User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 344 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 344

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    WOW! WOW! WOW! Those are the only words I had when the movie ended. This movie should be the realy Summer hit following Avengers in this year. One after one of well executed action scenes will make you forget to breathe and whenever the actions stop, the plots will step in, keeping the story flowing. There may be some weaknesses in the overall storyline, but compare to the stupidity of charging all your police forces into tunnels so a handful of thugs can take over a city of 12m people, putting all of policemen in a single street so they can rush to tanks and thugs with machingus, and the total absence of American army for 3 months, the weaknesses in this movie are infinitesimal. I am going to watch it again. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects, and stunts. It's the perfect movie for any adrenalin junkie that will hold your attention from beginning to end.
  3. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this movie. If you're a fan of the sci-fi genre and not too stuck on the particulars of the first film I think most will as well. There are two important things to keep in mind before seeing this movie.

    1. They do not go to Mars. This movie takes place entirely on Earth.

    2. It is not campy. Do not expect the movie to poke fun at itself, or have goofy characters. Keep those
    two points in mind and I think you'll enjoy the ride. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    I thought This Movie was BADASS. I mean overall i like it better than the original. The action scenes in this film are incredible! The world in this film is so beautiful. The story was Decent but it's the action that won me over. Overall this is a really fun summer film. Watch it
  5. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    I really liked it, especially the main method of transportation from the colony to the UFB, I thought it was absolutely genius and well thought out plus the scenes that make you question whether it's real or one of his memories are fake are great..it was very interesting, maybe some escape scenes were the same but I really liked it overall, especially the implanted communication device..I just wish that the movie makers didn't spoil a bunch of it with their trailers Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Having just seen the movie, I thought it was awesome. The constant action, the story, etc... is was very well done. Colin Farrell did a great job (which I'm tired of people bashing him for some reason, I think hes a great actor, but thats my opinion), and of course Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel did great as well, not to mention hot xD. Overall, great movie and definately worth the price of admission for it. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    As youy read this you should know that i have not watched the first movie!! Shock!! Horror!! I know where have i been hiding all these years!! With that asside i thoroughly enjoyed this movie and is definitely going to be added to my DVD collection. All parts are well acted, the story is gripping and there is certainly enough action going about to keep you interested and rooted to your seat.
  8. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    So I immediately don't know what to say about the movie. The PG-13 pops up & my heart drops. But a movie deserves a critic rating equal to the value it will hold in your heart. I haven't actually gone past the 5 minute & 59 second marker yet- as this movie is obviously rated improperly in the best way of my life. Not only do I get to see Kate Beckinsale's dreamy figure in white panties (which struck me odd for the rating) but then my ridiculously acute eye notices what I thought at first to be a smudge in a single frame. It's no frame jump of any kind, its completely Kate Beckinsale's vagina showing through those knickers as clear as day. My life is complete.. Expand
  9. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Why the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate a thoughtful argument defending your denouncement. While I haven't seen the first one, I don't care what strengths it may have possessed, there is no way that it invalidated the intensity of this remake. Total Recall was an excellent engaging ride through a decayed but recognizable futuristic world where what you see may or may not be what you get! It is an admirably creative story including unique gadgets, captivating plot twists, awesome fight scenes, and excellent visual effects! This film was everything I think it should have been! I don't care what everyone else says, I loved it. Expand
  10. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    This movie was amazing! It's a fresh take more true to the book rather than just copying the original. I have to say that I had this fantasy in my mind about how fantastic the original one was so I rewatched it a couple of months ago. Let's face it, those special effects are over 20 years old. This version was non-stop action, great acting and fresh! A must see!
  11. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Total greatness! This film was great for several reasons. The first because the special effects and the acting was out of this world. The second because although it was not like the original it was a unique expression of art all its own. Last but most important is the allegory that is expressed in the film, the film is a story between the oppressed and the wealthy oppressors. If you tend to be more conservative you will hate this film and if you tend to love leftist ideas you will fall in love with this amazing film. The UFB represents capitalism and imperialism and the fall represents oppression. Colin Farrell's character represents the change that a single man can make within himself and in an oppressed society. Expand
  12. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    Highly enjoyable action sci-fi movie, full of explosions, good actors and a lot of gunplay. The movie quickly introduces us to the important characters and then just goes into action over-drive as we're taken on a journey through a technofascist dystopian city with beautifully rendered sets. Don't watch it for the deep and engaging story you believe to find, just watch it as an action movie set in a sci-fi universe. Expand
  13. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This remake improved on the original in every way! If you're a hard sci fi fan, you will love this movie. All of the technology feels believable, and it's mixed with plenty of boundary-pushing tech to keep it interesting. The world is stunningly beautiful for a dark future. The action scenes are amazing. As in the original, there's also a good helping of political intrigue and social commentary. This is an all-around great movie! Expand
  14. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed the movie. Not sure what the professional reviewers are complaining about. Wasn't too thrilled with Kate Bs accent. Also could have been a bit more clear on which location is which between Britain and the Colony. Otherwise it was a fun romp and definitely worth seeing.
  15. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    If you are a fan of action and sci-fi go see this movie. Some of the criticisms are completely inane. I loved the original, and I also loved this movie despite, or rather because of them. It's not an Oscar winner, but neither was the first except for Special Achievement in special effects. The Fall also seems to be contentious among people, but who cares if it's not realistic. Since when were action movies (especially those with Arnie in them) hard core realism? The set designs of the cities alone made this worthwhile for me, but it has an awful lot more going for it. Great action scenes, good acting, great special effects. Check it out. Expand
  16. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This movie was great! I was invited to the cinema and I first thought it would be good but after I got ouf of the cinema I was happy that I was the movie with my buddies. It was great, had a good story and it was interesting all the time.
  17. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    Good Saturday afternoon movie film. Plenty of action and sci-fi fantasy. Good cast and nicely done change to the storyline from the original.. Yet another film that will get slated by the people who must be covered in dust and cobwebs and daren't open their minds a little to enjoy this film a little.
  18. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Dont listen to the critics. If u like steampunk this film is great! Action combiend with a deep story. It remind me of the overhyped inception movie. But not so serious
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    It's a bit of a flavourless CGI-fest, without the character and comedy of the Arnie version, and it never really gets to grips with the idea of "reality" as a slippery, malleable concept.
  2. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Aug 27, 2012
    40
    Perhaps no more absurd than the Verhoeven version, but certainly less amusing. Farrell and Beckinsale emerge unscathed, but the endless scrabbling for novelty and reinvention leaves this feeling unaccountably stale and familiar.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Aug 17, 2012
    40
    Entertaining in small doses, but gruelling at two hours, Wiseman's derivative, spec-hackular upgrade bins the twisted wit and meaty thrills of the Arnie original.