thinkfilm | Release Date: October 13, 2006
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 49 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
6
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
zpocJan 19, 2013
One of Gilliam' best. Beautiful, funny, dark. Most critics, it seems, we're too terrified by the image of a retarded man kissing a young girl. It's worth noting that this is not a sexual kiss, it's a peck on the lips like any two childrenOne of Gilliam' best. Beautiful, funny, dark. Most critics, it seems, we're too terrified by the image of a retarded man kissing a young girl. It's worth noting that this is not a sexual kiss, it's a peck on the lips like any two children might do while playing. Anyone who interprets that scene as pedophilia needs to take long look at themselves because it's kind of creepy to read that much in to such an innocent scene. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CathyDApr 17, 2007
This movie has been reviewed as "not for the faint of heart". And while that is certainly true, it should in truth be described as "not for the faint of mind". It is a philosophical marvel for those with the capacity to view from different This movie has been reviewed as "not for the faint of heart". And while that is certainly true, it should in truth be described as "not for the faint of mind". It is a philosophical marvel for those with the capacity to view from different angels, question, and prod the fabric of life. Allegories, allusions, symbolism abound- the symbols of water, the bees, the squirrels, the religious connotations, the allusions to all kinds of fairy tales, especially Alice in Wonderland, Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood... The plot can be seen as 'drab' because it would have to be not to turn borderline chaos into total chaos, for all the connotations and themes connected to each element of the movie. Look a little deeper, and you will come to be led by Gilliam, as he intended, literally, to the Wonderland of perception and conception distortion the author and director are trying to lead us to- the perception and conception distortion that is the Tideland of the limbo between Childhood, Youth, and Innocence, and Adulthood, Tiredness, and what we choose to make Innocence be by adult terms- Corruption. A masterpiece to the open minded, philosophical, artistic, and daring explorers of life and it's variably thick or thin fabrics. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BennyGillOct 21, 2006
A real masterpiece. Gilliam's best since Time Bandits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HolgerW.Aug 31, 2008
This film is just a masterpiece for those who open their eyes, their minds and hearts....and step out of this superficial living to see...really see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PinkyCOct 15, 2006
This movie is awesome! Jodelle Ferland turns in an Oscar calibre performance and will mesmorise you. Based on the novel "Tideland" by Mitch Cullin - Terry Gilliam has created a fantastic adaptation that will shock you and touch you. It will This movie is awesome! Jodelle Ferland turns in an Oscar calibre performance and will mesmorise you. Based on the novel "Tideland" by Mitch Cullin - Terry Gilliam has created a fantastic adaptation that will shock you and touch you. It will leave you thinking about Tideland for a very long time. (I saw it Sept 2005 and Oct 2006 at Toronto screenings) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidD.Oct 16, 2006
A Brilliant Film. The critics have lost their mind on this one. Easily the best film of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EonDec 6, 2006
[9.5/10] I've just finished watching this.. I was stunned. It's very beautiful and funny.. And the big part of the fun was thinking how average viewer would react to some scenes, that made me smile. This movie obviously makes [9.5/10] I've just finished watching this.. I was stunned. It's very beautiful and funny.. And the big part of the fun was thinking how average viewer would react to some scenes, that made me smile. This movie obviously makes people meet a lot of their insecurities and most of them can't stomach it. Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas is a real masterpiece, and it got bashed by the critics big time. The situation with this movie is very much alike. People ar so used to the movies with bunch of apologies for what they're showing, and they just hate when something like this is made. As Gilliam said "most of the people who didn't like this movie, don't want to talk about it". I've read one review, where critic said that this movie is very creative, acting and camera work is great, but still gave it the lowest ranking that could be given, and called "the worst movie of the year" , because he found it "boring". Now how much sense does that make? It's the most underrated movie of the year, now that is for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelW.Feb 25, 2007
Terry Gilliam takes you places you don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelE.Mar 23, 2007
Stunning. Gilliam's most complete film since Brazil, and probably the truest, most emotionally resonant film he's ever done. Compared to the somewhat similar Pan's Labyrinth, Tideland wins in every department -- and Stunning. Gilliam's most complete film since Brazil, and probably the truest, most emotionally resonant film he's ever done. Compared to the somewhat similar Pan's Labyrinth, Tideland wins in every department -- and there's no gratuitous violence! The overwhelmingly negative critical reception to this versus the overwhelmingly positive critical reception to the inferior Del Toro feature has eroded what little respect I have for commercial film reviewers. All the rumors they've started are untrue: Tideland is not ugly, it's not "disturbing," it's not pointless, and it certainly isn't boring. Unless Inland Empire is everything I've hoped for and more, this is my pick for the Film of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayKSep 2, 2007
I can't believe how underrated this movie is. The lack of respect this movie gets is really a crime. This film is extremely brave, interesting, well-written, well-acted, well-shot, and well-directed. I was captivated the whole way I can't believe how underrated this movie is. The lack of respect this movie gets is really a crime. This film is extremely brave, interesting, well-written, well-acted, well-shot, and well-directed. I was captivated the whole way through. If the back of the case appeals to you, please do give this film a shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AliC.Mar 17, 2008
Beautiful-I'd want all my friends to watch it. It stands out from the dumb trend following movies A 9 only because a greater discovery would have been nice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DTG.Oct 15, 2006
It's a hard movie to recommend to anyone but I really liked the movie. It's difficult to watch and sometimes very disturbing but there is something very worthwhile there. In the end it is a hopeful movie and the main character gets It's a hard movie to recommend to anyone but I really liked the movie. It's difficult to watch and sometimes very disturbing but there is something very worthwhile there. In the end it is a hopeful movie and the main character gets put through a lot but is always treated tenderly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobCOct 16, 2006
Beautiful... And disturbing, but only because deep-seated traditional taboos are broken without any sort of apology. But for fans of uncompromising art, this movie will probably enthrall you. I, for one, couldn't be happier that Gilliam Beautiful... And disturbing, but only because deep-seated traditional taboos are broken without any sort of apology. But for fans of uncompromising art, this movie will probably enthrall you. I, for one, couldn't be happier that Gilliam made this movie, by far one of his best (my favorite other than Brazil). I only hope that the audience that this movie was intended for ignores the surprisingly pig-headed reviews and sees this film anyway! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobc.Oct 29, 2006
This is one of the films that you "get", or don't get... It's beautiful, creepy, smart and morbidly hillarious. But it is definitely not for the popcorn crowd. Fans of Gilliam will love this film, and in many ways it is his best This is one of the films that you "get", or don't get... It's beautiful, creepy, smart and morbidly hillarious. But it is definitely not for the popcorn crowd. Fans of Gilliam will love this film, and in many ways it is his best treatment of the absurd since "Brazil". The film goes in some directions that will make almost any viewer uncomforatble - and some of the material will certainly be viewed by many as stepping over the line - that is unless you approach the film as intended - through the eyes of a child. Brilliant work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ThomasWJan 25, 2008
Maybe everybody expected another "Brazil"..., something similar in visual style (me too!). I had differences while viewing "Tideland", was bored sometimes. I think it happens in her mind, the fantastic landscapes we wanted to see are in the Maybe everybody expected another "Brazil"..., something similar in visual style (me too!). I had differences while viewing "Tideland", was bored sometimes. I think it happens in her mind, the fantastic landscapes we wanted to see are in the head of that child, and that means you have to feel into her. Thats for sure far away from normal movie consumption, and so many people failed. The story itself is comparable to "Brazil", I think, it points into another world.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayJan 31, 2008
Nice surprise, as I forgot about this and rented it. Great performances and Gilliam masters another fantasty world come to life. Bridges is great in small role(when isn't he) and Jodelle Ferland just shines as the lead and makes this Nice surprise, as I forgot about this and rented it. Great performances and Gilliam masters another fantasty world come to life. Bridges is great in small role(when isn't he) and Jodelle Ferland just shines as the lead and makes this movie her own. Brave. Very brave. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulDec 25, 2007
In my opinion Tideland is a really great movie. It might not be Gilliam's best one but surely one of the most interesting and eclectic movies I watched in the last years. It misses some of the qualities cinema visitors might want - such In my opinion Tideland is a really great movie. It might not be Gilliam's best one but surely one of the most interesting and eclectic movies I watched in the last years. It misses some of the qualities cinema visitors might want - such as strong excitement, a happy end or something. But that would just distract us from the interesting points of Tideland. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HighPriestesaMay 18, 2014
One of my favorite movies. Memorable.

It's sick, it's shocking, it's bizarre, disturbing. And I love it. It reminds me of Pan's Labyrinth, but I must say I like this one just a little bit better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews