Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After visiting Mont Saint-Michel, Marina and Neil come to Oklahoma, where problems arise. Marina meets a priest and fellow exile, who is struggling with his vocation, while Neil renews his ties with a childhood friend, Jane.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Mar 3, 2013
    91
    A beautiful, hearfelt and raw piece of work.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 10, 2013
    83
    Still, there’s no doubt that To The Wonder is a fans-only proposition, continuing Malick’s evolution (or devolution, for some) from the narrative grounding of "Badlands" to much more abstract, poeticized notions of the human condition.
  3. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Mar 3, 2013
    80
    To The Wonder doesn’t quite live up to the sky-high expectations set by his earlier films. But it’s still a brave, soul-stirring and sensitive work.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 15, 2013
    63
    There are moments of pure poetry in the movie but the production as a whole seems overlong and repetitive and takes a detour or two that distract from the aching beauty of the central story.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    Pretty but inert, To the Wonder is a vaporous mystery wrapped in a gauzy enigma — a cinematic riddle that'll appeal principally to those eager for another piece, however tiny, of the puzzle that is Terrence Malick.
  6. 50
    To the Wonder feels like generalized woo-woo—and self-parody.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 9, 2013
    0
    Plotless and almost mute, To the Wonder is the kind of fiasco that keeps film-festival programmers salivating and discriminating audiences stampeding toward the exit doors. It’s a simpering yawn that makes "The Tree of Life" seem like an action thriller with Bruce Willis. It is about … nothing.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I loved this movie, and I loved Tree of Life. Amazing to me that some people complain about the plot. Hahahah! This isn't a story, it's a poem and painting set to film. There's no plot. The astounding visual contrasts are presented with very little judgement, it seems to me. Everybody knows Paris is beautiful, but Oklahoma apparently has its own sort of beauty. I saw Tree of Life four times in two weeks, mainly dragging recalcitrant friends along. It got better each time. I'll see this at least twice in the first week, but not planning on taking anyone else. This is better savored alone. Also, I'm really glad Ben Affleck has so thoroughly redeemed himself as a serious artist, and Olga Kurylenko and Javier Bardem were perfect. I don't think there's a more interesting actor than Javier out there right now... Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    гармонии.
    Отрицание оставила
    нужный эмоций.
    Этот пересмотреть.
    А
    мне.
    Как тематики.
    Любовь грубости.
    После
    Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    The people and activities shown in To The Wonder seemed more real than in most films. It was interesting to notice how the lack of dialog seemed to contribute favorably to the realism. The actors were convincing and some were attractive. Although I'm pretty sure I did not understand much of what Terrence Malik was saying with this movie I must have understood some of it because I found myself viewing the entire movie and enjoying the challenge of trying to figure out some of the characters' feelings and some of the connections among the people featured. The depictions of Oklahoma caught my attention because they were sad, stark, funny, tragic, and beautiful. There was a lot of good wind shown throughout this movie. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    Malick's beautiful, air-light, impressionistic style really shines here. Worth a watch for this alone. Like watching the works of french impressionists painters, set to motion. Olga Kurylenko surprised me with her excellent acting. I think the movie was more like a contemplation about love, relationships, loneliness and life, than actually a "movie". I say this because the movie had a very thin plot with 2 hours of running time, and not much story development. Almost like in the case of an experimental movie, which is hard to categorize. Was this a drama? Yes, but the plot was merely a "base" or a "pedestal" for the thought presented. To the wonder is a logical follow up and development of "The Tree of Life" in style. I believe Ben Affleck's character was totally underdeveloped, and underused, which is a shame. The storyline with Javier Bardem was somewhat inconclusive as well. One of Malick most "eccentric" movies. Definitely not made for wider audiences, despite the AAA actors/actresses, and the romantic plot/sub-plot. More of a movie for those who like to think about life, love, relationships, God. Not Malick's best, but worth a watch! Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    4
    Like every other Terrance Malick film, this one is gorgeously shot. It is atmospheric and fluid. Sadly, it is also tedious and boring. About halfway into it, I was already wishing it was over. I am big fan of his and think he is brilliant. But tons pointless twirling, an overdose of voice overs, and not much story cause this one to fall way short of Malick's past masterpieces. Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    4
    If you liked "Tree of Life" you'll be in heaven with this latest from writer/director Terrence Malick (there's even some of the same footage). It's all beautiful imagery with poetic VO and almost no dialogue. There's a relationship runaround with Ben Affleck and Olga Kurylenko, where they do lots of silly stuff that people only do in movies…and perfume commercials. Javier Bardem wanders around as a priest. Cinematic poetry and obtuse storytelling. Painfully pretentious for my taste. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    0
    HORRIBLE! This is the worst movie that I've watched in my 47 years on this earth. EVERYONE; actors, directors, producers, grips, EVERONE involved in this movie should never be allowed to participate again! This is the WORST movie I've suffered through in my life! Please save your money. Don't even consider it! Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers