Thor

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1327 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    If you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80sIf you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80s 'classics' like Flash Gordon or Krull). The movie really succeeds at this, feeling like it has just leaped off the page and into celluloid. It's exactly as it should be: Colorful, light, action packed and very, very daft. Thor is an extremely fun romp from start to finish and one of the most refreshing super hero movies of recent memory. Expand
  2. May 15, 2011
    4
    As someone who's seen the majority of big movies from 70's-2000's I found this to be the epitome of mass production in movies. Use pre-made material (the comic) as base and add the standard storyline. I called the general plot within first 5-10 minutes of movie without knowing anything about Thor. From there on everything was predictable. Including the romance and so-called twists.As someone who's seen the majority of big movies from 70's-2000's I found this to be the epitome of mass production in movies. Use pre-made material (the comic) as base and add the standard storyline. I called the general plot within first 5-10 minutes of movie without knowing anything about Thor. From there on everything was predictable. Including the romance and so-called twists. Every other scene also had some ultra-cheesy humor which tied in with the cheesy action which was sub-par in itself. Graphically, Thor excelled, but as a gamer would know best, there's little use of eye-candy without the substance it composes. Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    7
    Very enjoyable summer movie, reminiscent to Iron Man I, with quality acting, decent writing (for a summer movie), good special effects, and a few laugh out-loud moments. It moves along well, through several interesting settings. The 3D IMAX provides added punch with some quality special effects. A great escapist matinee.
  4. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    Surprisingly good. I thought it was even better than X-men first class. I think what got me the most was the great mix of action and humor which reminded me of the first Iron man.
  5. May 18, 2011
    8
    Though the final battle is a little anti-climactic, Thor does a great job of transitioning between Asgaard and Earth and the interconnectivity of the two. There was not a single time I can think of that the movie was boring or that I wished a scene would move on so we could get to the good stuff. A solid, thoroughly entertaining first effort for Thor and with a little more time spent onThough the final battle is a little anti-climactic, Thor does a great job of transitioning between Asgaard and Earth and the interconnectivity of the two. There was not a single time I can think of that the movie was boring or that I wished a scene would move on so we could get to the good stuff. A solid, thoroughly entertaining first effort for Thor and with a little more time spent on strengthening the chemistry between Thor and Jane I think Thor's next outing will solidify him as one of the premier superhero movie franchises. The 3D was not overdone or used just for the sake of using it. The art style for Asgaard was a sight to be hold, total eye candy. I would have liked a little more backstory explaining the backstory between the Asgaardians and the Frost Giants but other than the less than thrilling ending, that was the only other negative I can report. Chris Hemsworth was born for the role and Kat Dennings provides some good comic relief, I'd like to see her have a larger role in the next one. I went in with low expectations and came out thoroughly entertained. Highly recommend, especially if you can see it in IMAX. Two thumbs up! Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    Thor's showing was mediocre at best. CGI was not up to date and action scenes contained nothing spectacular. It felt like the movie's focus was more on the character relationships rather than the action; which was what I was looking forward to.
  7. May 11, 2011
    8
    I think the film was fantastic. So many of these hero flicks are pure origin first time around and I thought with THOR, not being one of the most well known character, would be a major origin story. They blazed through that part and got it out of the way though. From there it was a cool story, cool plot, not insanely original, great fx, great action. I'm not overly critical of movies, II think the film was fantastic. So many of these hero flicks are pure origin first time around and I thought with THOR, not being one of the most well known character, would be a major origin story. They blazed through that part and got it out of the way though. From there it was a cool story, cool plot, not insanely original, great fx, great action. I'm not overly critical of movies, I want to enjoy them, plain and simple, and this movie I did. It's a good time. Worth the price of the ticket. Expand
  8. Sep 16, 2011
    5
    I don't know how. Thor was goddamn awful and silly. Probably with the script and characters. But Hiddleston was great. I should worry with The Avengers now.
  9. May 25, 2011
    5
    Thor, How would I review Thor.......Let's just say I'm suprised that Natalie Portman didn't Scream to the Heavens when Thor dies! God of Thunder?, More Like God of Cheesy! The Purpose of anyone making a movie is to make the audience believe that what they see before their eyes could possibly be true, to make the preposterous possible......Like in the First Iron Man, That movie made meThor, How would I review Thor.......Let's just say I'm suprised that Natalie Portman didn't Scream to the Heavens when Thor dies! God of Thunder?, More Like God of Cheesy! The Purpose of anyone making a movie is to make the audience believe that what they see before their eyes could possibly be true, to make the preposterous possible......Like in the First Iron Man, That movie made me believe that a man could make an Iron suit and hurl himself into the air at phenomenal speeds.....They had it, I believed..But Thor.....(Let me just say before I go on that the actor who played Thor was excellent! However, everything that was around him was not!)........Natalie Portman is Gorgeous, I love her, however, I could not stand her in this film, she is a wonderful actress, But such a cheesy role should not be her style......(+ Star Wars). The fact that Thor has a love interest in this film at all makes it weak.....And the scene where Thor's Band of Friends came to Earth to find him, was reminiscent of a Bad movie experience I had as a child, when I spent my hard earned money to see a film called "Masters of the Universe" As his friends were walking through the town streets, I'm thinking....."What happened? Did I make a mistake and purchase a ticket for the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers movie!? I'm sorry but this movie did not make me believe.....The only time I did believe is when Anthony Hopkins as Odin appeared on screen and narrated. I liked the Asgard scenes Which is why I gave the movie a five, but when the movie moves its plot to the earth it was a total disaster.......... Kat Dennings....What the hell was her purpose?!? Hollywood needs to develop some money management skills!!!!! Expand
  10. Feb 7, 2012
    5
    Thor is a very uneven movie. Some parts are very entertaining, such as the initial fight between Thor and his companions and the frost giants. However, the entire middle of the film which takes place mostly on Earth is very uneventful and they don't really fill it with any meaningful character development. Chris Hemsworth is fine as Thor, but the best performance and most interestingThor is a very uneven movie. Some parts are very entertaining, such as the initial fight between Thor and his companions and the frost giants. However, the entire middle of the film which takes place mostly on Earth is very uneventful and they don't really fill it with any meaningful character development. Chris Hemsworth is fine as Thor, but the best performance and most interesting character is definitely Tom Hiddleston who plays Loki. The attempts at humor in the movie are forced and rarely funny. The first 30 minutes and the last 30 minutes are fairly entertaining, but there's a lot of dead zones in the script. Expand
  11. May 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i didn't like it



    SPOILERS AHEAD

    i didn't understand how thor could become humble so quickly. he was basically arrogant until he finds that he cant use his hammer. then he meets his friends. then he 'sacrifices' himself to save the town. then he gets his hammer back. then he goes to fight his brother. i dont get what the other characters are for (apart from the king and brother). the friends are **** compared to thor. i dont see what natalie portman does in the entire movie. the only thing the natalie portman's dad's friend does is tell natalie portman to not help thor. the only thing the other woman does is provide a bit of humour. loki's frost giant heritage doesn't even factor into thor's decisions. i don't understand why odin goes to sleep when he's stressed. wth is odinsleep?

    only good thing i liked was the graphics. Asgard was very nice. perhaps if i read the comics i would understand better. but that just makes the movie inaccessible to the greater public.
    Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    Thor is definitely one of the weaker movies based on Marvel superheroes. The plot is decent but the problem is that it isn't told very well, creating a situation where dramatic moments often fall flat. The intense special effects used to create Asgard can sometimes be overwhelming although other effects are quite good. Some characters are likeable but not lovable due to the fact that theyThor is definitely one of the weaker movies based on Marvel superheroes. The plot is decent but the problem is that it isn't told very well, creating a situation where dramatic moments often fall flat. The intense special effects used to create Asgard can sometimes be overwhelming although other effects are quite good. Some characters are likeable but not lovable due to the fact that they are mostly one-dimensional. We don't even get a good insight into Thor himself and yet we are encouraged to root for him. Any character development that does happen appears to happen in stages instead of being a natural progression. The central romance feels forced although both actors try hard to make it work. The movie is fun, however, if you adjust your expectations. Certain fight scenes are exciting and the writing can sometimes be funny. Thor is not essential viewing and will not change your life but you might enjoy yourself. Expand
  13. May 15, 2011
    9
    The reason I loved Thor was because it performed well on a few fronts. The Special Effects are the best to date. Thor is portrayed very closely to his comic character, in terms of Powers, attitude,etc. The arc of th story was well laid out and the pacing was balanced. It was a brilliant way to bring a really fantastic un-real world of Marvel Comics
  14. May 8, 2011
    9
    Solid story, solid acting, great special effects. The movie is very faithful to the source material (which will please comic geeks), but is approachable enough that casual audiences can enjoy it as well. I'd avoid seeing it in 3D. The film wasn't shot with 3D in mind so it really doesn't add anything to the experience and really may take away slightly from optimal viewing because itSolid story, solid acting, great special effects. The movie is very faithful to the source material (which will please comic geeks), but is approachable enough that casual audiences can enjoy it as well. I'd avoid seeing it in 3D. The film wasn't shot with 3D in mind so it really doesn't add anything to the experience and really may take away slightly from optimal viewing because it makes CG effects harder to follow. Overall I'd say its as good as the first Iron Man, but lacks an actor with the presence that Robert Downey, Jr brings to the screen. Expand
  15. Jul 8, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metacritic really should have a way to delete reviews​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​. Expand
  16. May 7, 2011
    6
    A bit disappointing. I'm a big comic book fan, and I did enjoy the comic book aspects of the film, but the movie aspects didn't really meet my standards. To me I thought the movie just kinda happened, there wasn't much to it, it just played and that was it. The action was fantastic, but the story was weak. The best part was the Avengers references, and Stan Lee's cameo.
  17. May 6, 2011
    9
    I really loved this movie. All the humor was great and I never seen this many people laugh at some of these jokes. Granted that it had a few hiccups here and there which did not get the 10 but enough that its worth going at the middle of the night just to watch a movie. Stan Lee cameo was great and loved the character progression. I would recommend anyone to watch it.
  18. May 16, 2011
    8
    I greatly enjoyed this movie,it has to be said.Before watching,i wasnt sure i would when i heard that most of it is set in Asgard,but i liked the whole Asgard setting & events.Though Asgard seemed quite lifeless.The Warriors 3 were somewhat underused,& mainly serve as a distraction for the Destroyer later on,& i dont see how Thor could 'change his ways' in such a short space of time onI greatly enjoyed this movie,it has to be said.Before watching,i wasnt sure i would when i heard that most of it is set in Asgard,but i liked the whole Asgard setting & events.Though Asgard seemed quite lifeless.The Warriors 3 were somewhat underused,& mainly serve as a distraction for the Destroyer later on,& i dont see how Thor could 'change his ways' in such a short space of time on Earth,especially as nothing particually profound happend to him,but they had to fit it all into a movie i guess.. Also,seemed a waste just having the earth moments set in some small town in the desert(hardly a place to match the events surrounding Gods).. but as i said at the beginning,i enjoyed this movie at the end of the day.When there was action,it was good,& suprisingly enjoyed the rivalries & politics of the Gods in Asgard.Thor,Loki & Odin were all played really well i thought.Would like to see Thor wear his helmet more in his future appearences though,so he'd look more Thor/Godlike & true to the comic,instead of the Token taking it off in this movie though. Expand
  19. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Unfortunately I had high expectations for this movie and I was sorely disappointed. There was so much more scope for battle scene which and along with his band of merry friends I struggled to understand why Thor and co. were build up to be this crack squad of warriors when they done so little battling.
  20. Oct 12, 2011
    0
    Honestly, ZERO is too high for this movie. Big shame artists like Portman and Hopkins take roles in such movies for money. Wasted two hours of my life watching it because of surprisingly high ratings of other people :-(
  21. May 23, 2011
    7
    Thor is just merely too short and lacks the depth action films potentially have. But overall, it is a visually dazzling summer blockbuster packed with clever writing and excellent performances.
  22. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Hmm very mixed bag this one, read the comics as a kid but never really got hooked on the character, this movie spends a great deal of time on Thor's vanity more than anything else, by the time the real story is kicking in the credits are close. Not a bad movie but probably the weakest origin movie so far.
  23. May 16, 2011
    4
    I find it amazing sometimes just how much faith a movie will have in the audienceâ
  24. May 6, 2011
    7
    An average quality superhero movie. Although there were quite a few boring, predictable, cringe-worthy moments, the mix-up of the classic "hero gets powers, learns to use them, has final exam against villain" formula is actually quite refreshing, and the main villain is more interesting than the usual human shaped bag of evil extract. Not as good as the recent Iron man or Batman movies,An average quality superhero movie. Although there were quite a few boring, predictable, cringe-worthy moments, the mix-up of the classic "hero gets powers, learns to use them, has final exam against villain" formula is actually quite refreshing, and the main villain is more interesting than the usual human shaped bag of evil extract. Not as good as the recent Iron man or Batman movies, but worth a watch. Just try to ignore the pointless and inexplicable romance. Expand
  25. May 18, 2011
    10
    I just saw Thor about an hour ago and i have to say it isn't as good as others made it seem. the movie its self was well made and had great graphics, humour was in the right places but there could've been more of it... and i really don't see why directors have to include romance in everything they make... they fell for each other in like, a day. I thought Thor would be more of a BOOM,I just saw Thor about an hour ago and i have to say it isn't as good as others made it seem. the movie its self was well made and had great graphics, humour was in the right places but there could've been more of it... and i really don't see why directors have to include romance in everything they make... they fell for each other in like, a day. I thought Thor would be more of a BOOM, BOOM, SMASH, BANG, sort of film, but it was really more talk and less fight. and when there were fights, enemies hat look like they would take a 10 minute fight to kill were dead in seconds.
    However i guess its all made up for in the epic plot, plus Loki and that guard dude are some badass guys! :D
    Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    The entire film is supported by an all-star cast and each one delivers a pretty darn good performance. Every scene in Asgard, Jotunheim, and in between those two locations quite simply steals the show. I was mesmerized with these settings and I wish we could have seen more of them. Earth is lackluster when compared to the aforementioned locations, but Thor does make it a tab bit moreThe entire film is supported by an all-star cast and each one delivers a pretty darn good performance. Every scene in Asgard, Jotunheim, and in between those two locations quite simply steals the show. I was mesmerized with these settings and I wish we could have seen more of them. Earth is lackluster when compared to the aforementioned locations, but Thor does make it a tab bit more interesting. The presence of Hopkins is always appreciated and Skarsgard is magnificent as always. Hemsworth is not bad either! This film looks spectacular on Blu-Ray! Expand
  27. May 7, 2011
    7
    Yes the movie is predictable, but unless you are watching indie-movies ONLY, this will be the case for all able-minded people out there. Therefore I love this movie for its costumes, its take on norse mythology(i grew up with these stories as well), and the sheer bad-assery of Thor and Mjølner. However the movie can be too tongue-in-cheek at times, especially when its theYes the movie is predictable, but unless you are watching indie-movies ONLY, this will be the case for all able-minded people out there. Therefore I love this movie for its costumes, its take on norse mythology(i grew up with these stories as well), and the sheer bad-assery of Thor and Mjølner. However the movie can be too tongue-in-cheek at times, especially when its the wrong time. If you liked Iron Man 1, you will like this one too. 3D CAN GO F**** OFF, because this movie really doesn't need it Expand
  28. May 7, 2011
    7
    Excellent movie for type of movie it is. No bones about it this IS a comic book movie but for a comic book movie it has a surprising amount of heart.
  29. May 8, 2011
    8
    I like this adoption of the Kirby/Stan Lee superhero, this is where you have to start, sense none of the paid critics seem to have knowledge of these comic book creators. Thor is brash and was a warrior first then he began to become humble after Odin's lashing in the comic books. The detail is Jack Kirby's the Artist that brought Asgard to life on the pages of Marvel true to form with lotsI like this adoption of the Kirby/Stan Lee superhero, this is where you have to start, sense none of the paid critics seem to have knowledge of these comic book creators. Thor is brash and was a warrior first then he began to become humble after Odin's lashing in the comic books. The detail is Jack Kirby's the Artist that brought Asgard to life on the pages of Marvel true to form with lots of 'Goddy' detail in the scenery of Asgard and plenty of violence. Odin proved to be as omnipotent as ever and Thor's Hammer is the Weapon of choice.

    Overall I thought it was good but the next installment should bring better parts and outfits for the Lady Sif,
    and the Warriors three, and they need to include thors helmet which all vikings took into battle. Finally I wonder why Stan Lee and his writers omitted Balder the Brave from the Asgard crew.
    Expand
  30. May 8, 2011
    9
    Great actors, awesome action sequences, and some truly funny moments overcome a few poor bits of dialog and some shoddy CG. Chris Hemsworth as Thor is hard not to love and elevates this movie to a level it should not rightly be at. A great film.
  31. May 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When it comes to making a movie about the origins of the Thunder God Thor in the Marvel Universe, I feel that Thor was made well. From the simple story of how an arrogant young god embraces the important lessons that make him a hero, to the action sequences that draw audiences, Branagh and the cast of Thor have done a marvelous job. Let's not forget that the point of a hero in a comic book is to BE THE HERO. In Thor we are taken on a wild ride into a marvelous world where science and magic are one in the same. To me, Thor is an ancient epic made for the silver screen. We see the hero's journey, we see his growth and ultimately we see him triumph. The special effects that we are so used to seeing now are so overdone that it feels like i'm watching a movie from a computer game more than a movie made with real life people acting in it. In Thor the special effects are used well. They are able to give the story life rather than being the major driving force of the story itself. Though the plot was very thin, the execution of the plot was well done. I'm not a major Thor fan, (favorite is Captain America) but I did enjoy the movie from start to finish. I enjoyed the bard's touch that Branagh adds to the film through the prologue and the eventual climax of the film was not without its merit. The film had just the amount of comedy, action and seriousness that matters. To those who haven't seen the movie, I suggest, absolutely, that you spend the time to watch and enjoy this film. Expand
  32. May 10, 2011
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised! There were some great action scenes, and I actually appreciated the back and forth between Natalie Portman's character and Hemsworth's. Not a mind blowing movie, I still think the original Iron Man movie is better, but this movie holds its own and is worth seeing.
  33. May 15, 2011
    7
    A+ for fantasy, sci fi, action.
    A+ for the cast.
    A for family, friend dynamics. B for humor. C for the love story. D for the cheesy aspect. I love it when people kick butt and take names. And the dichotomy between modern society and mythical / other universe - fabulous! It's a beautiful thing folks, much like mixing rap & Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Tickles me fancy. And the cast!
    A+ for fantasy, sci fi, action.
    A+ for the cast.
    A for family, friend dynamics.
    B for humor.
    C for the love story.
    D for the cheesy aspect.

    I love it when people kick butt and take names. And the dichotomy between modern society and mythical / other universe - fabulous! It's a beautiful thing folks, much like mixing rap & Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Tickles me fancy. And the cast! Schweet!

    Thor is one of my favorite stories. Loved the family and friend dynamics and the conflict. Love story was a bit too much for me and there were some cheesy parts, but over all a pretty good story with cute humor.

    "Take it back! Take back what you said about Thor!" a line from one of my favorite movies Adventures in Babysitting.
    Expand
  34. May 15, 2011
    5
    Pretty much half of a good movie. While some aspects of the film were quite good (mostly the scenes taking place in Asgard,) they pail in comparison to the lack of true purpose the stars have in their roles, or that the film has in its message. It seems Marvel has truly been going through the motions in it's production since the first Iron Man film.
  35. May 15, 2011
    7
    I loved the visual style and the performance of the main cast , especially from tom hiddleston. All the little cameos were also fun. But my main issue was that the story didn't draw me in enough, the uselessness of the Warriors Three, and the borderline slapstick humor mid way during the film.
  36. May 16, 2011
    10
    Thor was an epic and fun experience, with a little bit of everything. It has a good sense of humor, a ton of fantastic special effects, a great plot twist, and most of all, a story of "godly" proportions. I had a great time viewing Thor, and I would gladly view another time or two.
  37. May 16, 2011
    8
    Surprisingly good. People who rate this below 7 are trying too hard.
    It's got action, comedy, romance, and touching moments. A worthy watch. Not much else to say.
  38. May 19, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay let me start with this i have given THOR a rating of 5 because its a terrible marvel film not a terrible film.They start the film off with the best fight scene then the rest of the fights are a load of rubbish in a small town then there's one mildly entertaining fight at the end besides that the movie is just following THOR around with Natalie Portman and her very annoying friend.THOR never comes close to dying which never gives the audience the feeling of cheering THOR on since he just kicks ass the whole time.Every hero needs a near death experience, now i know it is staying true to the comics and that the fanboys/girls will be happy with it. But coming from a normal audience like me its just not entertaining enough so that is my reason for giving THOR a terrible 5 Expand
  39. May 21, 2011
    8
    It's such a thrill to see a fun superhero movie again - the dark and moody craze appears to be at an end. The cast are on top form - Hemsworth really does take the god of thunder on a believable journey, Hiddleston admirably portrays a rather complex villain and Dennings provides most of the laughs. But as usual, Anthony Hopkins is simply playing Anthony Hopkins. While the story may take aIt's such a thrill to see a fun superhero movie again - the dark and moody craze appears to be at an end. The cast are on top form - Hemsworth really does take the god of thunder on a believable journey, Hiddleston admirably portrays a rather complex villain and Dennings provides most of the laughs. But as usual, Anthony Hopkins is simply playing Anthony Hopkins. While the story may take a while to get going, there's so much in Thor to enjoy - fantasy, action, comedy and romance are all seamlessly woven throughout. Expand
  40. May 21, 2011
    7
    Solid action flick. Generally entertaining, but the plot ends up falling a bit flat. As long as it isn't held to too high a standard, it fulfills its purpose. Watch if you enjoy action movies without much of a plot. Good references to Norse mythology as well.
  41. May 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quite well done.

    It felt as there wasn't quite enough action but it handled the story very well as a first movie should, it was able to just lay out the storyline. Its not very easy to not only introduce a new character but to try and explain and entire new dimension to new audiences not familiar with it.

    One thing that kinda irked me was after he defeated the destroyer, he was just like i am you ally now. The shield never explained who they even were to Thor, and Thor never even explained who he was to them.

    Overall great film, negative 1 point for some things here and there.
    Expand
  42. May 26, 2011
    8
    just a fun movie. Its funny, has decent action, and better acting than I anticipated. The likes of iron man and dark knight make this super hero movie seem not up to par, but it shines in its own way. not societal commentary, just space vikings with lightning powers. Good marvel super hero movie, should set up the avengers movie well. I cant wait to see the banter between stark and thor.
  43. May 26, 2011
    7
    Norse mythology is great and all, but the WAY over-the-top action kinda gets repetitive and boring. At least Thor has its good moments, like his hammer, Mjolnir.
  44. May 31, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Epic. Outstanding. Absolutely breathtaking. At long last, a superhero film that keeps things simple, coherent and cohesive. Technically brilliant. Pulse-pounding action with heart, that's not simply there for the sake of being there. Such words would probably resemble my rough draft of a one-paragraph reviewâ Expand
  45. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This movie was EPIC! I absolutely loved this movie, the action was amazing. Chris Hemsworth, although I never heard of him before this movie was a perfect fit for this film. He has the perfect look and size for Thor. The only reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is because it got a little corny at times, but thats understanding though because its tough to make a comic book movie like thisThis movie was EPIC! I absolutely loved this movie, the action was amazing. Chris Hemsworth, although I never heard of him before this movie was a perfect fit for this film. He has the perfect look and size for Thor. The only reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is because it got a little corny at times, but thats understanding though because its tough to make a comic book movie like this and make it perfectly realistic, It definitely does not deserve the ratings it is getting from critics. I've seen it twice and plan on seeing it another, great movie, overall, 9.5/10, now I can't wait to see Thor in the Avengers May 4th of 2012! Expand
  46. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    The first scene in Thor is a kind of unnecessary, but the screenplay starts very well. But after, with the appearance of Natalie Portman and the too conventional love story of her with Chris Hemsworth, we go down to extensive cliches. A think that, from this moment to the after credits scene, the movie becomes just another Marvel Studios production, with good direction, funny moments,The first scene in Thor is a kind of unnecessary, but the screenplay starts very well. But after, with the appearance of Natalie Portman and the too conventional love story of her with Chris Hemsworth, we go down to extensive cliches. A think that, from this moment to the after credits scene, the movie becomes just another Marvel Studios production, with good direction, funny moments, colors - lots of colors! -, special effects and not too much than it. A pure and honest fun. Expand
  47. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    I went into this film with very low expectations. I'm not usually one who enjoys the superhero genre. However, this movie, much like Batman Begins, was a brilliant experience for me. The underlying themes of jealously, betrayal, and coming of age - timeless, were here executed into an almost operatic crescendo. The film is let down at some points with some pretty banal dialogue where theI went into this film with very low expectations. I'm not usually one who enjoys the superhero genre. However, this movie, much like Batman Begins, was a brilliant experience for me. The underlying themes of jealously, betrayal, and coming of age - timeless, were here executed into an almost operatic crescendo. The film is let down at some points with some pretty banal dialogue where the characters are attempting to be witty, or add humor to an otherwise dramatic scene - and this sometimes falls flat. But these small niggles aside, Thor is an exciting, adventurous, and engaging film. Lots of fun, and with some truly epic moments. Anthony Hopkins is magnificent as Odin. I'm somewhat at a loss to understand why many critics are canning this film, as I found it to be very entertaining. Expand
  48. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    This movie is full of great visuals and great acting (although a little cheesy at times). This movie is highly entertaining. However, I am a little disappointed that the final battle was a little anti-climatic, but I see why they didn't do that. They have to leave Thor some awesomeness for the Avengers!
  49. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Solid acting by absolutely everyone. Direction and writing were excellent. Couldn't ask for a more entertaining movie. Just good fun. Loved the fact that they spent enough time in Asgard and didn't spend a bunch of time on earth just because it's cheaper to film. Portman and Hemsworth had great chemistry and were totally believable in their roles.
  50. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    The movie was visually stunning, but I felt that if failed to captivate the viewers. The plot seemed very silly to begin with. And the fights were far from satisfying. In the same genre, Iron Man was the best example in recent times of captivating story telling.
  51. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    A terrific start to the 2011 summer. The acting is great, there's good storytelling, the fight sequences, and the film stays true to the comics. Chris Hemsworth makes a terrific Thor, and that's a great thing. Everyone did a good job too, especially Idris Elba. I loved this movie very much, and I can't wait for The Avengers.
    Keep it up, Marvel.
  52. Jun 10, 2011
    7
    It is an ok movie, it has good parts and bad parts. The action is good but kinde overrated, the story is ok but not the best. Ive seen way better super hero movies, but its not too bad
  53. Jun 8, 2011
    8
    Thor blends mythology and superhero together so well that at times you forget which one is which. This is a must see for any person planning on watching The Avengers. However if your not a true fan of comic book films its better that you pass on this one.
  54. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love this film. Casting was great and they got the right mixture of new talent and great existing talent. The story is ever so slightly confusing if you don't follow it properly but I understood and enjoyed it. Some will say it is cheesy, but good super hero films started out as cheesy and this is just a modern super hero film with the old element added that makes it great. Cannot waitI love this film. Casting was great and they got the right mixture of new talent and great existing talent. The story is ever so slightly confusing if you don't follow it properly but I understood and enjoyed it. Some will say it is cheesy, but good super hero films started out as cheesy and this is just a modern super hero film with the old element added that makes it great. Cannot wait for The Avengers and wish the sequel would get the go ahead. Expand
  55. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    The movie was a lot of fun with a neat story. Chris Hemmsworth did a very good job and Natalie Portman was amazing as usual. This movie is well worth the watch if you are a big comic book movie fan and worth the watch if you just want to have a good afternoon movie.
  56. Jun 15, 2011
    4
    The actors/actresses in this film were good and so were the film crew. But the story and how they developed it scene by scene....not so much. I wouldn't recommend this movie to any of my friends.
  57. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Amusing, entertaining and very predictable. It was a very decent effort but the human scientist girlfriend was not a very believable side story. I definitely liked the way it laid out the relationships between the realms and S.H.I.E.L.D was worked in nicely. With the exception of the Nordic physics professor getting tipsy and having to be carried home there was really no reason for this toAmusing, entertaining and very predictable. It was a very decent effort but the human scientist girlfriend was not a very believable side story. I definitely liked the way it laid out the relationships between the realms and S.H.I.E.L.D was worked in nicely. With the exception of the Nordic physics professor getting tipsy and having to be carried home there was really no reason for this to be PG-13. Expand
  58. Oct 15, 2011
    5
    Thor was a fairly entertaining film, and I was not too disappointed as I did not have any high standard for it before watching. It fits into the category of quality that most comic book adaptations fall into, and this is not necessarily a very bad thing. The recent increase in film adaptations has brought down certain standards, and this particular film is a good example. Lame dialogue andThor was a fairly entertaining film, and I was not too disappointed as I did not have any high standard for it before watching. It fits into the category of quality that most comic book adaptations fall into, and this is not necessarily a very bad thing. The recent increase in film adaptations has brought down certain standards, and this particular film is a good example. Lame dialogue and a rather childish series of events is a given, but the film could have done with a slightly better cast in my opinion. Natalie Portman has never striked me as a good actress. The film is a mediocre watch to those who know what to expect. Expand
  59. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    While adding to the Marvel movies that have been made. This is definitely on the top ten's in my list.

    Enough mix of humor, action and sci-fi awesomeness. Thor really delivers what you expect from a comic book Norse God. Many things could have gone wrong with this movie, I hate to admit that they did make it great. A movie worthy of a God! The Actor's and Actresses are great! Chris
    While adding to the Marvel movies that have been made. This is definitely on the top ten's in my list.

    Enough mix of humor, action and sci-fi awesomeness. Thor really delivers what you expect from a comic book Norse God. Many things could have gone wrong with this movie, I hate to admit that they did make it great. A movie worthy of a God!

    The Actor's and Actresses are great! Chris Hemsworth and Natalie Portman really hit it off well. Tom Hiddleston and Anthony Hopkins were great!

    I did feel that the story was a bit fast, they did not expand on what Thor does as a normal mortal human being. I did enjoy Asgard and all the mythology that come with it. It makes me wonder on what actually the mythology is.

    Over-all, Thor is a great film. Funny, Action packed and also full of science fiction!

    A movie worthy for the God of Thunder!

    a great start for Marvel Studios this year!
    Expand
  60. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    THOR IS A PURE ACTION FULL OF STORY AND DRAMA OF GODS. AMAZING MOVIE OF 2011. ACCORDING TO ME IN THE WHOLE AVENGERS TEAM THE COOLEST ACTION HERO IS THOR, WHICH MEANS THOR (THE GOD OF THUNDER) REALLY ROCKS. DON'T MISS THE BEST ACTION MOVIE OF 2011. BUY IT ON BLU-RAY OR DVD. GO FOR IT!!!!
  61. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Thor is a great example of a movie that is fairly etertaining but not a good movie. The characters are flat and static which leaves no room for character development.
  62. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    I liked Thor better than either Iron Man. Iron Man as hero is very complex and nuanced, really a despicable amoral character who proves himself by doing deeds aligned with good. Thor is much more a of a true heroic character, simpler--and harder to make believable to modern audiences. The movie has Thor travel an arc starting from rebellious warrior; very similar in frequency to, being aI liked Thor better than either Iron Man. Iron Man as hero is very complex and nuanced, really a despicable amoral character who proves himself by doing deeds aligned with good. Thor is much more a of a true heroic character, simpler--and harder to make believable to modern audiences. The movie has Thor travel an arc starting from rebellious warrior; very similar in frequency to, being a heretic, "rebellionism" to use a healer's word. His character arc is for this part to die, all the way, the old rebellious warrior has to die. The movie keeps its focus on this arc into death and then back to a redeemed frequency aligned with the Highest Good, represented by Anthony Hopkins. The third act set piece with the giant monster is all within this context and therefore does not feel tacked on or stop the flow to make way for obligatory action scene. I experienced Chris Hemsworth coherent as Thor, actor, role and archetype all lined up and integrated.

    This is a movie with an outsize imagination. Movies like this rarely do well because there are so many moving parts: physical, imaginal, emotional, mental and mythological. Creating an upward spiral of emotion almost always gets lost. The Priest is only the latest example. I felt Branagh handled this much better than most comic book movies; and again, better than either iron Man. I also liked this better than Branagh's other recent movies. as someone who grew up with Jack Kirby's Thor, I was afraid Branagh would make Thor either too Shakespearean or not Shakespearean enuf. He walks this line well and keeps the characters alive very well for a comic book film.
    Expand
  63. Jul 17, 2011
    7
    Thor would have been so easy for film makers to screw up; an armoured super hero with a magic hammer and red cape in modern times is something that was very tricky to get right, and at least not totally ridiculous. Well, Im happy to say that while the movie Thor is certainly not perfect and has a few problems, is still enjoyable enough to make it worth your while. The characters are funThor would have been so easy for film makers to screw up; an armoured super hero with a magic hammer and red cape in modern times is something that was very tricky to get right, and at least not totally ridiculous. Well, Im happy to say that while the movie Thor is certainly not perfect and has a few problems, is still enjoyable enough to make it worth your while. The characters are fun enough, the setting is interesting, and the character arc of Thor works. The love story does seem a bit forced, one of the comic relief characters is annoying and unnecessary, and the scenes in the on earth are a bit flat compared to the scene in the world in which Thor originates; however what we have is fun, and enjoyable enough to watch compared to most popular movies. Im interested in seeing where Thor goes from here. Expand
  64. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    I had never been a fan of Thor, and never really wanted to be. But...I like comic book/super hero movies so I went to see it. It was great. Once again, critics are full of themselves and can't enjoy a good movie. What a perfect blend of a Norse viking movie combined with high tek sci-fi. The acting was really good. This was definitely a movie that is better in 3D. See this movie if youI had never been a fan of Thor, and never really wanted to be. But...I like comic book/super hero movies so I went to see it. It was great. Once again, critics are full of themselves and can't enjoy a good movie. What a perfect blend of a Norse viking movie combined with high tek sci-fi. The acting was really good. This was definitely a movie that is better in 3D. See this movie if you like the genre, it was great. Expand
  65. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    In an elevated, larger-than-life comic book plus mythology world, Chris Hemsworth does a very believable job playing a god thrust among humans. With his grounded and charming performance, the movie keeps its balance, and the action doesn't overwhelm. Also of note, Tom Hiddleston's Loki was just the right amount of trickster, while staying intelligent, and Heimdall (Idris Elba) wasIn an elevated, larger-than-life comic book plus mythology world, Chris Hemsworth does a very believable job playing a god thrust among humans. With his grounded and charming performance, the movie keeps its balance, and the action doesn't overwhelm. Also of note, Tom Hiddleston's Loki was just the right amount of trickster, while staying intelligent, and Heimdall (Idris Elba) was otherworldly. Overall a very satisfying, fun experience. It isn't a perfect film, but it convincingly tells a story that could have become ridiculous very easily. Expand
  66. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    Thor is a very good film. It has a great story, the characters are told well and the action scenes are very cool. My only problem with this film is that the humour in this film isnt really funny at all. I wouldnt say this is better then Captain America: The First Avenger but its definitely better then Green Lantern. I would give this film a high matinee!
  67. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    While not world alteringly awesome, Thor is is easily in the upper echelon of super hero movies. Bringing Shakespearean specialist Kenneth Branagh on to direct was an inspired decision by marvel as he aptly handled the mythological origins of the material. Also credit him with nailing down such a stellar cast. Particularly, Tom Hiddelston is an enticing baddie and sets up devilishly wellWhile not world alteringly awesome, Thor is is easily in the upper echelon of super hero movies. Bringing Shakespearean specialist Kenneth Branagh on to direct was an inspired decision by marvel as he aptly handled the mythological origins of the material. Also credit him with nailing down such a stellar cast. Particularly, Tom Hiddelston is an enticing baddie and sets up devilishly well for the Avengers. And, like with most big summer action fests, Thor isn't trying to be a critical darling. It's trying to be fun. And it succeeds at that task admirably. Expand
  68. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Marvel Studios has done it again with another stellar representation of one of their characters as we prepare for the Avengers movie in 2012. Surprisingly funny mixed with great action, my only gripe came with the ease in which Thor took down the Destroyer armor, which could have been a much more drawn out and epic battle. All in all though a very enjoyable watch for even the most casual of comic book fans. Expand
  69. Apr 11, 2012
    6
    I suppose it is not a bad film overall. However, Ebert is right, and in my opinion, Iron Man is the greatest super hero film of all time. Thor is entertaning and he is a cool character, but the plot is slightly boring but still stable. So I have mixed feelings for the concept of this movie. However, viewers, I recommend it overall.
  70. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    This movie is not perfect. The mood constantly switches and does not remain consistent. But the acting is superb and the character development is done well. Also the special effects are amazing I have never seen anything like Asgard done in a movie before and they did it really well. The action scenes are also well done though the last half hour of it feels like a very cliched actionThis movie is not perfect. The mood constantly switches and does not remain consistent. But the acting is superb and the character development is done well. Also the special effects are amazing I have never seen anything like Asgard done in a movie before and they did it really well. The action scenes are also well done though the last half hour of it feels like a very cliched action movie. all in all though another win for marvel and a good set up for the avengers. Expand
  71. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    This is a great movie. It won't ever be in the top 100 movies of all time, but is part of a franchise that is building. I was expecting that most of this movie would be set on earth, but was stoked to see another universe displayed, and presented so well. This was pure entertainment on a grand scale. Well done. I may not buy it when it comes out, but I loved the experience of watching it.This is a great movie. It won't ever be in the top 100 movies of all time, but is part of a franchise that is building. I was expecting that most of this movie would be set on earth, but was stoked to see another universe displayed, and presented so well. This was pure entertainment on a grand scale. Well done. I may not buy it when it comes out, but I loved the experience of watching it. Come on! Anthony Hopkins for the win! Expand
  72. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: One of the better films in the â Expand
  73. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    So I FINALLY went to see Thor a week after the release, (I know, what a sacrilege). 3d, IMax, 5:30 showing of Thorâ
  74. Jul 30, 2011
    8
    The trailer was terrible and I thought this movie would have been a disaster, but Hemsworth impressive acting as a **** Thor, combined with an interesting plot and set-up for The Avengers, it's an enjoyable comic-book movie experience.
  75. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    Thor is a good movie, but i think these movies have suffered as a setup for the Avengers. This handles the lore of the Asgardians well but not well enough. The Frost Giants are not really Giants compared to its comic book / TV Animated Series counter part and Loki is not the big bad crazy bad guy he is in the comics / Animated Series. However that being said this is a setup an origin movieThor is a good movie, but i think these movies have suffered as a setup for the Avengers. This handles the lore of the Asgardians well but not well enough. The Frost Giants are not really Giants compared to its comic book / TV Animated Series counter part and Loki is not the big bad crazy bad guy he is in the comics / Animated Series. However that being said this is a setup an origin movie and it covers all the bases well enough for THOR's first big screen adventure. Not all the characters get enough screen time and the movie does seem rushed towards the end. Alough the acting is not as strong as in other marvel productions the cast still do a firm job, Antony Hopkins as Odin does a fine job. But I think they should have used some CGI on the guy that played THOR to make him a bit bigger than he was, as in the comics he is simular is muscle size to the hulk. Apart from that minor grape of mine the film is still enjoyable and as a marvel fan was glad to see a decent attempt at a THOR movie. Lets hope all the build up to the avengers gives us one of the best movies of next year, otherwise marvel's name will be mud. Expand
  76. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    Since Iron Man I have really enjoyed the way that Marvel Studios is going about incorporating their characters into the film world and Thor is no exception. We have seen over the years, since Robert Downey Jr. donned that red and yellow suit, that Marvel treats their films like their comics, intertwined stories over different characters playing in the same universe. We have seen the coolSince Iron Man I have really enjoyed the way that Marvel Studios is going about incorporating their characters into the film world and Thor is no exception. We have seen over the years, since Robert Downey Jr. donned that red and yellow suit, that Marvel treats their films like their comics, intertwined stories over different characters playing in the same universe. We have seen the cool additional scenes that come after the credits rolled and even seen nods to other characters in the Marvel universe in the background or right there in front of the main character. It has been great, and something I wish DC comics would have done, but I have enjoyed what they have done with Batman, weâ Expand
  77. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    Really nice piece of art. Some animations were really beautiful. Especially the Bifrost Bridge was magnificent. But there were some flaws at the story of the movie. For example after the end of movie, i still did not understand what was the true intention of Loki, but maybe that was because he was the god of mischief :P
  78. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    This is a Great adaption of the known comics book THOR . All of them behind and front of the movie did an amazing work . The whole film is a mixture of Action , thriller , mystery and Funny element that exactly a good movie should have . Sometimes it seems better then Marvel's Iron Man . The Sound tracks and Special Effect was super . Stellan , Anthony , Tom , Kat & Natalie did so goodThis is a Great adaption of the known comics book THOR . All of them behind and front of the movie did an amazing work . The whole film is a mixture of Action , thriller , mystery and Funny element that exactly a good movie should have . Sometimes it seems better then Marvel's Iron Man . The Sound tracks and Special Effect was super . Stellan , Anthony , Tom , Kat & Natalie did so good .And Chris was the perfect choice for playing Thor . Kenneth's Direction was great . Story : 1.62 [All comics adaption Movie seems too flat but it was so close to be perfect] Directing : 1.62 Acting : 1.72 [Perfect Chris and amazing Natalie and Tom] Sound :1.62 Effect : 1.72 OVERALL : 8.210â Expand
  79. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    Thor n'est, au final, pas le film d'action attendu. Même si les personnages sont traités en profondeur comme rarement dans ce genre de divertissement, le film traîne pas mal en longueur, au point de gâcher la plupart des séquences qui se montraient jouissives dans la bande-annonce (comme le combat avec l'espèce deThor n'est, au final, pas le film d'action attendu. Même si les personnages sont traités en profondeur comme rarement dans ce genre de divertissement, le film traîne pas mal en longueur, au point de gâcher la plupart des séquences qui se montraient jouissives dans la bande-annonce (comme le combat avec l'espèce de robot). De plus, certains acteurs déçoivent (surtout Natalie Portman qui surjoue énormément) et la plupart des cadrages ne sont pas terribles (trop en biais). Mais Thor conserve un certain charme grâce à ces décors et costumes (je préfère nettement cet Asgard high-tech), de bons effets visuels, une plaisante bande-originale et un humour bien placé. Pas aussi bon que L'Incroyable Hulk et Iron Man, mais un bon divertissement non sans défauts. Expand
  80. Oct 8, 2012
    4
    Sorry, but the whole movie just reaks of style over substance - and when the style itself isn't that good you're on to a loser. Thor is the Norse god of strength and thunder, but in this film he's played either more for laughs, or as some dickhead jock. There's very little respect for him and the whole **** vs brilliance/belly-fire falls flat when said brilliance and belly-fire fail toSorry, but the whole movie just reaks of style over substance - and when the style itself isn't that good you're on to a loser. Thor is the Norse god of strength and thunder, but in this film he's played either more for laughs, or as some dickhead jock. There's very little respect for him and the whole **** vs brilliance/belly-fire falls flat when said brilliance and belly-fire fail to show their face to counter-balance Thor's nob-head side. There's little in the way of opposition for Thor to face either, with the Frost Giants being a pretty shoddy set of opponents, and few epic fight scenes to speak of, instead there's just CGI scraps that make you switch off. It doesn't flow well, the romance plot gets far more coverage than it needs, and the whole film is shot rather amateurishly with too many epic shots apparent, watering the whole thing down. Not good and in a word - flat. Expand
  81. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    An immensely enjoyable Marvel, Chris Hemsworth and tom hiddleston played the parts with a lot of energy. The visuals were quite spectacular, mainly, the sweeping canvas of Asgard. The action scenes were also good though I thought could have been executed better with lesser use of the fast cut edit style that is too often the norm in action film these days.
  82. May 5, 2012
    8
    i really liked how they portrayed asgard. and although i thought the movie was a bit too lighthearted, i must admit that it was always fun.
  83. Oct 2, 2011
    6
    The beauty of Thor in comparison to its other marvel counterparts of the last few years (Captain America and Iron Man 2) is that it has fun with the story that its telling. Superheroes don't have to be dark and brooding (unless it improves the film like in Batman Begins, a film that still manages to have fun despite the subject matter). Thor's (Chris Hemsworth) story is a simple one withThe beauty of Thor in comparison to its other marvel counterparts of the last few years (Captain America and Iron Man 2) is that it has fun with the story that its telling. Superheroes don't have to be dark and brooding (unless it improves the film like in Batman Begins, a film that still manages to have fun despite the subject matter). Thor's (Chris Hemsworth) story is a simple one with him being a selfish, arrogant heir to the throne of Asgard (a planet far from earth) who makes a terrible mistake and is banished from Asgard by his father Odin (played with great gravitas by Anthony Hopkins). The fact that Thor is an origins movie works in its favour as the whole film is about his growth into the king his father wants him to be and the hero that earth needs him to be. It also allows for something rarely seen in film, a thoroughly unpleasant lead character. However the film isn't really anything more than an action film, despite the beautiful landscapes used and the astounding visuals of Asgard it is still just an action film. However the film works in that regard unlike Iron Man 2 and Captain America because its funny, charming and well paced. Expand
  84. Oct 8, 2011
    7
    If you are not a comic book lover, or 12 years of age, you may find the start of this movie a little warn, old hat and "not a movie for you". However if you continue watching, the movie finally opens up into a little sun, stops taking itself too seriously and so begins an enjoyable movie. Once a few jokes were cracked, you knew you were in light hearted adventure territory and that servedIf you are not a comic book lover, or 12 years of age, you may find the start of this movie a little warn, old hat and "not a movie for you". However if you continue watching, the movie finally opens up into a little sun, stops taking itself too seriously and so begins an enjoyable movie. Once a few jokes were cracked, you knew you were in light hearted adventure territory and that served well for the rest of the movie. Acting was good, 3D city and animation was ok but I thought a little too cliche and not really that inventive. However as a piece of entertainment, absolutely fun for the whole family and much better than I anticipated. Expand
  85. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The concept of Thor always appeared to be a difficult proposition for a film adaptation. The very idea of an actual Norse God as a superhero, co-existing with your friendly neighborhood Spider-Man and your military-industrial Iron Man, just seemed far-fetched. Would he wear tights and speak in ye olde Norse dialect? Fortunately, Kenneth Branagh was up to the challenge and has delivered a fairly first-rate superhero film whose ambitions are never that high but which succeeds on pure force of execution and entertainment value. Asgard in this movie looks like some sci-fi vision of the Emerald City, which works quite well with this audacious and fantastical vision of the Marvel Universe's cosmic realm. Given that they're presented more like alien overlords then actual spiritual Gods, the glorious sheen of polished hallways with strange otherworldly designs melds well with the rustic Viking elements of long dining halls and carved stone steps. In other films, I'll often decry the widespread and indiscriminate use of CGI as a serious detriment, as they look wrong and pull the audience out of the story. Yet here... the world of Asgard obviously looked CGI, but it didn't bother me. After all, it's an utterly foreign world of Norse gods/aliens living on a planet in another galaxy/dimension and possessing technology which qualifies as both magic and science. In such a land, you can't help but get something that looks like CGI. It's not real, it makes no effort to look real, and I found it worked quite well for what they were going for.

    Of all the elements in this film, the humor is probably what stands out to me the most. I found myself laughing, chuckling, and giggling more often during this screening then I have in quite a long time at the theater. Most of that humor comes from Kat Dennings's character Darcy, with lines like, "Mew mew? What's mew mew?" which always seemed to hit their mark, at least with me. The middle act is basically a fish out of water story, and wrings as much comedy out of that premise as you'd imagine. I dunno, maybe I'm just real easy to entertain, but the comedy all worked. It ends up striking that nice balance between humor and seriousness without tipping over into absolute goofiness that can ruin a superhero film.

    Finally, Natalie Portman has managed to get herself into a good sci-fi film, cause those Star Wars prequels sure as hell didn't do it. While her performance is in tune with the rest of the film and quite competent, I never did buy her as a physicist studying Einstein-Rosen bridges. Anyone expecting something incredible and transformative like her Oscar-winning turn in Black Swan is going to be sorely disappointed, but... that's not really the sort of expectation you should have for this kind of film, I'd have to say. It's not amazing by any stretch, but she also doesn't embarrass herself here. Most of the time, she's being a giggly, googly-eyed girl, which is how pretty much any human female would behave in the presence of a winsome God of Thunder like Thor, I suppose. Oh, and her line reading of "Oh My God" has to be one of the top three deliveries of that phrase ever uttered on film. It is hysterical.

    Chris Hemsworth makes for a dashing, slightly arrogant, and incredibly powerful Thor. I'll admit, I was somewhat leery of the casting choice at first, not because he didn't physically resemble the comic book character, not at all, but because honestly... I wasn't much of a fan of his performance at the beginning of Star Trek 09. Oh sure, it was just a small role, and he didn't have that much to work with, but his line delivery just didn't quite click with me. And then we heard of the rumors on set, where supposedly Anthony Hopkins had berated him for being lousy. Well, whether they were true or not seems moot now, because Hemsworth delivers a very comfortable, crowd pleasing performance which cements his status as a rising star in Hollywood and probably gives what many Thor readers have hoped and dreamed of. I can't say if his Thor is precisely one that leaps right off the pages of the comic book since I've never read a Thor comic, but it does seem safe to say that his is a rather faithful and well-executed portrayal. Whosoever holds this hammer, if he be worthy, shall possess the power of Thor, and Hemsworth proves to be worthy indeed.

