Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 598 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A fictional romantic tale of a rich girl (Winslet) and a poor bohemian boy (DiCaprio) who meet on the ill-fated voyage of the 'unsinkable' ship.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. A huge, thrilling three-and-a-quarter-hour experience that unerringly lures viewers into the beauty and heartbreak of its lost world.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    100
    His (Cameron) movie may not be perfect, but visually and viscerally, it pretty well is.
  3. 100
    It is flawlessly crafted, intelligently constructed, strongly acted and spellbinding.
  4. 78
    Like the doomed vessel from which it takes its tale, Cameron's film is a behemoth, svelte, streamlined, and not the least bit ponderous.
  5. 70
    It's both the shortest 3 1/2 hours you'll ever spend at the movies and spectacle of such magnitude that it's hard to imagine feeling you didn't get your time and money's worth.
  6. This movie should have blown us out of the water. Instead we catch ourselves occasionally thinking the unpardonable thought: "OK, sink already."
  7. 20
    Cameron manhandles the real story, scavenging it for his own puny narrative purposes. It's a film made with boorish confidence and zero sensitivity, big and dumb and hulking.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 167
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Titanic is considered the best movie of the all time. i see why they have a great titanic, actors, director and a biutiful history of the mostTitanic is considered the best movie of the all time. i see why they have a great titanic, actors, director and a biutiful history of the most biutiful transatlantic ha ever see the world. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    to fans of James Cameron, what could possibly go wrong? its an awesome movie of all time.
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Titanic is the movie which really made me respect James Cameron as a film maker. He had made excellent movies before such as Terminator 1 andTitanic is the movie which really made me respect James Cameron as a film maker. He had made excellent movies before such as Terminator 1 and 2, True Lies, and Aliens, but Titanic is really different. Here he offers excellent and believable characters, stunning visuals and a compelling story. This movie is truly a 10! Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    Titanic is a movie merging two characters coming from completely different social backgrounds on the ill-fated ship. I don't understand whyTitanic is a movie merging two characters coming from completely different social backgrounds on the ill-fated ship. I don't understand why lots of people didn't like this movie. Q: Why is it such a "sappy" love story?
    A: It's a trick used to make us love the main characters, so that when one of them dies, we feel sadness for all the other people that died with the ship.

    Q: Why such a terrible script?
    A: Seriously? It's brilliantly written. In fact, it closely has some of the aspects that the blockbuster "Inception" contains. You have to look closer than the dialogue and the actions of the story. Writing a screenplay is a very hard job. You have to symbolize with almost everything. You have to feel what the characters are feeling and how they would react to certain situations. Plus, there it has a pretty big plot behind it (you've got the heart of the ocean, the painting, the whistle, the hair pin, etc) that has to be weaved together... and this can be a VERY messy process that takes a LONG time to clean up. It's a slap in the face when someone says your work, in which you worked five years on, is horrible.

    Q: Why the best picture?
    A: Come on, it was the 90's. In that decade, picture wasn't that great considering it was VHS. And when they talk about best picture, they don't just talk about how HD the film is. They talk about the colors, the cinematography, the lighting, etc.

    Q: Why the cheesy dialogue?
    A: Okay, try writing a play right now. What would you say if you were in water BELOW FREEZING and you knew you were going to die. What would you say to your lover? It's not cheesy, and it's not dumb. It's well thought out. I have to go through my written dialogue many times before it seems right. The dialogue also has to move the story forward, which is what happened in the film. Q: Wow, there's no action before the sinking. Why?
    A: What if Titanic was written differently? Maybe it introduces a thief on the ship who tries to kill everyone on board, and actually knocked the captain off the ship and drove it into the iceberg? It would be completely stupid. It doesn't follow history. Now, I know Jack and Rose are both fictitious characters, but there were many people on board the ship that had relationships. It's not like they knew the Titanic was going to sink and broke up so that it wasn't as depressing...

    I'd just like to say that lots of people under-rate Titanic because it's a romance. Come on, there's actually a penis joke during a dinner scene. People are way to picky. You wanted to see a film of a ship sinking, and that's what you got. I give this film a 9/10.
    Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2014
    8
    A fictional romantic tale of a rich girl (Winslet) and a poor bohemian boy (DiCaprio) who meet on the ill-fated voyage of the 'unsinkable'A fictional romantic tale of a rich girl (Winslet) and a poor bohemian boy (DiCaprio) who meet on the ill-fated voyage of the 'unsinkable' ship, the RMS Titanic. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    Not my type of movie in any way, but surely the people who are into the everlasting story of love and tragedy enjoy it. After all, this isNot my type of movie in any way, but surely the people who are into the everlasting story of love and tragedy enjoy it. After all, this is more about the affair of Rose (Kate Winslet) and Jack (Leonardo DiCaprio) than it is about one of the most famous ships of all time.

    Titanic sank on her maiden voyage. A lot of people died - unnecessarily, perhaps. That's what most people know about the real events. I myself find that sometimes I just want to keep reading stories told by the survivors, to get the feel of things.

    This movie has won a heap of awards since it was released, and not for nothing: the movie looks really good. The design of the boat was very beautiful and authentic looking, as were the clothes and other details seen in the film. It gives you a good, solid whiff of what it was like back in the day.

    The story itself is structured quite nicely between past and present, although the present isn't quite as well detailed as the past. Rose, who survived the shipwreck, recounts her story to a group of avid listeners. For some reason they are mesmerized by the story of suffocating future and an alternative opportunity of adventure, although their interest simply lies on finding a valuable diamond and its fate.

    Amazingly enough, the whole three hours that this movie lasts, and only the last hour or so focusing on the actual events of the sinking, the movie doesn't get boring. Although there isn't much going on in the beginning, there was just enough vibe going on to keep one looking and waiting for the inevitable. After all, we all know how the story ends before it even begins.
    Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2015
    0
    I hate this movie. This movie is so long, boring, stupid and pointless. LD and KW make an awful couple. The acting was poorly done. The scriptI hate this movie. This movie is so long, boring, stupid and pointless. LD and KW make an awful couple. The acting was poorly done. The script is garbage. This movie sucks and is the most overrated movie of all time. Stay away from it. Expand

See all 167 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.
  2. Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered

    Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 14, 2010
    The star of this week's "Inception" might be adding another blockbuster to his filmography this week, but will he also be adding another critical hit? We look back at DiCaprio's best and worst films, to see where "Inception" might fit in.
  3. All Films Considered: James Cameron

    All Films Considered: James Cameron Image
    Published: December 18, 2009
    Now that the reviews are in for Avatar, we look back at the other James Cameron-directed films in our database, to see how the critics have responded to his work.