User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 143
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Not for those who don't like politics. I enjoyed the original story, the acting was alright and it has just enough action to keep things exciting. Definitely worth watching, I would say not a popcorn flick.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    The Gulf War was a total waste of time and money, but we all know what it is interesting about this movie surrounded by stars and known direction, is how it exposes issues such as greed, sacrifice, comedy and action as realistically and moving, even if sometimes he is a bit inconsistent in transit and wants to spend time with dubious quality between pure drama and black humor, but otherThe Gulf War was a total waste of time and money, but we all know what it is interesting about this movie surrounded by stars and known direction, is how it exposes issues such as greed, sacrifice, comedy and action as realistically and moving, even if sometimes he is a bit inconsistent in transit and wants to spend time with dubious quality between pure drama and black humor, but other than that he and a lot of fun and their performances are very charismatic cat, especially from Clooney. Expand
  3. JimH.
    May 7, 2006
    9
    I just watched this for the second time (2006) against the backdrop of current events (ie. resistance to, support for ongoing war vs. terror). Yoon C (and detractors among the metacritics), while your comments are intelligent and incisive, I would argue that this movie is great precisely because it plays (and I mean, plays) along all those lines without telling you what to think. If I just watched this for the second time (2006) against the backdrop of current events (ie. resistance to, support for ongoing war vs. terror). Yoon C (and detractors among the metacritics), while your comments are intelligent and incisive, I would argue that this movie is great precisely because it plays (and I mean, plays) along all those lines without telling you what to think. If anything it shows that all people's opinions are ridiculous and it imposes none of its own. It sounds to me like you are looking for a movie to tell you what to think of war in Iraq (that is, to tell you "war is hell" or something like that - the message you are expecting becausue you've already heard it in other movies and novels). Whatever else you say about this, it's a war movie unlike any other. It rocks first and foremost, but it also socks and it even (dare I say) does make you think. And it's still relevant seven years later, in ways that it was not when it was made. That anticipatory quality makes it much more artful than the huge majority of "deep" arthouse movies with a moral agenda. Maybe the best thing about it is that it gets the Schwarzenegger-set to watch and rewatch a movie where a child cries over her dead mother, where men are torn by morally ambiguity, where in the end we are at least given an inkling of how hard it is to "do the right thing." Collapse
  4. KennedyB.
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    The 3rd best film of 1999(next to American Beauty and Magnolia).
  5. BangkokDave
    Feb 20, 2003
    8
    The trendy cinematography is not important. The main thing is how skillfully the film weaves together a fun but improbable war-buddy adventure tale with serious political issues. Three Kings should be commended for the intelligent way it handles the US betrayal of the Kurds during the Gulf War and for presenting this little-discussed issue to the moviegoing audiences. Great acting by The trendy cinematography is not important. The main thing is how skillfully the film weaves together a fun but improbable war-buddy adventure tale with serious political issues. Three Kings should be commended for the intelligent way it handles the US betrayal of the Kurds during the Gulf War and for presenting this little-discussed issue to the moviegoing audiences. Great acting by Clooney and Wahlberg doesn't hurt the film either. Expand
  6. YoonC.
    Sep 21, 2003
    1
    MTV war movie, clever but brainless, moralistic but repugnant, smarminess posing as subversive deconstruction of genre conventions. It purports to make Americans face up to the truths of the Gulf War and the brutality of mayhem yet has Ice Cube blow up a helicopter with a rigged football(!!), and most ridiculously of all, has an Iraqi soldier lecture Mark Walhberg on the hypocrisy of MTV war movie, clever but brainless, moralistic but repugnant, smarminess posing as subversive deconstruction of genre conventions. It purports to make Americans face up to the truths of the Gulf War and the brutality of mayhem yet has Ice Cube blow up a helicopter with a rigged football(!!), and most ridiculously of all, has an Iraqi soldier lecture Mark Walhberg on the hypocrisy of American culture by blabbering about why Michael Jackson wants to be white. Eh? Junk fantasy morality cooked up inside an indulgent mastrubatory mind, it has nothing to do with truth, historical or otherwise, or with decency, modest or far-reaching. Expand
  7. Frucky
    Mar 30, 2002
    5
    Excellent, tricked out cinematography, pretty funny, but ultimately confused. Silly plot devices and boring ending. Strangely disappointing, if you believed most of the critics.
  8. PatC.
    Jan 14, 2004
    3
    Invades Iraq as a hitherto unclaimed territory in which to initiate cinematic excess. Meticulous detail to realism as a backdrop to political and moralistic posturing. It's never easy to believe we do the right things for the right reasons internationally, or that our soldier's hearts are in the right places. But it is easy to stipulate that the representations of these three Invades Iraq as a hitherto unclaimed territory in which to initiate cinematic excess. Meticulous detail to realism as a backdrop to political and moralistic posturing. It's never easy to believe we do the right things for the right reasons internationally, or that our soldier's hearts are in the right places. But it is easy to stipulate that the representations of these three bozos to same be discarded right from the get-go. Expand
  9. ArtF.
    Feb 15, 2002
    0
    Terrible in every way.
  10. TonyB
    Jul 11, 2005
    3
    Easily one of the most overrated films to come down the pike in a long time.
  11. Jul 21, 2014
    6
    Overall, this one is a pretty good film. George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, Ice Cube, and Spike Jonze, are all good here and really help this film out. The direction from David O. Russell was also very good and gave this one a unique feel. Many war films do not really have character development and this one did not have a ton, but it at least had some to let us know the motivation behind theOverall, this one is a pretty good film. George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, Ice Cube, and Spike Jonze, are all good here and really help this film out. The direction from David O. Russell was also very good and gave this one a unique feel. Many war films do not really have character development and this one did not have a ton, but it at least had some to let us know the motivation behind the main characters' actions. However, the narrative slacks at times and can be a tad boring at times for my liking and even when it was not, I was never fully gripped by what was happening. It was certainly interesting enough, but the plot was a tad too outlandish and predictable for me to fully enjoy it. Now, the film is still entertaining and is still very well made and well acted, so I can see why it got the praise it did. However, this one was just not fully for me, though it was still a pretty good film in my eyes. Expand
  12. TheGilbertMulroneycakesDepartment
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    Ha! Great little movie, though (say it with me) "Not For Everyone"! George keeps his film career on track after the false starts of "The Peacemaker" and "Batman And (urgh) Robin". And keep a lookout for David O. in the future. With your eyes. And faces.
  13. NetStarG.
    May 4, 2003
    9
    Spike Jonze was in this one. Thats really cool in many ways.
  14. JonathanH.
    Apr 3, 2004
    7
    Kind of a disappointment, but still very good war movie.
  15. ConorO'Rourke
    Jan 1, 2002
    10
    A wonderful and original use of camera shows that originality still exists within Hollywood. The story makes ironically clear the question of war and the role the media now plays in it.
  16. [Anonymous]
    Feb 16, 2002
    10
    Amazing.
  17. AndrewZ.
    May 29, 2003
    10
    A hot-shot action movie. liked the plot and overall situation of what was going on. lots of blood and gore, as well as gun fights and hilarious situations. would recommend this movie to anyone that wants to have a good time.
  18. JasonD.
    Mar 29, 2001
    10
    In a year that actually had a few good movies (Malkovich, American Beauty, etc.), Three Kings stood out as the best.
  19. sethw
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    Damn good movie. interesting and different. probably to much so for some people.
  20. PaulaW.
    Nov 12, 2001
    9
    At the end of the Gulf War, a trio of soldiers led by George Clooney goes on a half-cocked expedition after a supposed cache of Iraqi gold, and finds out just what and whom they have been shooting at all along. If you wonder what the title means, the runty, none-too-swift private played by Spike Jonze helpfully clarifies when he sings "We three kings are stealing the gold." Fine acting, a At the end of the Gulf War, a trio of soldiers led by George Clooney goes on a half-cocked expedition after a supposed cache of Iraqi gold, and finds out just what and whom they have been shooting at all along. If you wonder what the title means, the runty, none-too-swift private played by Spike Jonze helpfully clarifies when he sings "We three kings are stealing the gold." Fine acting, a moral center and dazzling, bleached-out cinematography, feverishly paced. Absolutely worth your while. Expand
  21. Feb 7, 2015
    8
    I wasn't expecting to like this movie as much as I liked it.There is not a lot of action and it's more of a politic movie but,the acting and the script is good enough to hold the movie.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. So overstuffed with random fireworks that despite its politics, it's easy to imagine the film getting a four-star rave from Bush or Saddam.
  2. Off-and-on cynical and sentimental, Russell's darkly comic tale shows how much can be done with familiar material when you're burning to do things differently and have the gifts to pull that off.
  3. 75
    Visual pyrotechnics and dark humor aside, Three Kings rules because it dares to dig for such truths, whether banal or significant.