    While there's no weak link and everyone does a fairly good job, Tom Hiddleston is unquestionably the standout performance of the bunch as Loki. It's striking how effective and yet subtle his performance is. He brings this deep layer of pathos and turmoil to the character that allows you to understand some of his motivations, even if you don't necessarily react sympathetically to his actions. The central story of the entire film is ultimately one between two brothers, and Hiddleston absolutely elevates it to a higher plane than anyone could have expected.
    Expand
  86. Oct 11, 2011
    3
    If you ever have a childhood and you watched Hercules of Disney´s you'll find that this movie is the same, is just too infantile, the humor is too stupid and the action is too short and for some moments you just don´t know what is happening or why are they doing
  87. Sep 28, 2011
    0
    I dont really think this movie rates a 0, but I'm trying in my small way to counteract the 10's given. 10? Are you kidding me? This movie was, at best, average and forgettable. It's a feel good movie, only good for children or easy to please adults of low intelligence. It should have been a better movie. The only actors who were believable at all were Loki and the Laufey. And I thoughtI dont really think this movie rates a 0, but I'm trying in my small way to counteract the 10's given. 10? Are you kidding me? This movie was, at best, average and forgettable. It's a feel good movie, only good for children or easy to please adults of low intelligence. It should have been a better movie. The only actors who were believable at all were Loki and the Laufey. And I thought both of them should have been much more formidable. I'm sure my small children would give this movie a 7 or 8, but as an adult, I'd give it maybe a 4. C'mon Hollywood, Thor is a great concept, cant you do better? Expand
  88. May 1, 2012
    7
    Finally got around to seeing this one. I hadn't made it a priority because I'd barely ever even heard of Thor as a Marvel character, and I'll admit that what I'd heard about the ideas behind the mythology of the Thor comics had me a little intimidated as someone who respects comics from a distance. That being said, I was supremely impressed with not only the movie's on-screen depiction ofFinally got around to seeing this one. I hadn't made it a priority because I'd barely ever even heard of Thor as a Marvel character, and I'll admit that what I'd heard about the ideas behind the mythology of the Thor comics had me a little intimidated as someone who respects comics from a distance. That being said, I was supremely impressed with not only the movie's on-screen depiction of Asgard and the society at large, but also the way that the script worked explanations of how the magic and scientific aspects of the realms work in the fiction. I never felt lost or as if a specific detail or explanation weren't accounted for when the plot called for it. The pacing of the movie feels this though, and there are a lot of long gaps of explanations and dialogue (which is all amazingly written, at least) between action pieces. Thor didn't really step outside of the boundaries in terms of plot structure, (hero fails, works for redemption, finds love, kicks ass, reclaims hero status), but that didn't really bother me because most of the movie works so well. No spoilers or detailed explanations obviously, but there were two things that got on my nerves. First off, the connection between Natalie Portman's character (whose name escapes me) and Thor doesn't feel inspired to me. It's cute that it's there, but I didn't see why they seemed to care about each other as there was little shared screen time between the two. Secondly, our villain is a part of Marvel lore that I had never heard of. That isn't a bad thing, but aside from one standout moment ( / plot twist), Loki seemed completely uninspired, and his role in the movie ultimately becomes a set-up for his role in the Avengers (or so I assume). While neither of these aspects derail the movie or keep you from wanting to watch all of the ass Thor kicks, but I personally would have been far more interested in learning more about Asgard than witnessing some failed plot mechanics. And so while the movie has it's problems, and is definitely a slower-paced Marvel movie than fans are accustomed to, I wouldn't pass it up as a casual movie-goer and fan of other comic book movies. I'll probably watch it at least one more time just because I had so much fun watching it, and that's saying something for me. Expand
  89. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    Probably the best super hero movie so far. It portrays the real Thor comics wonderfully and has real and realistic movie effects to boot.
    The character choice is also awesome and the story deeply entertaining. The only downside is that if you watch it in 3D you'll find that it doesn't make to much of a difference. All and all a great movie.
  90. Oct 12, 2011
    2
    The cinematography and CGI are amazing, which is to be expected with a big budget film. However, the story is slow and plodding. The whole thing seemed like a back story for the Avengers film, which may be necessary but is far from entertaining.
  91. Oct 26, 2011
    3
    Chris H was absolutely spot on for the role of Thor...... What a waste.... the dialogue is wooden... There were better plots and effects in the old land of the lost tv series...... and if this wasnt bad enough, they had to force feed it the usual formula love interest as well......
  92. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    The idea of a "classic" director like Kenneth Branagh making a superhero film might initially sound strange, but in the case of Thor that ended up being very appropriate, because the comic always used Shakespearean drama and archaic language to tell the story of the God of Thunder, the political/family conflicts in the Asgard kingdom and its interaction with the universe of Marvel Comics.The idea of a "classic" director like Kenneth Branagh making a superhero film might initially sound strange, but in the case of Thor that ended up being very appropriate, because the comic always used Shakespearean drama and archaic language to tell the story of the God of Thunder, the political/family conflicts in the Asgard kingdom and its interaction with the universe of Marvel Comics. An exhilarating experience, with splendid visuals and a great dose of witty humor. Thor is a very entertaining flick and i was flabbergasted with the CGI effects in this! They are amazingly well done and pretty realistic. Though of all the praises fired up there's a lot of improvement that should have been made for this movie especially the story though simplicity means beautiful I still believe it should have been greatly produced with sort of brain twisting climax. Overall very descent and spectacular film..CGI brings the entertainment plus the fact I love Natalie Portman. Expand
  93. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    Although it has horrible dialogue and acting, it is a fun, entertaining and hilarious film that provides more laughs than anything else. Better than I expected.
  94. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    Thor is an okay superhero film but there is a lot like it that has been seen before. Although the acting was questionable, the story and the special effects were good.
  95. May 16, 2012
    3
    all of the female characters in this movie have bafflingly bad dialogue. the writing is especially underwhelming for natalie portman (who stumbles through this entire movie much as she did in star wars ep1) and kat dennings made me wanna punch stuff for how stupid and unfunny her character was. at one point she takes a picture of thor on her phone and says "this is going straight toall of the female characters in this movie have bafflingly bad dialogue. the writing is especially underwhelming for natalie portman (who stumbles through this entire movie much as she did in star wars ep1) and kat dennings made me wanna punch stuff for how stupid and unfunny her character was. at one point she takes a picture of thor on her phone and says "this is going straight to facebook." Loki was the best written character and had some complexity to him to a level that was completely off the charts compared to the rest of the characters. every other character is a cliche with the subtlety of a screaming baby Expand
  96. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Fun, but incredibly stupid. The plot had more holes than swiss cheese. However, the action scenes were a blast, even though their meaning is shrouded in stupidity. Oh, did I mention the stupid costumes?
  97. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    This is the result of what happens when comic books meet Shakespeare. Great popcorn film full of action and humor. Well worth the money to see this film. This is Thor's back story and should make for the base for future Thor and Avenger films. Hemsworth is outstanding. Hopkins is always good and Branagh showed the world that he's more than just the Shakespeare guy. Fantastic movie.
  98. May 12, 2012
    8
    Like John Carter, this was another very entertaining movie, taken from a very unreal story. The lead actor played Thor perfectly. If an uncut version of this movie ever came to light (filling in some of the missing elements in the relationships within the story) this would be an excellent film. As it stands, it's a solid effort.
  99. May 22, 2013
    7
    Some superhero films just click in the sort of way where everyone is there for a reason, the plot flows nicely, the dialogue is the balanced blend of drama with real humour to mellow the mood, and characters that are larger than life and memorable. Thor has all of these, just not to the fullest.
    The God of Thunder is an over-confident, adrenaline-fuelled piece of meat played by the
    Some superhero films just click in the sort of way where everyone is there for a reason, the plot flows nicely, the dialogue is the balanced blend of drama with real humour to mellow the mood, and characters that are larger than life and memorable. Thor has all of these, just not to the fullest.
    The God of Thunder is an over-confident, adrenaline-fuelled piece of meat played by the talented Chris Hemsworth, he is the would-be King to succeed his father, Odin (Anthony Hopkins), King of Asgard.
    When Thor recklessly battles with the Ice Giants of Jotunheim, a race that his father was holding a dodgy truth with, he is banished by his father and removed of all his power, including his hammer, Mjolnir.
    Crossing paths with the banished God on earth is Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), who accidentally runs him over while chasing an anomaly in the sky, Jane and her team, Eric Selvig (Stellan Skarsgård) and Darcy (Kat Dennings) are unaware at first that it was Thor and his hammer causing the strange occurrences in the sky.
    As Thor adjusts to life on earth, his brother Loki (Tom Hiddlestone), mischievous indeed, isn't everything he appears to be, and sets out a plan to be King. This is without doubt an explosive and action-packed first outing for Thor, the humour in the film is top notch and director Kenneth Branagh brings a true sense of realism to such an expansive and magical story.
    However, the film too often feels like a tie-in to keep us going until The Avengers, much like Iron Man 2, S.H.I.E.L.D. are just too heavily involved and often spoil the party for an otherwise enjoyable flick. The action is often just too quick, flashy and CGI-laden to enjoy, there is plenty of blur in the film, for all the wrong reasons. Clark Gregg returns as Agent Coulson, and while his scenes are good, and sometimes funny ("One of Starks?" "I don't know, he doesn't tell me anything"), they are just too expansive and plot oriented to the point where we start to lose interest in the Thor plot.
    That aside, Chris Hemsworth is perfectly cast, his charm, bulging biceps and over-zealous attitude contribute to much of the comedy, with a few one-liners that are simply priceless. The chemistry between himself and Portman is magical, while the more limited role of Selvig is enjoyable, its really the small part of Idris Elba playing Heimdall that is excellent.
    Not a the best of the Marvel Universe, but certainly an enjoyable first outing for Thor.
    Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 29, 2011
    38
    The standards for comic book superhero movies have been established by "Superman," "The Dark Knight," "Spider-Man 2" and "Iron Man." In that company "Thor" is pitiful. Consider even the comparable villains (Lex Luthor, the Joker, Doc Ock and Obadiah Stane). Memories of all four come instantly to mind. Will you be thinking of Loki six minutes after this movie is over?
  2. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 12, 2011
    50
    The year's most divided movie to date; everything that happens in the higher realms, vaguely derived from Nordic legend, is posturing nonsense, whereas the scenes down here are managed, for the most part, with dexterity and wit. [16 May 2011, p. 133]
  3. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 11, 2011
    50
    This is eminently missable, though the mosaic design of Asgard, Thor's mythical realm, is pretty cool.