Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: An all new feature film from the twisted minds of cult comedy heroes Tim Heidecker and Eric Wareheim! Tim and Eric are given a billion dollars to make a movie, but squander every dime… and the sinister Schlaaang corporation is pissed. Their lives at stake, the guys skip town in search of a way to pay the money back. When they happen upon a chance to rehabilitate a bankrupt mall full of vagrants, bizarre stores and a man-eating wolf that stalks the food court, they see dollar signs—a billion of them. Featuring cameos from Awesome Show regulars and some of the biggest names in comedy today! (Magnet Releasing) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Feb 26, 2012
    83
    In a timid comic world, Tim & Eric's Billion Dollar Movie feels genuinely dangerous and transgressive: it makes a virtue of going way too far because other comedies don't go far enough.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Feb 26, 2012
    75
    In the race to achieve unadulterated fourth-wall breakage, Tim and Eric's Billion Dollar Movie is the new pack leader.
  3. Reviewed by: Ethan Gilsdorf
    Mar 1, 2012
    63
    See it in the right sick frame of mind, and Tim and Eric's Billion Dollar Movie can be shockingly and terribly hilarious. Or not.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Feb 26, 2012
    40
    Audiences attuned to Tim & Eric's weird wavelength will find plenty of guffaws in the first half, but a plot this thin can't sustain comedy based on discomfort; the film is so much of a good thing one starts to wonder if the thing is good in the first place.
  5. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Mar 1, 2012
    40
    You really need chemical aids to be able to sit through something so unabashedly half-assed.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Whipp
    Mar 1, 2012
    30
    Cult comedy team Tim Heidecker and Eric Wareheim take the mechanics of the Funny or Die website and stretch it past the breaking point with their movie.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 2, 2012
    0
    Tim & Eric seem driven by a hatred of the audience and a wish to punish the same. Every episode of every sitcom I've ever seen is funnier than this movie, and I used to watch "Just Shoot Me."

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    This movie has shrimp, top gear, guns, chef blum, will forty, willem feral, john c something, and those guys from that one show that comes on past my bed time on comedy central and watch out for that wolf.

    i've had nothing but shrimp and top gear in my head ever since. did you know they compliment each other? throw a gathering and invite people over with shrimp and top gear and it will be just like a s club party and you should know by now there is no party like a s club party.

    i give this film 1 chippy.
    Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Tim and Eric once again strike with a stellar breakdown of comedy. it's a satire of comedy in many ways, a conglomerate of all the correct elements of comedy but morphed out of recognizable form into something far more fantastic. Tim and Eric aren't for anybody, and chances are if you like T&E you've already seen and loved this movie, but it continues strong in the T&E series. Great job! Collapse
  3. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Tim and Eric's Billion Dollar movie totally captures the humor of the TV show, but in shocking, disturbing, and imaginative new ways. Rent it on Itunes today, and whatever you do, DON'T see the Lorax! Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    This is one of my favorite movies, it is hilarious, witty and stupidly shocking. Tim and Eric always deliver a solid hilarious performance wherever and in whatever they do. Most Big Wig critics will not be able to understand this movie for what it is, I understand that but it is a shame that a lot of the movie's hilarity value will be lost to the masses because of the lack of context that most people will have. Tim and Eric, Great job, Awesome move! Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    I LOVE Tim and Eric! I have seen every episode of "Tim and Eric Awesome Show, Great Job!" from seasons 1-5, there are a ton of quotable lines in that show. I know their style of humor is weird, but it only appeals to certain people, like me! The movie is just a bunch of gags which is so good about it! And one more thing I have to say before going, SHRIIIIIIIIIMMM!!!! Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Fans of Awesome Show will be a little let down, as this movie (raunchy as it is) is actually more tame than their television program. T&E's trademark awkward humor is on full display, but with less bite and a longer running time, which works against the mostly flimsy premise. The Beaver Boys always elicit a "love it or hate it" response, but their first movie is utterly middle of the road. If you're not afraid to squirm and can laugh at something horrific, give this a shot. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    0
    This is a terrible comedy, I don't know who have the brilliant idea of do this film, is like the poor resources of comedy, put and sorprise, you have this awful thing. Tim and Eric's Billion Dollar Movie is a completely garbage. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews