User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1031 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Thor is a great movie and the fact that that it sets up something bigger is a bonus to what is a awesome film about the bratty future king of Asgard, Hemsworth give a good performance as Thor and Portman is very good as Jane Foster
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    If you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80sIf you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80s 'classics' like Flash Gordon or Krull). The movie really succeeds at this, feeling like it has just leaped off the page and into celluloid. It's exactly as it should be: Colorful, light, action packed and very, very daft. Thor is an extremely fun romp from start to finish and one of the most refreshing super hero movies of recent memory. Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    10
    This movie was a lot better than I thought it was going to be. The plot was great and the characters were excellent, especially Loki. I can't wait for Thor: The Dark World.
  4. May 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the rest of the Avengers films, this movie was fantastic. I thought Chris Hemsworth did a great job in his portrayal of Thor and the rest of the cast was great. Natalie Portman is as breathtaking as ever and the rest of the supporting cast adds a combination of depth and humor. The action sequences were done great and I loved how well this film tied in with the others in the universe. The little nods towards Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk were subtle yet really well played. I thought Loki's motives were a little shaky, especially considering that it's the entire foundation of the movie. Nonetheless, the rest of the plot develops really nicely and the film gets a bit of everything from action to drama to romance to suspense. If you can suspend your disbelief enough to accept the premise of the film, I think this movie is very entertaining and enjoyable. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie, but I was more amazed by the character Heimdall! He was epic! This movie is more about learning about Thor, I expect any sequel to have more action.
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    Thor is the last movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline right before The Avengers. Chris Hemsworth plays this truly tragic hero as he learns that with great power comes great responsibility. Plot: Thor Odinson is the son of Odin the allfather (Anthony Hopkins). Odin is the ruler of Asgard which oversees the 9 realms. Long ago the realm of Jotunheim had been engaged in a long warThor is the last movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline right before The Avengers. Chris Hemsworth plays this truly tragic hero as he learns that with great power comes great responsibility. Plot: Thor Odinson is the son of Odin the allfather (Anthony Hopkins). Odin is the ruler of Asgard which oversees the 9 realms. Long ago the realm of Jotunheim had been engaged in a long war with Asgard in which Odin led his army to victory over the native Frost Giants and steals their source of power. However, Odin is about to name Thor King of Asgard when the Frost Giants attempt to take it back going against the terms of their truce. Odin turns a blind eye while Thor declares war but isn't taken seriously for he is not yet King. Foolishly, Thor travels with his friends and his brother into the realm of Jotunheim in an attempt to eliminate them. After a near death experience Odin bails Thor out but Laufey, leader of the Frost Giants declare war on Asgard. As a punishment for Thor's arrogance, Odin banish's Thor to the realm of Earth and strips him of his supernatural powers. Here, Thor meets a team of meterologists who attempt to help him out as he is misunderstood as the war rages between Asgard and Jotunheim. My opinion: This is a great movie that proves that you don't know what you have until it is taken away. Chris Hemsworth plays the awkwardest part of the movie very successfully as the locales of Earth have trouble communicating with him. If you are interested in Viking mythology or are into conspiracy theorys, or even interested in the Marvel Cinematic Universe then I would reccomend this movie. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    When critiquing a movie, I think people tend to go over-analytical. For me, a movie is decided good or not by how much I particularly liked it. For Thor, I was entertained and I enjoyed the movie a lot. The special effects were killer and I was fangirling over both the protagonist and the antagonist. I had fun watching it, and that really matters. Oh, and once again, TOM HIDDLESTON hothothothot.
  8. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This a fantastic film, the mithology of the comic appear in this film, the cast do a great performance of the characters, and the effects, wow, are awesome, the screenplay is good. Thor is one of the better MARVEL Studious films.
  9. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Thor is about a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkest forces to invade Earth, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero. Although the film is undeniably cheesy Thor is extremely entertaining, action packedThor is about a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkest forces to invade Earth, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero. Although the film is undeniably cheesy Thor is extremely entertaining, action packed and funny and features a fantastic debut performance from Chris Hemsworth and a charming performance from Kat Dennings. Although Natalie Portman just won herself an Oscar her character is cliche and that is the exact performance she has brought us. It seems Natalie is going back to her old bad acting ways like Star Wars. I give this film 88% of a good movie. Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    THOR IS A PURE ACTION FULL OF STORY AND DRAMA OF GODS. AMAZING MOVIE OF 2011. ACCORDING TO ME IN THE WHOLE AVENGERS TEAM THE COOLEST ACTION HERO IS THOR, WHICH MEANS THOR (THE GOD OF THUNDER) REALLY ROCKS. DON'T MISS THE BEST ACTION MOVIE OF 2011. BUY IT ON BLU-RAY OR DVD. GO FOR IT!!!!
  11. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Fun action movie. don't try and break it down and analyze it. the movie is meant to entertain and be a fun movie about THE GOD OF THUNDER!!!!!! if you wanna chill out to a cool action movie this is a good choice.
  12. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    I had a blast watching this, it not only has some amazing special effects, but extremely enjoyable characters, these are some of Marvels most human characters yet, it can be genuinely funny, somewhat touching, and backs it all up with some awesome fights, and I just love the references to the other super heroes, like Iron Man (and was that Hawkeye?!), and the way it brings you closer toI had a blast watching this, it not only has some amazing special effects, but extremely enjoyable characters, these are some of Marvels most human characters yet, it can be genuinely funny, somewhat touching, and backs it all up with some awesome fights, and I just love the references to the other super heroes, like Iron Man (and was that Hawkeye?!), and the way it brings you closer to the future Avengers movie, honestly the most disappointing part was the ending, and it leaves the question of what's next for Thor? but this is still an awesome movie, and a perfect see for fans of Marvel. Expand
  13. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    Really nice piece of art. Some animations were really beautiful. Especially the Bifrost Bridge was magnificent. But there were some flaws at the story of the movie. For example after the end of movie, i still did not understand what was the true intention of Loki, but maybe that was because he was the god of mischief :P
  14. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    So I FINALLY went to see Thor a week after the release, (I know, what a sacrilege). 3d, IMax, 5:30 showing of Thorâ
  15. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    A terrific start to the 2011 summer. The acting is great, there's good storytelling, the fight sequences, and the film stays true to the comics. Chris Hemsworth makes a terrific Thor, and that's a great thing. Everyone did a good job too, especially Idris Elba. I loved this movie very much, and I can't wait for The Avengers.
    Keep it up, Marvel.
  16. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    This is a great movie. It won't ever be in the top 100 movies of all time, but is part of a franchise that is building. I was expecting that most of this movie would be set on earth, but was stoked to see another universe displayed, and presented so well. This was pure entertainment on a grand scale. Well done. I may not buy it when it comes out, but I loved the experience of watching it.This is a great movie. It won't ever be in the top 100 movies of all time, but is part of a franchise that is building. I was expecting that most of this movie would be set on earth, but was stoked to see another universe displayed, and presented so well. This was pure entertainment on a grand scale. Well done. I may not buy it when it comes out, but I loved the experience of watching it. Come on! Anthony Hopkins for the win! Expand
  17. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    So much is done right in Thor that you forget what could have gone horribly wrong. The artistic flair exhibited in the other-worldly scenes is smashing. Get off your rear, and go out and enjoy a good old comic book action fest while it's still in theaters.
  18. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Now is the [summer] of our discontent." As pertaining to classically-trained Shakespearean actors starring in "high-concept" movies soon after the phenomenal success of "Jaws", surely it was Alec Guinness, who may have first thought those words on the set of "Star Wars", playing Obi-Wan Kenobi, a film and role he utterly despised. If not for the great white shark that terrorized Amity Beach vacationers just two years earlier, which put an end to the golden age of director-driven movies, Guinness, who played Exeter opposite Laurence Olivier in "Henry V" and then the title role in "Romeo and Juliet", probably wouldn't feel impelled to go anywhere near a light saber or a wrinkly green Jedi. Thirty years later, "selling out" has a new name; it's called "rebranding". And so it goes. Kenneth Branagh, director of the much-ballyhooed "Hamlet", could conceivably have said, "How did I come to this? I played Richard the Third,"(it was actually Alan Rickman in "Galaxy Quest"), because even though Asgard is a long ways off from the Crucible Theater(where Branagh played the Machiavellian king), "Thor", conversely, is also a long ways off from rubbing elbows with the likes of "Daredevil", "Ghost Rider" and "Catwoman". So even though nobody who knows Branagh in his previous incarnation as an Anglophile would be in his right mind to give him "five curtain calls"(like Rickman's Alexander Dane, who plays the Spockish alien Dr. Lazarus in the "Star Trek"-inspired show-within-the movie) for dumbing down with a movies that was motivated by careerism, this high-profile booster of Shakespeare's plays, as a trade-off, has earned himself some hearty applause from the discriminating fanboy, who may be unschooled in the works of the Bard, but can name every superhero in the comic book universe. Unlike Arnold in "Conan the Barbarian", the audience is laughing with Chris Hemsworth, not at him. Personality-wise, the title character is more Dark Horse than Dark Knight. In other words, Branagh uses comic relief as a counterpoint to the obligatory action set-pieces, in very much the same manner as "Hellboy". You don't take Batman to a diner for food and drink, or "sustenance", as Thor puts it, because if the Caped Crusader smashed a glass to the floor, patrons would be heading for the exit in droves. Unencumbered by childhood angst, Thor takes his new surroundings in stride, sporting a convivial spirit you wouldn't expect from a man of the tenth century. The Norse god is also a known entity to the world at-large. In the Guillermo del Toro original, Hellboy is immortalized in comic books("They never get the eyes right," the red creature muses aloud), whereas Thor inspires Erik Selvig, Jane's mentor, to check out "Myths and Legends of the Norse Gods" from the public library. But this isn't your grandfather's Asgard. The capital city of the Norse gods is the gaudiest thing this side of "Flash Gordon". Appropriately enough, Thor looks like a prototypical tight end, a football player, as was Flash, a QB, who finds himself on the planet Mongo, making like Fran Tarkenton in the court of Ming the Merciless, because Hans Zarkov knew that nefarious forces could be behind an unexpected total eclipse of the sun and a moon gone rogue. Resembling Zarkov, she alone keeps chasing wormholes in the New Mexico desert, because both scientists on the fringe believe that science fiction and science fact could very well be one and the same. As a result, she is more willing to accept the existence of Asgard than her hypothetical-minded colleague. When Odin banishes his war-mongering son to earth, the mode in which he travels through the space-time continuum(the body itself as a ship) resembles the interplanetary trip that the television actors make in "Galaxy Quest". Since Eric acknowledges the Norse god solely in its guise as a literary figure, and not the Avenger of Marvel lore, a juxtaposition presents itself, in which popular culture is shown to have replaced literature as the stuff that fuels young people's dreams. Whereas Eric, as a child, believed in something he read in a book, the young fan in "Galaxy Quest" swears that the cheesy space opera, something he saw on TV, is real, a surrogate religion. For the alien envoy who confuses the show for "historical documents"(read: Bible), it's religion personified, going so far as remaking themselves in God's image. For Brandon, receiving the transmission from the captain is akin to being a prophet, doing God's work from earth while the starship captain and his crew do battle in the celestial heavens. "Galaxy Quest" works as a metaphor for the validation of Scientology as a religion. In "Thor", the god that figures prominently in primitive Germanic religions, is recast in a sci-fi setting, so when Thor and his friends manifest themselves on earth, the Norse creation myth is validated. It's "Dianetics" in disguise. Expand
  19. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    In an elevated, larger-than-life comic book plus mythology world, Chris Hemsworth does a very believable job playing a god thrust among humans. With his grounded and charming performance, the movie keeps its balance, and the action doesn't overwhelm. Also of note, Tom Hiddleston's Loki was just the right amount of trickster, while staying intelligent, and Heimdall (Idris Elba) wasIn an elevated, larger-than-life comic book plus mythology world, Chris Hemsworth does a very believable job playing a god thrust among humans. With his grounded and charming performance, the movie keeps its balance, and the action doesn't overwhelm. Also of note, Tom Hiddleston's Loki was just the right amount of trickster, while staying intelligent, and Heimdall (Idris Elba) was otherworldly. Overall a very satisfying, fun experience. It isn't a perfect film, but it convincingly tells a story that could have become ridiculous very easily. Expand
  20. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    I had never been a fan of Thor, and never really wanted to be. But...I like comic book/super hero movies so I went to see it. It was great. Once again, critics are full of themselves and can't enjoy a good movie. What a perfect blend of a Norse viking movie combined with high tek sci-fi. The acting was really good. This was definitely a movie that is better in 3D. See this movie if youI had never been a fan of Thor, and never really wanted to be. But...I like comic book/super hero movies so I went to see it. It was great. Once again, critics are full of themselves and can't enjoy a good movie. What a perfect blend of a Norse viking movie combined with high tek sci-fi. The acting was really good. This was definitely a movie that is better in 3D. See this movie if you like the genre, it was great. Expand
  21. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love this film. Casting was great and they got the right mixture of new talent and great existing talent. The story is ever so slightly confusing if you don't follow it properly but I understood and enjoyed it. Some will say it is cheesy, but good super hero films started out as cheesy and this is just a modern super hero film with the old element added that makes it great. Cannot waitI love this film. Casting was great and they got the right mixture of new talent and great existing talent. The story is ever so slightly confusing if you don't follow it properly but I understood and enjoyed it. Some will say it is cheesy, but good super hero films started out as cheesy and this is just a modern super hero film with the old element added that makes it great. Cannot wait for The Avengers and wish the sequel would get the go ahead. Expand
  22. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Solid acting by absolutely everyone. Direction and writing were excellent. Couldn't ask for a more entertaining movie. Just good fun. Loved the fact that they spent enough time in Asgard and didn't spend a bunch of time on earth just because it's cheaper to film. Portman and Hemsworth had great chemistry and were totally believable in their roles.
  23. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    I went into this film with very low expectations. I'm not usually one who enjoys the superhero genre. However, this movie, much like Batman Begins, was a brilliant experience for me. The underlying themes of jealously, betrayal, and coming of age - timeless, were here executed into an almost operatic crescendo. The film is let down at some points with some pretty banal dialogue where theI went into this film with very low expectations. I'm not usually one who enjoys the superhero genre. However, this movie, much like Batman Begins, was a brilliant experience for me. The underlying themes of jealously, betrayal, and coming of age - timeless, were here executed into an almost operatic crescendo. The film is let down at some points with some pretty banal dialogue where the characters are attempting to be witty, or add humor to an otherwise dramatic scene - and this sometimes falls flat. But these small niggles aside, Thor is an exciting, adventurous, and engaging film. Lots of fun, and with some truly epic moments. Anthony Hopkins is magnificent as Odin. I'm somewhat at a loss to understand why many critics are canning this film, as I found it to be very entertaining. Expand
  24. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This movie was EPIC! I absolutely loved this movie, the action was amazing. Chris Hemsworth, although I never heard of him before this movie was a perfect fit for this film. He has the perfect look and size for Thor. The only reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is because it got a little corny at times, but thats understanding though because its tough to make a comic book movie like thisThis movie was EPIC! I absolutely loved this movie, the action was amazing. Chris Hemsworth, although I never heard of him before this movie was a perfect fit for this film. He has the perfect look and size for Thor. The only reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is because it got a little corny at times, but thats understanding though because its tough to make a comic book movie like this and make it perfectly realistic, It definitely does not deserve the ratings it is getting from critics. I've seen it twice and plan on seeing it another, great movie, overall, 9.5/10, now I can't wait to see Thor in the Avengers May 4th of 2012! Expand
  25. May 29, 2011
    10
    Exciting, captivating, visually stunning.

    These are just a few words that help sum up the superhero epic "Thor".

    The acting is sublime and the directing seems more than perfect, this is probably the best superhero movie made, sitting beside The Dark Knight of course!
  26. May 25, 2011
    9
    I thought it was superb but then I was already a fan before the movie's release. In my opinion the genius was in the casting. Anthony Hopkins as Odin was a master stroke and Chris Hemsworth's version of Thor had just the right amount of pomposity without being too over the top. I did think they missed a comedic opportunity with the Volstag character and took slight liberties with theI thought it was superb but then I was already a fan before the movie's release. In my opinion the genius was in the casting. Anthony Hopkins as Odin was a master stroke and Chris Hemsworth's version of Thor had just the right amount of pomposity without being too over the top. I did think they missed a comedic opportunity with the Volstag character and took slight liberties with the storyline but those are really only a minor complaints. Overall Mr Branagh really captured the essence of the character which is pretty much all you can ask of a comic book recreation. I left the theater wanting more. Well done. Expand
  27. May 21, 2011
    9
    I totally enjoyed the movie and it's better seen at a Theater to get the full effects & the sound. The movie showed two story lines...one of Asgard and how Thor & Loki came to be & their relationship with their father Odin, and a story on how Thor was discovered when he was on Earth, with a love story thrown in between. The actor who portrayed Thor was perfect for the part, and so wasI totally enjoyed the movie and it's better seen at a Theater to get the full effects & the sound. The movie showed two story lines...one of Asgard and how Thor & Loki came to be & their relationship with their father Odin, and a story on how Thor was discovered when he was on Earth, with a love story thrown in between. The actor who portrayed Thor was perfect for the part, and so was his love interest - Natalie Portman. I just think it was a good movie to watch for entertainment...you won't be disappointed, especially if you grew up reading comics about Marvel super heroes. I hope Disney does more movies on Marvel's list of super heroes that they gained with their purchased of the Marvel company. Expand
  28. May 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quite well done.

    It felt as there wasn't quite enough action but it handled the story very well as a first movie should, it was able to just lay out the storyline. Its not very easy to not only introduce a new character but to try and explain and entire new dimension to new audiences not familiar with it.

    One thing that kinda irked me was after he defeated the destroyer, he was just like i am you ally now. The shield never explained who they even were to Thor, and Thor never even explained who he was to them.

    Overall great film, negative 1 point for some things here and there.
    Expand
  29. May 18, 2011
    10
    The action was pretty solid, and Hemsworth did a good job conveying Thor. The actor playing Loki also did a great job. The love story though really detracted from it. No connection, and no real sense of them coming together, yet the movie tried to force down our throats that they'd fallen in love. And the big end scene where Thor's changed behavior was credited to Natalie Portman'sThe action was pretty solid, and Hemsworth did a good job conveying Thor. The actor playing Loki also did a great job. The love story though really detracted from it. No connection, and no real sense of them coming together, yet the movie tried to force down our throats that they'd fallen in love. And the big end scene where Thor's changed behavior was credited to Natalie Portman's character left me going, "Really?" Did I fall asleep for 15 minutes and miss the big scene where Thor learned about sacrificing for the greater good from her? I certainly didn't hate the movie and got some enjoyment from it, but I felt like ultimately, they needed a much better script. Plus a love interest that actually had some chemistry with Hemsworth. Expand
  30. May 18, 2011
    10
    I just saw Thor about an hour ago and i have to say it isn't as good as others made it seem. the movie its self was well made and had great graphics, humour was in the right places but there could've been more of it... and i really don't see why directors have to include romance in everything they make... they fell for each other in like, a day. I thought Thor would be more of a BOOM,I just saw Thor about an hour ago and i have to say it isn't as good as others made it seem. the movie its self was well made and had great graphics, humour was in the right places but there could've been more of it... and i really don't see why directors have to include romance in everything they make... they fell for each other in like, a day. I thought Thor would be more of a BOOM, BOOM, SMASH, BANG, sort of film, but it was really more talk and less fight. and when there were fights, enemies hat look like they would take a 10 minute fight to kill were dead in seconds.
    However i guess its all made up for in the epic plot, plus Loki and that guard dude are some badass guys! :D
    Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 29, 2011
    38
    The standards for comic book superhero movies have been established by "Superman," "The Dark Knight," "Spider-Man 2" and "Iron Man." In that company "Thor" is pitiful. Consider even the comparable villains (Lex Luthor, the Joker, Doc Ock and Obadiah Stane). Memories of all four come instantly to mind. Will you be thinking of Loki six minutes after this movie is over?
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 12, 2011
    50
    The year's most divided movie to date; everything that happens in the higher realms, vaguely derived from Nordic legend, is posturing nonsense, whereas the scenes down here are managed, for the most part, with dexterity and wit. [16 May 2011, p. 133]
  3. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 11, 2011
    50
    This is eminently missable, though the mosaic design of Asgard, Thor's mythical realm, is pretty cool.