User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 364 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 364
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    Don't bother to compare this "reboot" to original. It
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    4
    Good action movie I guess. It starts to raise a cool premise, but then almost immediately abandons it in favor of CGI sequence after CGI sequence. The epitome of American "cinema". It's definitely a movie for teenagers. Sorry, guys. When I saw who directed it (Underworld clown) I was no longer surprised at what I got. A cool premise, but not much more, just like Underworld.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    4
    I think what ruins this movie the most is that it's 2 hours long and there is no story what so ever. I mean there is one but there isn't. It seems that you just jump from scene to scene with no real backstory or anything, That's what makes this movie so bad. I didn't care for the action scenes either. It really just came off as The Bourne Identity (even had the main character going into aI think what ruins this movie the most is that it's 2 hours long and there is no story what so ever. I mean there is one but there isn't. It seems that you just jump from scene to scene with no real backstory or anything, That's what makes this movie so bad. I didn't care for the action scenes either. It really just came off as The Bourne Identity (even had the main character going into a bank and finding passports and money just like bourne identity) but in a sci fi setting. The only solid things about this movie is that the acting is good and the gadgets are cool (I really loved the phone embedded in your hand gadget). Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    5
    I can't believe I'm going to say this, but the Arnold Schwarzenegger (googled and spellchecked) version was better. And they killed Walter White. Why?! Why kill Walter White? He didn't do anything wrong. Heck invade that overpopulated hellhole called Australia, they should stop breeding. I'm all with you there buddy. And I just checked Google Earth, Australia and the UK are not onI can't believe I'm going to say this, but the Arnold Schwarzenegger (googled and spellchecked) version was better. And they killed Walter White. Why?! Why kill Walter White? He didn't do anything wrong. Heck invade that overpopulated hellhole called Australia, they should stop breeding. I'm all with you there buddy. And I just checked Google Earth, Australia and the UK are not on geometrically opposite sides of the globe; so there's that. Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2012
    5
    The visuals were spectacular. The plot was weak. The dialogue was even weaker. If you are really into mindless action and great special effects you'll like it. If you need more you won't.
  6. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    Total Recall is at it's best when it's plowing it's own furrow. Elements (and sometimes whole scenes) that are taken directly from the original film feel a bit jarring and, strangely, forced. Although the original was no outright classic, it does score two major victories over this remake; firstly, the whole "is it real?" aspect is done better in the original and secondly, the 1986 versionTotal Recall is at it's best when it's plowing it's own furrow. Elements (and sometimes whole scenes) that are taken directly from the original film feel a bit jarring and, strangely, forced. Although the original was no outright classic, it does score two major victories over this remake; firstly, the whole "is it real?" aspect is done better in the original and secondly, the 1986 version is a lot more fun. That said, this more serious version has some spectacular action scenes and a gorgeously realized sci-fi world to balance things out. Overall, Total Recall is a superior SF action romp. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    The cast are more than on par in this sic-fi action bonanza, but the often bewildering plot and back and forth story-telling leaves the new Total Recall with a lot to answer for.
    Colin Farrell takes the reigns from Arnold Schwarzenegger as Douglas, a man living at the end of the 21st Century, at time where there are only two survivalist nations on earth, the United Federation of Britain
    The cast are more than on par in this sic-fi action bonanza, but the often bewildering plot and back and forth story-telling leaves the new Total Recall with a lot to answer for.
    Colin Farrell takes the reigns from Arnold Schwarzenegger as Douglas, a man living at the end of the 21st Century, at time where there are only two survivalist nations on earth, the United Federation of Britain and The Colony, where most reside. The only means of transport is through the Fall, which travels through the core of the earth.
    So when Doug happens across Rekall, a memory implantation service, he always believes that something is missing from his life, and that Rekall is the answer. But an unexplained interruption happens in the process and Doug starts to instinctively act like an agent, something he wanted to be implanted but never got the chance, and now something that is trying to get the poor guy killed, he already has these memories.
    This sets up for a thrilling first hour in this remake and built a lot of promise by introducing an array of characters easily likeable and unlikeable.
    But the second hour was its own worst enemy.
    Too many times now do movies trade in a convincing story and excellent plot with big special effects and one explosion too many. Total Recall fails to progress the character development in this story and it becomes unclear just what exactly is happening, in regards to this being real or not, something which I hear is only slightly hinted at in the Director's Cut.
    The plot was back-tracking too much to the point of losing interest and getting invested in the big explosions for some enjoyment, simply because the quite interesting plot and drive took a back seat in the final hour.
    Jessica Biel, Kate Beckinsale and Brian Cranston are on exceptional for, but their characters are grossly under-developed and at times questionable to the point.
    But saying that, it is still a watchable and enjoyable film, with exceptional special effects to rival the biggest and baddest of blockbusters, but something that was also unnecessary, but still not a film that requires your full attention in the closing hour, its just a shame that it started off with so much promise, but perhaps the countless scenarios that it touched upon may indeed work for a sequel, something I certainly wouldn't mind seeing.
    Expand
  8. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    The CGI was impeccable. Kate Beckinsale pulls off a brilliant character. But ultimately, it wasn't a very memorable movie. The plot was unimaginative, and the supporting characters were all archetype.
  9. Jan 14, 2013
    6
    The first hour is great. Unfortunately it falls away from there to become just another Sci Fi shoot em up. Sadly it doesn't have the feel and suspense of the original where we were led through feeling the desperation and anxiety of the main character. In this reboot all those moments feel rushed. Had potential but unfortunately dropped the ball. In saying this it is not a horrible film andThe first hour is great. Unfortunately it falls away from there to become just another Sci Fi shoot em up. Sadly it doesn't have the feel and suspense of the original where we were led through feeling the desperation and anxiety of the main character. In this reboot all those moments feel rushed. Had potential but unfortunately dropped the ball. In saying this it is not a horrible film and will entertain most people for 2 hours on a rainy day. Check it out if you have nothing else to do. Collapse
  10. Aug 28, 2012
    4
    Paul Verhoeven's Total Recall is much much better than this remake version. I pretty enjoy this, its modern set piece but its third act is total disaster. Will always leave you bad memory.
  11. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    Went in with low expectations considering the critics' opinions. Got what I expected, too. Took only minor cues from the original and even those got lost in the breaking glass. Never once thought 'hmm, is this real or recall" I just thought "3 good looking stars does not a movie make." Epitome of mediocrity.
  12. Aug 6, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Strong action mixed with a loose and well-worn plot that made for an entertaining, but not necessarily good, movie. It's the same basic premise of the original movie with plenty of nods. The Blade Runner style future is nice, but the premise and world created was nonsensical. A world destroyed by chemical warfare and only Australia and the UK survive? Plus they're connected via a mass transit system that goes through the earth's core. The trip is so fast it only takes 17 min, but not so fast that the characters can't climb the exterior or stand atop the device without being crushed by g-force. The shear impossibility of the climax is only permissible in the assumption that everything we witnessed as an audience was part of Quiad's Rekall. And for that, the hint at the end, and the decent action, Total Recall gets a passing rating. Expand
  13. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    this movie is good, but it isn't the better that I watched, I like Collin Farrel, he was good, but the problem of the film every time is action, but it is a good movie
  14. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    The first half of the film: brilliantly shot and full of excellent action sequences. The later half...its like as if a teenage douchebag came into the production studio, replaced the final sections of the script with his weirdass, cheesy fight scenes and a crappy ending and managed to convince the director to keep them when they found out it happened. I was sceptical going into thisThe first half of the film: brilliantly shot and full of excellent action sequences. The later half...its like as if a teenage douchebag came into the production studio, replaced the final sections of the script with his weirdass, cheesy fight scenes and a crappy ending and managed to convince the director to keep them when they found out it happened. I was sceptical going into this reboot. There's no Mars, the premise is exactly the same and many plot elements are recycled. But the first hour it convinced me otherwise: this is going to be epic. Awesome cinematography and tense fight/chase scenes in a beautiful, futuristic city (so beautiful that I actually want to live there) and more action/great dialogue after. Then, without warning, the movie just went downhill. You know, like a ferrari suddenly having punctured tires, following by engine problems and everything slowly goes to **** This is the 2012 Total Recall. You just watch a great movie, brilliantly shot (one of the best ive seen in a long time) with awesome action scenes all on top of a well-loved story, slowly get peppered with **** and eventually, a cartload of **** And then when you hit the ending, you'll be cutting yourself. Had they retained the awesome futurisitic utopia/minory repory-esque fantasy world with tight action scenes so evident in the first half of the film for the entire film and had a satisfying climax and ending, I would've given this film a 8/10 or even a 9/10. Sadly, dunno what happened to the script writer in the final pages of the movie script . Maybe he got drunk. Maybe he just got frickin lazy. Or maybe he got jacked into rekall and a false memory implanted when finishing the final sections of the script. Srsly, when you watch this movie, right after Quaid arrives at the Resistance base, just turn off the movie - it gets fully ****house from there and even Brian Cranston's awesome acting could've save it. Though there's another two things that this movie did right - it cemented and consolidated Kate Beckinsale as one of my favourite actresses and added Jessica Biel to my **** list. Expand
  15. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    They try hard to differentiate this film from the original: the setting is different (not mars anymore), the production style -which is very stylish btw- is much greyer and dysotopian and the acting is much more low key. It's not that the film is bad, it just hasn't got the good stuff. Schwarzie's character had much more charisma and his 2 different persona were more clearly separated, inThey try hard to differentiate this film from the original: the setting is different (not mars anymore), the production style -which is very stylish btw- is much greyer and dysotopian and the acting is much more low key. It's not that the film is bad, it just hasn't got the good stuff. Schwarzie's character had much more charisma and his 2 different persona were more clearly separated, in Farrell's case they just seem the same bland dude. Beckinsale plays a good antagonist but nowhere near the **** level that was done so very well by Sharon Stone in the original. The new one has tons of action and destruction but ultimatly lacks the visceral and raw violent feel of the Verhoeven version. Expand
  16. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    The main character in Total Recall is a man who's lost his identity, but the film is not about him rediscovering it. Yes, that's part of it, but Recall is about the well paced, gritty sci-fi action. It doesn't want us to think, just to enjoy.
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    I must admit; I (like many others no doubt) have never seen Arnold in the original Total Recall. Right off the first 10 minutes, director Len Wiseman showed the type of movie Total Recall was to be. The first pan of the futuristic city Wiseman had envisioned the world of Total Recall to be was reminiscent of Blade-Runner: a city so unlike our own but so detailed that it seems a perfectlyI must admit; I (like many others no doubt) have never seen Arnold in the original Total Recall. Right off the first 10 minutes, director Len Wiseman showed the type of movie Total Recall was to be. The first pan of the futuristic city Wiseman had envisioned the world of Total Recall to be was reminiscent of Blade-Runner: a city so unlike our own but so detailed that it seems a perfectly logical direction for which the world would be heading towards. Often times I forgot that Total Recall was part Sci-fi, as I became so immersed in the setting that it became normal. The Colony, one of the only two mega-cities left on earth, was able to blend a heavy sci-fi theme with a sense of overpopulation, allowing it to seem technological but backwards at the same time. The first half of the film does an excellent job creating a believable world, but unfortunately the characters that inhabit the world itself fall a bit short.
    A major problem with the film was its cookie-cutter characters. Colin Farrell just seemed confused most of the time, and Jessica Biel and Kate Beckinsale were just action-movie eye-candy with no really distinguishing characteristics. Going by the trailer, I had expected Total Recall to be mind-boggling; juggling reality and fantasy until it became a blur. This unfortunately was not the case, as the plot became incredibly straightforward. With such a simple plot and such simple characters, by the end there was no element of surprise or shock. For a sci-fi action movie, it ended rather dully. That is not to say; however, that the entire movie was boring, or that it wasn
    Expand
  18. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    I don't feel that this Total Racall is superior to the original. The first hour is incredibly fun with some great story and action thrills. After that it becomes very slow. Its got some other positives like the fact that despite reusing a few things from the original it still feels somewhat new. The script could be a lot better. Its a little fun but its more worth a rental once it is on DVD.
  19. drm
    Aug 7, 2012
    6
    So I went out to see this last night, with the lowest of expectations. Much to my surprise, it wasn't that bad. Sure it had problems, and it doesn't really stand up to the original, but I really didn't need it to. I am not a fan of reboots, but still, the people behind this did manage to make an entertaining film. Colin Farrell does a decent job, and thankfully does not try to act likeSo I went out to see this last night, with the lowest of expectations. Much to my surprise, it wasn't that bad. Sure it had problems, and it doesn't really stand up to the original, but I really didn't need it to. I am not a fan of reboots, but still, the people behind this did manage to make an entertaining film. Colin Farrell does a decent job, and thankfully does not try to act like Arnold. Kate Beckinsdale is super hot, though her character seemed a bit ruined by one flaw I see in a lot of films: the supermodel military commando, complete with skin tight catsuits and lady gaga heels. Hollywood...you really need to get over this cliché. Was Kate not hot enough to dress her up in fatigues? I don't think so. They definitely simplified the plot from the original, but found interesting work-arounds for some of the glaringly missing components. The villain was unflinchingly evil, the violence was constant, the effects were pretty, and the action sequences were unrelenting. There are some things they could've done better. The Blade Runner homages going on this picture tread on cannibalism. It felt a little like a club to the head in parts. Still, that's minor. The other thing that didn't exactly work for me was Kate's character. In the original, Lori is married to Richter. When Quaid kills Lori, Richter is pissed, and has a strong motivation for revenge. In the reboot, Lori and Richter are morphed into the same character of Lori, which deprives us of the revenge subplot, and makes her come off like a psycho **** without a clear motivation. The next thing that was a bit upsetting, was the use of clones. Clones, much as George Lucas knows, are just a cheap tool to minimize the impact of hardcore violence. These suckers die by the hundreds, and you just don't care about them. The last thing I found puzzling, was why they bothered to connect it to the Total Recall franchise. It's a decent film on it's own. Parts of it felt shoe-horned into the franchise, and I don't think it needed to be. Look, we're all starved to death for some sci-fi and violence. We don't need it connected to some nostalgia. It's fine on it's own. PS Hats off to whoever did the industrial design on this picture. It's worth looking at just for that. Expand
  20. Aug 3, 2012
    5
    Not having seen the original 1990
  21. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. http://lackadaisicallyliving.wordpress.com/?p=133&preview=true

