Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Twenty-year-old Aura returns home to her artist mother’s TriBeCa loft with the following: a useless film theory degree, 357 hits on her Youtube page, a boyfriend who’s left her to find himself at Burning Man, a dying hamster, and her tail between her legs. Luckily, her trainwreck childhoodTwenty-year-old Aura returns home to her artist mother’s TriBeCa loft with the following: a useless film theory degree, 357 hits on her Youtube page, a boyfriend who’s left her to find himself at Burning Man, a dying hamster, and her tail between her legs. Luckily, her trainwreck childhood best friend never left home, the restaurant down the block is hiring, and ill-advised romantic possibilities lurk around every corner. Surrounded on all sides by what she could become, Aura just wants someone to tell her who she is. (IFC Films) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 11, 2010
    100
    Tiny Furniture is proof, against steep odds, that there are no small stories, only small storytellers.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 17, 2010
    88
    A darkly comic, piercing, and occasionally painful study of a young woman's quest for identity.
  3. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Dunham, who pads through much of this extremely well-written, often funny and very touching film in the semi-nude, doesn't give a damn about any of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 7, 2010
    75
    A funny, affecting movie about growing up in the shadow of a formidable mom.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Dec 11, 2010
    70
    What it doesn't have, to its credit, is a neat conclusion. In the end, the film appears to suggest that Aura likely will feel free to keep searching for herself, repeating mistakes and making new ones, because she has all the time in the world.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Dec 11, 2010
    67
    Tiny Furniture offers a 21st-century, East Coast spin on "The Graduate," but with comedy-writer-ish dialogue and a mannered style that never fully gels.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Dec 11, 2010
    0
    Lena Dunham makes a 98-minute home video seem like 98 days of hard labor.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 7 out of 12
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this film. It was very entertaining, funny and smart. Probably not for your average "movie" watcher, so be warned. TheI really enjoyed this film. It was very entertaining, funny and smart. Probably not for your average "movie" watcher, so be warned. The relationships between the characters were fascinating to watch develop and dare I say "true to life". This film requires a couple hours of mind engagement, so if your not up to the investment then this film is probably not for you. Expand
  2. JMH
    May 7, 2012
    7
    Lena Dunham's debut feature Tiny Furniture is an emotionally well-tuned, rich, and often funny look at post-college aimlessness, as AuraLena Dunham's debut feature Tiny Furniture is an emotionally well-tuned, rich, and often funny look at post-college aimlessness, as Aura (played by Dunham) returns home after graduating from college. (The home is her parents' home in Tribeca, and her mother and sister are played by her real-life mother and sister.) Given comparisons to Woody Allen in many reviews (and elsewhere), I expected a funnier film. Tiny Furniture does deliver a number of comedic moments, but I found myself truly taken by the film's realism and pacing. The characters are sympathetic, believable, and almost instantaneously well-developed -- they ring true from the moment they enter they film. Dunham's slice of New York life is very much that -- a slice. And a seemingly personal one. People of independent means floating in a finely clustered Downtown world. It may not play in Peoria, but it plays well in New York, for New Yorkers of this world and generally, as most New Yorkers will know this world to some extent. The film's pacing adds to an already consistent tone that wistful and quirky. Dunham's voice and perspective are powerful, and apparent throughout the film. Dunham's voice is, foremost, fresh and inventive. Debut's of this quality are few and far between, especially from a filmmaker so young. There's immense pleasure and promise in this picture. Try it on for size. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    I don't know why the user reviews are so mixed it's a beautifully simple movie where nothing much happens. Just about a girl living her lifeI don't know why the user reviews are so mixed it's a beautifully simple movie where nothing much happens. Just about a girl living her life and all he mistakes that she makes and how she fixes them. It wasn't ground breaking but its an abstract artsy film that doesn't throw it in your face. Collapse
  4. Jan 21, 2011
    1
    This was without a doubt one of the worst movies I've ever gone to see. The movie had very little direction and several times I almost walkedThis was without a doubt one of the worst movies I've ever gone to see. The movie had very little direction and several times I almost walked out. I decided to stay until the end and the ending was just as bad as the film. Why the critics rated it as high as they did is beyond me. I feel if the movie was that good it would have been release to more than just a handful of theaters. Save your money and stay home from this one.... Expand
  5. j30
    May 9, 2012
    1
    Tiny Furniture is just plain bad. There's some good material somewhere in this jumbled mess. It's hard to like Lena Dunham's character or anyTiny Furniture is just plain bad. There's some good material somewhere in this jumbled mess. It's hard to like Lena Dunham's character or any other character for that matter. I just watched the first two episodes of Girls, her new show on HBO, and it's really good. She has definitely improved her writing and direction in where she wants to go. As for Tiny Furniture, it feels like a patch work of self indulgent **** Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    1
    Up until this movie, I could count on one hand the number of movies I chose not to finish (though there are many more I wish I had chosen notUp until this movie, I could count on one hand the number of movies I chose not to finish (though there are many more I wish I had chosen not to finish). So to be fair to the movie, I only saw the first 30 minutes. To be fair to me, I have seen literally (yes literally, not figuratively) thousands of movies and it has to be really bad for me not to finish it.
    I like independent movies and I am patient with movies that don't appear to be going anywhere at first, I like movies where the actors look like average people and not movie stars. I was willing to overlook the self-indulgence, but the writing and the acting was so terrible it was too painful to watch any more. Much of the dailogue seemed to be ad-libbed which is great in the right hands but a disaster in the wrong hands such as these. It reminded me of an X-rated movie without the titillation.
    No doubt that Ms. Dunham has talent and hopefully she will find her voice and make a good movie, but this one wasn't it.
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    0
    Awful. The worst film I have seen from The Criterion Collection. Completely misguided. Not an original idea in the writer's head. A completeAwful. The worst film I have seen from The Criterion Collection. Completely misguided. Not an original idea in the writer's head. A complete waste of 99 minutes of my life. Hundreds of glaringly awful moments. Example: Her stating she hates foreign movies, the guy she likes agreeing with her, then later in the film she namedrops two foreign films. Argh. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers