User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    One of Gilliam' best. Beautiful, funny, dark. Most critics, it seems, we're too terrified by the image of a retarded man kissing a young girl. It's worth noting that this is not a sexual kiss, it's a peck on the lips like any two children might do while playing. Anyone who interprets that scene as pedophilia needs to take long look at themselves because it's kind of creepy to read thatOne of Gilliam' best. Beautiful, funny, dark. Most critics, it seems, we're too terrified by the image of a retarded man kissing a young girl. It's worth noting that this is not a sexual kiss, it's a peck on the lips like any two children might do while playing. Anyone who interprets that scene as pedophilia needs to take long look at themselves because it's kind of creepy to read that much in to such an innocent scene. Expand
  2. CathyD
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    This movie has been reviewed as "not for the faint of heart". And while that is certainly true, it should in truth be described as "not for the faint of mind". It is a philosophical marvel for those with the capacity to view from different angels, question, and prod the fabric of life. Allegories, allusions, symbolism abound- the symbols of water, the bees, the squirrels, the religious This movie has been reviewed as "not for the faint of heart". And while that is certainly true, it should in truth be described as "not for the faint of mind". It is a philosophical marvel for those with the capacity to view from different angels, question, and prod the fabric of life. Allegories, allusions, symbolism abound- the symbols of water, the bees, the squirrels, the religious connotations, the allusions to all kinds of fairy tales, especially Alice in Wonderland, Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood... The plot can be seen as 'drab' because it would have to be not to turn borderline chaos into total chaos, for all the connotations and themes connected to each element of the movie. Look a little deeper, and you will come to be led by Gilliam, as he intended, literally, to the Wonderland of perception and conception distortion the author and director are trying to lead us to- the perception and conception distortion that is the Tideland of the limbo between Childhood, Youth, and Innocence, and Adulthood, Tiredness, and what we choose to make Innocence be by adult terms- Corruption. A masterpiece to the open minded, philosophical, artistic, and daring explorers of life and it's variably thick or thin fabrics. Expand
  3. ChristopherW.
    Mar 1, 2007
    3
    I take a special interest in films that are considered bizarre, twisted, or very dark. I love a daring and courageous film that carries me along to places I have never been before. With that said, 'Tideland' wants to be disturbing and comically bizarre, but ends up being tedious, aimless, and boring. The visual trappings maintain some interest for awhile, but even Gilliam's I take a special interest in films that are considered bizarre, twisted, or very dark. I love a daring and courageous film that carries me along to places I have never been before. With that said, 'Tideland' wants to be disturbing and comically bizarre, but ends up being tedious, aimless, and boring. The visual trappings maintain some interest for awhile, but even Gilliam's trademark visual style grows tiresome in this meandering misfire. Again, I don't mind taking a journey into a director's nightmare if said journey is provocative and entertaining. 'Tideland'? Not so much! Leave this one on the rental shelf! Expand
  4. BennyGill
    Oct 21, 2006
    9
    A real masterpiece. Gilliam's best since Time Bandits.
  5. JimmusM.
    Mar 29, 2007
    1
    Vile. To call it creepy is an injustice to creepy movies. There is no "get it" or "don't get it". It's a meandering, pointless movie which touches on aspects of hardcore drug abuse, death, child abuse/neglect, mental illness, pedophilia, retardation, necrophilia, terrorism, and religious fanaticism, to name the main offenders. I would not be a bit surprised if the little girl in Vile. To call it creepy is an injustice to creepy movies. There is no "get it" or "don't get it". It's a meandering, pointless movie which touches on aspects of hardcore drug abuse, death, child abuse/neglect, mental illness, pedophilia, retardation, necrophilia, terrorism, and religious fanaticism, to name the main offenders. I would not be a bit surprised if the little girl in the main role came away from this film with serious, long-standing mental problems. Truly disturbing. Expand
  6. ChadS.
    Apr 6, 2007
    6
    People who despise "Tideland" object strongly, rightfully so, mind you; to the adult relationship between Jeliza-Rose(Jodelle Ferland) and Dickens(Brendan Fletcher). Statutory rape, or even its overtures that would precipitate such a godforesaken congress, violates the unspoken, but implicit pact between performer and director; which is: the filmmaker has a moral obligation to not People who despise "Tideland" object strongly, rightfully so, mind you; to the adult relationship between Jeliza-Rose(Jodelle Ferland) and Dickens(Brendan Fletcher). Statutory rape, or even its overtures that would precipitate such a godforesaken congress, violates the unspoken, but implicit pact between performer and director; which is: the filmmaker has a moral obligation to not humiliate his actor. If Dell(Janet McTeer) doesn't burst in the room and interrupt a kiss, clearly intended to be adult in nature, between man(-child) and child, a far-worse transgression would most likely follow. "Tideland", in my mind, is Terry Gilliam's f*****-up interpretation of "The Blue Lagoon". An ocean transformed from a field of tall brown chaff is suggested, visually, through CGI; but it's when Dickens pretends to swim with Jeliza-Rose did my pre-pubescent memories of Christopher Atkins and Brooke Shields(and her strategically-placed hair) stir, and stir, and stir. Is this a reason to fully recommend "Tideland"? Hell, no! Jeliza-Rose's come-ons made my skin crawl. But just keep it in mind that the accidental lolita is carrying on without any adult supervision. She's an innocent. Expand
  7. HolgerW.
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    This film is just a masterpiece for those who open their eyes, their minds and hearts....and step out of this superficial living to see...really see.
  8. PinkyC
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    This movie is awesome! Jodelle Ferland turns in an Oscar calibre performance and will mesmorise you. Based on the novel "Tideland" by Mitch Cullin - Terry Gilliam has created a fantastic adaptation that will shock you and touch you. It will leave you thinking about Tideland for a very long time. (I saw it Sept 2005 and Oct 2006 at Toronto screenings)
  9. DavidD.
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    A Brilliant Film. The critics have lost their mind on this one. Easily the best film of 2006.
  10. AaronS
    Oct 16, 2006
    0
    One critic has called this virtually unwatchable. Yep, that it is. Gilliam can be a fine filmmaker, but his recent output has been to put it kindly, uneven. 'Tideland' on the other hand is bad. Beyond bad. This movie is not only painfully offensive, but just downright trash. One of the very worst movies from a talented filmmaker ever made. Stunningly, mind-numbingly awful.
  11. WaltY
    Nov 8, 2006
    2
    An interesting wake up to a different kind of movie. The movie however, shows no real purpose and theme as the movie drags on without any real sense of direction. Don't surprised to come out of the theatre refreshed after your nap.
  12. Eon
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    [9.5/10] I've just finished watching this.. I was stunned. It's very beautiful and funny.. And the big part of the fun was thinking how average viewer would react to some scenes, that made me smile. This movie obviously makes people meet a lot of their insecurities and most of them can't stomach it. Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas is a real masterpiece, and it got bashed by [9.5/10] I've just finished watching this.. I was stunned. It's very beautiful and funny.. And the big part of the fun was thinking how average viewer would react to some scenes, that made me smile. This movie obviously makes people meet a lot of their insecurities and most of them can't stomach it. Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas is a real masterpiece, and it got bashed by the critics big time. The situation with this movie is very much alike. People ar so used to the movies with bunch of apologies for what they're showing, and they just hate when something like this is made. As Gilliam said "most of the people who didn't like this movie, don't want to talk about it". I've read one review, where critic said that this movie is very creative, acting and camera work is great, but still gave it the lowest ranking that could be given, and called "the worst movie of the year" , because he found it "boring". Now how much sense does that make? It's the most underrated movie of the year, now that is for sure. Expand
  13. MichaelW.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    Terry Gilliam takes you places you don
  14. MichaelE.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Stunning. Gilliam's most complete film since Brazil, and probably the truest, most emotionally resonant film he's ever done. Compared to the somewhat similar Pan's Labyrinth, Tideland wins in every department -- and there's no gratuitous violence! The overwhelmingly negative critical reception to this versus the overwhelmingly positive critical reception to the Stunning. Gilliam's most complete film since Brazil, and probably the truest, most emotionally resonant film he's ever done. Compared to the somewhat similar Pan's Labyrinth, Tideland wins in every department -- and there's no gratuitous violence! The overwhelmingly negative critical reception to this versus the overwhelmingly positive critical reception to the inferior Del Toro feature has eroded what little respect I have for commercial film reviewers. All the rumors they've started are untrue: Tideland is not ugly, it's not "disturbing," it's not pointless, and it certainly isn't boring. Unless Inland Empire is everything I've hoped for and more, this is my pick for the Film of 2006. Expand
  15. Vince
    Aug 30, 2007
    4
    Love Gilliam's works, and the plot itself at a glance was certainly more then interesting enough to grab my attention and make me rent it. But this somehow turned out to be a really, really boring movie. Disappointing.
  16. JayK
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    I can't believe how underrated this movie is. The lack of respect this movie gets is really a crime. This film is extremely brave, interesting, well-written, well-acted, well-shot, and well-directed. I was captivated the whole way through. If the back of the case appeals to you, please do give this film a shot.
  17. AliC.
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    Beautiful-I'd want all my friends to watch it. It stands out from the dumb trend following movies A 9 only because a greater discovery would have been nice.
  18. DTG.
    Oct 15, 2006
    8
    It's a hard movie to recommend to anyone but I really liked the movie. It's difficult to watch and sometimes very disturbing but there is something very worthwhile there. In the end it is a hopeful movie and the main character gets put through a lot but is always treated tenderly.
  19. BobC
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    Beautiful... And disturbing, but only because deep-seated traditional taboos are broken without any sort of apology. But for fans of uncompromising art, this movie will probably enthrall you. I, for one, couldn't be happier that Gilliam made this movie, by far one of his best (my favorite other than Brazil). I only hope that the audience that this movie was intended for ignores the Beautiful... And disturbing, but only because deep-seated traditional taboos are broken without any sort of apology. But for fans of uncompromising art, this movie will probably enthrall you. I, for one, couldn't be happier that Gilliam made this movie, by far one of his best (my favorite other than Brazil). I only hope that the audience that this movie was intended for ignores the surprisingly pig-headed reviews and sees this film anyway! Expand
  20. CorenD
    Oct 19, 2006
    0
    Awful. Disturbing and depressing. Jennifer Tilly is the best part in a minor role.
  21. bobc.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    This is one of the films that you "get", or don't get... It's beautiful, creepy, smart and morbidly hillarious. But it is definitely not for the popcorn crowd. Fans of Gilliam will love this film, and in many ways it is his best treatment of the absurd since "Brazil". The film goes in some directions that will make almost any viewer uncomforatble - and some of the material will This is one of the films that you "get", or don't get... It's beautiful, creepy, smart and morbidly hillarious. But it is definitely not for the popcorn crowd. Fans of Gilliam will love this film, and in many ways it is his best treatment of the absurd since "Brazil". The film goes in some directions that will make almost any viewer uncomforatble - and some of the material will certainly be viewed by many as stepping over the line - that is unless you approach the film as intended - through the eyes of a child. Brilliant work. Expand
  22. ThomasW
    Jan 25, 2008
    7
    Maybe everybody expected another "Brazil"..., something similar in visual style (me too!). I had differences while viewing "Tideland", was bored sometimes. I think it happens in her mind, the fantastic landscapes we wanted to see are in the head of that child, and that means you have to feel into her. Thats for sure far away from normal movie consumption, and so many people failed. The Maybe everybody expected another "Brazil"..., something similar in visual style (me too!). I had differences while viewing "Tideland", was bored sometimes. I think it happens in her mind, the fantastic landscapes we wanted to see are in the head of that child, and that means you have to feel into her. Thats for sure far away from normal movie consumption, and so many people failed. The story itself is comparable to "Brazil", I think, it points into another world.. Expand
  23. Jay
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    Nice surprise, as I forgot about this and rented it. Great performances and Gilliam masters another fantasty world come to life. Bridges is great in small role(when isn't he) and Jodelle Ferland just shines as the lead and makes this movie her own. Brave. Very brave.
  24. Paul
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    In my opinion Tideland is a really great movie. It might not be Gilliam's best one but surely one of the most interesting and eclectic movies I watched in the last years. It misses some of the qualities cinema visitors might want - such as strong excitement, a happy end or something. But that would just distract us from the interesting points of Tideland.
  25. May 18, 2014
    9
    One of my favorite movies. Memorable.

    It's sick, it's shocking, it's bizarre, disturbing. And I love it. It reminds me of Pan's Labyrinth, but I must say I like this one just a little bit better.
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 16 out of 23
  1. When the little girl tells her decapititated doll, "It's not just a bad dream," she is right. It's just a bad movie.
  2. A mix of "Alice in Wonderland" and William S. Burroughs, "Psycho" and the psychotic. It's pretty much a squirmy experience all around.
  3. A misconceived washout of a darkly gothic story of madness, addiction and child abuse made all the more unpleasant by Gilliam's trademark intense visual style.