Thor

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1370 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 26, 2016
    9
    Thank God for Paramount Pictures, Marvel Studios, Kenneth Branagh, and Kevin Fiege for delivering one of the greatest superhero films onto the big screen to date! Thor is wonderful in nearly all of it's ways! The setting of Asgard is one of the most beautiful atmospheric environments seen in film history to date! The plot is very solid, and the characters are amazing! Before watching thisThank God for Paramount Pictures, Marvel Studios, Kenneth Branagh, and Kevin Fiege for delivering one of the greatest superhero films onto the big screen to date! Thor is wonderful in nearly all of it's ways! The setting of Asgard is one of the most beautiful atmospheric environments seen in film history to date! The plot is very solid, and the characters are amazing! Before watching this film, I found it hard for me to relate to Thor, but what Kenneth Branagh did in this film is unprecedented! This movie is absolutely phenomenal! A few iffy plot points prevent the film from scoring an overall perfect score of 10, but that should not take away from how amazing this movie is! Thor is hilarious! You will find yourself literally laughing out loud at certain points in the film. This film just about has everything a superhero film needs--action, comic relief, drama, tear-jerking moments, the list goes on. Thor is awesome! There is not really a whole lot more that can be added to this. Thor is awesome! Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2016
    6
    Thor, overall, was a pretty enjoyable movie, but it's 3D rendering and heavy-CGI effects lower its score to a 6. The acting was great (from Hemsworth and Hiddleston in particular) and was lots of the fun, but they used too much CGI in the making of it, and at times I was distracted
  3. Jul 17, 2016
    7
    Not going to lie, I know the plot is nonsensical and the CGI sometimes is mediocre, however the MCU finally has a good villain character in Loki and the hammer is pretty awesome. Overall, it is a great summer popcorn flick and nothing more. It will definitely not age well, but I definitely enjoyed it while in the moment.
  4. Jun 27, 2016
    8
    As far as quasi-coming-of-age-action-adventure-superhero films go, "Thor" is without a doubt among the best. In all seriousness though, Kenneth Branagh had a demigod (tee-hee) of a task on his hands in trying to simultaneously sell the magical realism of the fantastical world at hand, whilst furthering the overall narrative that was "Phase One" of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. And, to beAs far as quasi-coming-of-age-action-adventure-superhero films go, "Thor" is without a doubt among the best. In all seriousness though, Kenneth Branagh had a demigod (tee-hee) of a task on his hands in trying to simultaneously sell the magical realism of the fantastical world at hand, whilst furthering the overall narrative that was "Phase One" of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. And, to be quite frank, he pulled it off. In spades. "Thor" not only accomplishes both of the aforementioned feats, it also introduces us to the charismatic stylings of both Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston, while also teaching us that Branagh himself indeed has a few action-oriented tricks up his directorial sleeves. Overall, "Thor" is great entertainment and I regret missing when it came out. Expand
  5. May 1, 2016
    7
    Thor hd always been one of the more boring characters in the Marvel universe since there wasn't really more to him outside of being a Norse God. This film though really fixed that as Thor has a similar character arc to Tony Stark but there are a few differences. Thor starts as a prideful prince who lets the power get to his head but later learns the value of mortal life. He goes to EarthThor hd always been one of the more boring characters in the Marvel universe since there wasn't really more to him outside of being a Norse God. This film though really fixed that as Thor has a similar character arc to Tony Stark but there are a few differences. Thor starts as a prideful prince who lets the power get to his head but later learns the value of mortal life. He goes to Earth after being cast out from Asgard which gives way to interesting character interactions. Chris Hemsworth is a perfect choice to play the God of Thunder and he has great chemistry with Natalie Portman as Jane Foster. There is also a nice comrade re with the Warriors three much like their comic book counter parts. Anthony Hopkins carries a strong presence as Odin which is standard for such a powerhouse actor. The one actor who really steals the show is Tom Hiddleton as Loki. He is a devious character hence why he is called the God of Mischief but he is sympathetic as well in this incarnation. He is so good as the god of mischief that he even fooled me on more than one occasion which makes him a great villain since he is manipulative and unpredictable. Kenneth Branagh directs this film with his trademark visual flare making this film not only fun to watch but also beautiful to behold. This film made me a new Thor fan and I can't wait to see what awaits him in the future. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2016
    6
    Often pointed out as the worst in the marvel phase one, Thor is a movie that was not able to reach its full potential but still remained as an enjoyable ride from start to finish. It can be seen that Chris Hemsworth really tried, but his lack of charisma really didn't make the title character interesting. Maybe its the character itself at fault here, but he really wasn't likeable enough.
  7. Mar 28, 2016
    6
    Often pointed out as the worst in the marvel phase one, Thor is a movie that was not able to reach its full potential but still remained as an enjoyable ride from start to finish. It can be seen that Chris Hemsworth really tried, but his lack of charisma really didn't make the title character interesting. Maybe its the character itself at fault here, but he really wasn't likable enough.
  8. Mar 20, 2016
    7
    Kenneth Branagh invests this comicbook epic with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension.

    Neither the star pupil nor the dunce of the Marvel superhero-to-screen class, “Thor” delivers the goods so long as butt is being kicked and family conflict is playing out in celestial dimensions, but is less thrilling during the Norse warrior god’s rather brief banishment on Earth.
    Kenneth Branagh invests this comicbook epic with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension.

    Neither the star pupil nor the dunce of the Marvel superhero-to-screen class, “Thor” delivers the goods so long as butt is being kicked and family conflict is playing out in celestial dimensions, but is less thrilling during the Norse warrior god’s rather brief banishment on Earth. With Aussie hunk Chris Hemsworth impressive in the lead and helmer Kenneth Branagh investing the dramatic passages with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension, pic looks sure to reap big B.O. on the strength of its ready-made audience, but faces a tougher time attracting viewers for whom this type of fare is the exception rather than the rule.

    Although the comicbook has been in print since 1962, Thor hasn’t scored much more than supporting roles and guest spots in various toons and telepics since. With this in mind, scripters Ashley Edward Miller, Zack Stentz and Don Payne have wisely penned an unhurried but engrossing half-hour setup of the lesser-known Marvel character and the three worlds he inhabits.

    Opening snapshot in New Mexico finds astrophysicist Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), her gal-pal/assistant Darcy Lewis (Kat Dennings) and Jane’s mentor, Dr. Erik Sevig (Stellan Skarsgard) investigating a twister-like atmospheric disturbance. In their haste to discover what’s come down in the storm, their RV knocks down Thor (Hemsworth), a buff and bearded stranger.

    Bulk of the action in the first couple of reels sets up Thor’s fall from grace in his homeland, Asgard, a heavenly realm ruled by his supremely wise but aging father, Odin (Anthony Hopkins). Just moments away from peacefully ascending the throne ahead of brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston), Thor leaps into an eye-popping interdimensional portal and leads an unauthorized attack on Jotunheim, home to their enemies, the Frost Giants, led by reptile-like Laufey (Colm Feore). Odin’s punishment: Thor is dispatched to Midgard (Earth) with his magical hammer, Mjolnir, but cannot use the mighty instrument until he overcomes the classic mythological shortcomings of arrogance and impetuosity.

    Speckled with amusing fish-out-of-water humor as Thor marches around a dusty New Mexico town like he’s still in Asgard, the story promises much from the attentions of government agent Coulson (Clark Gregg) and Thor’s brewing confrontation with the Destroyer, a hulking creation that resembles a high-tech suit of armor and shoots fire from its eyes. He’s joined in this endeavor by Asgard warrior pals Sif (Jaimie Alexander), Volstagg (Ray Stevenson), Fandral (Josh Dallas), and Hogun (Tadanobu Asano).

    Yet Thor’s smackdown with the Destroyer is all too brief and anticlimactic when stacked up against the spectacularly rendered rumbles in other dimensions. Though Thor’s romance with Jane is passable, thanks largely to Portman’s sterling work in a thinly written role, the couple isn’t given enough alone time or meaningful dialogue to raise the relationship above the ordinary.

    It’s a different matter in the heavens. Hopkins rises to the occasion with a restrained yet powerful portrayal of a father forced by conscience to deal the bitterest of judgments upon his chosen heir, and Hiddleston gives a finely tuned perf as the sibling whose loyalty or otherwise to Thor remains a tantalizing question until deep into proceedings. Almost unrecognizable as the star of Aussie soap “Home and Away” in the mid-2000s, Hemsworth holds his own in distinguished company and will serve the series well in any sequels and “The Avengers,” Marvel’s all-star superhero bash skedded for 2012 release. Given only a handful of lines, Rene Russo is under-used as Odin’s wife, Frigga.

    As the living actor and director most closely associated with Shakespeare, Branagh may seem a surprise choice for such material. A childhood reader of the comics, he brings a fan’s enthusiasm and his skill as an actor’s director to the table here. Fitting Hemsworth out with a classical but never pompous British accent and shooting emotionally charged sequences with elegant simplicity, Branagh succeeds in rendering his mythological characters deeply human.

    While no fatal missteps are taken along Thor’s path to redemption, pic has a slightly choppy feel, as if it’s trying to squeeze an origin tale and at least part of its sequel into a single entity. Most of the material motors along just fine, though the editing occasionally seems a bit too hurried in moving from one dimension to the next. An extra reel of Earth-bound story might not have gone astray.

    Effects work is on the money, with the suspended, glowing Bitfrost gateway from Asgard to other worlds an eye-catching highlight. All other technical credits are thoroughly pro.
    Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2016
    8
    Thor is another classic of action films. Maybe the mitology and formula it's a bit confusing or dull for this kind of films, but it really works, with interesting story-telling, human altitude, great interpretations and action-packed. Fans of Marvel will really like this film.
  10. Mar 12, 2016
    8
    WHAT I LIKED: 'Thor' is majestic, fantastical yet heart-filled. Really, it's a shock it's so good, but thanks Kenneth Brannagh's Shakespearean characterisation, we get one of the better hero origins we've seen. Branagh's attention to detail is perfect for this world and these characters, as are the incredible cast who are all perfect for their roles. This film will make you smile, triumph,WHAT I LIKED: 'Thor' is majestic, fantastical yet heart-filled. Really, it's a shock it's so good, but thanks Kenneth Brannagh's Shakespearean characterisation, we get one of the better hero origins we've seen. Branagh's attention to detail is perfect for this world and these characters, as are the incredible cast who are all perfect for their roles. This film will make you smile, triumph, and it'll even tug at your heart strings.
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It could have done with a touch more action and a more interesting plot to add to it's overall impact. Oh, and, what was Loki's plan exactly...?
    VERDICT: A fantasy take on Superhero films, 'Thor' is sadly Marvel's forgotten gem - it's actually very good.
    Expand
  11. Feb 28, 2016
    6
    Tenía que verlo, luego del final de Iron Man 2, tenía curiosidad, la película no era lo que esperaba, pero tampoco es mala, es que no soy fan de Shakespare como el director, pero me gustó el diseño digital de Asgard, el Bifrost, todo está creíble como han hecho este fántastico mundo, Chris Hemsworth es digno de ser el dios del trueno, lo borda bien, Tom Hiddleston como el engañoso Loki,Tenía que verlo, luego del final de Iron Man 2, tenía curiosidad, la película no era lo que esperaba, pero tampoco es mala, es que no soy fan de Shakespare como el director, pero me gustó el diseño digital de Asgard, el Bifrost, todo está creíble como han hecho este fántastico mundo, Chris Hemsworth es digno de ser el dios del trueno, lo borda bien, Tom Hiddleston como el engañoso Loki, también excepcional, tal como en el material fuente, los demás personajes está bien, aunque Darcy (Kat Dennings) me parece mejor que Jar Jar Binks de Star Wars, Anthony Hopkins como el padre de todos, te hace olvidar su personaje carácteristico caníbal, en cuanto a la trama, el protagonista a diferencia de otros súperhéroes no tiene un origen fijo, aunque no se aleja tanto de su primer número de Journey into Mystery (hay una referencia), que es un arrogante que sólo pelea por necedad, por lo que necesita aprender una lección de humilidad, desterrándolo y despojarle de sus poderes, las partes entre Asgard y la Tierra están muy equilibradas y ambos mundos son diferentes en muchos sentidos, no hay mucha acción, el romance entre el protagonista y Jane Foster (Natalie Portman) lo vi muy forzado, combina bien dos de mis géneros preferidos, la ciencia ficción y la fantasía, el cual también fue la innovación en los cómics cuando Thor debutó, para terminar, como dije antes ninguna de las películas de Marvel Studios es mala, hay unas mejores que otras, Thor está en el fondo de mi lista, para los que admiran el trabajo de Kenneth Branagh, les recomiendo esta película. Expand
  12. Feb 11, 2016
    7
    Thor, is the first movie to introduce the mighty thor into the Mcu. Onto the good points, thor has a very interesting plotline oblivious to many movie viewers. In addition it has fun side characters, like Dr Selvig. The action is pretty great too and the villain Loki is Clearly the best villain in the Mcu. The humour is pretty spot on too. While there are many good points, there are also aThor, is the first movie to introduce the mighty thor into the Mcu. Onto the good points, thor has a very interesting plotline oblivious to many movie viewers. In addition it has fun side characters, like Dr Selvig. The action is pretty great too and the villain Loki is Clearly the best villain in the Mcu. The humour is pretty spot on too. While there are many good points, there are also a few bad ones. You start to dislike thor at the start of the movie and continuing disliking him until the end. I also think that there should have been more of Thor's home world Asgard. And while all the supporting cast are enjoyable there is one that is extremely annoying. Altogether Thor is another decent Mcu stand-alone movie and I feel is very underrated by fans. Expand
  13. Feb 4, 2016
    8
    Thor wasn't the best opening to a franchise, but it's still strong and holdable at some cases and then there are those cases that remind you to the case of Thor.
  14. Nov 2, 2015
    8
    Chris Hemsworth does an excellent job as playing Thor while the supporting also proves to be effective as well. With great action scenes, storytelling, and it sense of humor, Thor will definitely not disappoint fans.
  15. Oct 9, 2015
    7
    Unique among superhero films. For one thing, it's got a fantasy feel to it and for another thing, the main character has been stripped of his powers for most of the movie so it's more of a fish out of water story. Tom Hiddleson's Loki was brilliant (looks like the MCU has found their Heath Ledger) and Chris Hemsworth was very good as the title character. It's a pretty good movie, differentUnique among superhero films. For one thing, it's got a fantasy feel to it and for another thing, the main character has been stripped of his powers for most of the movie so it's more of a fish out of water story. Tom Hiddleson's Loki was brilliant (looks like the MCU has found their Heath Ledger) and Chris Hemsworth was very good as the title character. It's a pretty good movie, different from most films of its kind. Expand
  16. Sep 3, 2015
    6
    That Thor was directed by Kenneth Branagh came as a surprise to me, as I know Branagh as a director of Shakespeare movies, such as Henry V. It seemed like a different cup of tea altogether, but then again: why not?
    Thor is watchable because the main actor Chris Hemsworth instills an almost juvenile charm into the character that works well for the occasion. For Thor is a bit immature, as
    That Thor was directed by Kenneth Branagh came as a surprise to me, as I know Branagh as a director of Shakespeare movies, such as Henry V. It seemed like a different cup of tea altogether, but then again: why not?
    Thor is watchable because the main actor Chris Hemsworth instills an almost juvenile charm into the character that works well for the occasion. For Thor is a bit immature, as we soon find out. People probably have heard about Thor in one fashion or another, so it doesn't require much of a leap of faith to see the impulsive Norse god of thunder in this tall, muscled, blue-eyed, blond man.

    It is Hemsworth therefore who carries most of the movie, with Tom Hiddleston(aka Loki: the trickster god) being a good second. The rest of the crew is mostly a side show, although Hopkins, being the great actor he is, usually tends to grab the attention anyway. And in a strange way, so does Idris Elba, who plays Heimdall, the guardian of the bridge that connects Asgard to the rest of the universe(on a side note: is it me, or has that-what-is-at-stake progressed from the earth to the whole universe of late?).

    There is also Natalie Portman, who is an gifted actress, but in this male oriented and dominated movie she is just the female diversion that is meant to adorn Thor. It is not a role that that suits her well. She is too diminutive and too dark, which makes her disappear next to the tall Hemsworth and the role she plays doesn't offer her much to work with. Perhaps it would have been better if Kat Dennings, Portman's sidekick friend, had been the female lead, provided she had been snarky enough.

    The script is pretty non-existent and filled with strange twists that make no sense. For instance, Thor is about to be appointed king by his father Odin, but then he shows his utter adolescence nature by invading the land of the frost-giants on a whim to find out who betrayed 'them' by using the astounding blunt force infiltration tactic that might have been inspired by US foreign policy. It is the kind of strategm in which you kill everyone first and then start to ask questions. But then: we never wanted to hear the answer anyway(because we already know it). But aside from this: did Thor just suddenly swap from mature to immature at the moment his father was about to make him king? Or was Odin willing to appoint this buffoon as ruler of Asgard despite him knowing this? But then why throw him out when he does what his nature demanded him to do? It makes no sense at all.

    Somewhat later Odin interrupts the frost-giant massacre in time to safe his son and co. 'Just forget it ever happened', Odin proposes in a conciliatory manner to the frost-giant king. Forgetting that about 50+ frost-giants were killed by Thor and company for no reason at all and with only the loss of one wounded Asgardian. One wonders why them frost-giants are so upset as to decline this very reasonable peace offer.

    The movie goes from one scene to next in a marvelous spirited fashion and logic, when it gets in the way, is just set aside. It is almost as if the script is made up on the spur of the moment by throwing a pair of dice. Perhaps this is tongue-in-cheek reference to the roleplay community?
    The immature Thor matures in the nick of time to get back his powers so he can stop the evil that his way comes and the one that is about to overwhelm Asgard to boot. One hour later and it would have been in vain.
    And when you are stuck in another realm there are always a bunch of loyal friends who open the inter-dimensional portal to pay you a visit, bring you up to speed with the latest news from home and allow you to return as well. All with odds than put sheer stupendous luck to shame and must have caused the laws of logic and chance to buckle under the strain of nonsense..

    Perhaps Branagh tried to capture the mood that makes Marvel comics so incomprehensible. It all happens outside the boundaries of reason and humanity, but hey, it looks way cool! Any complexity gets resolved by brute force or, actually; temporarily fixed but never resolved, because there might be a sequel! Whether it is the Joker or Loki: villains never die! Or as the law of sequels has it: thy shalt allow for a sequel.

    Thor is a fast, action packed superficial movie that therefore rightly belongs in the stable of the Marvel universe, which is totally at odds with the depth of the norse Sagas or, as a matter of fact of the works of, say, Wagner.
    The movie incidentally made a profit two times over.
    Ain't that marvelous?
    Expand
  17. Jul 8, 2015
    7
    'Thor' follows the story of a once arrogant God named Thor (Chris Hemsworth), who is banished from his world, Asgard by his father and king, Odin (Anthony Hopkins). Along the way, at Earth, Thor meets three scientists; Jane (Natalie Portman), Eric Selvig (Stellan Skarsgard) and Darcy (Kat Dennings).

    At Earth, Thor learns what it is and how to be worthy in order for him to become a
    'Thor' follows the story of a once arrogant God named Thor (Chris Hemsworth), who is banished from his world, Asgard by his father and king, Odin (Anthony Hopkins). Along the way, at Earth, Thor meets three scientists; Jane (Natalie Portman), Eric Selvig (Stellan Skarsgard) and Darcy (Kat Dennings).

    At Earth, Thor learns what it is and how to be worthy in order for him to become a mighty God again, but all that doesn't go according to plan when his scheming and jealous brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston) plans to jeopardize Thor's return to Asgard and become King once again.

    Kenneth Branagh directs this movie with such visual ambition, the actors commit to their roles very well despite looking and often sounding ridiculous what with the costumes and constant Shakespeare-like dialogue. It definitely doesn't feel like a comic book movie, instead, more like a tone-down version of "The Lord of the Rings" and "Game of Thrones".

    The film does suffer from predictability and, possibly, just a short and thinly written plot, but it is a lot of fun, it may not rank among some great comic book films like; 'Superman' (1978), 'X2: X-Men United' (2003), or even 'The Dark Knight' (2008), but if you are a fan of the "Thor " comics...then you will like this for what it is.
    Expand
  18. May 16, 2015
    6
    A good movie with some funny scenes, action scenes found through weak, has a history until interesting, but the film itself has nothing very special, but what I hated most in the film was the appearance of Hawkeye, it just appeared to show the public that it exists, but he did nothing, they could have used a lot more character.
  19. May 2, 2015
    6
    I had a fairly decent time watching this! chris hemsworth was an absolute delight to watch as Thor! this movie didnt look promising, but I was pleasantly surprised
  20. Mar 7, 2015
    6
    Although a solid movie and certainly entertaining it never lives up to what marvel movies have shown they can be. Despite keeping your interest there are no points of the movie that are great or particularly memorable.
  21. Dec 22, 2014
    6
    Thor(2011) is funny and enjoyable for all ages.Thor is portrayed well by Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston did a great job portraying his role "Loki" but the other characters are just flat and boring.
  22. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    Yes, its essential purpose is to introduce Thor so people will know him in the Avengers, but it is a decent movie. It has the most plot of the Phase 1 Marvel films and surprisingly, the least amount of plot-holes. Loki is amazing in the sense that he is the least generic villain of the MCU.
  23. Oct 26, 2014
    6
    Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Analysis: Thor (2011)

    Okay, I’m going to be quite honest right here and say that… I thought this movie was going to suck. I really did. Not that I have a problem with the cast, I really don’t have. The problem is that Thor is my least favorite character and seeing a character walking around strange planets with magic and science related is something that
    Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Analysis: Thor (2011)

    Okay, I’m going to be quite honest right here and say that… I thought this movie was going to suck. I really did. Not that I have a problem with the cast, I really don’t have. The problem is that Thor is my least favorite character and seeing a character walking around strange planets with magic and science related is something that I wouldn’t find enthusiastic or even entertaining. I’m more related to technology, maybe that’s why I think Iron Man is a way better character despite his latest movie (Iron Man 2, the one I saw lately) was semi-disappointing. However, after seeing “Thor”, I can at least say that I found myself satisfied. This movie is not better than “Captain America: The First Avenger” but comes close with wit, humor and human drama. I gave this movie an 8 when I saw it for the first time, but now I realize that it’s not worthy of it. Mainly because there’s some issues with the film itself that really made me question myself if I was watching a good movie or a boring one. There’s not much to say about this, but I’ll try to write a full detailed, well-reasoned review on this one.

    The reckless Thor (Chris Hemsworth) son of Odin (Anthony Hopkins), challenges his brother's claim to the throne of Asgard. To teach him humility, Odin casts the young warrior down to Earth to live among humans. Robbed of his powers, Thor falls in love with a scientist Jane Foster (Natalie Portman). While Thor's brother; Loki usurps the throne of Asgard for evil gain and plans revenge, Thor's love for Jane and his lessons of humility turn him into the true hero and legendary and immortal warrior-defender of the peoples of the Earth saving them from destruction.

    As you can see in the plot summary above, there’s really nothing much to say. The film’s narrative flows nicely throughout the movie (though sometimes is a little bit rushed). There’s a lot of lines in the movie that are, indeed, well-written. The dialogue between Asgardians is almighty (Pun fully intended) and even the interaction between humans seem grounded and believable. Again, like I said in my Iron Man’s review, it’s very difficult to capture belief in movies, especially if we are talking about super-heroes and Gods in general so if there’s something that this movie needs credit for, it’s the dialogue. The plot also introduces some action scenes (we’ll get to that later) but they are really short, perhaps the movie just wants to focus on its characters and the universe’s atmosphere, while also adding some comedic relief. And that’s my favorite bit.

    The comedy is pretty good. There’s one scene where Thor enters into an animal’s shop—where there’s only cats, birds and dogs—and asks for a horse. And the manager is like “Oh we just have dogs and cats…” and Thor responds: “Give me one of those large enough to ride”. Or when Thor is drinking and says: “I like this drink! Another! *Smashes glass*”. There’s some really funny moments in this movie that just made my day while watching it. And not only the script provides it, but the actors also know how to perform it to make it even funnier.

    Now, the action. If you haven’t seen this movie yet, please don’t expect too much action, because this movie has only few scenes with fights. However, when they appear, they are very well done. Director Kenneth Branagh clearly understands that action is not only about punches and kicks in the face. He brings panache and sense of fun to the action sequences and it’s more than promised.

    Chris Hemsworth makes for a compelling hero, as his character Thor is very easy to understand. He’s arrogant, stupid and often dangerous. That’s another thing I like about this movie. It’s the character development. You can easily understand these characters through their emotions, their actions, their dreams and fears. The cast also helps it.

    Of course, with all of this, we also get to see some few easter eggs related to Marvel Cinematic Universe. Hawkeye makes a special cameo and Agent Coulson has some scenes, while Nick Fury only appears in a post-credits scene, revealing a strange object with unlimited power. It’s very exciting to see all these storylines get tangled into one story. That’s why I am doing this big marathon, right?

    Final Score to Thor (2011): 7/10. I couldn’t give this a higher score. Its narrative has its questionable flaws. However, this is a super-hero movie done right. It’s got charisma, heart, comedy and some action. Everything that any moviegoer or comic book fans would ask for. Its sequel is not that great, but this film, is good. Next MCU movie to review: The Incredible Hulk (2008).
    Expand
  24. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    Thor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. A beautiful, young scientist, Jane Foster, has a profound effect on Thor, as she ultimately becomes hisThor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. A beautiful, young scientist, Jane Foster, has a profound effect on Thor, as she ultimately becomes his first love. It's while here on Earth that Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth. Expand
  25. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    All in all, I very much enjoyed this film.

    Chris Hemsworth was both annoying and fabulous as Thor; he played the character very nicely, creating a stubborn, hot-tempered, prideful god who is eventually banished from his home for those very qualities. All in all, the story was splintered between events taking place in Asgard and on Earth. Asgard, sadly, wasn't nearly as
    All in all, I very much enjoyed this film.

    Chris Hemsworth was both annoying and fabulous as Thor; he played the character very nicely, creating a stubborn, hot-tempered, prideful god who is eventually banished from his home for those very qualities.

    All in all, the story was splintered between events taking place in Asgard and on Earth.

    Asgard, sadly, wasn't nearly as interesting, focusing more on plotting and revelations of betrayal. Thor's Asgard companions were left a bit hollow, but his new friends on Earth (Jane Foster, played by Natalie Portman, mysterious Stellan Skarsgård as Erik Selvig and Kat Dennings as the ever optimistic Darcy Lewis) were a little better, in the end they managing to create a much-expected romance between Jane and Thor.

    Regardless of the sad fact that the characters didn't have enough life in them, the story progressed nicely with fabulous action.

    Definitely looking forward to any continuations.
    Expand
  26. Aug 15, 2014
    6
    Ehh. It's not the worst movie to come from Marvel, but it's far from the finest. It packs so many jokes into the two hour running time I might have mistaken it for a cheesy romance comedy, if it weren't for the dude in a red cape and the over the top battle scenes. My advice: stay away from Thor, and watch "Captain America" instead. It's a surprisingly boring movie.
  27. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Thor is a great movie and the fact that that it sets up something bigger is a bonus to what is a awesome film about the bratty future king of Asgard, Hemsworth give a good performance as Thor and Portman is very good as Jane Foster
  28. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    The best Marvel film so far, that show the most adventurous and stunning visuals that never have been identified before.

    The high amount of science fiction and action truly keeps me entertained, not to mention the amazing CGI and the stunning amount of details, which together form a wonderful and entertaining film. The romance (no spoilers) between the characters in Thor truly gives the
    The best Marvel film so far, that show the most adventurous and stunning visuals that never have been identified before.

    The high amount of science fiction and action truly keeps me entertained, not to mention the amazing CGI and the stunning amount of details, which together form a wonderful and entertaining film. The romance (no spoilers) between the characters in Thor truly gives the movie a high rating, because it’s so wonderful. The story in Thor is one other thing that’s fascinating, and there are many unique things that are cool to see in this amazing film, even thought there are some slow scenes where nothing particularly happened.

    Thor is an entertaining film, that also is funny and enjoyable, and combined with a stunning composing from Patrick Doyle, is this film amazing to watch.

    It’s not a flawless film, but it’s a very well made film by Marvel.

    Thor gets a 8.3/10
    Expand
  29. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    Avengers filmine geçiş için karakterleri tanıtmayı amaçlayan bu filmler biraz aceleye getirilse de oyuncu kadrosu çok iyi ve uygun seçilmiş olduğu için yine de seyre değer. Konu klasik biraz tempo da zaman zaman düşüyor. Asıl Thor ve Loki yi 2.filmden itibaren görebileceğiz kanısındayım.
  30. Jul 26, 2014
    7
    this movie to me was very good acting special effects action story was all good but not great this movie is better than a 7 but not good enough to be an 8.
    my ratting 7.7/10 action 8/10 story 7.5/10 acting 8/10 comedy 7/10 characters/character development 8/10
  31. Jul 8, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metacritic really should have a way to delete reviews​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​. Expand
  32. Apr 17, 2014
    7
    Bolstered by an enthusiastic cast and a broad sense of humor, Thor is one Marvel film that delivers on many levels and is delivered with an honest, fun spirit that will spark the sense of adventure.
  33. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    This film is a good setup, leading to "The Avengers". It has emotion, good visuals and a great villain. It's not as good as "Iron Man" or "The Avengers", but you're a fan of either one of those films, you can't miss out "Thor".
  34. Dec 21, 2013
    7
    Thor is an enjoyable superhero movie. It doesn't really try anything new, but it uses the standard ingredients well enough. It has a likeable hero, decent visual effects, and a very good finale. Sometimes it can even make you sad. In places the script and direction do need some work though. It's no Dark Knight ,but what else is? Well to be honest Iron Man, and the first twoThor is an enjoyable superhero movie. It doesn't really try anything new, but it uses the standard ingredients well enough. It has a likeable hero, decent visual effects, and a very good finale. Sometimes it can even make you sad. In places the script and direction do need some work though. It's no Dark Knight ,but what else is? Well to be honest Iron Man, and the first two Spider-Man films were also better than Thor. So it's not exactly one of its genre's best. It's just above average entertainment. I can live with that. Expand
  35. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    While it's not the best super hero ever made, it still showcases some good old super hero starts! While some say the sequel is way better than the this first installment, I disagree. "Thor" brings in an interesting plot with good characters and some good storytelling. It never felt too goofy, but never brought anything more than it could have. Overall, it's still a pretty good marvelWhile it's not the best super hero ever made, it still showcases some good old super hero starts! While some say the sequel is way better than the this first installment, I disagree. "Thor" brings in an interesting plot with good characters and some good storytelling. It never felt too goofy, but never brought anything more than it could have. Overall, it's still a pretty good marvel movie. I give it a B. Expand
  36. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    I can understand if someone didn't like this movie. It has a shallow plot that doesn't have much action in it. I did like it because I'm more focused on whether or not the plot was executed good. It did good for a part one.
  37. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    This is a comic-book movie (duh) and doesn't have aspirations to be any more than that. In that regard, it's a really good comic-book movie. Yeah, some of the dialogue is wooden, and some characters are underdeveloped, but it stays true to its source material, and ends up being a pretty fun film.
  38. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    Thor is fast paced, enjoyable and fun and only suffers when he is brought to Earth. There he is not nearly as interesting as he is on Asgard, but hey, those effects are expensive.
  39. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    If you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80sIf you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80s 'classics' like Flash Gordon or Krull). The movie really succeeds at this, feeling like it has just leaped off the page and into celluloid. It's exactly as it should be: Colorful, light, action packed and very, very daft. Thor is an extremely fun romp from start to finish and one of the most refreshing super hero movies of recent memory. Expand
  40. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Great eye candy. Lots of explosiony dusty dark stuff. bit of a story line. very little yukky romance, the side kick to thors girlfriend was good light relief humor. Lots of destruction, I like the destruction bits. You just like loki more and more. Great spaceship design. Now the bad: if the dark stuff is imprisoned in the core of some planet how can thors girlfriend accidently get to it,Great eye candy. Lots of explosiony dusty dark stuff. bit of a story line. very little yukky romance, the side kick to thors girlfriend was good light relief humor. Lots of destruction, I like the destruction bits. You just like loki more and more. Great spaceship design. Now the bad: if the dark stuff is imprisoned in the core of some planet how can thors girlfriend accidently get to it, that's just stretching it too far, poor writing. And give me a break, a scientist on earth has some techno sticks that will stop the alignment of planets. Theres some good ideas and effects let down by logic gaps. Expand
  41. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    While this movie is really good and a great introduction to the character and the world of Asgard, there were a few things that could've been better. Their needed to be more characters because even though the ones we got were great (Loki...need i say more?) i wanted to spend more time with Heimdall or the Warrior's Three. The main romance was fine as was Thor's character arc, but againWhile this movie is really good and a great introduction to the character and the world of Asgard, there were a few things that could've been better. Their needed to be more characters because even though the ones we got were great (Loki...need i say more?) i wanted to spend more time with Heimdall or the Warrior's Three. The main romance was fine as was Thor's character arc, but again more time needed to be spent developing them. The action sequences are great but their needed to be more of them or at least have them be a little bit longer. But the biggest problem is that they get one of the greatest character actors out there, Colm Feore to play the villain and they don't do anything with him. But still this was a really great movie with an awesome cast, great action and impressive effects. Let's just hope that The Dark World fixes these problems. Expand
  42. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    Surprisingly I really enjoyed Thor. It is dense, two hours dense; these aren’t the greatest characters in the world; and the dutch angle can get annoying. However, I’m willing to overlook these flaws because the main characters are for the most part likeable and well acted with Chris Hemsworth killing at as for, some nice character moments as opposed to a whole action fest, some enjoyableSurprisingly I really enjoyed Thor. It is dense, two hours dense; these aren’t the greatest characters in the world; and the dutch angle can get annoying. However, I’m willing to overlook these flaws because the main characters are for the most part likeable and well acted with Chris Hemsworth killing at as for, some nice character moments as opposed to a whole action fest, some enjoyable action, and some epic moments. If you’re a fan of superhero movies check this one out, which is easier than ever since it is on Netflix as I am writing this. Even if you don’t think it’s as good as Iron Man you’ll still be really entertained. If you aren’t a fan of the superhero movies than you can sit this one out since this one isn’t doing anything ground breaking that’ll change your mind. As for me, like I said before, I really enjoyed this film. It did a fantastic job establishing Thor and got me excited for The Avengers. Hopefully the sequel will surprise me as well although it has a lot to live up to if it wants to be as entertaining as this film. Expand
  43. Oct 16, 2013
    6
    not the best superhero movie ever made but it is a good movie despite showing a different side of the hero is a good movie but it can be forgotten in a little time.
  44. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    Not as good as I first remembered but still a highly entertaining film. There is plenty to like here as Thor is one of my favourite characters from 'The Avengers' line-up and I find I can enjoy this film as apposed to the likes of the 'Iron-Man' series. There isn't a great deal of Action for a film that you would expect to have a lot of it, but the final few scenes is where it picks up.Not as good as I first remembered but still a highly entertaining film. There is plenty to like here as Thor is one of my favourite characters from 'The Avengers' line-up and I find I can enjoy this film as apposed to the likes of the 'Iron-Man' series. There isn't a great deal of Action for a film that you would expect to have a lot of it, but the final few scenes is where it picks up. Overall a very good film and I am quite looking forward to the sequel later this year! Expand
  45. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    The special effects of this movie are really cool which really helps this one out a lot. The acting is good, and the plot is interesting as well. Only negative is that it's pretty much your typical superhero movie, it does nothing different despite Thor being a God rather than a superhuman. If that was different, then it undoubtedly would've been more enjoyable, even though as is, it's aThe special effects of this movie are really cool which really helps this one out a lot. The acting is good, and the plot is interesting as well. Only negative is that it's pretty much your typical superhero movie, it does nothing different despite Thor being a God rather than a superhuman. If that was different, then it undoubtedly would've been more enjoyable, even though as is, it's a pretty good movie. Expand
  46. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    Thor is the first Marvel comic movie of 2011, Later this year we will have "X-Men: First Class","Captain America" and D.C comic's "Green Lantern".

    I must explain that i have never been a big reader of "THOR", i acknoledge the character and accepted him for what he is but never really wanted to pick up a book and start reading, I knew the Origins, the Character's and all in all the
    Thor is the first Marvel comic movie of 2011, Later this year we will have "X-Men: First Class","Captain America" and D.C comic's "Green Lantern".

    I must explain that i have never been a big reader of "THOR", i acknoledge the character and accepted him for what he is but never really wanted to pick up a book and start reading, I knew the Origins, the Character's and all in all the fairly humourous cheese to it all.

    Well aside from "X-men", I had no ambition to see any of the superhero films this year, My father decided to see "THOR" and I tagged along.

    The result was obviously cheesy, yet it was a very well executed movie, both visually and acted.

    THOR's Homeland looked STUNNING, in this new age of Cinematic CGI Landscaping it's getting better and more believable, However this film did not need to be 3-D, I stress that because nowdays it's being thrown in any movie like it was back in the 80's, it going back to a gimmick rather than an Art form.

    Chris Hemsworth was a surprisingly good THOR, i'll admit he lost he's luster a bit when he ends up learning respect and new ways of life in a style done to death, but nevertheless a good solid job.

    However the best performance is of course Anthony Hopkins as his father Odin, The name Hopkins with every passing movie is becoming more of an Enigma and more of a housing to all these fantastic characters.

    Jane Foster in the comics was human THOR's nurse, in this version she's an Astrologist played by Natalie Portman, after how brilliant her performance was in "Black Swan" i feel she's slowly becoming the next "Audrey Hepburn" of the movies.

    If i wanted to recommend this movie to anyone, I'd ultimately say if you liked "Clash Of The Titans" then this movie is for you, less monsters but all that good mythology stuff any person would and probably SHOULD like.

    Final Verdict: Tweaking the Origin's a little, But neverthelss a really cheesy fun movie, very glad i went to see it.
    Expand
  47. May 31, 2013
    10
    This movie was a lot better than I thought it was going to be. The plot was great and the characters were excellent, especially Loki. I can't wait for Thor: The Dark World.
  48. May 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the rest of the Avengers films, this movie was fantastic. I thought Chris Hemsworth did a great job in his portrayal of Thor and the rest of the cast was great. Natalie Portman is as breathtaking as ever and the rest of the supporting cast adds a combination of depth and humor. The action sequences were done great and I loved how well this film tied in with the others in the universe. The little nods towards Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk were subtle yet really well played. I thought Loki's motives were a little shaky, especially considering that it's the entire foundation of the movie. Nonetheless, the rest of the plot develops really nicely and the film gets a bit of everything from action to drama to romance to suspense. If you can suspend your disbelief enough to accept the premise of the film, I think this movie is very entertaining and enjoyable. Expand
  49. May 22, 2013
    7
    Some superhero films just click in the sort of way where everyone is there for a reason, the plot flows nicely, the dialogue is the balanced blend of drama with real humour to mellow the mood, and characters that are larger than life and memorable. Thor has all of these, just not to the fullest.
    The God of Thunder is an over-confident, adrenaline-fuelled piece of meat played by the
    Some superhero films just click in the sort of way where everyone is there for a reason, the plot flows nicely, the dialogue is the balanced blend of drama with real humour to mellow the mood, and characters that are larger than life and memorable. Thor has all of these, just not to the fullest.
    The God of Thunder is an over-confident, adrenaline-fuelled piece of meat played by the talented Chris Hemsworth, he is the would-be King to succeed his father, Odin (Anthony Hopkins), King of Asgard.
    When Thor recklessly battles with the Ice Giants of Jotunheim, a race that his father was holding a dodgy truth with, he is banished by his father and removed of all his power, including his hammer, Mjolnir.
    Crossing paths with the banished God on earth is Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), who accidentally runs him over while chasing an anomaly in the sky, Jane and her team, Eric Selvig (Stellan Skarsgård) and Darcy (Kat Dennings) are unaware at first that it was Thor and his hammer causing the strange occurrences in the sky.
    As Thor adjusts to life on earth, his brother Loki (Tom Hiddlestone), mischievous indeed, isn't everything he appears to be, and sets out a plan to be King. This is without doubt an explosive and action-packed first outing for Thor, the humour in the film is top notch and director Kenneth Branagh brings a true sense of realism to such an expansive and magical story.
    However, the film too often feels like a tie-in to keep us going until The Avengers, much like Iron Man 2, S.H.I.E.L.D. are just too heavily involved and often spoil the party for an otherwise enjoyable flick. The action is often just too quick, flashy and CGI-laden to enjoy, there is plenty of blur in the film, for all the wrong reasons. Clark Gregg returns as Agent Coulson, and while his scenes are good, and sometimes funny ("One of Starks?" "I don't know, he doesn't tell me anything"), they are just too expansive and plot oriented to the point where we start to lose interest in the Thor plot.
    That aside, Chris Hemsworth is perfectly cast, his charm, bulging biceps and over-zealous attitude contribute to much of the comedy, with a few one-liners that are simply priceless. The chemistry between himself and Portman is magical, while the more limited role of Selvig is enjoyable, its really the small part of Idris Elba playing Heimdall that is excellent.
    Not a the best of the Marvel Universe, but certainly an enjoyable first outing for Thor.
    Expand
  50. May 9, 2013
    8
    This film has exceeded my expectations. It 's been really nice and was able to entertain me without annoying me. I especially loved the character of Loki. Great performance by Tom Hiddleston.
  51. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thor is a mighty superhero motion picture in the service of having a direction by Kenneth Branath. The film was written by Ashley Edward Miller, Zack Stentz and Don Payne and starring talented players like Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston and the stellar Anthony Hopkins. Thor is vividly ambitious having employed mega special effects and it is somehow a financial and critical success but it didn't worked out much for me, I just felt that Thor could have been much better.

    The plot surrounds the character Thor (Played by Chris Hemsworth), whose character is well occupied with arrogance, courage, aggressiveness and those unpopular self-abilities were responsible for his own exile from Asgard to earth. Upon his exile, his evil brother, Loki (Played by Tom Hiddleston), intends to become the new king of Asgard and to consolidate all powers for his own self. I have absolutely nothing to against its main plot here, not very much of simplicity it is complex to a very small extent and it varies important themes like family and loyalty and it instantly tells me that Kenneth Branath injected some kind of Shakespearean elements in it. I approved its storyline here, it is good.

    Acting-wise, it is amazing. Chris Hemsworth plays the tough character Thor and he navigated it very well. He is highly commanding in his acting performance and there is ultra-strength in it and yes, he did accomplished. Tom Hiddleston is very promising in the movie, perhaps I would say, Chris Hemsworth is overshadowed by him. Hiddleston's control on his facial expression every time he is performing is so precise, he exactly knows on when to 'turn to the left', or when to 'turn to the right', and with a perfect combination with his wonderful voice, he is sublime in this film. Perhaps his best moment is when his character Loki, a very inspirational villain, realised that he is adopted. Upon his discoveries, he screamed 'TELL ME!!' for the sake of finding the truth further and literally, backed up with fine acting skills, I could see so much pain and anger in Loki, and this enlightens me that Tom Hiddleston knows on how to manage a character. Anthony Hopkins plays Odin, the father of Thor, and as usual, brings his masterful game for his part and Natalie Portman too brought for us a fine performance.

    The first quarter of this movie is very splendid. Anchored with excellent fighting/action scene, excellent editing, beautiful colourful special effects, great dialogues and I would like to reiterate, powerful acting performances but it did not lasted till the end. It literally went down the hill during the last quarter of the movie. Fighting scenes between Loki and Thor are purely messy and too ambitious, and I don't enjoy messiness. Tons of special effects are being employed and it loses my interest of it, and I guess it lacked much audience involvement during that period of time. I'm not trying to suggest that Thor is way over the top but its special effects somehow blinded my eyes that I could not focus much.

    Thor is good, but not great, and I am very much in love to repeat that this movie could have been much, much, much, better.

    (http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/AlexDesmall) (http://facebook.com/alex.desmall) Twitter (Alex_DeSmall)
    Expand
  52. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    I didn't really expect too much from this movie, as I was never too much a fan of the comic or the character. But, to my surprise, it was somewhat decent. Effects were first rate, the characters were well played (perhaps a bit hammy at points) and story was a pretty good origin story for Thor. Overall: A good, but not great, movie. My least favorite of the Avenger characters.
  53. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    The great and powerful Thor was one of the biggest grossing movies of 2011. The special effects in this film were really some of the best I've ever seen and the star of the film, Chris Hemsworth was amazing, but besides that, this film was extremely overrated. Thor is banished to Earth for disobeying his father, the King, and must live as a mortal. Surprisingly, it doesn't take him veryThe great and powerful Thor was one of the biggest grossing movies of 2011. The special effects in this film were really some of the best I've ever seen and the star of the film, Chris Hemsworth was amazing, but besides that, this film was extremely overrated. Thor is banished to Earth for disobeying his father, the King, and must live as a mortal. Surprisingly, it doesn't take him very long to adjust, and he falls in love with Natalie Portman during a fifteen minute car ride. Okay, so the plot was weak to begin with, but the special effects could have more than made up for that. What I really didn't like about this film was just how fast everything happened. Thor is going to be in the Avengers trilogy and there is a good possibility there may be a sequel to this film, so what was the point in rushing everything? The character of Thor is a majestic one. He is one of the most powerful superheroes that ever existed. This film should have been the epic classic that was talked about for years, but instead they rushed the story and hid behind some great special effects. It was visually impactful, entertaining, and had a great star, but a side from that, this film is nothing more than a common theme with a weak script. Expand
  54. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie, but I was more amazed by the character Heimdall! He was epic! This movie is more about learning about Thor, I expect any sequel to have more action.
  55. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    Hats off to Marvel Studios...Thor is excellent. Definitely one of the best Marvel films, behind Spidermans 1 & 2, which says a lot. This film was the perfect start to the blockbuster season.

    First off, the cinematography and visual affects for the film were fantastic. Asgard, Thor's home planet, was beautiful to look at. I really enjoyed the scenes that took place there, and the
    Hats off to Marvel Studios...Thor is excellent. Definitely one of the best Marvel films, behind Spidermans 1 & 2, which says a lot. This film was the perfect start to the blockbuster season.

    First off, the cinematography and visual affects for the film were fantastic. Asgard, Thor's home planet, was beautiful to look at. I really enjoyed the scenes that took place there, and the artistic elements made it even better. The appearance of the film was my favorite thing about the movie. The visual effects were great too, but I come to expect nothing less of Marvel.

    The performances were excellent, especially Chris Hemsworth as Thor, and supporting actor Tom Hiddleston. Hemsworth easily could have done what happened in Fantastic 4 and taken a more silly approach to the character, but he really does a great job of sticking to the character. Even during the humorous moments, I felt the acting held up. He gives a fantastic performance and is very convincing. Tom Hiddleston gives the strongest performance of the cast, in my opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed his performance and thought he did a great job. He really added a whole other level of emotion to the film. Natalie Portman is also fantastic, but I expect nothing less from her.

    The story was also very appealing. I know absolutely nothing about the comic book Thor, same as most everyone else, so had no idea what to expect of this film. Marvel and director Kenneth Branagh knew this and were sure to keep that in mind when creating the movie. They did an excellent job. The characters were introduced nicely, the scenery gives the story a unique time and place, the pacing is great, there's little time wasted on narration and development, and they casted a brilliant set of actors to deliver the conflict and emotion. Also equal attention was given to both the God world and the human world, which I thought was very nice. The story was foreign to me, but because of the good direction and production, I ended up liking it a lot.

    For the first blockbuster of the summer, Thor is a smashing success. I hope it scores big at the box office and I recommend it to everyone. This is Marvel's "prettiest" film, so take advantage of that at least.
    Expand
  56. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    Thor is the last movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline right before The Avengers. Chris Hemsworth plays this truly tragic hero as he learns that with great power comes great responsibility. Plot: Thor Odinson is the son of Odin the allfather (Anthony Hopkins). Odin is the ruler of Asgard which oversees the 9 realms. Long ago the realm of Jotunheim had been engaged in a long warThor is the last movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline right before The Avengers. Chris Hemsworth plays this truly tragic hero as he learns that with great power comes great responsibility. Plot: Thor Odinson is the son of Odin the allfather (Anthony Hopkins). Odin is the ruler of Asgard which oversees the 9 realms. Long ago the realm of Jotunheim had been engaged in a long war with Asgard in which Odin led his army to victory over the native Frost Giants and steals their source of power. However, Odin is about to name Thor King of Asgard when the Frost Giants attempt to take it back going against the terms of their truce. Odin turns a blind eye while Thor declares war but isn't taken seriously for he is not yet King. Foolishly, Thor travels with his friends and his brother into the realm of Jotunheim in an attempt to eliminate them. After a near death experience Odin bails Thor out but Laufey, leader of the Frost Giants declare war on Asgard. As a punishment for Thor's arrogance, Odin banish's Thor to the realm of Earth and strips him of his supernatural powers. Here, Thor meets a team of meterologists who attempt to help him out as he is misunderstood as the war rages between Asgard and Jotunheim. My opinion: This is a great movie that proves that you don't know what you have until it is taken away. Chris Hemsworth plays the awkwardest part of the movie very successfully as the locales of Earth have trouble communicating with him. If you are interested in Viking mythology or are into conspiracy theorys, or even interested in the Marvel Cinematic Universe then I would reccomend this movie. Expand
  57. Nov 20, 2012
    5
    The action scenes were great but the movie was to mythological
  58. Oct 8, 2012
    4
    Sorry, but the whole movie just reaks of style over substance - and when the style itself isn't that good you're on to a loser. Thor is the Norse god of strength and thunder, but in this film he's played either more for laughs, or as some dickhead jock. There's very little respect for him and the whole **** vs brilliance/belly-fire falls flat when said brilliance and belly-fire fail toSorry, but the whole movie just reaks of style over substance - and when the style itself isn't that good you're on to a loser. Thor is the Norse god of strength and thunder, but in this film he's played either more for laughs, or as some dickhead jock. There's very little respect for him and the whole **** vs brilliance/belly-fire falls flat when said brilliance and belly-fire fail to show their face to counter-balance Thor's nob-head side. There's little in the way of opposition for Thor to face either, with the Frost Giants being a pretty shoddy set of opponents, and few epic fight scenes to speak of, instead there's just CGI scraps that make you switch off. It doesn't flow well, the romance plot gets far more coverage than it needs, and the whole film is shot rather amateurishly with too many epic shots apparent, watering the whole thing down. Not good and in a word - flat. Expand
  59. Sep 25, 2012
    2
    When I went to the cinema to see it not that eager tubiera ... But pay to see this crap? By God, you freak! It is very bad and ridiculous. With a plot that looks like the movie "Enchanted".
  60. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    recently watched Thor in 3D, I confess I did not expect much from the movie, so much that it took me enough to watch it ...

    But I was pleasantly surprised, the movie is very good! It has a good script, great actors, which together seamlessly into their characters, and it's quite enjoyable to watch. 3D in my opinion is depth of photography, and that Thor, despite not having been run
    recently watched Thor in 3D, I confess I did not expect much from the movie, so much that it took me enough to watch it ...

    But I was pleasantly surprised, the movie is very good! It has a good script, great actors, which together seamlessly into their characters, and it's quite enjoyable to watch.

    3D in my opinion is depth of photography, and that Thor, despite not having been run natively in 3D, has good effects and the picture is always crystal clear and deep natural well, I point out to all who have tv 3D to see it in 3D .Edit | Delete
    Expand
  61. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    The film is solid fun with the cast doing a stellar job but both this film and Captain America just feel like they have been made to stop Avenger's from having any character introductions. Still most of this film is great and I always enjoy Natalie Portman's performances.
  62. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    I liked Thor, the story seemed strong and the characters played their role pretty well, the way Thor interacted with the people on earth was hilarious, and near the end it was good to see him act more human towards them. It wasn't perfect, but it was a very good movie and I enjoyed watching it.
  63. Jul 15, 2012
    0
    After Iron Man and Hulk, next up was Thor for introduction to the cinema-going masses in preparation for his role in The Avengers.

    In comparison with most other superheroes, not only being from another world but a God at that, the story of Thor is probably one of the more difficult stories for adaptation. By dealing with other worlds and deities, as superhero stories go, Thor is more
    After Iron Man and Hulk, next up was Thor for introduction to the cinema-going masses in preparation for his role in The Avengers.

    In comparison with most other superheroes, not only being from another world but a God at that, the story of Thor is probably one of the more difficult stories for adaptation. By dealing with other worlds and deities, as superhero stories go, Thor is more magical and less grounded than say Captain America or Batman. The result is a hit and miss comic book adaptation that suffers from a poor villain, too much mythology and fantasy, unmemorable fight scenes and an occasionally cheesy script. Chris Hemsworth is likeable as Thor, he delivers both the brash arrogance and later sincerity of the character and although I haven't seen The Avengers I hope his character is given a reasonable amount of time.

    The story benefits most when Thor is exiled to Earth, the subsequent clash of cultures with scientist Natalie Portman is funny in places, although the line about a phone picture going straight onto Facebook may win 'cheesiest line of the year'.

    Having read differing reviews of Tom Hiddleston's Loki, I side with the negative. Comparisons of the actor's portrayal with Heath Ledger's Joker are way wide of the mark. Thor's brother Loki is as unmemorable a villain as I can remember.

    A must see for any comic book or Avengers fan but not the greatest superhero film.
    Expand
  64. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    I watched this movie some time ago. Thor had some actors I like. The old guy that is in charge of the Swiss guard in Angels and Demons is in the movie. The hot Natalie Portmen is also in it (the queen from Star Wars, and the chick from Black Swan). Anthony Hopkins (from Silence of the Lambs) is also in it. He plays as Odin, Thor's father. The main character that plays Thor wasI watched this movie some time ago. Thor had some actors I like. The old guy that is in charge of the Swiss guard in Angels and Demons is in the movie. The hot Natalie Portmen is also in it (the queen from Star Wars, and the chick from Black Swan). Anthony Hopkins (from Silence of the Lambs) is also in it. He plays as Odin, Thor's father. The main character that plays Thor was unknown to me. When I saw the trailer for the movie I was like who the **** is this guy? Running around thinking he is all bad ass. I was glad that he did not ruin the movie in the end. There are several funny parts in this movie. I thought the funniest part was soon after he arrived at earth and lost all his power; he was in a hospital and people were trying to sedate him and he yells out,"YOU CANNOT STOP THE MIGHTY TH.." Then he passed out after being drugged. The big silver giant robot in the movie bothered me because it looked like they copied and pasted it from the movie The Day The Earth Stood Still. It even shoots out lasers. lol. The movie was good for being a movie I did not really care to see. Expand
  65. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    When critiquing a movie, I think people tend to go over-analytical. For me, a movie is decided good or not by how much I particularly liked it. For Thor, I was entertained and I enjoyed the movie a lot. The special effects were killer and I was fangirling over both the protagonist and the antagonist. I had fun watching it, and that really matters. Oh, and once again, TOM HIDDLESTON hothothothot.
  66. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Hmm very mixed bag this one, read the comics as a kid but never really got hooked on the character, this movie spends a great deal of time on Thor's vanity more than anything else, by the time the real story is kicking in the credits are close. Not a bad movie but probably the weakest origin movie so far.
  67. May 31, 2012
    1
    Thor was by far the worst superhero movie of all time. The movie was like a science fiction version of Twilight. The movie will put you to sleep within like, two minutes. Unless you are a hardcore Thor fan, do not even consider renting this movie.
  68. May 17, 2012
    5
    They couldn't pronounce a lot of things right in the movie, me being Norwegian definitely changes my opinion. It was a decent movie, but the story should have focused more on Thor himself.
  69. May 16, 2012
    3
    all of the female characters in this movie have bafflingly bad dialogue. the writing is especially underwhelming for natalie portman (who stumbles through this entire movie much as she did in star wars ep1) and kat dennings made me wanna punch stuff for how stupid and unfunny her character was. at one point she takes a picture of thor on her phone and says "this is going straight toall of the female characters in this movie have bafflingly bad dialogue. the writing is especially underwhelming for natalie portman (who stumbles through this entire movie much as she did in star wars ep1) and kat dennings made me wanna punch stuff for how stupid and unfunny her character was. at one point she takes a picture of thor on her phone and says "this is going straight to facebook." Loki was the best written character and had some complexity to him to a level that was completely off the charts compared to the rest of the characters. every other character is a cliche with the subtlety of a screaming baby Expand
  70. May 12, 2012
    8
    Like John Carter, this was another very entertaining movie, taken from a very unreal story. The lead actor played Thor perfectly. If an uncut version of this movie ever came to light (filling in some of the missing elements in the relationships within the story) this would be an excellent film. As it stands, it's a solid effort.
  71. May 6, 2012
    7
    Everyone I talked to about Thor thoroughly disliked it, but I'm really not sure why. It kept my attention throughout and the special effects looked beautiful. I agree that the story could've been a little more exciting but oh well, it was definitely entertaining and worth my one buck to rent through redbox.
  72. May 5, 2012
    6
    THOR is not perfect, by far. The story is somewhat lacking, and the acting is mediocre. But it makes up for all of that with humor and lots of fun action that is so typical of marvel films.
  73. May 5, 2012
    8
    i really liked how they portrayed asgard. and although i thought the movie was a bit too lighthearted, i must admit that it was always fun.
  74. May 1, 2012
    7
    Finally got around to seeing this one. I hadn't made it a priority because I'd barely ever even heard of Thor as a Marvel character, and I'll admit that what I'd heard about the ideas behind the mythology of the Thor comics had me a little intimidated as someone who respects comics from a distance. That being said, I was supremely impressed with not only the movie's on-screen depiction ofFinally got around to seeing this one. I hadn't made it a priority because I'd barely ever even heard of Thor as a Marvel character, and I'll admit that what I'd heard about the ideas behind the mythology of the Thor comics had me a little intimidated as someone who respects comics from a distance. That being said, I was supremely impressed with not only the movie's on-screen depiction of Asgard and the society at large, but also the way that the script worked explanations of how the magic and scientific aspects of the realms work in the fiction. I never felt lost or as if a specific detail or explanation weren't accounted for when the plot called for it. The pacing of the movie feels this though, and there are a lot of long gaps of explanations and dialogue (which is all amazingly written, at least) between action pieces. Thor didn't really step outside of the boundaries in terms of plot structure, (hero fails, works for redemption, finds love, kicks ass, reclaims hero status), but that didn't really bother me because most of the movie works so well. No spoilers or detailed explanations obviously, but there were two things that got on my nerves. First off, the connection between Natalie Portman's character (whose name escapes me) and Thor doesn't feel inspired to me. It's cute that it's there, but I didn't see why they seemed to care about each other as there was little shared screen time between the two. Secondly, our villain is a part of Marvel lore that I had never heard of. That isn't a bad thing, but aside from one standout moment ( / plot twist), Loki seemed completely uninspired, and his role in the movie ultimately becomes a set-up for his role in the Avengers (or so I assume). While neither of these aspects derail the movie or keep you from wanting to watch all of the ass Thor kicks, but I personally would have been far more interested in learning more about Asgard than witnessing some failed plot mechanics. And so while the movie has it's problems, and is definitely a slower-paced Marvel movie than fans are accustomed to, I wouldn't pass it up as a casual movie-goer and fan of other comic book movies. I'll probably watch it at least one more time just because I had so much fun watching it, and that's saying something for me. Expand
  75. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The one thing I enjoyed most of this film was the amount of work that was put into it also Chris Hemsworth which play the main role of "Thor" was the best chosen actor for this film. However the storyline started to lack quit a bit nearing the end...the so called death of his brother "Loki" wasn't much of a tragedy after been seen in the "avengers". But over all the film was done quite well and enjoyed it very much. I give this film an 8 well done. Expand
  76. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Unfortunately I had high expectations for this movie and I was sorely disappointed. There was so much more scope for battle scene which and along with his band of merry friends I struggled to understand why Thor and co. were build up to be this crack squad of warriors when they done so little battling.
  77. Apr 11, 2012
    6
    I suppose it is not a bad film overall. However, Ebert is right, and in my opinion, Iron Man is the greatest super hero film of all time. Thor is entertaning and he is a cool character, but the plot is slightly boring but still stable. So I have mixed feelings for the concept of this movie. However, viewers, I recommend it overall.
  78. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    As someone unfamiliar with the character of Thor I found this film to be quite entertaining. The plot was better than most superhero movies and the visuals were stunning. Certainly worth a watch.
  79. Apr 6, 2012
    6
    I was really looking forward to this movie. I love action, SF, Fantasy, as well as most other films. The special effects were awesome, and yes, when Thor (Chris Hemsworth) took off his shirt - my oh my.... but this film was definitely lacking something. I think the romance thread was so poorly done that it left me wanting something more from the film. There was no chemistry between the actors.
  80. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This a fantastic film, the mithology of the comic appear in this film, the cast do a great performance of the characters, and the effects, wow, are awesome, the screenplay is good. Thor is one of the better MARVEL Studious films.
  81. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    Thor is definitely one of the weaker movies based on Marvel superheroes. The plot is decent but the problem is that it isn't told very well, creating a situation where dramatic moments often fall flat. The intense special effects used to create Asgard can sometimes be overwhelming although other effects are quite good. Some characters are likeable but not lovable due to the fact that theyThor is definitely one of the weaker movies based on Marvel superheroes. The plot is decent but the problem is that it isn't told very well, creating a situation where dramatic moments often fall flat. The intense special effects used to create Asgard can sometimes be overwhelming although other effects are quite good. Some characters are likeable but not lovable due to the fact that they are mostly one-dimensional. We don't even get a good insight into Thor himself and yet we are encouraged to root for him. Any character development that does happen appears to happen in stages instead of being a natural progression. The central romance feels forced although both actors try hard to make it work. The movie is fun, however, if you adjust your expectations. Certain fight scenes are exciting and the writing can sometimes be funny. Thor is not essential viewing and will not change your life but you might enjoy yourself. Expand
  82. Feb 7, 2012
    5
    Thor is a very uneven movie. Some parts are very entertaining, such as the initial fight between Thor and his companions and the frost giants. However, the entire middle of the film which takes place mostly on Earth is very uneventful and they don't really fill it with any meaningful character development. Chris Hemsworth is fine as Thor, but the best performance and most interestingThor is a very uneven movie. Some parts are very entertaining, such as the initial fight between Thor and his companions and the frost giants. However, the entire middle of the film which takes place mostly on Earth is very uneventful and they don't really fill it with any meaningful character development. Chris Hemsworth is fine as Thor, but the best performance and most interesting character is definitely Tom Hiddleston who plays Loki. The attempts at humor in the movie are forced and rarely funny. The first 30 minutes and the last 30 minutes are fairly entertaining, but there's a lot of dead zones in the script. Expand
  83. Feb 6, 2012
    7
    First of all: watch the Credits completely! After that you will see something that changes everything! Thor is funny and loaded with heaps of action. The basic story is well known. So this movie doesn't extend your understandment of the story of Thor. Some special effects look like a few years behind newest standards but it"s absolutely worth to see it. Good mixture of fun and action,First of all: watch the Credits completely! After that you will see something that changes everything! Thor is funny and loaded with heaps of action. The basic story is well known. So this movie doesn't extend your understandment of the story of Thor. Some special effects look like a few years behind newest standards but it"s absolutely worth to see it. Good mixture of fun and action, combined with fantasy elements created a better movie the some other superhero movies! Lovestory is only sideeffect what makes the movie even better... Expand
  84. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    I've never read a Thor comic and I expected this movie to be dire, in fact I was pleasantly surprised, it's not as bad as it could (or should - the idea of Thor sounds ropey) have been. I thought the visuals of Asgard were fantastic, they managed to somehow make a mythological realm of the gods actually feel 'real'. It left me wanting to see more adventures with Thor in.
  85. Jan 24, 2012
    3
    Hemsworth, Hopkins, and Hiddleston were great in this film and were perfectly casted for this film. However the rest of the film was terrible. The rest of the cast sucked and didnt sell their parts well, the action was terrible, and the director did a terrible job bringing Thor to life. Really disapointing film.
  86. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Thor is about a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkest forces to invade Earth, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero. Although the film is undeniably cheesy Thor is extremely entertaining, action packedThor is about a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkest forces to invade Earth, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero. Although the film is undeniably cheesy Thor is extremely entertaining, action packed and funny and features a fantastic debut performance from Chris Hemsworth and a charming performance from Kat Dennings. Although Natalie Portman just won herself an Oscar her character is cliche and that is the exact performance she has brought us. It seems Natalie is going back to her old bad acting ways like Star Wars. I give this film 88% of a good movie. Expand
  87. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    The best this kind of movie is going to get. Chris Hemsworth plays the God Jock turned selfless hero perfectly. The supporting cast are good and look like they are having fun at the same time as delivering the goods. Tom Hiddleston is perfectly cast as Loki and does a subtle and eerie job in what is ablockbuster type movie. Anthony Hopkins is well cast and does a good job as Zeus.The best this kind of movie is going to get. Chris Hemsworth plays the God Jock turned selfless hero perfectly. The supporting cast are good and look like they are having fun at the same time as delivering the goods. Tom Hiddleston is perfectly cast as Loki and does a subtle and eerie job in what is ablockbuster type movie. Anthony Hopkins is well cast and does a good job as Zeus. This is the first film since District 9 where I actually enjoyed the CGI. It is well done and works well for the magical Asgard, as well as for Thor and The Destroyer. I thought the humour worked well in the film too and it was nice to see it used at the right times. I also thought the end was decent. Expand
  88. dz9
    Jan 13, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Good: A perfectly casted Thor, nice visuals, and an awesome villain. The Bad: uninspired story, awfully casted love interest, and unbalanced character development. Did I just say that the great Natalie Portman sucked in this??? Yes I did, don't get me wrong... she's overall is a great actress but she just can't make the switch between seriously involved characters and light hearted comic movies... this movie and No Strings Attached show us this. Because of this, you never really buy into the love between her and Thor. Let alone buying into the idea that Thor would abandon his home to live here on Earth for her.. And this is the movie's main problem, the main plot is Thor's arrogance and Portman's character is the one that fuel's his reason to change and ultimately surpass his inner revelations.. which translates into one of the main struggles of the movie, and it's a shame that this completely fell flat making the movie lackluster in this area. Another serious problem is due to the fact that the movie gives Lokie too much of the audience's sympathy. They give Lokie the whole "villain that you feel for vibe," but they gave him too much sympathy. Seeing that Thor is a complete arrogant jerk, Odin completely robbed this man, and the entire kingdom forgets his existence because of the main protagonist, i found myself actually rooting for Lokie. Which is a BAD thing to project in a hero movie.... rooting for the bad guy. A few minor problems of the movie is that the climax is unsatisfying, the action is poorly directed, and the story feels a bit disjointed. The movie isn't a total loss, Chris Hemsworth knocks Thor's character out of the park, Ozgard looks fantastic and beautiful, and the movie seems to translate well into the Avengers movie. In the End: this movie was in-fact a good summer movie... I don't recommend spending more than a dollar blockbuster/redbox price upon it. Your main reason for renting this should be for getting ready for the Avengers movie. Which also makes me wonder, would any one actually cared as much and would this movie done so well if it wasn't for the avengers hype??? Hmmm....... My last thought: I hope this movie's flaws doesn't translate over into the Avengers movie. Expand
  89. Zal
    Jan 11, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not big on superhero movies and I have not seen that many. But I am proud to say that I have seen Thor and liked it. I didn't expect to. I haven't read the comics but I'm fully aware of what Thor in the comic book series looks like and I know that the books are very campy and goofy.
    There are several reasons why I love this movie. First of all, the acting is good, which is not something I expected from this film. Chris Hemsworth, aside from being incredibly handsome, plays the role of Thor very well. He's able to show a playful yet sympathetic side to Thor. My favorite bit of him acting is when he is taken into custody by SHIELD and Loki comes to visit him and tells him about the "death" of Odin. Hemsworth acting is entirely genuine in this scene. All of the other actors are good. There are two that I didn't like quite as much. First, Anthony Hopkins as Odin. This is more of a casting issue than an acting issue because I like Hopkins but I think he looks silly as Odin. Then there is the guy who played Loki (whose name I don't remember and I'm too lazy to look it up). He was good for the most part, but there were times when he REALLY went over the top. Also, what is up with that stupid hat?
    All of the characters are fun and interesting. Thor is surprisingly complex and Loki is a great character, too. I love all of Thor's friends from Asgard. Kat Denning's character Darcy is very funny.
    Some people I know complain that there wasn't as much action as there should have been. Personally, I didn't mind that there wasn't much action. There was more time spend on developing Thor and the other characters and that made up for it.
    I did think it was sort of strange how the climax involved Thor trying to save the frost giants. It didn't make much sense and it was very short. It was disappointing.
    Overall it's pretty good and I'm looking forward to the sequel and Avengers movie.
    By the way, Idris Elba is in the movie. AWESOME!
    Expand
  90. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Marvel Studios has done it again with another stellar representation of one of their characters as we prepare for the Avengers movie in 2012. Surprisingly funny mixed with great action, my only gripe came with the ease in which Thor took down the Destroyer armor, which could have been a much more drawn out and epic battle. All in all though a very enjoyable watch for even the most casual of comic book fans. Expand
  91. Dec 29, 2011
    3
    i hated this movie. i just really didnt like it, i was annoyed when i watched it. the visuals were great, but that was the only good thing about the movie. the acting was bad, the story was messy, the "love story" (if you can ever call it that) was completely unbelievable and was were there so many tilted shots (it seemed like the movie had more tilted shots than normal horizontali hated this movie. i just really didnt like it, i was annoyed when i watched it. the visuals were great, but that was the only good thing about the movie. the acting was bad, the story was messy, the "love story" (if you can ever call it that) was completely unbelievable and was were there so many tilted shots (it seemed like the movie had more tilted shots than normal horizontal shots.why??). it felt that the movie should have been split into two separate film, but that would have never worked. the only interesting thing was the lokki plot (that and the visuals are the only reason it has 3 ). i wouldnt recommend it to anyone. awful film. Expand
  92. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    Good attempt to capture the Thor from the comic books, but the movie falls short in so many points. Personally, I think Thor would have been better served by doing a Lord of the Rings style movie. There is no way to capture how great the movie could have been in a single setting.
  93. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    In terms of the style of the whole thing, this adaptation of "Thor" could not have been better. The dialogue has a bit of that Shakespearean bravado to it, but it's not overly done. The costume translations are the best of any superhero movie to date, and the creation of Asgard is just how I pictured it when I read the comic books. Branagh handles the action scenes like a seasoned actionIn terms of the style of the whole thing, this adaptation of "Thor" could not have been better. The dialogue has a bit of that Shakespearean bravado to it, but it's not overly done. The costume translations are the best of any superhero movie to date, and the creation of Asgard is just how I pictured it when I read the comic books. Branagh handles the action scenes like a seasoned action director, cleverly mixing CGI animation with close-up shots of the real people. Even the cast is perfect. Chris Hemsworth plays Thor, the trickiest hero in the Marvel universe, and he does so wonderfully. He encapsulates Thor's brash arrogance and sympathetic nature with ease. I also loved Tom Hiddleston as "Loki". He's able to bring what few actors can to a villain; humanity and sympathy. You come to understand why Loki commits the actions that he does. You don't necessarily agree with them, but he's able to become a character who commits actions for a purpose rather than for mere evil intentions. So why isn't Thor a "great" movie? Well, this adaptation suffers from a lot of the same elements of other book adaptations. It feels rushed. There's so much story and so many characters that even at a two hour running time, Branagh is unable to explore it all sufficiently. It would have been better if we saw more of Asgard in the beginning, and also more character interaction between Thor and Jane Foster (Natalie Portman). Also, very few of the characters are developed sufficiently (Loki and Odin were the only characters I felt were explored fully). Now this is kind of a good and a bad thing. It's bad in the sense that you don't feel like you got the complete movie experience when it's all said and done, but at the same time, this "Thor" acts like the first "X-Men" film where it more or less introduces all of the characters leaving room for more character exploration in the sequels ahead. It's kind of like the series premiere of a TV show where the movie "Thor" is there to hook you in to the concept and leave you wanting more. Overall, "Thor" is an immensely good time at the movies. It could have been something really great, but it settles by delivering an engaging story with fun characters and terrific action scenes. Expand
  94. Dec 12, 2011
    1
    that movie SUCKED! there was barely any action so i don't know WHY they said it was an action movie! Don't buy it! The only reason i gave it a one is because it was entertaining for the first five minutes, then it got confusing and boring.
  95. Nov 28, 2011
    8
    Thor is not one of the deepest comic characters in the Marvel Universe but his story translated to the big screen just fine. If you live all of the other comic movies this one will not let you down. I would even suggest buying it if there is a bit of nerd in you.
  96. Nov 26, 2011
    3
    While the main cast did a solid job, The CGI was absolutely terrible and looked very bad. The action was also pretty terrible as well. The franchise has a ton of potential though.
  97. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    After having watched Green Lantern, Thor wasn't a disappointment. In fact, it is a good movie. It didn't do justice to the comics though but still it was worth it.
  98. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    Thor is an okay superhero film but there is a lot like it that has been seen before. Although the acting was questionable, the story and the special effects were good.
  99. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    To say that Thor is a bad superhero movie is wrong but saying it's the greatest superhero movie is also wrong. Though I enjoyed Chris Hemsworth as Thor and I found everyone to be not as enthusiastic as Thor himself particularly Kat Dennings character who just was annoying and made to many references to todays society. the CGI effects are terrific particularly the Asgard scenes. Nice littleTo say that Thor is a bad superhero movie is wrong but saying it's the greatest superhero movie is also wrong. Though I enjoyed Chris Hemsworth as Thor and I found everyone to be not as enthusiastic as Thor himself particularly Kat Dennings character who just was annoying and made to many references to todays society. the CGI effects are terrific particularly the Asgard scenes. Nice little cameo from Hawkeye for next years Avengers film and Samuel L. Jackson makes another appearance as Nick Fury which is pretty cool. Overall the was ok just a few things wrong with it. hopefully the Avengers and Thor 2 in 2013 will sort things out. I look forward to seeing Hemsworth work with RDJ and Chris Evans next year Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 29, 2011
    38
    The standards for comic book superhero movies have been established by "Superman," "The Dark Knight," "Spider-Man 2" and "Iron Man." In that company "Thor" is pitiful. Consider even the comparable villains (Lex Luthor, the Joker, Doc Ock and Obadiah Stane). Memories of all four come instantly to mind. Will you be thinking of Loki six minutes after this movie is over?
  2. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 12, 2011
    50
    The year's most divided movie to date; everything that happens in the higher realms, vaguely derived from Nordic legend, is posturing nonsense, whereas the scenes down here are managed, for the most part, with dexterity and wit. [16 May 2011, p. 133]
  3. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 11, 2011
    50
    This is eminently missable, though the mosaic design of Asgard, Thor's mythical realm, is pretty cool.