Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After visiting Mont Saint-Michel, Marina and Neil come to Oklahoma, where problems arise. Marina meets a priest and fellow exile, who is struggling with his vocation, while Neil renews his ties with a childhood friend, Jane.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Mar 3, 2013
    91
    A beautiful, hearfelt and raw piece of work.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 10, 2013
    83
    Still, there’s no doubt that To The Wonder is a fans-only proposition, continuing Malick’s evolution (or devolution, for some) from the narrative grounding of "Badlands" to much more abstract, poeticized notions of the human condition.
  3. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Mar 3, 2013
    80
    To The Wonder doesn’t quite live up to the sky-high expectations set by his earlier films. But it’s still a brave, soul-stirring and sensitive work.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 15, 2013
    63
    There are moments of pure poetry in the movie but the production as a whole seems overlong and repetitive and takes a detour or two that distract from the aching beauty of the central story.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    Pretty but inert, To the Wonder is a vaporous mystery wrapped in a gauzy enigma — a cinematic riddle that'll appeal principally to those eager for another piece, however tiny, of the puzzle that is Terrence Malick.
  6. 50
    To the Wonder feels like generalized woo-woo—and self-parody.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 9, 2013
    0
    Plotless and almost mute, To the Wonder is the kind of fiasco that keeps film-festival programmers salivating and discriminating audiences stampeding toward the exit doors. It’s a simpering yawn that makes "The Tree of Life" seem like an action thriller with Bruce Willis. It is about … nothing.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I loved this movie, and I loved Tree of Life. Amazing to me that some people complain about the plot. Hahahah! This isn't a story, it's a poem and painting set to film. There's no plot. The astounding visual contrasts are presented with very little judgement, it seems to me. Everybody knows Paris is beautiful, but Oklahoma apparently has its own sort of beauty. I saw Tree of Life four times in two weeks, mainly dragging recalcitrant friends along. It got better each time. I'll see this at least twice in the first week, but not planning on taking anyone else. This is better savored alone. Also, I'm really glad Ben Affleck has so thoroughly redeemed himself as a serious artist, and Olga Kurylenko and Javier Bardem were perfect. I don't think there's a more interesting actor than Javier out there right now... Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    гармонии.
    Отрицание оставила
    нужный эмоций.
    Этот пересмотреть.
    А
    мне.
    Как тематики.
    Любовь грубости.
    После
    Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    The people and activities shown in To The Wonder seemed more real than in most films. It was interesting to notice how the lack of dialog seemed to contribute favorably to the realism. The actors were convincing and some were attractive. Although I'm pretty sure I did not understand much of what Terrence Malik was saying with this movie I must have understood some of it because I found myself viewing the entire movie and enjoying the challenge of trying to figure out some of the characters' feelings and some of the connections among the people featured. The depictions of Oklahoma caught my attention because they were sad, stark, funny, tragic, and beautiful. There was a lot of good wind shown throughout this movie. Expand
  4. May 22, 2013
    5
    With the seemingly aimless direction, heavenly soundtrack and slow development, this is a typical Terrence Malick film. However, unlike his previous efforts, this one felt far more removed. ‘To the Wonder’ is an art film that presents the cycle of romantic relationships; from its beautiful beginnings to its sometime tragic end, and back around to the beautiful new beginnings. I take it that this was meant to be a study rather than something plot driven, and that the overall experience should be the ultimate “pay-off”; however, there seems to be something missing here. Unlike Sean Penn’s grief for the death of his brother in ‘The Tree of Life’ and Collin Farrell’s adoration for Pocahontas in ‘The New World’, we didn't feel the love that the characters in ‘To the Wonder’ presumably shared for each other. We were never able to immerse ourselves in the feelings of these characters; but were simply relegated to being bystanders looking at glimpses of the relationships as it unfolded and dissolved. Sometimes it’s easier to respect the artist than the art on display, and that is the case here. I have to give this film a mediocre grade despite being a huge fan of Malick. This one just wasn't doing it for me; and in the end, it was too emotionally unsatisfying. One thing you’re guaranteed to take away from this film is Emmanuelle Lubezki’s splendid cinematography. His sun kissed lighting and eloquent camera movements were what kept me engaged most of the time. Collapse
  5. Apr 7, 2014
    4
    Have to admit this was bad. I love Malick's other movies, but this was not good. Felt unfinished, rushed, poorly edited, poorly cast, even the actors didn't seem to know what they were doing in parts. The fact that he is making 3 movies consecutively after doing a handful in 40 years, might be telling.

    Dialog is not even understandable in parts. Characters thin, except for the female lead. Just felt like there wasn't enough there.
    Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2014
    3
    Malick is undoubtedly a brilliant director, who has achieved much success from previous films. But, the mediocre story line and monotonous performance has truly reflected upon it's predecessor, The Tree of Life and has proven Malick's incapability to cope with what the young audience wants, especially those who demand fertile romances. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    0
    HORRIBLE! This is the worst movie that I've watched in my 47 years on this earth. EVERYONE; actors, directors, producers, grips, EVERONE involved in this movie should never be allowed to participate again! This is the WORST movie I've suffered through in my life! Please save your money. Don't even consider it! Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers