Tiny Furniture

Tiny Furniture Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Twenty-year-old Aura returns home to her artist mother’s TriBeCa loft with the following: a useless film theory degree, 357 hits on her Youtube page, a boyfriend who’s left her to find himself at Burning Man, a dying hamster, and her tail between her legs. Luckily, her trainwreck childhoodTwenty-year-old Aura returns home to her artist mother’s TriBeCa loft with the following: a useless film theory degree, 357 hits on her Youtube page, a boyfriend who’s left her to find himself at Burning Man, a dying hamster, and her tail between her legs. Luckily, her trainwreck childhood best friend never left home, the restaurant down the block is hiring, and ill-advised romantic possibilities lurk around every corner. Surrounded on all sides by what she could become, Aura just wants someone to tell her who she is. (IFC Films) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 11, 2010
    100
    Tiny Furniture is proof, against steep odds, that there are no small stories, only small storytellers.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 17, 2010
    88
    A darkly comic, piercing, and occasionally painful study of a young woman's quest for identity.
  3. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Dunham, who pads through much of this extremely well-written, often funny and very touching film in the semi-nude, doesn't give a damn about any of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 7, 2010
    75
    A funny, affecting movie about growing up in the shadow of a formidable mom.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Dec 11, 2010
    70
    What it doesn't have, to its credit, is a neat conclusion. In the end, the film appears to suggest that Aura likely will feel free to keep searching for herself, repeating mistakes and making new ones, because she has all the time in the world.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Dec 11, 2010
    67
    Tiny Furniture offers a 21st-century, East Coast spin on "The Graduate," but with comedy-writer-ish dialogue and a mannered style that never fully gels.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Dec 11, 2010
    0
    Lena Dunham makes a 98-minute home video seem like 98 days of hard labor.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 7 out of 13
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this film. It was very entertaining, funny and smart. Probably not for your average "movie" watcher, so be warned. TheI really enjoyed this film. It was very entertaining, funny and smart. Probably not for your average "movie" watcher, so be warned. The relationships between the characters were fascinating to watch develop and dare I say "true to life". This film requires a couple hours of mind engagement, so if your not up to the investment then this film is probably not for you. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2015
    8
    If I had to use just three adjectives to describe this film, I would use: real, refreshing, and real. Why twice? Because it's a totallyIf I had to use just three adjectives to describe this film, I would use: real, refreshing, and real. Why twice? Because it's a totally relatable, darkly humorous story of a young human seeking an identity. The electrifying element of the movie, though, evolves as the movie progresses with the interpersonal relationships that Aura, the protagonist, makes or develops. I truly recommend watching this film. I am so sad I waited all the way until 2015 to watch it, five years after its release. An added bonus is experiencing the directorial, writing, acting debut of Lena Dunham (a true genius) and Jemima Kirke being wonderful. Do watch! Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    I don't know why the user reviews are so mixed it's a beautifully simple movie where nothing much happens. Just about a girl living her lifeI don't know why the user reviews are so mixed it's a beautifully simple movie where nothing much happens. Just about a girl living her life and all he mistakes that she makes and how she fixes them. It wasn't ground breaking but its an abstract artsy film that doesn't throw it in your face. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2011
    2
    After reading several reviews, noticing the unusual amount of praise being heaped upon this film, I eagerly seized my first chance to see it.After reading several reviews, noticing the unusual amount of praise being heaped upon this film, I eagerly seized my first chance to see it. I can honestly say that I am flabbergasted that this film is being so well received. Instead of a being a movie that "... is full, assured and extremely wry." as Michael Phillips wrote, the film truly is a loathsome exercise in self indulgence.
    Lena Dunham's screenplay has all the bite and wit of an episode of "Days of Our Lives". When the rare occasion arises to show the audience a moment of true insight into the life of a frustrated youth stranded in post-grad limbo, it is dashed instantly by poor dialogue and unbelievable interactions with the director/stars actual family members. With all the independent films out there struggling to find an audience and distribution it is a shame to see this mess of a film reared its ugly head. A completely unsatisfying and frustrating 98 minutes.
    Collapse
  5. j30
    May 9, 2012
    1
    Tiny Furniture is just plain bad. There's some good material somewhere in this jumbled mess. It's hard to like Lena Dunham's character or anyTiny Furniture is just plain bad. There's some good material somewhere in this jumbled mess. It's hard to like Lena Dunham's character or any other character for that matter. I just watched the first two episodes of Girls, her new show on HBO, and it's really good. She has definitely improved her writing and direction in where she wants to go. As for Tiny Furniture, it feels like a patch work of self indulgent **** Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    1
    Up until this movie, I could count on one hand the number of movies I chose not to finish (though there are many more I wish I had chosen notUp until this movie, I could count on one hand the number of movies I chose not to finish (though there are many more I wish I had chosen not to finish). So to be fair to the movie, I only saw the first 30 minutes. To be fair to me, I have seen literally (yes literally, not figuratively) thousands of movies and it has to be really bad for me not to finish it.
    I like independent movies and I am patient with movies that don't appear to be going anywhere at first, I like movies where the actors look like average people and not movie stars. I was willing to overlook the self-indulgence, but the writing and the acting was so terrible it was too painful to watch any more. Much of the dailogue seemed to be ad-libbed which is great in the right hands but a disaster in the wrong hands such as these. It reminded me of an X-rated movie without the titillation.
    No doubt that Ms. Dunham has talent and hopefully she will find her voice and make a good movie, but this one wasn't it.
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    0
    This movie had no theme, no motive and certainly no talent. The writing was dull and pointless and the acting was uncomfortable to watch. TheThis movie had no theme, no motive and certainly no talent. The writing was dull and pointless and the acting was uncomfortable to watch. The only good thing was the production design and since it was her mother's house you can't give Lena Dunham any credit for that. The most pointless movie I've probably ever seen. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers