diner, the viewer is never introduced to the barbarism that is expected of a Norseman. Question concerning a multicultural Asgard also left me confused, but that was enough for me to shake off. Despite that tolerance, however, the film disregards any mention of how Thor is able to communicate and understand the jargon of 21st century America. The film begins to show the backwardness of Norse times (granted very poorly) as Hemsworth goes into a pet store looking for a horse. I found this to be a start in the right direction, until Portman's character yells "Need a lift?" To my surprise, Thor hops into a vehicle without any sort of amazement or consternation to the automotive advancement. Next, I can appreciate the film's attempts to include subtle humor to break up the, at times, constant ennui, but straying from the movie's ambiance to do so is brainless. When it is ever acceptable to mention the word "princess" as a means of insult in a Norse land, is the day that Batman is no longer rich. Yes, there are children at the movies too, this is true, but the rest of the scene into Odenheim is dreary, grave, and grim filled with grotesque, blood hungry Frost Giants--when is this a time to lower the film's rating to PG? I can't close without giving an honorable mention to two characters in the film: Loki and Jane Foster (Portman). With regards to Loki, I found him to be one of the most dynamic villains ever created in a Marvel film. In fact, he is so "well-rounded" that at times, I wasn't even sure if he was a villain. Yes, he was a trader, but you just couldn't help but feel sorry for him being the adopted and less-loved brother of Oden's real son; granted his character development was much greater than anyone else in the film. Jane Foster was also significant to the film's effectiveness in the captivating enchantment she feels for Thor. It is because of her (Portman)'s performance that Thor works so well and gives off such an amiable aura. All in all, "Thor" is Marvel's most intriguing comic book-to-movie creation yet to grace itself on the screen yet, however, it is also the most difficult to make. Because of the extreme degree of difficulty in explaining an entire mythology rather than one Gotham City, the film carries many plot holes, and for the exception of Loki, has a pretty basic character development. The CGI effects delineate an entricate world and make for a highly entertaining and "feel-good" action comic creation. Expand
  16. Jun 11, 2011
    5
    This was, in one word, mediocre. If you like action flicks with traditional romance and a band of not-so-witty cohorts, this will feed your craving. If you need a date night movie that you can start making out in the middle of, this won't require your full attention. If you're a fan of the comics, this will give a new visual dimension to your beloved hero.

    However, the best character in
    This was, in one word, mediocre. If you like action flicks with traditional romance and a band of not-so-witty cohorts, this will feed your craving. If you need a date night movie that you can start making out in the middle of, this won't require your full attention. If you're a fan of the comics, this will give a new visual dimension to your beloved hero.

    However, the best character in the movie is Heimdall. (And that's saying something,because Anthony Hopkins plays Odin.) Also, don't go into the film expecting to see any actual Norse mythology. Remember, this was based on a comic. (Well, unless that's how you get your laughs.)
    Expand
  17. Jul 1, 2011
    5
    This is anything but a bad movie...but at the some time it wasn't that fantastic iether. While it had fun quirks (particularly between thor and the main human cast), decent action sequences and a surprisingly compelling villain (loki), the movie in its entirety didn't quite measure up. The story was fairly good but not great, the cgi-driven art direction was a bit cheesy, and the plot thatThis is anything but a bad movie...but at the some time it wasn't that fantastic iether. While it had fun quirks (particularly between thor and the main human cast), decent action sequences and a surprisingly compelling villain (loki), the movie in its entirety didn't quite measure up. The story was fairly good but not great, the cgi-driven art direction was a bit cheesy, and the plot that centred around gods wasn't as grand and epic as it could have been. Overall a fun summer flick that I didn't regret seeing Expand
  18. Jul 16, 2011
    5
    Ok movie, there's alot of scenes on earth that makes u think how the hell he get thru that security team but overall the movie is pretty entertaining with sum funny clips
  19. Sep 15, 2011
    6
    thor over all was a ok movie it had a ok plot , ok acting , and some pretty good action . the best part of the movie is probubly the first 30 min . it opens up great but then kinda goes down abit once thor gets to earth. mainly because he starts off as a ego maniac who cares for nothing but kicking ass . then all of a sudden he turns into this kind gentle man who wants to save every onethor over all was a ok movie it had a ok plot , ok acting , and some pretty good action . the best part of the movie is probubly the first 30 min . it opens up great but then kinda goes down abit once thor gets to earth. mainly because he starts off as a ego maniac who cares for nothing but kicking ass . then all of a sudden he turns into this kind gentle man who wants to save every one with nothing in the film that explains why all of a sudden he makes this change in his life.like i said its a ok film that if you into the comic book films you will probubly find it alright . Expand
  20. dz9
    Jan 13, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Good: A perfectly casted Thor, nice visuals, and an awesome villain. The Bad: uninspired story, awfully casted love interest, and unbalanced character development. Did I just say that the great Natalie Portman sucked in this??? Yes I did, don't get me wrong... she's overall is a great actress but she just can't make the switch between seriously involved characters and light hearted comic movies... this movie and No Strings Attached show us this. Because of this, you never really buy into the love between her and Thor. Let alone buying into the idea that Thor would abandon his home to live here on Earth for her.. And this is the movie's main problem, the main plot is Thor's arrogance and Portman's character is the one that fuel's his reason to change and ultimately surpass his inner revelations.. which translates into one of the main struggles of the movie, and it's a shame that this completely fell flat making the movie lackluster in this area. Another serious problem is due to the fact that the movie gives Lokie too much of the audience's sympathy. They give Lokie the whole "villain that you feel for vibe," but they gave him too much sympathy. Seeing that Thor is a complete arrogant jerk, Odin completely robbed this man, and the entire kingdom forgets his existence because of the main protagonist, i found myself actually rooting for Lokie. Which is a BAD thing to project in a hero movie.... rooting for the bad guy. A few minor problems of the movie is that the climax is unsatisfying, the action is poorly directed, and the story feels a bit disjointed. The movie isn't a total loss, Chris Hemsworth knocks Thor's character out of the park, Ozgard looks fantastic and beautiful, and the movie seems to translate well into the Avengers movie. In the End: this movie was in-fact a good summer movie... I don't recommend spending more than a dollar blockbuster/redbox price upon it. Your main reason for renting this should be for getting ready for the Avengers movie. Which also makes me wonder, would any one actually cared as much and would this movie done so well if it wasn't for the avengers hype??? Hmmm....... My last thought: I hope this movie's flaws doesn't translate over into the Avengers movie. Expand
  21. Nov 20, 2012
    5
    The action scenes were great but the movie was to mythological
  22. May 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i didn't like it



    SPOILERS AHEAD

    i didn't understand how thor could become humble so quickly. he was basically arrogant until he finds that he cant use his hammer. then he meets his friends. then he 'sacrifices' himself to save the town. then he gets his hammer back. then he goes to fight his brother. i dont get what the other characters are for (apart from the king and brother). the friends are **** compared to thor. i dont see what natalie portman does in the entire movie. the only thing the natalie portman's dad's friend does is tell natalie portman to not help thor. the only thing the other woman does is provide a bit of humour. loki's frost giant heritage doesn't even factor into thor's decisions. i don't understand why odin goes to sleep when he's stressed. wth is odinsleep?

    only good thing i liked was the graphics. Asgard was very nice. perhaps if i read the comics i would understand better. but that just makes the movie inaccessible to the greater public.
    Expand
  23. Jul 8, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metacritic really should have a way to delete reviews​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​. Expand
  24. May 7, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie didn't disappoint me in any way. Yet, it hasn't surprise me either.
    For me, it was good, I like mythology and all that stuff and the movie makes the parallel in a very good way. But it was a normal super-hero movie.
    It was good, but not that good.
    Expand
  25. May 7, 2011
    6
    A bit disappointing. I'm a big comic book fan, and I did enjoy the comic book aspects of the film, but the movie aspects didn't really meet my standards. To me I thought the movie just kinda happened, there wasn't much to it, it just played and that was it. The action was fantastic, but the story was weak. The best part was the Avengers references, and Stan Lee's cameo.
  26. May 8, 2011
    6
    Well, it's not really a bad movie, it just has a hard time really deciding what it is trying to be, some of it was funny, some of it was action-y some of it seemed to be trying to be sad, and then there was some romance thrown in. Not a bad movie, not an intellectual movie, but really not that bad.
  27. May 15, 2011
    4
    As someone who's seen the majority of big movies from 70's-2000's I found this to be the epitome of mass production in movies. Use pre-made material (the comic) as base and add the standard storyline. I called the general plot within first 5-10 minutes of movie without knowing anything about Thor. From there on everything was predictable. Including the romance and so-called twists.As someone who's seen the majority of big movies from 70's-2000's I found this to be the epitome of mass production in movies. Use pre-made material (the comic) as base and add the standard storyline. I called the general plot within first 5-10 minutes of movie without knowing anything about Thor. From there on everything was predictable. Including the romance and so-called twists. Every other scene also had some ultra-cheesy humor which tied in with the cheesy action which was sub-par in itself. Graphically, Thor excelled, but as a gamer would know best, there's little use of eye-candy without the substance it composes. Expand
  28. May 15, 2011
    5
    Pretty much half of a good movie. While some aspects of the film were quite good (mostly the scenes taking place in Asgard,) they pail in comparison to the lack of true purpose the stars have in their roles, or that the film has in its message. It seems Marvel has truly been going through the motions in it's production since the first Iron Man film.
  29. May 16, 2011
    4
    I find it amazing sometimes just how much faith a movie will have in the audienceâ
  30. May 19, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay let me start with this i have given THOR a rating of 5 because its a terrible marvel film not a terrible film.They start the film off with the best fight scene then the rest of the fights are a load of rubbish in a small town then there's one mildly entertaining fight at the end besides that the movie is just following THOR around with Natalie Portman and her very annoying friend.THOR never comes close to dying which never gives the audience the feeling of cheering THOR on since he just kicks ass the whole time.Every hero needs a near death experience, now i know it is staying true to the comics and that the fanboys/girls will be happy with it. But coming from a normal audience like me its just not entertaining enough so that is my reason for giving THOR a terrible 5 Expand
  31. May 25, 2011
    5
    Thor, How would I review Thor.......Let's just say I'm suprised that Natalie Portman didn't Scream to the Heavens when Thor dies! God of Thunder?, More Like God of Cheesy! The Purpose of anyone making a movie is to make the audience believe that what they see before their eyes could possibly be true, to make the preposterous possible......Like in the First Iron Man, That movie made meThor, How would I review Thor.......Let's just say I'm suprised that Natalie Portman didn't Scream to the Heavens when Thor dies! God of Thunder?, More Like God of Cheesy! The Purpose of anyone making a movie is to make the audience believe that what they see before their eyes could possibly be true, to make the preposterous possible......Like in the First Iron Man, That movie made me believe that a man could make an Iron suit and hurl himself into the air at phenomenal speeds.....They had it, I believed..But Thor.....(Let me just say before I go on that the actor who played Thor was excellent! However, everything that was around him was not!)........Natalie Portman is Gorgeous, I love her, however, I could not stand her in this film, she is a wonderful actress, But such a cheesy role should not be her style......(+ Star Wars). The fact that Thor has a love interest in this film at all makes it weak.....And the scene where Thor's Band of Friends came to Earth to find him, was reminiscent of a Bad movie experience I had as a child, when I spent my hard earned money to see a film called "Masters of the Universe" As his friends were walking through the town streets, I'm thinking....."What happened? Did I make a mistake and purchase a ticket for the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers movie!? I'm sorry but this movie did not make me believe.....The only time I did believe is when Anthony Hopkins as Odin appeared on screen and narrated. I liked the Asgard scenes Which is why I gave the movie a five, but when the movie moves its plot to the earth it was a total disaster.......... Kat Dennings....What the hell was her purpose?!? Hollywood needs to develop some money management skills!!!!! Expand
  32. May 31, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Epic. Outstanding. Absolutely breathtaking. At long last, a superhero film that keeps things simple, coherent and cohesive. Technically brilliant. Pulse-pounding action with heart, that's not simply there for the sake of being there. Such words would probably resemble my rough draft of a one-paragraph reviewâ Expand
  33. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    The first scene in Thor is a kind of unnecessary, but the screenplay starts very well. But after, with the appearance of Natalie Portman and the too conventional love story of her with Chris Hemsworth, we go down to extensive cliches. A think that, from this moment to the after credits scene, the movie becomes just another Marvel Studios production, with good direction, funny moments,The first scene in Thor is a kind of unnecessary, but the screenplay starts very well. But after, with the appearance of Natalie Portman and the too conventional love story of her with Chris Hemsworth, we go down to extensive cliches. A think that, from this moment to the after credits scene, the movie becomes just another Marvel Studios production, with good direction, funny moments, colors - lots of colors! -, special effects and not too much than it. A pure and honest fun. Expand
  34. Jun 15, 2011
    4
    The actors/actresses in this film were good and so were the film crew. But the story and how they developed it scene by scene....not so much. I wouldn't recommend this movie to any of my friends.
  35. Aug 30, 2011
    5
    It's harmless fun and a good way to zone out for an hour and a half one evening - but it's not going to win any awards :) Thor is actually a good actor - Portman is good and the supporting cast are fun too.
  36. Sep 16, 2011
    5
    I don't know how. Thor was goddamn awful and silly. Probably with the script and characters. But Hiddleston was great. I should worry with The Avengers now.
  37. Oct 2, 2011
    6
    The beauty of Thor in comparison to its other marvel counterparts of the last few years (Captain America and Iron Man 2) is that it has fun with the story that its telling. Superheroes don't have to be dark and brooding (unless it improves the film like in Batman Begins, a film that still manages to have fun despite the subject matter). Thor's (Chris Hemsworth) story is a simple one withThe beauty of Thor in comparison to its other marvel counterparts of the last few years (Captain America and Iron Man 2) is that it has fun with the story that its telling. Superheroes don't have to be dark and brooding (unless it improves the film like in Batman Begins, a film that still manages to have fun despite the subject matter). Thor's (Chris Hemsworth) story is a simple one with him being a selfish, arrogant heir to the throne of Asgard (a planet far from earth) who makes a terrible mistake and is banished from Asgard by his father Odin (played with great gravitas by Anthony Hopkins). The fact that Thor is an origins movie works in its favour as the whole film is about his growth into the king his father wants him to be and the hero that earth needs him to be. It also allows for something rarely seen in film, a thoroughly unpleasant lead character. However the film isn't really anything more than an action film, despite the beautiful landscapes used and the astounding visuals of Asgard it is still just an action film. However the film works in that regard unlike Iron Man 2 and Captain America because its funny, charming and well paced. Expand
  38. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Thor is a great example of a movie that is fairly etertaining but not a good movie. The characters are flat and static which leaves no room for character development.
  39. Oct 15, 2011
    5
    Thor was a fairly entertaining film, and I was not too disappointed as I did not have any high standard for it before watching. It fits into the category of quality that most comic book adaptations fall into, and this is not necessarily a very bad thing. The recent increase in film adaptations has brought down certain standards, and this particular film is a good example. Lame dialogue andThor was a fairly entertaining film, and I was not too disappointed as I did not have any high standard for it before watching. It fits into the category of quality that most comic book adaptations fall into, and this is not necessarily a very bad thing. The recent increase in film adaptations has brought down certain standards, and this particular film is a good example. Lame dialogue and a rather childish series of events is a given, but the film could have done with a slightly better cast in my opinion. Natalie Portman has never striked me as a good actress. The film is a mediocre watch to those who know what to expect. Expand
  40. Oct 26, 2011
    5
    Could have been worse ... should have been better. Redeeming features: Idris Elba, Natalie Portman and Chris Hemsworth. Disappointing: poor acting by Anthony Hopkins (never thought I would say that but the role was too empty for him), unimpressed by Tom Hiddleston as Loki, whilst Kat Dennings was too under-utilised. She is an excellent young actress who only got a bit part.
    Less God of
    Could have been worse ... should have been better. Redeeming features: Idris Elba, Natalie Portman and Chris Hemsworth. Disappointing: poor acting by Anthony Hopkins (never thought I would say that but the role was too empty for him), unimpressed by Tom Hiddleston as Loki, whilst Kat Dennings was too under-utilised. She is an excellent young actress who only got a bit part.
    Less God of Thunder, and more God of Drizzle.
    Expand
  41. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    Although it has horrible dialogue and acting, it is a fun, entertaining and hilarious film that provides more laughs than anything else. Better than I expected.
  42. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Fun, but incredibly stupid. The plot had more holes than swiss cheese. However, the action scenes were a blast, even though their meaning is shrouded in stupidity. Oh, did I mention the stupid costumes?
  43. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    Thor's showing was mediocre at best. CGI was not up to date and action scenes contained nothing spectacular. It felt like the movie's focus was more on the character relationships rather than the action; which was what I was looking forward to.
  44. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    Thor is an okay superhero film but there is a lot like it that has been seen before. Although the acting was questionable, the story and the special effects were good.
  45. Feb 7, 2012
    5
    Thor is a very uneven movie. Some parts are very entertaining, such as the initial fight between Thor and his companions and the frost giants. However, the entire middle of the film which takes place mostly on Earth is very uneventful and they don't really fill it with any meaningful character development. Chris Hemsworth is fine as Thor, but the best performance and most interestingThor is a very uneven movie. Some parts are very entertaining, such as the initial fight between Thor and his companions and the frost giants. However, the entire middle of the film which takes place mostly on Earth is very uneventful and they don't really fill it with any meaningful character development. Chris Hemsworth is fine as Thor, but the best performance and most interesting character is definitely Tom Hiddleston who plays Loki. The attempts at humor in the movie are forced and rarely funny. The first 30 minutes and the last 30 minutes are fairly entertaining, but there's a lot of dead zones in the script. Expand
  46. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    Thor is definitely one of the weaker movies based on Marvel superheroes. The plot is decent but the problem is that it isn't told very well, creating a situation where dramatic moments often fall flat. The intense special effects used to create Asgard can sometimes be overwhelming although other effects are quite good. Some characters are likeable but not lovable due to the fact that theyThor is definitely one of the weaker movies based on Marvel superheroes. The plot is decent but the problem is that it isn't told very well, creating a situation where dramatic moments often fall flat. The intense special effects used to create Asgard can sometimes be overwhelming although other effects are quite good. Some characters are likeable but not lovable due to the fact that they are mostly one-dimensional. We don't even get a good insight into Thor himself and yet we are encouraged to root for him. Any character development that does happen appears to happen in stages instead of being a natural progression. The central romance feels forced although both actors try hard to make it work. The movie is fun, however, if you adjust your expectations. Certain fight scenes are exciting and the writing can sometimes be funny. Thor is not essential viewing and will not change your life but you might enjoy yourself. Expand
  47. Apr 6, 2012
    6
    I was really looking forward to this movie. I love action, SF, Fantasy, as well as most other films. The special effects were awesome, and yes, when Thor (Chris Hemsworth) took off his shirt - my oh my.... but this film was definitely lacking something. I think the romance thread was so poorly done that it left me wanting something more from the film. There was no chemistry between the actors.
  48. Apr 11, 2012
    6
    I suppose it is not a bad film overall. However, Ebert is right, and in my opinion, Iron Man is the greatest super hero film of all time. Thor is entertaning and he is a cool character, but the plot is slightly boring but still stable. So I have mixed feelings for the concept of this movie. However, viewers, I recommend it overall.
  49. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Unfortunately I had high expectations for this movie and I was sorely disappointed. There was so much more scope for battle scene which and along with his band of merry friends I struggled to understand why Thor and co. were build up to be this crack squad of warriors when they done so little battling.
  50. May 5, 2012
    6
    THOR is not perfect, by far. The story is somewhat lacking, and the acting is mediocre. But it makes up for all of that with humor and lots of fun action that is so typical of marvel films.
  51. May 17, 2012
    5
    They couldn't pronounce a lot of things right in the movie, me being Norwegian definitely changes my opinion. It was a decent movie, but the story should have focused more on Thor himself.
  52. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    The film is solid fun with the cast doing a stellar job but both this film and Captain America just feel like they have been made to stop Avenger's from having any character introductions. Still most of this film is great and I always enjoy Natalie Portman's performances.
  53. Oct 8, 2012
    4
    Sorry, but the whole movie just reaks of style over substance - and when the style itself isn't that good you're on to a loser. Thor is the Norse god of strength and thunder, but in this film he's played either more for laughs, or as some dickhead jock. There's very little respect for him and the whole **** vs brilliance/belly-fire falls flat when said brilliance and belly-fire fail toSorry, but the whole movie just reaks of style over substance - and when the style itself isn't that good you're on to a loser. Thor is the Norse god of strength and thunder, but in this film he's played either more for laughs, or as some dickhead jock. There's very little respect for him and the whole **** vs brilliance/belly-fire falls flat when said brilliance and belly-fire fail to show their face to counter-balance Thor's nob-head side. There's little in the way of opposition for Thor to face either, with the Frost Giants being a pretty shoddy set of opponents, and few epic fight scenes to speak of, instead there's just CGI scraps that make you switch off. It doesn't flow well, the romance plot gets far more coverage than it needs, and the whole film is shot rather amateurishly with too many epic shots apparent, watering the whole thing down. Not good and in a word - flat. Expand
  54. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    Thor is the first Marvel comic movie of 2011, Later this year we will have "X-Men: First Class","Captain America" and D.C comic's "Green Lantern".

    I must explain that i have never been a big reader of "THOR", i acknoledge the character and accepted him for what he is but never really wanted to pick up a book and start reading, I knew the Origins, the Character's and all in all the
    Thor is the first Marvel comic movie of 2011, Later this year we will have "X-Men: First Class","Captain America" and D.C comic's "Green Lantern".

    I must explain that i have never been a big reader of "THOR", i acknoledge the character and accepted him for what he is but never really wanted to pick up a book and start reading, I knew the Origins, the Character's and all in all the fairly humourous cheese to it all.

    Well aside from "X-men", I had no ambition to see any of the superhero films this year, My father decided to see "THOR" and I tagged along.

    The result was obviously cheesy, yet it was a very well executed movie, both visually and acted.

    THOR's Homeland looked STUNNING, in this new age of Cinematic CGI Landscaping it's getting better and more believable, However this film did not need to be 3-D, I stress that because nowdays it's being thrown in any movie like it was back in the 80's, it going back to a gimmick rather than an Art form.

    Chris Hemsworth was a surprisingly good THOR, i'll admit he lost he's luster a bit when he ends up learning respect and new ways of life in a style done to death, but nevertheless a good solid job.

    However the best performance is of course Anthony Hopkins as his father Odin, The name Hopkins with every passing movie is becoming more of an Enigma and more of a housing to all these fantastic characters.

    Jane Foster in the comics was human THOR's nurse, in this version she's an Astrologist played by Natalie Portman, after how brilliant her performance was in "Black Swan" i feel she's slowly becoming the next "Audrey Hepburn" of the movies.

    If i wanted to recommend this movie to anyone, I'd ultimately say if you liked "Clash Of The Titans" then this movie is for you, less monsters but all that good mythology stuff any person would and probably SHOULD like.

    Final Verdict: Tweaking the Origin's a little, But neverthelss a really cheesy fun movie, very glad i went to see it.
    Expand
  55. Oct 16, 2013
    6
    not the best superhero movie ever made but it is a good movie despite showing a different side of the hero is a good movie but it can be forgotten in a little time.
  56. Aug 15, 2014
    6
    Ehh. It's not the worst movie to come from Marvel, but it's far from the finest. It packs so many jokes into the two hour running time I might have mistaken it for a cheesy romance comedy, if it weren't for the dude in a red cape and the over the top battle scenes. My advice: stay away from Thor, and watch "Captain America" instead. It's a surprisingly boring movie.
  57. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    Yes, its essential purpose is to introduce Thor so people will know him in the Avengers, but it is a decent movie. It has the most plot of the Phase 1 Marvel films and surprisingly, the least amount of plot-holes. Loki is amazing in the sense that he is the least generic villain of the MCU.
  58. Dec 22, 2014
    6
    Thor(2011) is funny and enjoyable for all ages.Thor is portrayed well by Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston did a great job portraying his role "Loki" but the other characters are just flat and boring.
  59. Mar 7, 2015
    6
    Although a solid movie and certainly entertaining it never lives up to what marvel movies have shown they can be. Despite keeping your interest there are no points of the movie that are great or particularly memorable.
  60. May 2, 2015
    6
    I had a fairly decent time watching this! chris hemsworth was an absolute delight to watch as Thor! this movie didnt look promising, but I was pleasantly surprised
  61. May 16, 2015
    6
    A good movie with some funny scenes, action scenes found through weak, has a history until interesting, but the film itself has nothing very special, but what I hated most in the film was the appearance of Hawkeye, it just appeared to show the public that it exists, but he did nothing, they could have used a lot more character.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 29, 2011
    38
    The standards for comic book superhero movies have been established by "Superman," "The Dark Knight," "Spider-Man 2" and "Iron Man." In that company "Thor" is pitiful. Consider even the comparable villains (Lex Luthor, the Joker, Doc Ock and Obadiah Stane). Memories of all four come instantly to mind. Will you be thinking of Loki six minutes after this movie is over?
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 12, 2011
    50
    The year's most divided movie to date; everything that happens in the higher realms, vaguely derived from Nordic legend, is posturing nonsense, whereas the scenes down here are managed, for the most part, with dexterity and wit. [16 May 2011, p. 133]
  3. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 11, 2011
    50
    This is eminently missable, though the mosaic design of Asgard, Thor's mythical realm, is pretty cool.