Thor

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1066 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Thor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. AThor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. A beautiful, young scientist, Jane Foster, has a profound effect on Thor, as she ultimately becomes his first love. It's while here on Earth that Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth. (Paramount Pictures, Marvel Studios)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 4, 2011
    91
    It's not art, but it's mighty fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Apr 26, 2011
    80
    Turn off the snark-o-meter, and this is a return to form for Marvel, introducing a new hero we'll be happy to see again in, oh, about a year or so.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 5, 2011
    75
    The last 25 minutes of Thor aren't much better than the first. But that hour in between - tasty, funny, robustly acted - more than compensates.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 5, 2011
    63
    With its references to other properties in the Marvel universe and to classic tales of redemption, this no-surprises summer movie might appeal to those who've been bitten by radioactive spiders or the Shakespeare bug.
  5. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 12, 2011
    50
    The year's most divided movie to date; everything that happens in the higher realms, vaguely derived from Nordic legend, is posturing nonsense, whereas the scenes down here are managed, for the most part, with dexterity and wit. [16 May 2011, p. 133]
  6. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    May 5, 2011
    50
    Thor has its strengths, but it is finally something of a mishmash with designs on being more interesting than it manages to be.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 5, 2011
    10
    Like Thor's hammer, this ersatz epic bludgeons its victims into submission. What's more, it requires them to stare at the source of their punishment through 3-D glasses.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 258
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    The reason I loved Thor was because it performed well on a few fronts. The Special Effects are the best to date. Thor is portrayed veryThe reason I loved Thor was because it performed well on a few fronts. The Special Effects are the best to date. Thor is portrayed very closely to his comic character, in terms of Powers, attitude,etc. The arc of th story was well laid out and the pacing was balanced. It was a brilliant way to bring a really fantastic un-real world of Marvel Comics and Norse Mythology into an almost plausible reality. Props to the principle cast, and Brannagh may be the ultimate reason this Stan Lee creation works so well on screen Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Thor is a great movie and the fact that that it sets up something bigger is a bonus to what is a awesome film about the bratty future king ofThor is a great movie and the fact that that it sets up something bigger is a bonus to what is a awesome film about the bratty future king of Asgard, Hemsworth give a good performance as Thor and Portman is very good as Jane Foster Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    recently watched Thor in 3D, I confess I did not expect much from the movie, so much that it took me enough to watch it ...

    But I was
    recently watched Thor in 3D, I confess I did not expect much from the movie, so much that it took me enough to watch it ...

    But I was pleasantly surprised, the movie is very good! It has a good script, great actors, which together seamlessly into their characters, and it's quite enjoyable to watch.

    3D in my opinion is depth of photography, and that Thor, despite not having been run natively in 3D, has good effects and the picture is always crystal clear and deep natural well, I point out to all who have tv 3D to see it in 3D .Edit | Delete
    Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    7
    An average quality superhero movie. Although there were quite a few boring, predictable, cringe-worthy moments, the mix-up of the classicAn average quality superhero movie. Although there were quite a few boring, predictable, cringe-worthy moments, the mix-up of the classic "hero gets powers, learns to use them, has final exam against villain" formula is actually quite refreshing, and the main villain is more interesting than the usual human shaped bag of evil extract. Not as good as the recent Iron man or Batman movies, but worth a watch. Just try to ignore the pointless and inexplicable romance. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Hmm very mixed bag this one, read the comics as a kid but never really got hooked on the character, this movie spends a great deal of time onHmm very mixed bag this one, read the comics as a kid but never really got hooked on the character, this movie spends a great deal of time on Thor's vanity more than anything else, by the time the real story is kicking in the credits are close. Not a bad movie but probably the weakest origin movie so far. Expand
  6. May 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i didn't like it



    SPOILERS AHEAD

    i didn't understand how thor could become humble so quickly. he was basically arrogant until he finds that he cant use his hammer. then he meets his friends. then he 'sacrifices' himself to save the town. then he gets his hammer back. then he goes to fight his brother. i dont get what the other characters are for (apart from the king and brother). the friends are **** compared to thor. i dont see what natalie portman does in the entire movie. the only thing the natalie portman's dad's friend does is tell natalie portman to not help thor. the only thing the other woman does is provide a bit of humour. loki's frost giant heritage doesn't even factor into thor's decisions. i don't understand why odin goes to sleep when he's stressed. wth is odinsleep?

    only good thing i liked was the graphics. Asgard was very nice. perhaps if i read the comics i would understand better. but that just makes the movie inaccessible to the greater public.
    Expand
  7. May 16, 2011
    0
    Looks like they sent in the B team to do this one, I hope that means that the A Team is responsible for making Captain America because it'sLooks like they sent in the B team to do this one, I hope that means that the A Team is responsible for making Captain America because it's going to be a real shame if they don't get that one right!! Expand

See all 258 User Reviews

Trailers