Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: September 16, 2005
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 31 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
4
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ChadS.Oct 28, 2005
The suburbs is the setting for "Thumbsucker" and refreshingly, it's not Todd Solondz's suburbs. "Thumbsucker" is more like the NBC series "Freaks and Geeks" than "Napoleon Dynamite". There's no trace of self-conscious indie The suburbs is the setting for "Thumbsucker" and refreshingly, it's not Todd Solondz's suburbs. "Thumbsucker" is more like the NBC series "Freaks and Geeks" than "Napoleon Dynamite". There's no trace of self-conscious indie cool in director Mike Mills' portrayal of the Cobb family. Justin(Lou Taylor Pucci) has parents who are real, and not caricatures. Mike(Vincent D'Onofrio) is a little distant, and Audrey(Tilda Swinton) shouldn't be asking her son to button the back of her blouse, but they don't do anything that's not recognizably true-to-life. There's not a laugh to be had at the expense of anybody in "Thumbsucker". To cure himself of his oral fixation, Justin takes some prescribed pills, then goes off it, because the drug is "three molecules short of being cocaine." "Thumbsucker" is at its most winning when Justin is Max Fischer-like on the debate team. To impress his Lindsey Weir-ish dream girl, Rebecca(Kelii Garner, the one good actress in "Man of the House"), he leaves the geeks from his debate club to be a stoner. Mills never quite convinces us that Justin would throw his debating career away after one bad performance. His departure seems like a contrivance to get Rebecca back into the story. "Thumbsucker" is without any big laughs, which is fine with me, since laughing at the characters seems to be typical of this genre. Tilda Swinton, once again, as she proved in "The Deep End", is absolutely convincing playing an American mom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Feb 9, 2006
The best aspect to this movie was the layers it took on as the lead character evolved. The worst aspect to this movie was that no matter what age the characters were they all seemed the same in their existential philosophizing. In anycase The best aspect to this movie was the layers it took on as the lead character evolved. The worst aspect to this movie was that no matter what age the characters were they all seemed the same in their existential philosophizing. In anycase the acting was fairly good and the film didn't rely on cheap over the top shock value stunts (well maybe one but it was funny). In short it was a film that attempted to say something profound. I do not know if it suceeded, but it did have its moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattJ.Sep 3, 2006
A cross between two great films, fight club and donnie darko, feeling that the weight of the world is on your shoulders, and trying to find all the ways possible to become perfect, but realising true perfection is imperfect
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoyceH.Sep 16, 2005
I saw this film last night and greatly enjoyed it. The story was funny and the cast was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Jan 27, 2006
this was a very well made movie, first off the acting was excellent the directing was done very well and the story was good with a deep meaning of life with it. this film has accomplished what many films have in the past (such as donnie this was a very well made movie, first off the acting was excellent the directing was done very well and the story was good with a deep meaning of life with it. this film has accomplished what many films have in the past (such as donnie darko) this was a much better movie then donnie. If you like Wes Anderson movies then you will probably enjoy this highly recommended for a viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Feb 8, 2006
I can't understand how anybody, least of all film critics, could have spent two hours of their time watching this and thinking their was something redemptive about having done so. I thought it was silly, vapid, and trite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonS.Apr 12, 2006
A good attempt but in the end too lightweight. Some good central performances though and Reeves is surprisingly good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DamienA.Nov 24, 2005
This film is good, but not good enough to justify its existence when it's form and content echoes so many films of recent years: The Ice Storm, Happiness, Donnie Darko etc. It had some elements I really enjoyed- the parents seemed real This film is good, but not good enough to justify its existence when it's form and content echoes so many films of recent years: The Ice Storm, Happiness, Donnie Darko etc. It had some elements I really enjoyed- the parents seemed real and 'different' and the lead character's struggle to find peace was convincing and amusing. BUT I think in the end it was entertainment without the depth it aspires to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkFeb 24, 2006
Although some of it is a little too surreal for its own good, and the transformation from Ritalin stoner to pot stoner is forced and not well done, this is a fine movie with a great message. Vincent D'onofrio is his usual great self, Although some of it is a little too surreal for its own good, and the transformation from Ritalin stoner to pot stoner is forced and not well done, this is a fine movie with a great message. Vincent D'onofrio is his usual great self, and Pucci and Swindon are both amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
D.B.Feb 5, 2006
Says many things about many things, and all of them with colour, gusto, and indie flair. Good acting, good writing, good direction, just a slight touch too heavy on suburbian hopelessness for my taste. Not a flaw in the movie, just not Says many things about many things, and all of them with colour, gusto, and indie flair. Good acting, good writing, good direction, just a slight touch too heavy on suburbian hopelessness for my taste. Not a flaw in the movie, just not necessarily as light and uplifting as the Polyphonic Spree score would suggest. Keanu Reeves is a joy. Rent this movie and see something different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveC.Jun 11, 2007
Zzzzzzz... trite and vacuous indie film. Non-descript where it thinks it is being subtle, banal where it believes it is being profound. Soundtrack was very good though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkK.Jul 29, 2007
A refreshingly original film with plenty of smiles and pathos. It is easy to imagine oneself in the main character's place, which makes the movie more effective. Overall, very enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SuzSep 16, 2005
I thought this movie was fabulous. Aside from having some really top-notch talent it was a great story as well. I was amazed that we hadn't heard more about it, especially living in LaLa Land. It was tender, true-to-life, and more than I thought this movie was fabulous. Aside from having some really top-notch talent it was a great story as well. I was amazed that we hadn't heard more about it, especially living in LaLa Land. It was tender, true-to-life, and more than a little moving. Highly recommend it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EllenS.Sep 27, 2005
An entertaining coming of age story where everyone, regardless of their choronological age, is having some trouble growing up. The film suffers from a slow start - no one seems likable at first - but once it gets rolling it's a fun night out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Mar 27, 2006
This was by far the best movie I've seen in the last year...great acting, great filming and amazing music..props to tim delaughter and the polyphonic spree, and the late elliot smith...amazing, touching, beautiful movie...must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful