Thor

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1370 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    I had a blast watching this, it not only has some amazing special effects, but extremely enjoyable characters, these are some of Marvels most human characters yet, it can be genuinely funny, somewhat touching, and backs it all up with some awesome fights, and I just love the references to the other super heroes, like Iron Man (and was that Hawkeye?!), and the way it brings you closer toI had a blast watching this, it not only has some amazing special effects, but extremely enjoyable characters, these are some of Marvels most human characters yet, it can be genuinely funny, somewhat touching, and backs it all up with some awesome fights, and I just love the references to the other super heroes, like Iron Man (and was that Hawkeye?!), and the way it brings you closer to the future Avengers movie, honestly the most disappointing part was the ending, and it leaves the question of what's next for Thor? but this is still an awesome movie, and a perfect see for fans of Marvel. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Thor is about a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkest forces to invade Earth, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero. Although the film is undeniably cheesy Thor is extremely entertaining, action packedThor is about a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkest forces to invade Earth, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero. Although the film is undeniably cheesy Thor is extremely entertaining, action packed and funny and features a fantastic debut performance from Chris Hemsworth and a charming performance from Kat Dennings. Although Natalie Portman just won herself an Oscar her character is cliche and that is the exact performance she has brought us. It seems Natalie is going back to her old bad acting ways like Star Wars. I give this film 88% of a good movie. Expand
  3. May 8, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe not "Iron Man" good, but certainly "Iron Man 2" good. A great rendition of a famous, if not popular, Marvel character. I can't think of a better Thor than Hemsworth (though young Thor maybe could've been played by that "Little Hercules" kid). I was leery of Portman in a Marvel movie but she did good. In fact, the entire cast was quite well chosen: from Odin to Loki to Frigga. They *are* missing one very beloved Norse god (can you guess which one?) But I figure a third Odinson would mess up the plot (don't laugh, there is enough plot to hold it together). The critics were kind of right about scenes on Earth being more dynamic than the ones in Asgard, but the continuous switching between the two keeps this balanced. I thought Asgard a little too sterile to be the viking "heaven" (I was hoping for some hot valkyries), but their rendition of Bifrost works great. The mythology is dealt with exactly as I would have: the Asgardians never refer to themselves as gods. Though the frost giants were a bit puny to be "giants". Marvel continues the trend of strong female characters (Aunt May, Betsy Ross et al) with Jane Foster. I dig the hilarious female sidekick Darcy (Kat Dennings). And Sif (Jaimie Alexander) is a knockout. The rest of Thor's pals were also faithful to the comic. And so were the helmet designs. I miss some of the classic battle cries (For Odin! For Asgard!) but I suppose those went out along with beardless Thor. Still, the fanboys should be pleased with references to Donald Blake and the effect of spinning Mjollnir. Thor could've come off very badly, but it actually ends up standing well on its own. I'm sure it'll rake in big at the box office this weekend, but Thor isn't one of the characters that is easy to make sequels for. This will probably be the one and only. That alone would be a good reason to see it. On top of that, you know that if you're looking forward to Avengers, you're going to have to see all of these solo outings! Expand
  4. May 10, 2011
    7
    The mythological God of Thunder (Chris Hemsworth) is cast out of his kingdom and becomes a mortal on Earth. This flick has a lot going for it: magnificent art direction, moments of down-to-earth humor, extravagant spectacle and newcomer Hemsworth's undeniable charisma (not to mention that body). On the down side: the fight scenes are an indistinct blur and the drama drags down the pacing.The mythological God of Thunder (Chris Hemsworth) is cast out of his kingdom and becomes a mortal on Earth. This flick has a lot going for it: magnificent art direction, moments of down-to-earth humor, extravagant spectacle and newcomer Hemsworth's undeniable charisma (not to mention that body). On the down side: the fight scenes are an indistinct blur and the drama drags down the pacing. Overall, it's uneven, but entertaining. NOTES: I didn't bother with the 3D and didn't miss a thing. Stay thru the credits for another "Avengers" teaser. Expand
  5. May 18, 2011
    10
    The action was pretty solid, and Hemsworth did a good job conveying Thor. The actor playing Loki also did a great job. The love story though really detracted from it. No connection, and no real sense of them coming together, yet the movie tried to force down our throats that they'd fallen in love. And the big end scene where Thor's changed behavior was credited to Natalie Portman'sThe action was pretty solid, and Hemsworth did a good job conveying Thor. The actor playing Loki also did a great job. The love story though really detracted from it. No connection, and no real sense of them coming together, yet the movie tried to force down our throats that they'd fallen in love. And the big end scene where Thor's changed behavior was credited to Natalie Portman's character left me going, "Really?" Did I fall asleep for 15 minutes and miss the big scene where Thor learned about sacrificing for the greater good from her? I certainly didn't hate the movie and got some enjoyment from it, but I felt like ultimately, they needed a much better script. Plus a love interest that actually had some chemistry with Hemsworth. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    Thor had solid acting, including a breakthrough performance by Chris Hemsworth, great action, solid humor, and a good ending. However, Thor also suffered from some pacing issues and some scenes that take you out of the experience. Nonetheless, this is still a movie worth watching and is a solid adaptation before The Avengers comes out next year.
  7. May 8, 2011
    10
    This was an astoundingly huge, incredibly well done movie. Brannagh has taught a lot of filmmakers 'this is how it's done'. It is *not* a superhero movie. It's a battle between gods, and a classic drama of struggles with a king as his heirs, and a fantasy epic, and the frequent theme in mythology of a god fallen to Earth, to live and move with mortals. Asgard and everything in it isThis was an astoundingly huge, incredibly well done movie. Brannagh has taught a lot of filmmakers 'this is how it's done'. It is *not* a superhero movie. It's a battle between gods, and a classic drama of struggles with a king as his heirs, and a fantasy epic, and the frequent theme in mythology of a god fallen to Earth, to live and move with mortals. Asgard and everything in it is thought through far better than it ever was in the comic.

    The special effects were examples of what the best filmmakers do: they don't just throw a budget and a bunch of code monkeys at it; they think through what an effect really should be doing, and how it makes sense. That's why the effects, though technically great, really impress.

    When there are "superhero', or Asgardian warrior, action, it's jaw-droppingly well done. And when Thor is on Earth, there's constant challenge, humor, and lively interaction with every character. This is not a case of a movie trying to live up to a comic book: now, the comics have to learn to live up to the epic on screen.

    Don't worry about the comic books. You don't need to know them to watch the movie. You don't *have* to know all about Greek mythology to watch movies about battles between those gods and demigods and mortals and so forth, and when is it confusing if the very powerful become so arrogant or power-hungry that they are damaged and cause damage to those around them for their hubris? This movie is like that.

    And I read the pro's and users here talking about how 'dumb' it was, boring, etc. I guess it didn't have the sort of brilliant writing of Fast Five or Buffy the Vampire Slayer, or a scene in a strip club, or the touching directing talents of George Lucas. How come there was all that boring talk in Henry V? Why is there no Michael Becerra or 'homages' to crappy kung fu movies like "Kill Bill"? How come there aren't 50 scenes of Natalie Portman bending over a motorcycle? Why isn't it filled with a bunch of magic kids who never express any emotion and who are always saved by a newly discovered relic? Obviously "Thor" can live up to none of these high standards.

    I would like to think it's a movie which will continue to grow in popularity based on word of mouth; it's not too often I go in thinking a movie will be a lot of fun, and then see something far above my expectations. From what I've heard, especially from people who didn't know too much about the character, I think that's likely.

    If you aren't the kind of person who likes intelligently written, large-scale epics with brilliant direction, gorgeous special effects, rivalry for the throne, big action scenes, and characters with depth and most of whom are played by fantastic actors, then this movie's not for you.