    Okay, let
    Expand
  22. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    Total Recall is ludicrous in parts and full of plot holes. That said, it is SO visually stunning that I have to recommend it based solely on that. The look and atmosphere is not original and will remind you of Blade Runner, Minority Report, and the Matrix (among others), but there is so much detail and it simply looks spectacular. All the actors seem to be into their roles and are notTotal Recall is ludicrous in parts and full of plot holes. That said, it is SO visually stunning that I have to recommend it based solely on that. The look and atmosphere is not original and will remind you of Blade Runner, Minority Report, and the Matrix (among others), but there is so much detail and it simply looks spectacular. All the actors seem to be into their roles and are not simply phoning it in despite some of the silly dialog and situations. The ubiquitous car chase scene was fun and didn't last overly long like chase scenes tend to. Even though I rolled my eyes a few times I still had fun and enjoyed it. Expand
  23. Aug 16, 2012
    6
    Total Recall was by no means a stroke of genius but it was definitely an enjoyable film if you can deal with some unrealism and minor plot issues. The cgi was beautiful, the action was worth the admission alone, and the story had its flaws but overall it was on par. Colin Farrell was good, and extremely lucky, being able to kiss both Kate Beckinsale (who was the usual Kate Beckinsale, hotTotal Recall was by no means a stroke of genius but it was definitely an enjoyable film if you can deal with some unrealism and minor plot issues. The cgi was beautiful, the action was worth the admission alone, and the story had its flaws but overall it was on par. Colin Farrell was good, and extremely lucky, being able to kiss both Kate Beckinsale (who was the usual Kate Beckinsale, hot and awesome) and Jessica Biel (who was great as well) in the same movie! This movie got dull at times and the story didn't make sense and the nevernding elevator shaft scene was a bit ridiculous, but other than that, if you like a good scifi flick then i would recommend this, i wouldn't say its worth all of the admission price but this is a movie that needs to be seen on a big screen so go for it. Overall a fun scifi action spectacle with great cgi and good characters. 6/10 Expand
  24. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    All my 6 points go to the brilliantly crafted and art directed first half of this film. If you liked Blade Runner then you'll be totally engrossed in this initial part of the movie. Excellently staged stunts and action sequences and lots of juicy detail for all you sci-fi fans. Unfortunately the second part of Total Recall is such a mess that it really lets down the entire experience.All my 6 points go to the brilliantly crafted and art directed first half of this film. If you liked Blade Runner then you'll be totally engrossed in this initial part of the movie. Excellently staged stunts and action sequences and lots of juicy detail for all you sci-fi fans. Unfortunately the second part of Total Recall is such a mess that it really lets down the entire experience. Still worth a look. And Colin Farrell does a good enough job too. Expand
  25. Sep 4, 2012
    6
    I'd be lying if I said I wasn't slightly disappointed by this. It's a pretty serviceable action film, but other than that? There's none of the original film's wit or intelligence here, and the few subtle references to it are just nostalgia for that better film. But, i mean, its watch-able, but as a remake of the Total recall we all loved, it has to go down as a big failure.
  26. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bryan Cranston and Colin Farrell turn in two very enjoyable performances as the visionary and the fly in the ointment. The plot is a flimsy, but albeit sometimes interesting, reason for the key folks involved to get their hands dirty and the love interest(s) are both drop dead gorgeous. Seriously Colin, it's a little hard to feel sorry for you in this one. After the first hour, and the plot twists have lost their sheen, the movie runs out of steam well ahead of its running time and culminates in a rather embarrassing sessions of fisty cuffs between Cranston and Farrell. Prior to the limp ending I thought I was enjoying a more wholesome adaptation than the original film. Sadly it just couldn't hold out, but that's no reason to miss maybe the third best action flick of the summer. (Behind obvious choice The Dark Knight Rises and another of your personal taste.) Expand
  27. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    This is the wrong way, in my opinion, to approach sci-fi. Superficially it does well, in terms of creating the appropriate mood and atmosphere, and it has some interesting gadgets. But good sci-fi should primarily aim to provoke thought, so I think it's usually bad news when there is an overabundance of mindless action--here, the action just takes centre place. Worse, the choreography isThis is the wrong way, in my opinion, to approach sci-fi. Superficially it does well, in terms of creating the appropriate mood and atmosphere, and it has some interesting gadgets. But good sci-fi should primarily aim to provoke thought, so I think it's usually bad news when there is an overabundance of mindless action--here, the action just takes centre place. Worse, the choreography is nothing to go wow at. In terms of performance, Beckinsale is at the top of her game, while Farrell and Biel are just clumsy. Expand
  28. Aug 14, 2012
    5
    There is a lot of action in this movie and It kinda keeps you watching. The effects are also really good. The bad part is that it is very predictable and that the laws of physics don't apply at all.
  29. Jul 11, 2014
    4
    It has a some great action just not enough actual story to the movie. Not enough character development in the movie. If you like action then you will like this movie but If you like anything else then you probably leave the theater disappointed and what the story really was.
  30. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    Total Recall was cool, I appreciate it, bro. But the acting by Colin Farrell is the star of this film, he's not a Schwarzenegger or Stallone but he fits in the picture. Kate Beckensale is okay (UNDERWORLD SUCKS) but could have been maintained as the bad girl. Bill Nighy was great, he was deadly and violent as hell. Jessica Biel was pretty bad, I wished that she could save the movie butTotal Recall was cool, I appreciate it, bro. But the acting by Colin Farrell is the star of this film, he's not a Schwarzenegger or Stallone but he fits in the picture. Kate Beckensale is okay (UNDERWORLD SUCKS) but could have been maintained as the bad girl. Bill Nighy was great, he was deadly and violent as hell. Jessica Biel was pretty bad, I wished that she could save the movie but Farrell, Nighy and Beckinsale steal the show. It has gadgets and cool sci fi future generating world with NUDITY! this one doesn't quite top the original- this one is way cooler but Total Recall by Paul Verhoven was better than this reboot. Cool, cool, and cool- Totall recall is made and saved by its gadgets and guns and thrilling sequences. It's fun. Expand
  31. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    Total Recall is a mixed bag. It recalls (pardon the pun) other, and better sci-fi movies that includes Blade Runner and Minority Report. Despite its high production values, the original is still a much better film. This version doesn't bring anything new on the table.
  32. Sep 10, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not going to compare this to the original, but analyse it on its own. This movie is basically an action packed thriller in a sci-fi setting that's visually very good but done with little intelligence, if any at all. If you enjoy the "science" part of "science fiction" this is not for you, as the movie is riddled with problems in that department - the sci-fi is mainly just eye-candy. Additionaly, the main plot has good premises but disappoints because everything is explored in a such a shallow manner and things never take off from that superficial "all-action" approach.
    Lets start with the sci-fi stuff. So, in the future, there was a biochemical war apocalypse that left everything but we know today as England and Australia inhabitable. Despite of this, in both areas there isn't any visual indication that something is wrong. How come only both these areas are habitable is never addressed, is there a crystal bubble around those areas? "England" is a sprawling technological metropolis spanning multiple levels high, with all the gadgets and visual candy you could dream. The "poor" "Australia" is reminiscent of "Bladerunner" with a hint of Hong Kong, but here, everything is glossy, sparkly and you can't see misery, filth, pollution, poverty, etc anywhere, not to mention technology is amazing and available everywhere too. "England" dominates economically and politically, alledgely enslaving "Australia", and there's an underground movement of rebels that want independence for "Australia". The real crazy part is that there is a tunnel through the Earth's core between both countries and common people travel in massive building-elevators in it... And gravity goes from normal to zero to reverse during the trip in a few minutes time... If you have a minimum knowledge of science you know this isn't possible (check links below if you're interested), you need only to remember the Earth's core is filled with molten metal at extremely high temperatures and pressures. There's lot of mistakes here and there, like for instance the elevator goes fast enough to make the trip in 17 mins, but not fast enough so that you can't blow out a window and ride outside while being chase by guards. I mean, one thing is to have a little Deus Ex Machina in sci-fi to keep things cool and/or futuristic, but they usually have a rooting in science, they're not just an excuse for spectacularity. They would have been better off if they had teleporters instead of this. Additionaly, despite the security being ultra heavy on the elevator stations, inside the elevador, the single most important device in that world, there's hardly any guard in the corridors and the main character infiltrates it with ease... Moving along to the plot, the main character (Colin Ferrel) is not content with his life despite having a nice home and a beautiful wife (Kate eckinsale). He wishes he was doing something more important than his job at a robot construction factory and has this recurring dream seemingly out of a spy movie (he's reading an Ian Fleming btw) where he and another beautiful woman (Jessica Biel) are trying to escape some sort of secure facility. The implications of what this dream might mean about his marriage are only just very lightly addressed. He eventually succumbs to his longing for more, and goes to Rekall, a company that promises to make your fantasies come true via chemically induced dreams indistuingishable from reality. However, the Rekall company is portrayed with very little mystique and despite there being some dangers to the mind in the process, these are only lightly hinted. He goes in for a session and ends up picking the "spy" package. Apparently before the program is initiated something goes wrong because the process doesn't work if the user has had previous experiences similar to those he's trying to "dream" about. Suddenly, apparentely he was a most-wanted spy, unbeknowst to him, and police and special forces storm the place after him, forcing him to kill a lot of them and run. Supposedly, the idea is that the audience (and the character) can't know if this is the "dream" or the reality, which would be a fantastic concept to explore throughout the movie, but it never is. Later on we realise why, and (without spoiling too much) it makes some sense, but it leaves a pungent feeling of a missed oportunity to explore those themes of what is a dream and what is reality. Instead, the movie goes in a rampage of action and action and it hardly ever stops to take a breath, never setting the tone that things may not be what they seem. That being said, it's true that the action is mostly good, and the visual effects very good. Some stuff is clearly exagerated, like Kate Beckinsale being as strong as a man and Colin Ferrel stronger than a robot...
    http://blog.wolframalpha.com/2012/08/13/the-science-of-total-recall/
    http://youtu.be/jN-FfJKgis8
    Expand
  33. Aug 15, 2012
    4
    eh another big money remake of a so-so movie, its official Hollywood has run out of ideas and good acting. Wait for the dv.... ah nevermind watch it once then move on yea its that "good"
  34. Sep 2, 2012
    5
    I like how it looked. It was graphically/artistically inspired. It started very well too, both story-wise and action-wise. The issue I have with it is that after the good start, everything else felt bland and not really very exciting. I don't know how to explain, I simply lost interest in the movie and got bored...
  35. Oct 18, 2014
    5
    Compared to the original film, Total Recall lacks the wit and humour. However it contains satisfying action sequences and above average performances from it's cast to be entertaining enough.
  36. Mar 12, 2013
    4
    This one pissed me off, it did. I loved the original. No story here, not even a rehash of the first new invention of the Philip K. Dick story. If you must watch it, turn off the sound. The pictures are lovely.
  37. Dec 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun, but they got the physics of "The Fall" completely wrong. If the capsule had no external acceleration, the trip would take about 45 minutes, not the 17 minutes indicated in the movie, and the inside of the capsule would have zero gravity for the duration of the trip. Expand
  38. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Don't expect a remake of the original. They succeed only in producing a completely forgettable movie. The references to the original Total Recall, were very anti-climatic and only reminded viewers where the bar was and how short this movie came to meet it.
  39. Mar 12, 2013
    5
    Like most remakes the original is way better, but if you wanna watch a decent action movie this one's not bad. I think if you've seen the original you'll know all the surprises.
  40. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    Before we begin i’m just going to start off by saying that I will not be comparing this film to the original. Doing so only diminishes the film as a separate piece and instead, leaves it as something to nit pick constantly. However they do reference to the original at some points and I found it pretty humorous. The only thing I will say about the older movie compared to this one is thatBefore we begin i’m just going to start off by saying that I will not be comparing this film to the original. Doing so only diminishes the film as a separate piece and instead, leaves it as something to nit pick constantly. However they do reference to the original at some points and I found it pretty humorous. The only thing I will say about the older movie compared to this one is that they follow the same basic format with little change to the story minus the exclusion from the big red planet.

    Now that we have that out of the way, lets review the movie,

    How was it you ask? well hold on let me just finish typing and you’ll see.

    First off, its a very pretty film. honestly, the effects are very well done and the actual scenery from both the Colony and Britain are very well distinct. Both house half of the worlds population. But both are, like most societies are, split between social standards. This causes a feud between the two via fighting over they’re transportation between the two, know as “The Fall” which I found to be a great propaganda piece. The Colony is the slum of those two. While Britain is rich, beautiful, and architecturally superior. So effects, great, boom, done.

    How was the story Matt? well…if you lack previous knowledge of the original total recall its good and bad. It’s good because you get to experience an interesting story within a very cool sci fi universe about a man who’s bored with his life and decides to get his brain messed with by an organizationa that provides people with an alternate life. Only to end up not knowing if his new memories are real or if what he’s experiencing is the false memories. It’s bad because the 3rd act of the film is very very predictable. (the whole film is predicable if you’ve seen the original though.) Walking into the first half you are introduced to this very creative world and this very interesting story wondering and questioning whether what’s happening is reality or the work of those working at Rekall. You’re supposed to be left curious as to how the entire thing will play out. But at a certain point the writers decided to basically say “nope you can stop wondering whats what because this is whats happening” and then it turns into your stereotypical predicable action flick with stereotypical hero and villain. Thus taking away a lot of mystery and potential

    Don’t get me wrong, I love Bryan Cranston, he’s a great actor. But his role in this film was cliche at best.

    However, I did prefer Colin Ferrell over Arnold. Mainly because I can’t take Arnold seriously in the first place aside from Predator

    So to rap things up I’ll say this, The effects are great, the take on the future society is beyond interesting and I wish they explored it more along with exploring more of Rekall itself. The 3rd act falls flat along with the movies villain. The climax, while looking great, provides nothing special other than a cliche Hollywood ending.
    Expand
  41. Mar 3, 2014
    4
    I haven't seen the original, but I wasn't engaged in this at all. Aesthetically pleasing with the cinematography, but no real substance to back it up which is a shame.
  42. Jul 15, 2014
    5
    Before we begin i’m just going to start off by saying that I will not be comparing this film to the original. Doing so only diminishes the film as a separate piece and instead, leaves it as something to nit pick constantly. However they do reference to the original at some points and I found it pretty humorous. The only thing I will say about the older movie compared to this one is thatBefore we begin i’m just going to start off by saying that I will not be comparing this film to the original. Doing so only diminishes the film as a separate piece and instead, leaves it as something to nit pick constantly. However they do reference to the original at some points and I found it pretty humorous. The only thing I will say about the older movie compared to this one is that they follow the same basic format with little change to the story minus the exclusion from the big red planet.

    Now that we have that out of the way, lets review the movie,

    How was it you ask? well hold on let me just finish typing and you’ll see.

    First off, its a very pretty film. honestly, the effects are very well done and the actual scenery from both the Colony and Britain are very well distinct. Both house half of the worlds population. But both are, like most societies are, split between social standards. This causes a feud between the two via fighting over they’re transportation between the two, know as “The Fall” which I found to be a great propaganda piece. The Colony is the slum of those two. While Britain is rich, beautiful, and architecturally superior. So effects, great, boom, done.

    How was the story Matt? well…if you lack previous knowledge of the original total recall its good and bad. It’s good because you get to experience an interesting story within a very cool sci fi universe about a man who’s bored with his life and decides to get his brain messed with by an organizationa that provides people with an alternate life. Only to end up not knowing if his new memories are real or if what he’s experiencing is the false memories. It’s bad because the 3rd act of the film is very very predictable. (the whole film is predicable if you’ve seen the original though.) Walking into the first half you are introduced to this very creative world and this very interesting story wondering and questioning whether what’s happening is reality or the work of those working at Rekall. You’re supposed to be left curious as to how the entire thing will play out. But at a certain point the writers decided to basically say “nope you can stop wondering whats what because this is whats happening” and then it turns into your stereotypical predicable action flick with stereotypical hero and villain. Thus taking away a lot of mystery and potential

    Don’t get me wrong, I love Bryan Cranston, he’s a great actor. But his role in this film was cliche at best.

    However, I did prefer Colin Ferrell over Arnold. Mainly because I can’t take Arnold seriously in the first place aside from Predator

    So to rap things up I’ll say this, The effects are great, the take on the future society is beyond interesting and I wish they explored it more along with exploring more of Rekall itself. The 3rd act falls flat along with the movies villain. The climax, while looking great, provides nothing special other than a cliche Hollywood ending.
    Expand
  43. Jun 5, 2015
    5
    This movie has all the qualities of a great sci-fi film but the true star of the movie was missing for me-Mars! The thing that made the original story so entertaining and whimsical was the concept of a human colony on the one world we constantly dream of which is our closest planetary neighbor. In this film I never really new who was who in the great civil conflict. Both the colony andThis movie has all the qualities of a great sci-fi film but the true star of the movie was missing for me-Mars! The thing that made the original story so entertaining and whimsical was the concept of a human colony on the one world we constantly dream of which is our closest planetary neighbor. In this film I never really new who was who in the great civil conflict. Both the colony and ruling society were so identical in appearance that it was hard to focus an emotional attachment to the physicality of this sci-fi world. The scenes carried the highly produced and fantastical scenes and technology that is truly a future worth dreaming of much like the original however I found myself constantly wishing for the Martian fragility that the colony faced. In this version I never could figure out what made society so dire that the government had to conspire to take hold of a founded colonies land. Although the population was critical the advancements of this reality were so great that even the desolate and toxic areas outside of the city could have been re-populated so I never felt completely sold on this story. I have to give props to the action and fighting sequences between the stars of this film because they were quite intense and entertaining. Even though the one thing was missing that could have made “Total Recall” epic and I found it’s absence irritating I did enjoy the movie’s effects and view of the future-minus the conflict of course. Expand
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    It's a bit of a flavourless CGI-fest, without the character and comedy of the Arnie version, and it never really gets to grips with the idea of "reality" as a slippery, malleable concept.
  2. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Aug 27, 2012
    40
    Perhaps no more absurd than the Verhoeven version, but certainly less amusing. Farrell and Beckinsale emerge unscathed, but the endless scrabbling for novelty and reinvention leaves this feeling unaccountably stale and familiar.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Aug 17, 2012
    40
    Entertaining in small doses, but gruelling at two hours, Wiseman's derivative, spec-hackular upgrade bins the twisted wit and meaty thrills of the Arnie original.