Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Apr 11, 2013
    60
    The fine intentions of To the Wonder pave a road to puzzlement, not awe.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 2, 2013
    50
    The movie is intentionally elusive, like a memory you can’t quite fully recall, but the result has all the depth and weight of a greeting card.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    In To the Wonder [Malick] doesn’t give us enough to work with, leaving us with a thing of great beauty, but not much more.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    Pretty but inert, To the Wonder is a vaporous mystery wrapped in a gauzy enigma — a cinematic riddle that'll appeal principally to those eager for another piece, however tiny, of the puzzle that is Terrence Malick.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    "There's nothing here!" screams Romina Mondello - Kurylenko's Euro gal pal, walking the deserted sidewalks of this Anytown, U.S.A. Boy, truer words . . ..
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    The director’s first real misfire, a meditation on love and lost paradise that starts with breathtaking assurance and slowly crumbles into self-parody.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 10, 2013
    50
    Although To the Wonder never transported me, personally, to the ecstatic heights the title promises, there is still much here worth one’s engagement.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 10, 2013
    50
    Malick keeps pushing Affleck to the corner of the frame, as if he's more interested in the women. I found it difficult to maintain interest in anyone. If there's such a thing as a feather that weighs a ton, it's To the Wonder.
  9. 50
    To the Wonder feels like generalized woo-woo—and self-parody.
  10. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 26, 2013
    42
    Is Malick deliberately courting self-parody here? Probably not. That would imply he had a sense of humor.
  11. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 25, 2013
    42
    Affleck has two expressions, a smirk and a scowl. Bardem never changes expression at all: Whatever he’s saying comes out with a dispassionate, hangdog glumness. Perhaps he watched the daily rushes once too often.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 11, 2013
    40
    Having been deeply moved — though often exasperated — by Terrence Malick's previous film, "The Tree of Life," I don't have the heart to belabor the failings of his new one, which is depressed and deeply depressing. The only thing that's wonderful in To the Wonder is the imagery.
  13. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 11, 2013
    40
    It feels like a high-end perfume ad.
  14. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 8, 2013
    40
    The movie is pervaded by a cataclysmic sense of loss, but we don’t need to be chastised with the ideal of Christian love to understand that sex isn’t enough. And someone might tell Malick that beauty isn’t enough, either. Only a major filmmaker could have made To the Wonder, but nothing in it adds up.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I loved this movie, and I loved Tree of Life. Amazing to me that some people complain about the plot. Hahahah! This isn't a story, it's a poemI loved this movie, and I loved Tree of Life. Amazing to me that some people complain about the plot. Hahahah! This isn't a story, it's a poem and painting set to film. There's no plot. The astounding visual contrasts are presented with very little judgement, it seems to me. Everybody knows Paris is beautiful, but Oklahoma apparently has its own sort of beauty. I saw Tree of Life four times in two weeks, mainly dragging recalcitrant friends along. It got better each time. I'll see this at least twice in the first week, but not planning on taking anyone else. This is better savored alone. Also, I'm really glad Ben Affleck has so thoroughly redeemed himself as a serious artist, and Olga Kurylenko and Javier Bardem were perfect. I don't think there's a more interesting actor than Javier out there right now... Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    To the Wonder is actual art in favour of modern arty pizzazz, it is cinematic poetry in place of those "art" films that are petrified at doingTo the Wonder is actual art in favour of modern arty pizzazz, it is cinematic poetry in place of those "art" films that are petrified at doing anything different, it is uncompromising in its technique, holding up a middle finger to any man who dare say: "No, Malick, stop! Art is bad for us boo! boring! boredom!" The Tree of Life was a vast, monstrous creation that swallowed up the earth and the universe in its vision but it still held tight to certain narrative constraints, and one could almost feel the aching soul of Malick trying to get out, to create a style which was utterly his own, and now he has done it: To the Wonder is less a film than a Renaissance work of art, a modern idealist painting of colours, movement, sensuality and sound: the characters are avatars into which Malick pours his ideas, expressing their hopes and sorrows through speed, walking, running, sunlight, water, air, wind, anything from nature... one has to press pause or constantly replay almost every frame and immerse himself in what it would feel like to be in those places, to hear those sounds... he somehow makes the sound of water so shockingly beautiful, he is a painter let loose in film, who allows his audience to actually feel the beauty of the world, more so than any other living film director. There is no real narrative and there are no characters worth describing we wouldn't criticise a Shakespeare sonnet for lacking in story, or a Da Vinci for telling us very little about the Madonna or the Mona Lisa, in the same way that Malick has gone beyond names or places, the jargon dialogue of famous movie characters that makes them "memorable"; this is what it feels like to be alive, in 1 hour and 52 minutes. Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    Beautiful and utterly wonderful, poetry in film. Terrence Malik has yet failed to make a film that is bad, in fact he finds it hard not toBeautiful and utterly wonderful, poetry in film. Terrence Malik has yet failed to make a film that is bad, in fact he finds it hard not to make some of the best films ever made.

    To the wonder is a sensation. It's textured and layered with romantic imagery, the minimal dialogue only adds to the beauty and romance of the film.
    Full Review »