    Others should really go and watch it.
    Expand
  8. May 14, 2011
    9
    This film was awesome. It was as entertaining as the first Iron Man.The action was crafted well and the acting was great too. Kenneth Branagh was a perfect fit to direct this film and I can't wait for the Avengers
  9. May 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best Marvel movies ever. It has great acting performances, colorful, and has pretty good special effects. I must say, I was skeptical about this film when I first heard about it because Thor is a God. He has so much power and if they had of messed up, the movie and especially his character would of been not enjoyable. But they didn't. What I also love is how Kenneth BranaghOne of the best Marvel movies ever. It has great acting performances, colorful, and has pretty good special effects. I must say, I was skeptical about this film when I first heard about it because Thor is a God. He has so much power and if they had of messed up, the movie and especially his character would of been not enjoyable. But they didn't. What I also love is how Kenneth Branagh stayed true to Thor's comic book **** powers, abilities, and perhaps, naiveness. However, the love scene wasn't deep at all like some people make it out to be. It was actually rather corny. But other than that, it is an impeccably balanced movie and a genius way to connect Thor to Mythology to Jane Foster, all the way to the big screen!!! Expand
  10. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Fun action movie. don't try and break it down and analyze it. the movie is meant to entertain and be a fun movie about THE GOD OF THUNDER!!!!!! if you wanna chill out to a cool action movie this is a good choice.
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    To say that Thor is a bad superhero movie is wrong but saying it's the greatest superhero movie is also wrong. Though I enjoyed Chris Hemsworth as Thor and I found everyone to be not as enthusiastic as Thor himself particularly Kat Dennings character who just was annoying and made to many references to todays society. the CGI effects are terrific particularly the Asgard scenes. Nice littleTo say that Thor is a bad superhero movie is wrong but saying it's the greatest superhero movie is also wrong. Though I enjoyed Chris Hemsworth as Thor and I found everyone to be not as enthusiastic as Thor himself particularly Kat Dennings character who just was annoying and made to many references to todays society. the CGI effects are terrific particularly the Asgard scenes. Nice little cameo from Hawkeye for next years Avengers film and Samuel L. Jackson makes another appearance as Nick Fury which is pretty cool. Overall the was ok just a few things wrong with it. hopefully the Avengers and Thor 2 in 2013 will sort things out. I look forward to seeing Hemsworth work with RDJ and Chris Evans next year Expand
  12. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This a fantastic film, the mithology of the comic appear in this film, the cast do a great performance of the characters, and the effects, wow, are awesome, the screenplay is good. Thor is one of the better MARVEL Studious films.
  13. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    Not as good as I first remembered but still a highly entertaining film. There is plenty to like here as Thor is one of my favourite characters from 'The Avengers' line-up and I find I can enjoy this film as apposed to the likes of the 'Iron-Man' series. There isn't a great deal of Action for a film that you would expect to have a lot of it, but the final few scenes is where it picks up.Not as good as I first remembered but still a highly entertaining film. There is plenty to like here as Thor is one of my favourite characters from 'The Avengers' line-up and I find I can enjoy this film as apposed to the likes of the 'Iron-Man' series. There isn't a great deal of Action for a film that you would expect to have a lot of it, but the final few scenes is where it picks up. Overall a very good film and I am quite looking forward to the sequel later this year! Expand
  14. Oct 9, 2015
    7
    Unique among superhero films. For one thing, it's got a fantasy feel to it and for another thing, the main character has been stripped of his powers for most of the movie so it's more of a fish out of water story. Tom Hiddleson's Loki was brilliant (looks like the MCU has found their Heath Ledger) and Chris Hemsworth was very good as the title character. It's a pretty good movie, differentUnique among superhero films. For one thing, it's got a fantasy feel to it and for another thing, the main character has been stripped of his powers for most of the movie so it's more of a fish out of water story. Tom Hiddleson's Loki was brilliant (looks like the MCU has found their Heath Ledger) and Chris Hemsworth was very good as the title character. It's a pretty good movie, different from most films of its kind. Expand
  15. May 9, 2011
    8
    I was surprised how much I liked the Norse mythology modern love story mash up. Hemsworth is a very credible Thor. His band of friends are fun to watch. I liked the two congruent stories, on earth and in Thor's home world. Anthony Hopkins was his usual credible self as Odin. Anyone could have played the Natalie Portman part, but she was fine, nothing special. Still, it was fun toI was surprised how much I liked the Norse mythology modern love story mash up. Hemsworth is a very credible Thor. His band of friends are fun to watch. I liked the two congruent stories, on earth and in Thor's home world. Anthony Hopkins was his usual credible self as Odin. Anyone could have played the Natalie Portman part, but she was fine, nothing special. Still, it was fun to watch. I'm glad I did not see it in 3D because it was very dark at times and that is a recipe for disaster in 3d. It was entertaining, light, did not take itself too seriously and was fun: great summer movie. Expand
  16. May 25, 2011
    9
    I thought it was superb but then I was already a fan before the movie's release. In my opinion the genius was in the casting. Anthony Hopkins as Odin was a master stroke and Chris Hemsworth's version of Thor had just the right amount of pomposity without being too over the top. I did think they missed a comedic opportunity with the Volstag character and took slight liberties with theI thought it was superb but then I was already a fan before the movie's release. In my opinion the genius was in the casting. Anthony Hopkins as Odin was a master stroke and Chris Hemsworth's version of Thor had just the right amount of pomposity without being too over the top. I did think they missed a comedic opportunity with the Volstag character and took slight liberties with the storyline but those are really only a minor complaints. Overall Mr Branagh really captured the essence of the character which is pretty much all you can ask of a comic book recreation. I left the theater wanting more. Well done. Expand
  17. May 6, 2011
    8
    What has made Nolan's Batman, as well as Favreau's Iron Man, movies so well-received has been because they have taken normal humans and had them rise into something bigger, making it more believable, no matter how outlandish. So when I heard Thor would be included, as he should, in the Avengers saga, especially with his own film, I was admittedly concerned that there was no way toWhat has made Nolan's Batman, as well as Favreau's Iron Man, movies so well-received has been because they have taken normal humans and had them rise into something bigger, making it more believable, no matter how outlandish. So when I heard Thor would be included, as he should, in the Avengers saga, especially with his own film, I was admittedly concerned that there was no way to maintain the integrity established by Nolan and Favreau and retain the strong story and audience. I was wrong. While not a perfect film, I cannot imagine a better handling of this mythological story and have it connect to the world today as perfectly as Kenneth Branagh's Thor. Expand
  18. May 10, 2011
    7
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/05/thor.html

    In all honesty I was kind of reluctant going into Thor. I'm not a huge fan of all the superhero movies coming out but I do like the idea of the combined Avengers one that Marvel seems to be working towards and after watching both Iron Mans...well, guess I should give the whole universe a shot. Although Natalie Portman helped my
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/05/thor.html

    In all honesty I was kind of reluctant going into Thor. I'm not a huge fan of all the superhero movies coming out but I do like the idea of the combined Avengers one that Marvel seems to be working towards and after watching both Iron Mans...well, guess I should give the whole universe a shot. Although Natalie Portman helped my decision as well.

    So while I didn't go in with the openest of minds, I will say I did enjoy it. The action scenes were amazing as I knew they would be, combine that with the spectacular visuals of the other realms and this movie was very visually appealing (and this is without Portman mind you) so that alone was great. Not a movie you'd fall asleep in. I also really liked, again, the subtle notions towards the Avengers grand plot. Whether it was referring back to some scenes from Iron Man or even slight comments about the Hulk and others, very nice touch I always appreciate in movies. I guess my only down points to the movie would be the slowness of progression at some points. Mainly at the beginning but usually all the scenes when they were in the other world. It looked amazing..but not much going on there which kind of bored me. Another issue was some of the comedic relief...just didn't seem to bode well in some circumstances.

    Overall a great continuation of the Avengers series and great Superhero movie as well.
    Expand
  19. May 8, 2011
    10
    Thor was so much better than I thought it would be. A lover of highbrow, thought provoking movies. Wow, this was so much fun!! I was worried about no substance, all action, etc. and yeah, it kind of is. But, come on it's science fiction and fantasy mixed and does a good job at both. What more could you want? Oh, yeah, the hottest guy to hit the screen since Brad Pitt. As a classicalThor was so much better than I thought it would be. A lover of highbrow, thought provoking movies. Wow, this was so much fun!! I was worried about no substance, all action, etc. and yeah, it kind of is. But, come on it's science fiction and fantasy mixed and does a good job at both. What more could you want? Oh, yeah, the hottest guy to hit the screen since Brad Pitt. As a classical trained actor Thor comes across as a well educated, gallant, god of a man. Kenneth Braghnaugh combines the old and new with genuine laughs and only a few " Oh, no" groans at some cheesy lines. History buffs might me a little disappointed in the lack of backstories, but it finds it's way in in little patches. Hammer on God of Thunder!! Expand
  20. May 7, 2011
    10
    The reason I loved Thor was because it performed well on a few fronts. The Special Effects are the best to date. Thor is portrayed very closely to his comic character, in terms of Powers, attitude,etc. The arc of th story was well laid out and the pacing was balanced. It was a brilliant way to bring a really fantastic un-real world of Marvel Comics and Norse Mythology into an almostThe reason I loved Thor was because it performed well on a few fronts. The Special Effects are the best to date. Thor is portrayed very closely to his comic character, in terms of Powers, attitude,etc. The arc of th story was well laid out and the pacing was balanced. It was a brilliant way to bring a really fantastic un-real world of Marvel Comics and Norse Mythology into an almost plausible reality. Props to the principle cast, and Brannagh may be the ultimate reason this Stan Lee creation works so well on screen Expand
  21. May 8, 2011
    9
    Yesterday night I had the honor of watching Thor, and if I had to describe the experience, I would day that I was geniunely impressed. Allow me to go through each key category in detail (without spoilers) to show you how impressive this movie was:

    Story: This film had a surprisingly good storyline to it. It wasn't exactly groundbreaking or even excellent in this area, but it didn't have
    Yesterday night I had the honor of watching Thor, and if I had to describe the experience, I would day that I was geniunely impressed. Allow me to go through each key category in detail (without spoilers) to show you how impressive this movie was:

    Story: This film had a surprisingly good storyline to it. It wasn't exactly groundbreaking or even excellent in this area, but it didn't have to be. All that had to be done was for director Kenneth Branagh not to mess up. He didn't. 7/10

    Acting: This was the film's strong point. Each actor delivers a tremendous performence ESPECIALLY Chris Hemsworth as Thor and Tom Hiddleston as Loki. Loki plays out as a surprisingly complex character and Hiddleston steal every scene that he's in (no matter how briefly), however this movie belongs to Thor and Hemsworth assures that with his impressive performance. I also must mention Anthony Hopkins as Odin. Lastly, we have our (main?) villian, King Laufey, played by Colm Feore, who you should INSTANTLY recognize as the Lord Marshal from Chronicles of Riddick (They look EXACTLY the same). 9.5/10

    Visuals: Before I talk about visuals, I must mention that I saw this movie in 3D, and the only thing worth looking at in 3D is Natalie Portman, save your money and watch it in 2D. The CG in this movie was top notch, however, it's Asguard that shows the visual capabilities of this film and of film in general. Seeing Asgurd was when this film first impressed me, and it is a sight to behold.This movie is one of the best looking out there. 9/10

    Sound: Loud. 8/10 Action: Top notch. This wasn't some drunken editing hell like Harry Potter 7, this was fun, fluid action. The only problem is that there was less action than expected, and the biggest action scene happens around 10 minutes in. 8/10.

    Overall: This movie kicks ass, and does it in style. It again lives up to Marvel's high standards for Comic Book films. 8.5/10 (for Metacritic's sake, I'll round i up to 9)
    Expand
  22. May 6, 2011
    10
    I saw the movie. One word... Amazing. Branagh captures the essence of the comic and delivers a film that could be a strong contender to be the blockbuster of the summe...
  23. May 17, 2011
    9
    Great movie. Great balancing of action and comedy. It definitely is as good as Iron Man. Marvel proves once again that they are the only ones who can treat their properties the way they deserve. I wish there had been less Earth and more Asgard but overall quite a good and enjoyable movie.
  24. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Based on the marvel character of the same name, this live-action movie tells the story about Thor, a noble warrior who gets exiled by his father Odin to live on earth amongst the humans. There, he meets a scientist named Jane Foster, who teaches him lessons as his brother plots to send out his dark forces and take over all of Asgard. It is up to Thor to regain his strength and save the twoBased on the marvel character of the same name, this live-action movie tells the story about Thor, a noble warrior who gets exiled by his father Odin to live on earth amongst the humans. There, he meets a scientist named Jane Foster, who teaches him lessons as his brother plots to send out his dark forces and take over all of Asgard. It is up to Thor to regain his strength and save the two worlds.

    I caught the screening of this movie almost four months ago and enjoyed it. Now to my opinion.

    Bad: Some of the scenes have product placements like the 7-Eleven store, the Burger King soda drink, and it even had an IPOD mention. The story was lacking and the ending was too clichéd.

    Good: The actors were very good at their performances. Chris Hemsworth was very compelling as Thor and he had enough screen time. Natalie Portman was a lot of fun as Jane Porter and she was very funny. Tom Hiddleston was entertaining as Loki and had a lot of talent and Anthony Hopkins was also entertaining as Odin. The CGI and the settings were pretty good and the action scenes were amazing.

    Thor may not be the best movie of 2011, but it lives up to its potential of the comic books with neat special effects, solid acting, and great action scenes.

    7/10
    Expand
  25. May 8, 2011
    9
    A good job telling a very difficult story, both of my kids were on the edge of their seats for the battle scenes. I thought the acting was good and look forward to seeing more.
  26. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Now is the [summer] of our discontent." As pertaining to classically-trained Shakespearean actors starring in "high-concept" movies soon after the phenomenal success of "Jaws", surely it was Alec Guinness, who may have first thought those words on the set of "Star Wars", playing Obi-Wan Kenobi, a film and role he utterly despised. If not for the great white shark that terrorized Amity Beach vacationers just two years earlier, which put an end to the golden age of director-driven movies, Guinness, who played Exeter opposite Laurence Olivier in "Henry V" and then the title role in "Romeo and Juliet", probably wouldn't feel impelled to go anywhere near a light saber or a wrinkly green Jedi. Thirty years later, "selling out" has a new name; it's called "rebranding". And so it goes. Kenneth Branagh, director of the much-ballyhooed "Hamlet", could conceivably have said, "How did I come to this? I played Richard the Third,"(it was actually Alan Rickman in "Galaxy Quest"), because even though Asgard is a long ways off from the Crucible Theater(where Branagh played the Machiavellian king), "Thor", conversely, is also a long ways off from rubbing elbows with the likes of "Daredevil", "Ghost Rider" and "Catwoman". So even though nobody who knows Branagh in his previous incarnation as an Anglophile would be in his right mind to give him "five curtain calls"(like Rickman's Alexander Dane, who plays the Spockish alien Dr. Lazarus in the "Star Trek"-inspired show-within-the movie) for dumbing down with a movies that was motivated by careerism, this high-profile booster of Shakespeare's plays, as a trade-off, has earned himself some hearty applause from the discriminating fanboy, who may be unschooled in the works of the Bard, but can name every superhero in the comic book universe. Unlike Arnold in "Conan the Barbarian", the audience is laughing with Chris Hemsworth, not at him. Personality-wise, the title character is more Dark Horse than Dark Knight. In other words, Branagh uses comic relief as a counterpoint to the obligatory action set-pieces, in very much the same manner as "Hellboy". You don't take Batman to a diner for food and drink, or "sustenance", as Thor puts it, because if the Caped Crusader smashed a glass to the floor, patrons would be heading for the exit in droves. Unencumbered by childhood angst, Thor takes his new surroundings in stride, sporting a convivial spirit you wouldn't expect from a man of the tenth century. The Norse god is also a known entity to the world at-large. In the Guillermo del Toro original, Hellboy is immortalized in comic books("They never get the eyes right," the red creature muses aloud), whereas Thor inspires Erik Selvig, Jane's mentor, to check out "Myths and Legends of the Norse Gods" from the public library. But this isn't your grandfather's Asgard. The capital city of the Norse gods is the gaudiest thing this side of "Flash Gordon". Appropriately enough, Thor looks like a prototypical tight end, a football player, as was Flash, a QB, who finds himself on the planet Mongo, making like Fran Tarkenton in the court of Ming the Merciless, because Hans Zarkov knew that nefarious forces could be behind an unexpected total eclipse of the sun and a moon gone rogue. Resembling Zarkov, she alone keeps chasing wormholes in the New Mexico desert, because both scientists on the fringe believe that science fiction and science fact could very well be one and the same. As a result, she is more willing to accept the existence of Asgard than her hypothetical-minded colleague. When Odin banishes his war-mongering son to earth, the mode in which he travels through the space-time continuum(the body itself as a ship) resembles the interplanetary trip that the television actors make in "Galaxy Quest". Since Eric acknowledges the Norse god solely in its guise as a literary figure, and not the Avenger of Marvel lore, a juxtaposition presents itself, in which popular culture is shown to have replaced literature as the stuff that fuels young people's dreams. Whereas Eric, as a child, believed in something he read in a book, the young fan in "Galaxy Quest" swears that the cheesy space opera, something he saw on TV, is real, a surrogate religion. For the alien envoy who confuses the show for "historical documents"(read: Bible), it's religion personified, going so far as remaking themselves in God's image. For Brandon, receiving the transmission from the captain is akin to being a prophet, doing God's work from earth while the starship captain and his crew do battle in the celestial heavens. "Galaxy Quest" works as a metaphor for the validation of Scientology as a religion. In "Thor", the god that figures prominently in primitive Germanic religions, is recast in a sci-fi setting, so when Thor and his friends manifest themselves on earth, the Norse creation myth is validated. It's "Dianetics" in disguise. Expand
  27. May 6, 2011
    8
    Very entertaining. The opening sequence was obviously an homage to Lord of the Rings minus the 'epic' feel to it. I really loved all the Iron Man/Tony Stark, Hulk and The Avengers references. The emotional core of 'Thor' was surprisingly deep, it felt more human than the mechanical synthetic Iron Man 2. Loved the idea that a God can fall in love with a mortal woman. Chris Hemsworth isVery entertaining. The opening sequence was obviously an homage to Lord of the Rings minus the 'epic' feel to it. I really loved all the Iron Man/Tony Stark, Hulk and The Avengers references. The emotional core of 'Thor' was surprisingly deep, it felt more human than the mechanical synthetic Iron Man 2. Loved the idea that a God can fall in love with a mortal woman. Chris Hemsworth is perfect for the role and has some really funny scenes walking around New Mexico as the God of Thunder (he's delusional to everyone around him). I'm more into the reality-based superheroes (Batman), but I really enjoyed Thor. If you've been reading the Marvel Comics than you'll definitely love this one. The only problem I had with this movie was the jumping between Asgard and earth, made it feel like it was two different movies simultaneously and not in a good way. Stick around after the end credits for an Avengers spoiler. The Avengers can't come soon enough, really excited for that one! Although this is no Batman Begins or the first Iron Man, it really works as an introduction of the God of Thunder into the Marvel Universe.

    Favorite scene: very touching moment between Thor and his Mjolnir.
    Expand
  28. May 7, 2011
    9
    When i first came across this film, i thought this was gonna be cool. I am a big marvel fan so i decided to see it. It was amazing!! The special effects were excellent! The action was amazing! The acting was good. I mean I had a great time at the movies! Overall awesome.

    9/10
  29. May 11, 2011
    7
    It was an ok movie, but the problem was that it sold itself as an action movie, not the drama that I got. I will say that the characters had good chemistry and everything seemed to go well together. The main problem that i had with the plot was that they started it with WTF moment, and then explained with an hour long flashback, totally taking away the mystery factor that we were going toIt was an ok movie, but the problem was that it sold itself as an action movie, not the drama that I got. I will say that the characters had good chemistry and everything seemed to go well together. The main problem that i had with the plot was that they started it with WTF moment, and then explained with an hour long flashback, totally taking away the mystery factor that we were going to be presented with. Even though this movie had some major flaws, you must remember that this is merely a necessary step in the road to the Avengers movie. I certainly hope that Captain America will be better. Expand
  30. May 29, 2011
    10
    Exciting, captivating, visually stunning.

    These are just a few words that help sum up the superhero epic "Thor".

    The acting is sublime and the directing seems more than perfect, this is probably the best superhero movie made, sitting beside The Dark Knight of course!
  31. May 6, 2011
    10
    I saw Thor last night and it was done very well from a Comic standpoint! All the actors have played well together, very well. This turned out to be a fantastic Origins film. I would for sure recommend this Movie to anyone who is actively seeking a very entertaining, Comic movie!


    Watched in 3D
  32. May 7, 2011
    10
    The movie is flawed but thoroughly enjoyable. It has a certain charm to it that you have to see it in order to appreciate it. It has a little bit of everything, romance, action and drama. The visual effects are superb and the characters are pretty likeable.

    Highly recommended.
  33. May 6, 2011
    7
    very nice , it had some really good stuff and i never relized there were some many thing related to thor , there were so many charaters and so many things goint on that it was very entertainging. the plot was hard to follw maybe becuase i went to see it at 10 pm, but thats llife
  34. May 6, 2011
    10
    Better than the Iron Man movies, and the best Marvel movie since 2008's The Incredible Hulk. Loki may stand alongside Final Fantasy's Sephiroth as one of the best villains ever! I have a very good feeling now about Captain America and The Avengers. And don't worry, the post-converted 3D was actually done well. Two thumbs up!
  35. May 9, 2011
    9
    First and foremost, I have never been a big fan of superhero movies. I hated the Spiderman movies, liked but didn't love the Batman films, liked but didn't love the hulk movies, liked the first Iron man, hated the second. But this film really looked and felt like a comic book to me, which is the whole point. Most importantly, it actually had HUMOR. How refreshing. The special effectsFirst and foremost, I have never been a big fan of superhero movies. I hated the Spiderman movies, liked but didn't love the Batman films, liked but didn't love the hulk movies, liked the first Iron man, hated the second. But this film really looked and felt like a comic book to me, which is the whole point. Most importantly, it actually had HUMOR. How refreshing. The special effects were great. There were moments where the background looked drawn, especially Thor's world (or realm as he called it), but that added to the "comic book" feel to me. I saw it in Digital IMAX 3D, and it looked fantastic. I can take or leave 3D but love IMAX so the 3D just came along for the ride. At first the Natalie Portman character seems thrown in for the inevitable Hollywood love interest, but in the end I liked that he fell in love with a mortal from earth, and it sets up the sequel. Newcomer Chris Hemsworth is terrific, and all the supporting acting is up to par. Lots of action in the film - you won't be bored. Expand
  36. May 12, 2011
    8
    It was good. Better than I expected. At first, I thought it was going to suck. One thing ruined it....one thing. Yeah, you know what I'm talking about. Every movie, I mean EVERY movie has a romance angle in it. Sure he kicked ass but jeezus. Come on, even the god of thunder gets a little. Ugh, I hate romance angles, it screws up movies.
  37. May 6, 2011
    8
    Even though I was expecting something worth watching due to the cast, Thor exceeded my expectations. Beautifully shot realms of gods, mind blowing action scenes, good amount of humor and easy going Iron Man like plot left satisfactory feeling. I would give it 7.5 due to poor character development, but the system only allow 7 or 8.
  38. May 21, 2011
    7
    This movie was pretty enjoyable to watch. I'm a big Marvel fan so I came into this movie expecting quite a lot. It delivered for the most part. I liked the character of Thor and some of the scenes (especially at the beginning) are pretty fun to watch. If you're a fan of Marvel and the Marvel movies. If your not really into the comic book or superhero stuff, you should probably give it a miss.
  39. May 6, 2011
    10
    Good popcorn flick with lots of action. Definitely worth seeing in the theater but not in 3d. The film was not shot in real 3d so the 3d effect is poor and strains your eyes.
  40. May 6, 2011
    8
    Let's get this out of the way, check out the 2-D showing. The 3-D showing for me was unnecessary for the story, darkened the image and blurred the action. That aside Thor is a great introduction for those that don't read the comic. It managed to integrate "Gods" seamlessly into the Universe Marvel productions is building, a task I was concerned they couldn't manage.

    Kenneth Branagh has
    Let's get this out of the way, check out the 2-D showing. The 3-D showing for me was unnecessary for the story, darkened the image and blurred the action. That aside Thor is a great introduction for those that don't read the comic. It managed to integrate "Gods" seamlessly into the Universe Marvel productions is building, a task I was concerned they couldn't manage.

    Kenneth Branagh has managed to make a strong entry into the Marvel Film franchise giving us a film that in my opinion is on par with Iron Man. The central story is very Shakespearean, a young arrogant Prince who thinks he knows all, a jealous brother that delights in tricking his rival and a father determined to leave his realm in strong and most of all wise hands.

    The scenes in the 9 realms left me wanting more. The scenes on Earth, necessary mainly in preparation for The Avengers next year, played well with humour and action.

    Wisely the director cut back on inserting cameos of characters due to appear in The Avengers. This was a great flaw of Iron Man 2.

    All in all great fun, funny, exciting and left me wishing it had been a bit longer. Maybe their are cut scenes that can be re-integrated for a Directors Cut DVD.
    Expand
  41. May 6, 2011
    8
    They managed to make a comic movie plot driven rather than action driven. Not that the action wasn't there, it was. This movie proved that not EVERY comic movie has to end with a half hour long "Transformers" like battle in the middle of a major city. How cliche that is becoming! Kudos to all involved in Thor for showing that comics and comic movies can be real art too.

    Now I am not
    They managed to make a comic movie plot driven rather than action driven. Not that the action wasn't there, it was. This movie proved that not EVERY comic movie has to end with a half hour long "Transformers" like battle in the middle of a major city. How cliche that is becoming! Kudos to all involved in Thor for showing that comics and comic movies can be real art too.

    Now I am not saying that this movie is even close to being on par with any of the great movie classics, but it is good art, much better and deeper than the majority of comic movies. The people who hate this movie will be the same people who loved transformers and that certainly is not me.
    Expand
  42. May 11, 2011
    10
    I loved Thor because it was funny and the actor who played him, portrayed Thor perfectly. I did not like however how Natalie portman didn't get nude or **** Thor.
  43. May 21, 2011
    9
    I totally enjoyed the movie and it's better seen at a Theater to get the full effects & the sound. The movie showed two story lines...one of Asgard and how Thor & Loki came to be & their relationship with their father Odin, and a story on how Thor was discovered when he was on Earth, with a love story thrown in between. The actor who portrayed Thor was perfect for the part, and so wasI totally enjoyed the movie and it's better seen at a Theater to get the full effects & the sound. The movie showed two story lines...one of Asgard and how Thor & Loki came to be & their relationship with their father Odin, and a story on how Thor was discovered when he was on Earth, with a love story thrown in between. The actor who portrayed Thor was perfect for the part, and so was his love interest - Natalie Portman. I just think it was a good movie to watch for entertainment...you won't be disappointed, especially if you grew up reading comics about Marvel super heroes. I hope Disney does more movies on Marvel's list of super heroes that they gained with their purchased of the Marvel company. Expand
  44. Mar 20, 2016
    7
    Kenneth Branagh invests this comicbook epic with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension.

    Neither the star pupil nor the dunce of the Marvel superhero-to-screen class, “Thor” delivers the goods so long as butt is being kicked and family conflict is playing out in celestial dimensions, but is less thrilling during the Norse warrior god’s rather brief banishment on Earth.
    Kenneth Branagh invests this comicbook epic with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension.

    Neither the star pupil nor the dunce of the Marvel superhero-to-screen class, “Thor” delivers the goods so long as butt is being kicked and family conflict is playing out in celestial dimensions, but is less thrilling during the Norse warrior god’s rather brief banishment on Earth. With Aussie hunk Chris Hemsworth impressive in the lead and helmer Kenneth Branagh investing the dramatic passages with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension, pic looks sure to reap big B.O. on the strength of its ready-made audience, but faces a tougher time attracting viewers for whom this type of fare is the exception rather than the rule.

    Although the comicbook has been in print since 1962, Thor hasn’t scored much more than supporting roles and guest spots in various toons and telepics since. With this in mind, scripters Ashley Edward Miller, Zack Stentz and Don Payne have wisely penned an unhurried but engrossing half-hour setup of the lesser-known Marvel character and the three worlds he inhabits.

    Opening snapshot in New Mexico finds astrophysicist Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), her gal-pal/assistant Darcy Lewis (Kat Dennings) and Jane’s mentor, Dr. Erik Sevig (Stellan Skarsgard) investigating a twister-like atmospheric disturbance. In their haste to discover what’s come down in the storm, their RV knocks down Thor (Hemsworth), a buff and bearded stranger.

    Bulk of the action in the first couple of reels sets up Thor’s fall from grace in his homeland, Asgard, a heavenly realm ruled by his supremely wise but aging father, Odin (Anthony Hopkins). Just moments away from peacefully ascending the throne ahead of brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston), Thor leaps into an eye-popping interdimensional portal and leads an unauthorized attack on Jotunheim, home to their enemies, the Frost Giants, led by reptile-like Laufey (Colm Feore). Odin’s punishment: Thor is dispatched to Midgard (Earth) with his magical hammer, Mjolnir, but cannot use the mighty instrument until he overcomes the classic mythological shortcomings of arrogance and impetuosity.

    Speckled with amusing fish-out-of-water humor as Thor marches around a dusty New Mexico town like he’s still in Asgard, the story promises much from the attentions of government agent Coulson (Clark Gregg) and Thor’s brewing confrontation with the Destroyer, a hulking creation that resembles a high-tech suit of armor and shoots fire from its eyes. He’s joined in this endeavor by Asgard warrior pals Sif (Jaimie Alexander), Volstagg (Ray Stevenson), Fandral (Josh Dallas), and Hogun (Tadanobu Asano).

    Yet Thor’s smackdown with the Destroyer is all too brief and anticlimactic when stacked up against the spectacularly rendered rumbles in other dimensions. Though Thor’s romance with Jane is passable, thanks largely to Portman’s sterling work in a thinly written role, the couple isn’t given enough alone time or meaningful dialogue to raise the relationship above the ordinary.

    It’s a different matter in the heavens. Hopkins rises to the occasion with a restrained yet powerful portrayal of a father forced by conscience to deal the bitterest of judgments upon his chosen heir, and Hiddleston gives a finely tuned perf as the sibling whose loyalty or otherwise to Thor remains a tantalizing question until deep into proceedings. Almost unrecognizable as the star of Aussie soap “Home and Away” in the mid-2000s, Hemsworth holds his own in distinguished company and will serve the series well in any sequels and “The Avengers,” Marvel’s all-star superhero bash skedded for 2012 release. Given only a handful of lines, Rene Russo is under-used as Odin’s wife, Frigga.

    As the living actor and director most closely associated with Shakespeare, Branagh may seem a surprise choice for such material. A childhood reader of the comics, he brings a fan’s enthusiasm and his skill as an actor’s director to the table here. Fitting Hemsworth out with a classical but never pompous British accent and shooting emotionally charged sequences with elegant simplicity, Branagh succeeds in rendering his mythological characters deeply human.

    While no fatal missteps are taken along Thor’s path to redemption, pic has a slightly choppy feel, as if it’s trying to squeeze an origin tale and at least part of its sequel into a single entity. Most of the material motors along just fine, though the editing occasionally seems a bit too hurried in moving from one dimension to the next. An extra reel of Earth-bound story might not have gone astray.

    Effects work is on the money, with the suspended, glowing Bitfrost gateway from Asgard to other worlds an eye-catching highlight. All other technical credits are thoroughly pro.
    Expand
  45. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    Really entertaining. Not even totally sure why but it was great. It's about as entertaining as any comic movie can be. I'll reserve 8 -10 for comic book movies on par with the Dark Knight.
  46. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    I've never read a Thor comic and I expected this movie to be dire, in fact I was pleasantly surprised, it's not as bad as it could (or should - the idea of Thor sounds ropey) have been. I thought the visuals of Asgard were fantastic, they managed to somehow make a mythological realm of the gods actually feel 'real'. It left me wanting to see more adventures with Thor in.
  47. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    Surprisingly I really enjoyed Thor. It is dense, two hours dense; these aren’t the greatest characters in the world; and the dutch angle can get annoying. However, I’m willing to overlook these flaws because the main characters are for the most part likeable and well acted with Chris Hemsworth killing at as for, some nice character moments as opposed to a whole action fest, some enjoyableSurprisingly I really enjoyed Thor. It is dense, two hours dense; these aren’t the greatest characters in the world; and the dutch angle can get annoying. However, I’m willing to overlook these flaws because the main characters are for the most part likeable and well acted with Chris Hemsworth killing at as for, some nice character moments as opposed to a whole action fest, some enjoyable action, and some epic moments. If you’re a fan of superhero movies check this one out, which is easier than ever since it is on Netflix as I am writing this. Even if you don’t think it’s as good as Iron Man you’ll still be really entertained. If you aren’t a fan of the superhero movies than you can sit this one out since this one isn’t doing anything ground breaking that’ll change your mind. As for me, like I said before, I really enjoyed this film. It did a fantastic job establishing Thor and got me excited for The Avengers. Hopefully the sequel will surprise me as well although it has a lot to live up to if it wants to be as entertaining as this film. Expand
  48. Jul 26, 2011
    7
    This movie was very entertaining. It had its moments. Although not a comedy movie we will never forget the moment when the interrogation was happening as we still laugh at that joke (albeit it may not have been intended as a joke). I didn't see the real point of it being in 3D as it was not nearly as entertaining as other movies in terms of being 3D. Nonetheless this story and the actionThis movie was very entertaining. It had its moments. Although not a comedy movie we will never forget the moment when the interrogation was happening as we still laugh at that joke (albeit it may not have been intended as a joke). I didn't see the real point of it being in 3D as it was not nearly as entertaining as other movies in terms of being 3D. Nonetheless this story and the action in it was great. Again, it could have been better though. Expand
  49. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    So much is done right in Thor that you forget what could have gone horribly wrong. The artistic flair exhibited in the other-worldly scenes is smashing. Get off your rear, and go out and enjoy a good old comic book action fest while it's still in theaters.
  50. May 18, 2011
    7
    This is by no means an excellent movie, but it was entertaining. The art was fantastic, although the 3D didn't add much. The romance didn't make sense and was unnecessary....pretty unrealistic. They should of expanded on that aspect in order to get the plot they were looking for. The 3D end credits were amazing, worth seeing the movie just for that. Oh, and String Bell was a bas ass.
  51. May 13, 2011
    8
    Maybe not the best "comic-book adaptation" movie of all time, but still hugely entertaining and just plain pop corn fun. A perfect start to "summer" flicks season. In 3D (which I sometimes despise as it 's not always necessary for a good movie) it looked fantastic, gorgeously crafted Asgard, the Ice world of Ice giants etc. all looked great. The characters were interesting and funny, in aMaybe not the best "comic-book adaptation" movie of all time, but still hugely entertaining and just plain pop corn fun. A perfect start to "summer" flicks season. In 3D (which I sometimes despise as it 's not always necessary for a good movie) it looked fantastic, gorgeously crafted Asgard, the Ice world of Ice giants etc. all looked great. The characters were interesting and funny, in a good way, at times, the lead actor was solid and almost seemed perfect for the role a Thor. Just please don't take this flick seriously, it's made for simple, not stupid, mind you, FUN only. Expand
  52. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    If you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80sIf you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80s 'classics' like Flash Gordon or Krull). The movie really succeeds at this, feeling like it has just leaped off the page and into celluloid. It's exactly as it should be: Colorful, light, action packed and very, very daft. Thor is an extremely fun romp from start to finish and one of the most refreshing super hero movies of recent memory. Expand
  53. May 18, 2011
    7
    Very enjoyable summer movie, reminiscent to Iron Man I, with quality acting, decent writing (for a summer movie), good special effects, and a few laugh out-loud moments. It moves along well, through several interesting settings. The 3D IMAX provides added punch with some quality special effects. A great escapist matinee.
  54. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    Surprisingly good. I thought it was even better than X-men first class. I think what got me the most was the great mix of action and humor which reminded me of the first Iron man.
  55. May 18, 2011
    8
    Though the final battle is a little anti-climactic, Thor does a great job of transitioning between Asgaard and Earth and the interconnectivity of the two. There was not a single time I can think of that the movie was boring or that I wished a scene would move on so we could get to the good stuff. A solid, thoroughly entertaining first effort for Thor and with a little more time spent onThough the final battle is a little anti-climactic, Thor does a great job of transitioning between Asgaard and Earth and the interconnectivity of the two. There was not a single time I can think of that the movie was boring or that I wished a scene would move on so we could get to the good stuff. A solid, thoroughly entertaining first effort for Thor and with a little more time spent on strengthening the chemistry between Thor and Jane I think Thor's next outing will solidify him as one of the premier superhero movie franchises. The 3D was not overdone or used just for the sake of using it. The art style for Asgaard was a sight to be hold, total eye candy. I would have liked a little more backstory explaining the backstory between the Asgaardians and the Frost Giants but other than the less than thrilling ending, that was the only other negative I can report. Chris Hemsworth was born for the role and Kat Dennings provides some good comic relief, I'd like to see her have a larger role in the next one. I went in with low expectations and came out thoroughly entertained. Highly recommend, especially if you can see it in IMAX. Two thumbs up! Expand
  56. May 11, 2011
    8
    I think the film was fantastic. So many of these hero flicks are pure origin first time around and I thought with THOR, not being one of the most well known character, would be a major origin story. They blazed through that part and got it out of the way though. From there it was a cool story, cool plot, not insanely original, great fx, great action. I'm not overly critical of movies, II think the film was fantastic. So many of these hero flicks are pure origin first time around and I thought with THOR, not being one of the most well known character, would be a major origin story. They blazed through that part and got it out of the way though. From there it was a cool story, cool plot, not insanely original, great fx, great action. I'm not overly critical of movies, I want to enjoy them, plain and simple, and this movie I did. It's a good time. Worth the price of the ticket. Expand
  57. May 15, 2011
    9
    The reason I loved Thor was because it performed well on a few fronts. The Special Effects are the best to date. Thor is portrayed very closely to his comic character, in terms of Powers, attitude,etc. The arc of th story was well laid out and the pacing was balanced. It was a brilliant way to bring a really fantastic un-real world of Marvel Comics
  58. May 8, 2011
    9
    Solid story, solid acting, great special effects. The movie is very faithful to the source material (which will please comic geeks), but is approachable enough that casual audiences can enjoy it as well. I'd avoid seeing it in 3D. The film wasn't shot with 3D in mind so it really doesn't add anything to the experience and really may take away slightly from optimal viewing because itSolid story, solid acting, great special effects. The movie is very faithful to the source material (which will please comic geeks), but is approachable enough that casual audiences can enjoy it as well. I'd avoid seeing it in 3D. The film wasn't shot with 3D in mind so it really doesn't add anything to the experience and really may take away slightly from optimal viewing because it makes CG effects harder to follow. Overall I'd say its as good as the first Iron Man, but lacks an actor with the presence that Robert Downey, Jr brings to the screen. Expand
  59. May 6, 2011
    9
    I really loved this movie. All the humor was great and I never seen this many people laugh at some of these jokes. Granted that it had a few hiccups here and there which did not get the 10 but enough that its worth going at the middle of the night just to watch a movie. Stan Lee cameo was great and loved the character progression. I would recommend anyone to watch it.
  60. May 16, 2011
    8
    I greatly enjoyed this movie,it has to be said.Before watching,i wasnt sure i would when i heard that most of it is set in Asgard,but i liked the whole Asgard setting & events.Though Asgard seemed quite lifeless.The Warriors 3 were somewhat underused,& mainly serve as a distraction for the Destroyer later on,& i dont see how Thor could 'change his ways' in such a short space of time onI greatly enjoyed this movie,it has to be said.Before watching,i wasnt sure i would when i heard that most of it is set in Asgard,but i liked the whole Asgard setting & events.Though Asgard seemed quite lifeless.The Warriors 3 were somewhat underused,& mainly serve as a distraction for the Destroyer later on,& i dont see how Thor could 'change his ways' in such a short space of time on Earth,especially as nothing particually profound happend to him,but they had to fit it all into a movie i guess.. Also,seemed a waste just having the earth moments set in some small town in the desert(hardly a place to match the events surrounding Gods).. but as i said at the beginning,i enjoyed this movie at the end of the day.When there was action,it was good,& suprisingly enjoyed the rivalries & politics of the Gods in Asgard.Thor,Loki & Odin were all played really well i thought.Would like to see Thor wear his helmet more in his future appearences though,so he'd look more Thor/Godlike & true to the comic,instead of the Token taking it off in this movie though. Expand
  61. May 23, 2011
    7
    Thor is just merely too short and lacks the depth action films potentially have. But overall, it is a visually dazzling summer blockbuster packed with clever writing and excellent performances.
  62. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Hmm very mixed bag this one, read the comics as a kid but never really got hooked on the character, this movie spends a great deal of time on Thor's vanity more than anything else, by the time the real story is kicking in the credits are close. Not a bad movie but probably the weakest origin movie so far.
  63. May 6, 2011
    7
    An average quality superhero movie. Although there were quite a few boring, predictable, cringe-worthy moments, the mix-up of the classic "hero gets powers, learns to use them, has final exam against villain" formula is actually quite refreshing, and the main villain is more interesting than the usual human shaped bag of evil extract. Not as good as the recent Iron man or Batman movies,An average quality superhero movie. Although there were quite a few boring, predictable, cringe-worthy moments, the mix-up of the classic "hero gets powers, learns to use them, has final exam against villain" formula is actually quite refreshing, and the main villain is more interesting than the usual human shaped bag of evil extract. Not as good as the recent Iron man or Batman movies, but worth a watch. Just try to ignore the pointless and inexplicable romance. Expand
  64. May 18, 2011
    10
    I just saw Thor about an hour ago and i have to say it isn't as good as others made it seem. the movie its self was well made and had great graphics, humour was in the right places but there could've been more of it... and i really don't see why directors have to include romance in everything they make... they fell for each other in like, a day. I thought Thor would be more of a BOOM,I just saw Thor about an hour ago and i have to say it isn't as good as others made it seem. the movie its self was well made and had great graphics, humour was in the right places but there could've been more of it... and i really don't see why directors have to include romance in everything they make... they fell for each other in like, a day. I thought Thor would be more of a BOOM, BOOM, SMASH, BANG, sort of film, but it was really more talk and less fight. and when there were fights, enemies hat look like they would take a 10 minute fight to kill were dead in seconds.
    However i guess its all made up for in the epic plot, plus Loki and that guard dude are some badass guys! :D
    Expand
  65. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    The entire film is supported by an all-star cast and each one delivers a pretty darn good performance. Every scene in Asgard, Jotunheim, and in between those two locations quite simply steals the show. I was mesmerized with these settings and I wish we could have seen more of them. Earth is lackluster when compared to the aforementioned locations, but Thor does make it a tab bit moreThe entire film is supported by an all-star cast and each one delivers a pretty darn good performance. Every scene in Asgard, Jotunheim, and in between those two locations quite simply steals the show. I was mesmerized with these settings and I wish we could have seen more of them. Earth is lackluster when compared to the aforementioned locations, but Thor does make it a tab bit more interesting. The presence of Hopkins is always appreciated and Skarsgard is magnificent as always. Hemsworth is not bad either! This film looks spectacular on Blu-Ray! Expand
  66. May 7, 2011
    7
    Yes the movie is predictable, but unless you are watching indie-movies ONLY, this will be the case for all able-minded people out there. Therefore I love this movie for its costumes, its take on norse mythology(i grew up with these stories as well), and the sheer bad-assery of Thor and Mjølner. However the movie can be too tongue-in-cheek at times, especially when its theYes the movie is predictable, but unless you are watching indie-movies ONLY, this will be the case for all able-minded people out there. Therefore I love this movie for its costumes, its take on norse mythology(i grew up with these stories as well), and the sheer bad-assery of Thor and Mjølner. However the movie can be too tongue-in-cheek at times, especially when its the wrong time. If you liked Iron Man 1, you will like this one too. 3D CAN GO F**** OFF, because this movie really doesn't need it Expand
  67. May 7, 2011
    7
    Excellent movie for type of movie it is. No bones about it this IS a comic book movie but for a comic book movie it has a surprising amount of heart.
  68. May 8, 2011
    8
    I like this adoption of the Kirby/Stan Lee superhero, this is where you have to start, sense none of the paid critics seem to have knowledge of these comic book creators. Thor is brash and was a warrior first then he began to become humble after Odin's lashing in the comic books. The detail is Jack Kirby's the Artist that brought Asgard to life on the pages of Marvel true to form with lotsI like this adoption of the Kirby/Stan Lee superhero, this is where you have to start, sense none of the paid critics seem to have knowledge of these comic book creators. Thor is brash and was a warrior first then he began to become humble after Odin's lashing in the comic books. The detail is Jack Kirby's the Artist that brought Asgard to life on the pages of Marvel true to form with lots of 'Goddy' detail in the scenery of Asgard and plenty of violence. Odin proved to be as omnipotent as ever and Thor's Hammer is the Weapon of choice.

    Overall I thought it was good but the next installment should bring better parts and outfits for the Lady Sif,
    and the Warriors three, and they need to include thors helmet which all vikings took into battle. Finally I wonder why Stan Lee and his writers omitted Balder the Brave from the Asgard crew.
    Expand
  69. May 8, 2011
    9
    Great actors, awesome action sequences, and some truly funny moments overcome a few poor bits of dialog and some shoddy CG. Chris Hemsworth as Thor is hard not to love and elevates this movie to a level it should not rightly be at. A great film.
  70. May 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When it comes to making a movie about the origins of the Thunder God Thor in the Marvel Universe, I feel that Thor was made well. From the simple story of how an arrogant young god embraces the important lessons that make him a hero, to the action sequences that draw audiences, Branagh and the cast of Thor have done a marvelous job. Let's not forget that the point of a hero in a comic book is to BE THE HERO. In Thor we are taken on a wild ride into a marvelous world where science and magic are one in the same. To me, Thor is an ancient epic made for the silver screen. We see the hero's journey, we see his growth and ultimately we see him triumph. The special effects that we are so used to seeing now are so overdone that it feels like i'm watching a movie from a computer game more than a movie made with real life people acting in it. In Thor the special effects are used well. They are able to give the story life rather than being the major driving force of the story itself. Though the plot was very thin, the execution of the plot was well done. I'm not a major Thor fan, (favorite is Captain America) but I did enjoy the movie from start to finish. I enjoyed the bard's touch that Branagh adds to the film through the prologue and the eventual climax of the film was not without its merit. The film had just the amount of comedy, action and seriousness that matters. To those who haven't seen the movie, I suggest, absolutely, that you spend the time to watch and enjoy this film. Expand
  71. May 10, 2011
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised! There were some great action scenes, and I actually appreciated the back and forth between Natalie Portman's character and Hemsworth's. Not a mind blowing movie, I still think the original Iron Man movie is better, but this movie holds its own and is worth seeing.
  72. May 15, 2011
    7
    A+ for fantasy, sci fi, action.
    A+ for the cast.
    A for family, friend dynamics. B for humor. C for the love story. D for the cheesy aspect. I love it when people kick butt and take names. And the dichotomy between modern society and mythical / other universe - fabulous! It's a beautiful thing folks, much like mixing rap & Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Tickles me fancy. And the cast!
    A+ for fantasy, sci fi, action.
    A+ for the cast.
    A for family, friend dynamics.
    B for humor.
    C for the love story.
    D for the cheesy aspect.

    I love it when people kick butt and take names. And the dichotomy between modern society and mythical / other universe - fabulous! It's a beautiful thing folks, much like mixing rap & Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Tickles me fancy. And the cast! Schweet!

    Thor is one of my favorite stories. Loved the family and friend dynamics and the conflict. Love story was a bit too much for me and there were some cheesy parts, but over all a pretty good story with cute humor.

    "Take it back! Take back what you said about Thor!" a line from one of my favorite movies Adventures in Babysitting.
    Expand
  73. May 15, 2011
    7
    I loved the visual style and the performance of the main cast , especially from tom hiddleston. All the little cameos were also fun. But my main issue was that the story didn't draw me in enough, the uselessness of the Warriors Three, and the borderline slapstick humor mid way during the film.
  74. May 16, 2011
    10
    Thor was an epic and fun experience, with a little bit of everything. It has a good sense of humor, a ton of fantastic special effects, a great plot twist, and most of all, a story of "godly" proportions. I had a great time viewing Thor, and I would gladly view another time or two.
  75. May 16, 2011
    8
    Surprisingly good. People who rate this below 7 are trying too hard.
    It's got action, comedy, romance, and touching moments. A worthy watch. Not much else to say.
  76. May 21, 2011
    8
    It's such a thrill to see a fun superhero movie again - the dark and moody craze appears to be at an end. The cast are on top form - Hemsworth really does take the god of thunder on a believable journey, Hiddleston admirably portrays a rather complex villain and Dennings provides most of the laughs. But as usual, Anthony Hopkins is simply playing Anthony Hopkins. While the story may take aIt's such a thrill to see a fun superhero movie again - the dark and moody craze appears to be at an end. The cast are on top form - Hemsworth really does take the god of thunder on a believable journey, Hiddleston admirably portrays a rather complex villain and Dennings provides most of the laughs. But as usual, Anthony Hopkins is simply playing Anthony Hopkins. While the story may take a while to get going, there's so much in Thor to enjoy - fantasy, action, comedy and romance are all seamlessly woven throughout. Expand
  77. May 21, 2011
    7
    Solid action flick. Generally entertaining, but the plot ends up falling a bit flat. As long as it isn't held to too high a standard, it fulfills its purpose. Watch if you enjoy action movies without much of a plot. Good references to Norse mythology as well.
  78. May 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quite well done.

    It felt as there wasn't quite enough action but it handled the story very well as a first movie should, it was able to just lay out the storyline. Its not very easy to not only introduce a new character but to try and explain and entire new dimension to new audiences not familiar with it.

    One thing that kinda irked me was after he defeated the destroyer, he was just like i am you ally now. The shield never explained who they even were to Thor, and Thor never even explained who he was to them.

    Overall great film, negative 1 point for some things here and there.
    Expand
  79. May 26, 2011
    8
    just a fun movie. Its funny, has decent action, and better acting than I anticipated. The likes of iron man and dark knight make this super hero movie seem not up to par, but it shines in its own way. not societal commentary, just space vikings with lightning powers. Good marvel super hero movie, should set up the avengers movie well. I cant wait to see the banter between stark and thor.
  80. May 26, 2011
    7
    Norse mythology is great and all, but the WAY over-the-top action kinda gets repetitive and boring. At least Thor has its good moments, like his hammer, Mjolnir.
  81. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This movie was EPIC! I absolutely loved this movie, the action was amazing. Chris Hemsworth, although I never heard of him before this movie was a perfect fit for this film. He has the perfect look and size for Thor. The only reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is because it got a little corny at times, but thats understanding though because its tough to make a comic book movie like thisThis movie was EPIC! I absolutely loved this movie, the action was amazing. Chris Hemsworth, although I never heard of him before this movie was a perfect fit for this film. He has the perfect look and size for Thor. The only reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is because it got a little corny at times, but thats understanding though because its tough to make a comic book movie like this and make it perfectly realistic, It definitely does not deserve the ratings it is getting from critics. I've seen it twice and plan on seeing it another, great movie, overall, 9.5/10, now I can't wait to see Thor in the Avengers May 4th of 2012! Expand
  82. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    I went into this film with very low expectations. I'm not usually one who enjoys the superhero genre. However, this movie, much like Batman Begins, was a brilliant experience for me. The underlying themes of jealously, betrayal, and coming of age - timeless, were here executed into an almost operatic crescendo. The film is let down at some points with some pretty banal dialogue where theI went into this film with very low expectations. I'm not usually one who enjoys the superhero genre. However, this movie, much like Batman Begins, was a brilliant experience for me. The underlying themes of jealously, betrayal, and coming of age - timeless, were here executed into an almost operatic crescendo. The film is let down at some points with some pretty banal dialogue where the characters are attempting to be witty, or add humor to an otherwise dramatic scene - and this sometimes falls flat. But these small niggles aside, Thor is an exciting, adventurous, and engaging film. Lots of fun, and with some truly epic moments. Anthony Hopkins is magnificent as Odin. I'm somewhat at a loss to understand why many critics are canning this film, as I found it to be very entertaining. Expand
  83. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    This movie is full of great visuals and great acting (although a little cheesy at times). This movie is highly entertaining. However, I am a little disappointed that the final battle was a little anti-climatic, but I see why they didn't do that. They have to leave Thor some awesomeness for the Avengers!
  84. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Solid acting by absolutely everyone. Direction and writing were excellent. Couldn't ask for a more entertaining movie. Just good fun. Loved the fact that they spent enough time in Asgard and didn't spend a bunch of time on earth just because it's cheaper to film. Portman and Hemsworth had great chemistry and were totally believable in their roles.
  85. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    The movie was visually stunning, but I felt that if failed to captivate the viewers. The plot seemed very silly to begin with. And the fights were far from satisfying. In the same genre, Iron Man was the best example in recent times of captivating story telling.
  86. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    A terrific start to the 2011 summer. The acting is great, there's good storytelling, the fight sequences, and the film stays true to the comics. Chris Hemsworth makes a terrific Thor, and that's a great thing. Everyone did a good job too, especially Idris Elba. I loved this movie very much, and I can't wait for The Avengers.
    Keep it up, Marvel.
  87. Jun 10, 2011
    7
    It is an ok movie, it has good parts and bad parts. The action is good but kinde overrated, the story is ok but not the best. Ive seen way better super hero movies, but its not too bad
  88. Jun 8, 2011
    8
    Thor blends mythology and superhero together so well that at times you forget which one is which. This is a must see for any person planning on watching The Avengers. However if your not a true fan of comic book films its better that you pass on this one.
  89. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love this film. Casting was great and they got the right mixture of new talent and great existing talent. The story is ever so slightly confusing if you don't follow it properly but I understood and enjoyed it. Some will say it is cheesy, but good super hero films started out as cheesy and this is just a modern super hero film with the old element added that makes it great. Cannot waitI love this film. Casting was great and they got the right mixture of new talent and great existing talent. The story is ever so slightly confusing if you don't follow it properly but I understood and enjoyed it. Some will say it is cheesy, but good super hero films started out as cheesy and this is just a modern super hero film with the old element added that makes it great. Cannot wait for The Avengers and wish the sequel would get the go ahead. Expand
  90. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    The movie was a lot of fun with a neat story. Chris Hemmsworth did a very good job and Natalie Portman was amazing as usual. This movie is well worth the watch if you are a big comic book movie fan and worth the watch if you just want to have a good afternoon movie.
  91. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Amusing, entertaining and very predictable. It was a very decent effort but the human scientist girlfriend was not a very believable side story. I definitely liked the way it laid out the relationships between the realms and S.H.I.E.L.D was worked in nicely. With the exception of the Nordic physics professor getting tipsy and having to be carried home there was really no reason for this toAmusing, entertaining and very predictable. It was a very decent effort but the human scientist girlfriend was not a very believable side story. I definitely liked the way it laid out the relationships between the realms and S.H.I.E.L.D was worked in nicely. With the exception of the Nordic physics professor getting tipsy and having to be carried home there was really no reason for this to be PG-13. Expand
  92. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    While adding to the Marvel movies that have been made. This is definitely on the top ten's in my list.

    Enough mix of humor, action and sci-fi awesomeness. Thor really delivers what you expect from a comic book Norse God. Many things could have gone wrong with this movie, I hate to admit that they did make it great. A movie worthy of a God! The Actor's and Actresses are great! Chris
    While adding to the Marvel movies that have been made. This is definitely on the top ten's in my list.

    Enough mix of humor, action and sci-fi awesomeness. Thor really delivers what you expect from a comic book Norse God. Many things could have gone wrong with this movie, I hate to admit that they did make it great. A movie worthy of a God!

    The Actor's and Actresses are great! Chris Hemsworth and Natalie Portman really hit it off well. Tom Hiddleston and Anthony Hopkins were great!

    I did feel that the story was a bit fast, they did not expand on what Thor does as a normal mortal human being. I did enjoy Asgard and all the mythology that come with it. It makes me wonder on what actually the mythology is.

    Over-all, Thor is a great film. Funny, Action packed and also full of science fiction!

    A movie worthy for the God of Thunder!

    a great start for Marvel Studios this year!
    Expand
  93. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    THOR IS A PURE ACTION FULL OF STORY AND DRAMA OF GODS. AMAZING MOVIE OF 2011. ACCORDING TO ME IN THE WHOLE AVENGERS TEAM THE COOLEST ACTION HERO IS THOR, WHICH MEANS THOR (THE GOD OF THUNDER) REALLY ROCKS. DON'T MISS THE BEST ACTION MOVIE OF 2011. BUY IT ON BLU-RAY OR DVD. GO FOR IT!!!!
  94. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    I liked Thor better than either Iron Man. Iron Man as hero is very complex and nuanced, really a despicable amoral character who proves himself by doing deeds aligned with good. Thor is much more a of a true heroic character, simpler--and harder to make believable to modern audiences. The movie has Thor travel an arc starting from rebellious warrior; very similar in frequency to, being aI liked Thor better than either Iron Man. Iron Man as hero is very complex and nuanced, really a despicable amoral character who proves himself by doing deeds aligned with good. Thor is much more a of a true heroic character, simpler--and harder to make believable to modern audiences. The movie has Thor travel an arc starting from rebellious warrior; very similar in frequency to, being a heretic, "rebellionism" to use a healer's word. His character arc is for this part to die, all the way, the old rebellious warrior has to die. The movie keeps its focus on this arc into death and then back to a redeemed frequency aligned with the Highest Good, represented by Anthony Hopkins. The third act set piece with the giant monster is all within this context and therefore does not feel tacked on or stop the flow to make way for obligatory action scene. I experienced Chris Hemsworth coherent as Thor, actor, role and archetype all lined up and integrated.

    This is a movie with an outsize imagination. Movies like this rarely do well because there are so many moving parts: physical, imaginal, emotional, mental and mythological. Creating an upward spiral of emotion almost always gets lost. The Priest is only the latest example. I felt Branagh handled this much better than most comic book movies; and again, better than either iron Man. I also liked this better than Branagh's other recent movies. as someone who grew up with Jack Kirby's Thor, I was afraid Branagh would make Thor either too Shakespearean or not Shakespearean enuf. He walks this line well and keeps the characters alive very well for a comic book film.
    Expand
  95. Jul 17, 2011
    7
    Thor would have been so easy for film makers to screw up; an armoured super hero with a magic hammer and red cape in modern times is something that was very tricky to get right, and at least not totally ridiculous. Well, Im happy to say that while the movie Thor is certainly not perfect and has a few problems, is still enjoyable enough to make it worth your while. The characters are funThor would have been so easy for film makers to screw up; an armoured super hero with a magic hammer and red cape in modern times is something that was very tricky to get right, and at least not totally ridiculous. Well, Im happy to say that while the movie Thor is certainly not perfect and has a few problems, is still enjoyable enough to make it worth your while. The characters are fun enough, the setting is interesting, and the character arc of Thor works. The love story does seem a bit forced, one of the comic relief characters is annoying and unnecessary, and the scenes in the on earth are a bit flat compared to the scene in the world in which Thor originates; however what we have is fun, and enjoyable enough to watch compared to most popular movies. Im interested in seeing where Thor goes from here. Expand
  96. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    I had never been a fan of Thor, and never really wanted to be. But...I like comic book/super hero movies so I went to see it. It was great. Once again, critics are full of themselves and can't enjoy a good movie. What a perfect blend of a Norse viking movie combined with high tek sci-fi. The acting was really good. This was definitely a movie that is better in 3D. See this movie if youI had never been a fan of Thor, and never really wanted to be. But...I like comic book/super hero movies so I went to see it. It was great. Once again, critics are full of themselves and can't enjoy a good movie. What a perfect blend of a Norse viking movie combined with high tek sci-fi. The acting was really good. This was definitely a movie that is better in 3D. See this movie if you like the genre, it was great. Expand
  97. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    In an elevated, larger-than-life comic book plus mythology world, Chris Hemsworth does a very believable job playing a god thrust among humans. With his grounded and charming performance, the movie keeps its balance, and the action doesn't overwhelm. Also of note, Tom Hiddleston's Loki was just the right amount of trickster, while staying intelligent, and Heimdall (Idris Elba) wasIn an elevated, larger-than-life comic book plus mythology world, Chris Hemsworth does a very believable job playing a god thrust among humans. With his grounded and charming performance, the movie keeps its balance, and the action doesn't overwhelm. Also of note, Tom Hiddleston's Loki was just the right amount of trickster, while staying intelligent, and Heimdall (Idris Elba) was otherworldly. Overall a very satisfying, fun experience. It isn't a perfect film, but it convincingly tells a story that could have become ridiculous very easily. Expand
  98. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    Thor is a very good film. It has a great story, the characters are told well and the action scenes are very cool. My only problem with this film is that the humour in this film isnt really funny at all. I wouldnt say this is better then Captain America: The First Avenger but its definitely better then Green Lantern. I would give this film a high matinee!
  99. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    While not world alteringly awesome, Thor is is easily in the upper echelon of super hero movies. Bringing Shakespearean specialist Kenneth Branagh on to direct was an inspired decision by marvel as he aptly handled the mythological origins of the material. Also credit him with nailing down such a stellar cast. Particularly, Tom Hiddelston is an enticing baddie and sets up devilishly wellWhile not world alteringly awesome, Thor is is easily in the upper echelon of super hero movies. Bringing Shakespearean specialist Kenneth Branagh on to direct was an inspired decision by marvel as he aptly handled the mythological origins of the material. Also credit him with nailing down such a stellar cast. Particularly, Tom Hiddelston is an enticing baddie and sets up devilishly well for the Avengers. And, like with most big summer action fests, Thor isn't trying to be a critical darling. It's trying to be fun. And it succeeds at that task admirably. Expand
  100. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Marvel Studios has done it again with another stellar representation of one of their characters as we prepare for the Avengers movie in 2012. Surprisingly funny mixed with great action, my only gripe came with the ease in which Thor took down the Destroyer armor, which could have been a much more drawn out and epic battle. All in all though a very enjoyable watch for even the most casual of comic book fans. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 29, 2011
    38
    The standards for comic book superhero movies have been established by "Superman," "The Dark Knight," "Spider-Man 2" and "Iron Man." In that company "Thor" is pitiful. Consider even the comparable villains (Lex Luthor, the Joker, Doc Ock and Obadiah Stane). Memories of all four come instantly to mind. Will you be thinking of Loki six minutes after this movie is over?
  2. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 12, 2011
    50
    The year's most divided movie to date; everything that happens in the higher realms, vaguely derived from Nordic legend, is posturing nonsense, whereas the scenes down here are managed, for the most part, with dexterity and wit. [16 May 2011, p. 133]
  3. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 11, 2011
    50
    This is eminently missable, though the mosaic design of Asgard, Thor's mythical realm, is pretty cool.