Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Ellie Linton is a precocious teen who leads her best friends including Corrie and Kevin to an isolated, deep in the woods camp site named ‘Hell.’ Upon returning, they come to grips with the fact that their country has been overrun by a mysterious, invading army. When the hostile armed forces become alerted to the presence of the teenagers, Ellie and her friends, along with a new recruit - apathetic stoner Chris Lang – must band together to escape, outwit and strike back against the mysterious enemy that has seized control of the their town and imprisoned their friends and loved ones. (Freestyle Digital Media)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Australia may finally have a homegrown blockbuster on its hands with the terrifically engaging Tomorrow, When the War Began, an action-packed war film for and about teenagers.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 23, 2012
    70
    Beyond the shooting and running around, the film works because Beattie never loses the perspective of Ellie Linton (Caitlin Stasey), through whose eyes the story is told.
  3. Reviewed by: Eve Barlow
    Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Serviceable action thriller than unleashes John Milius-style guerilla setpieces without the impact of John Milius-style budgets.
  4. Reviewed by: Russell Edwards
    Feb 26, 2012
    50
    Parochial paranoia dovetails with adolescent angst in the glossy sci-fi coming-of-ager Tomorrow When the War Began.
  5. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Feb 21, 2012
    12
    It's one thing to defer to archetypes, but Tomorrow is so full of stock types and clichés it makes "The Breakfast Club" look like "Nashville."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is amaizing i can't write more cause i dont know good english but the movie is perfect for my ages..
    This movie is amaizing i can't write more cause i dont know good english but the movie is perfect for my ages..
    This movie is amaizing i can't write more cause i dont know good english but the movie is perfect for my ages..
    Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    The first movie that comes with teens who can act since super 8, amazing piece of art, great job, amazing story! Can't wait for the sequel! loved it! Everything was perfect! Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite movies, and ten times better than Red Dawn (2012) although I liked Red Dawn (2012). It is pretty intense and interesting piece of film making, the characters are full of emotions, heart and spirit. It is funny, sad, intense, thought provoking...etc. I just love every second of it. Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    9
    A action packed film that was fun and dramatic. It was better than the original Red Dawn and showed what it really would be like if your country was invaded and even better is that is shows the question in front of them they're free but do they deserve it and what should they really do hide or fight for their loved ones who would do the same for them. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    A good movie that combines war with adolescence.
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    I was expecting an action movie along the lines of the classic Red Dawn however I got a movie that spent too long on a camping trip, have an invasion force that couldn't shoot straight and heroes that injured themselves running into gardening equipment!! Great concept, poorly outlayed. Collapse
  7. Sep 6, 2012
    3
    Limp movie with silly and cliched characters and plot lines. There was nothing believable about the story or the characters and I was left without empathy for them or their situation. Freely driving and riding around the local roads when there has been an invasion by a highly mechanised army with control of the skies is not what I would consider authentic story telling let alone teenagers outwitting and outfighting trained professional soldiers. This film could have been so much more but seemed to me to be one of a number of different parts hence the disjointedness. Some of the acting was ok but more often than not it left a lot to be desired. For example the dope head character was unnecessary and poorly performed. Overall I would rate this film as an immature film school level attempt. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews