User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 366 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 366
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    Highly enjoyable action sci-fi movie, full of explosions, good actors and a lot of gunplay. The movie quickly introduces us to the important characters and then just goes into action over-drive as we're taken on a journey through a technofascist dystopian city with beautifully rendered sets. Don't watch it for the deep and engaging story you believe to find, just watch it as an actionHighly enjoyable action sci-fi movie, full of explosions, good actors and a lot of gunplay. The movie quickly introduces us to the important characters and then just goes into action over-drive as we're taken on a journey through a technofascist dystopian city with beautifully rendered sets. Don't watch it for the deep and engaging story you believe to find, just watch it as an action movie set in a sci-fi universe. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    So I immediately don't know what to say about the movie. The PG-13 pops up & my heart drops. But a movie deserves a critic rating equal to the value it will hold in your heart. I haven't actually gone past the 5 minute & 59 second marker yet- as this movie is obviously rated improperly in the best way of my life. Not only do I get to see Kate Beckinsale's dreamy figure in white pantiesSo I immediately don't know what to say about the movie. The PG-13 pops up & my heart drops. But a movie deserves a critic rating equal to the value it will hold in your heart. I haven't actually gone past the 5 minute & 59 second marker yet- as this movie is obviously rated improperly in the best way of my life. Not only do I get to see Kate Beckinsale's dreamy figure in white panties (which struck me odd for the rating) but then my ridiculously acute eye notices what I thought at first to be a smudge in a single frame. It's no frame jump of any kind, its completely Kate Beckinsale's vagina showing through those knickers as clear as day. My life is complete.. Expand
  3. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Why the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate a thoughtful argument defending your denouncement. While I haven't seen the first one, I don't care what strengths it may have possessed, there is no wayWhy the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate a thoughtful argument defending your denouncement. While I haven't seen the first one, I don't care what strengths it may have possessed, there is no way that it invalidated the intensity of this remake. Total Recall was an excellent engaging ride through a decayed but recognizable futuristic world where what you see may or may not be what you get! It is an admirably creative story including unique gadgets, captivating plot twists, awesome fight scenes, and excellent visual effects! This film was everything I think it should have been! I don't care what everyone else says, I loved it. Collapse
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    This movie surprised the hell out of me..skipped it this summer cuz of bad word of mouth..its the best summer movie of 2012..by summer movie I mean a roller coaster thrill ride full of inventive action scenes and popcorn movie magic fun..I don't understand what all the hate for this movie is about..visuals are crisp and clean..feels fresh with 1 amazing imaginative set piece after theThis movie surprised the hell out of me..skipped it this summer cuz of bad word of mouth..its the best summer movie of 2012..by summer movie I mean a roller coaster thrill ride full of inventive action scenes and popcorn movie magic fun..I don't understand what all the hate for this movie is about..visuals are crisp and clean..feels fresh with 1 amazing imaginative set piece after the other..very well put together scifi flick.. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2014
    8
    Saw it on TV, why I didn't go to the movies was I saw the original, this is not like the original. Arnold in the original gives the whole movie a different quality and movie A was a sci fi whereas movie B, this one, is more future tech. They could have easily dropped some elements and called this movie memory war or something. Action was good but not overly believable and some aspects ofSaw it on TV, why I didn't go to the movies was I saw the original, this is not like the original. Arnold in the original gives the whole movie a different quality and movie A was a sci fi whereas movie B, this one, is more future tech. They could have easily dropped some elements and called this movie memory war or something. Action was good but not overly believable and some aspects of the future like going through the centre of the earth and the rest of the world being uninhabitable were far fetched, if the rest of the world was poisoned I would like to have seen mutants. Anyway not great but I watched it with interest, so when a movie keeps your attention its pretty good. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    Before I launch into some gleeful pointing out of this movie's plentiful plot holes, I want to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Total Recall. Possibly because it borrowed from some of my favorite movies. Not just Total Recall, but also hints of The Matrix, Fifth Element, and Mr. and Mrs. Smith found their way in, with perhaps a dash of Terminator and a sprinkle of Johnny Mnemonic, to name aBefore I launch into some gleeful pointing out of this movie's plentiful plot holes, I want to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Total Recall. Possibly because it borrowed from some of my favorite movies. Not just Total Recall, but also hints of The Matrix, Fifth Element, and Mr. and Mrs. Smith found their way in, with perhaps a dash of Terminator and a sprinkle of Johnny Mnemonic, to name a few.

    Also, the special effects were excellent, and the protagonist and his love interest were relentlessly appealing, not to mention almost supernaturally attractive. The final five minutes might have viewers grown weary of climatic fist fight scenes rolling their eyes, but other than that, it was well paced and extremely enjoyable.

    Now, on to pointing out plot holes. Warning, spoilers ahead!

    If you have the technology to send your wage slaves through the core of the Earth to build your robot army for you, you would have the technology to create radiation proof housing, with proper ventilation and tasteful decoration, to ease overcrowding. If you have the technology to create robot forces, you have the technology to create robots to make your robots, so you don't need wage slaves traveling through the core of the Earth (however cool and essential to the plot that mode of transportation might be), to make your robot army for you.

    One also wonders why the only way to travel from what was once Australia to what was once Europe is through the core of the Earth. Sure, it's fast, but it was really the only way post-apocalyptic blue collar workers could commute? But then again, because it was made clear that this mode of transportation is the only mode of transportation, it really helped wrap the plot up neatly.

    It also seems that humanity, while creating a robot army, a subway tunnel through the Earth, and a cellphone implant, failed to create a way to subdue a civilian population that didn't involve a troop transport of soldiers marching in, however robotic the rank and file of those soldiers might be. Of course, they wouldn't want to simply blow the civilian population up, seeing as how, for some bizarre reason, they still needed human workers.

    And clearly the human workers needed subduing by the robot forces, because even though the evil overlords in Europe had the technology to completely wipe a person's memory, they must not be able to create Stepford Aussies to do their work for them.
    Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects, and stunts. It's the perfect movie for any adrenalin junkie that will hold your attention from beginning to end.
  8. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    WOW! WOW! WOW! Those are the only words I had when the movie ended. This movie should be the realy Summer hit following Avengers in this year. One after one of well executed action scenes will make you forget to breathe and whenever the actions stop, the plots will step in, keeping the story flowing. There may be some weaknesses in the overall storyline, but compare to the stupidity ofWOW! WOW! WOW! Those are the only words I had when the movie ended. This movie should be the realy Summer hit following Avengers in this year. One after one of well executed action scenes will make you forget to breathe and whenever the actions stop, the plots will step in, keeping the story flowing. There may be some weaknesses in the overall storyline, but compare to the stupidity of charging all your police forces into tunnels so a handful of thugs can take over a city of 12m people, putting all of policemen in a single street so they can rush to tanks and thugs with machingus, and the total absence of American army for 3 months, the weaknesses in this movie are infinitesimal. I am going to watch it again. Expand
  9. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this movie. If you're a fan of the sci-fi genre and not too stuck on the particulars of the first film I think most will as well. There are two important things to keep in mind before seeing this movie.

    1. They do not go to Mars. This movie takes place entirely on Earth. 2. It is not campy. Do not expect the movie to poke fun at itself, or have goofy characters. Keep those
    I enjoyed this movie. If you're a fan of the sci-fi genre and not too stuck on the particulars of the first film I think most will as well. There are two important things to keep in mind before seeing this movie.

    1. They do not go to Mars. This movie takes place entirely on Earth.

    2. It is not campy. Do not expect the movie to poke fun at itself, or have goofy characters. Keep those two points in mind and I think you'll enjoy the ride.
    Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    As youy read this you should know that i have not watched the first movie!! Shock!! Horror!! I know where have i been hiding all these years!! With that asside i thoroughly enjoyed this movie and is definitely going to be added to my DVD collection. All parts are well acted, the story is gripping and there is certainly enough action going about to keep you interested and rooted to your seat.
  11. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    I think this version of total recall is pretty cool. Yes is not as good as the original but i liked it too. All the actor s and actresses were good, specialy Kate and Jessica!!! ;) And the theme of this movie is vere interesant, yes it is different but i think its good
  12. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Despite all the critics I watched the movie(s) in a row and this new one is much much much better than the first one. Creativity, action, storyline, music, everything was top. I really enjoyed the movie. One of those "sci-fi" movies! Thanks and RIP Philip K. Dick
  13. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    Excellent movie with an amazing cast and CGI. Remake is'nt not the same and enjoyed the experience more than the first. I missed a few famous quotes from the original movie but otherwise I can say anything bad about the movie. Its a must see for any syfy fan. I liked it better than Batman, personally
  14. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Having just seen the movie, I thought it was awesome. The constant action, the story, etc... is was very well done. Colin Farrell did a great job (which I'm tired of people bashing him for some reason, I think hes a great actor, but thats my opinion), and of course Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel did great as well, not to mention hot xD. Overall, great movie and definately worth theHaving just seen the movie, I thought it was awesome. The constant action, the story, etc... is was very well done. Colin Farrell did a great job (which I'm tired of people bashing him for some reason, I think hes a great actor, but thats my opinion), and of course Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel did great as well, not to mention hot xD. Overall, great movie and definately worth the price of admission for it. Expand
  15. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    I really liked it, especially the main method of transportation from the colony to the UFB, I thought it was absolutely genius and well thought out plus the scenes that make you question whether it's real or one of his memories are fake are great..it was very interesting, maybe some escape scenes were the same but I really liked it overall, especially the implanted communication device..II really liked it, especially the main method of transportation from the colony to the UFB, I thought it was absolutely genius and well thought out plus the scenes that make you question whether it's real or one of his memories are fake are great..it was very interesting, maybe some escape scenes were the same but I really liked it overall, especially the implanted communication device..I just wish that the movie makers didn't spoil a bunch of it with their trailers Expand
  16. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    Yet another remake from Hollywood, and of Arnold's movie, no less, but don't the stigma hampers your view of Total Recall. It's a visually enchanting, albeit flawed gem, which ironically will be more enjoyable if you have no knowledge of the original. With detailed environment, striking action sequences, it's definitely eye-pleasing, but unfortunately lacking in plot and script department.Yet another remake from Hollywood, and of Arnold's movie, no less, but don't the stigma hampers your view of Total Recall. It's a visually enchanting, albeit flawed gem, which ironically will be more enjoyable if you have no knowledge of the original. With detailed environment, striking action sequences, it's definitely eye-pleasing, but unfortunately lacking in plot and script department. Since it's based on a mind game movie, the allure is less if you're familiar with the original and it just creates an anticipation of what would they do differently like a game of Spot-the-Difference. That on itself might distract you from the fast pace of this movie.

    It has style, luxurious in its dytopian oriental vistas and drab white of conformity. The selection of gadgets is a blast to see, the glass phones or magnetic cars are sci-fi delights. There are so much attentive details across the settings, they subtly give off a futuristic presence but thankfully in more realistic slum-like portrayal. The actions which take place in those surroundings are gratifyingly fast and still able to pertain its focus despite moving at such hectic pace. It's a precise analogy of cinematic video game, identical to Deus Ex, and it's a treat to see them developed in less preposterous way.

    Colin Farrell as Douglas Quaid is fine on his performance, although he's too stiff at some points. Sadly he doesn't exhibit the urgency one might have when their mind is being played with, and acts almost in predictable manners. Jessica Biel as Melina has the love interest role, and she does it relatively well. I think she didn't get the best of the script, as she boften pouts some profanities or snarky remarks which could be seen as provoked attempts at securing alpha female crown from Kate Beckinsale, who is relentlessly phenomenal here.

    As a planted wife, Kate Beckinsale has much longer role than the original. She exudes fierceness and vigor as she chase her soon-to-be ex-husband. In what may be the most pleasant surprise of all, her character proves imposing and threatening, more than most villains on-screen. It's one of her best roles so far. In trivial matter, when Bill Nighy appears, briefly, I thought they were going to sword fight just to please, or shock, the audience. The least entertaining choice for villain in the movie is Bryan Cranston as Cohaagen, who the movie hypes so much on being a grim politician. As the action pushes forward and Colin actually stands in a duel against him, it's almost hard to watch, almost like Thor getting in a bar fight against Loki.

    If a movie focused on action, the plot is almost bound to suffer, not to mention this is also a remake. It holds itself well only to fall at latter parts, when the movie turns into a generic lone crusader versus an army. The script falters bits by bits, traversing in between ludicrous and gritty. It a shame since the use of gadgets and its implementation work quite well at first, but eventually it suffers as it approaches the ending. I want to give more praise for this movie since it's arguably exciting, but the flaws are apparent.

    Ironically if this is a standalone title, or have alternate plot and script, it could
    Expand
  17. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    Much better movie than the original. The action sequences were great, the ideas about the environment were interesting, and the acting was really good. They also got rid of a lot of the retarded aspects of the original like the Mars setting, the cheesy filming style, and the alien/freak plot points which really ruined the film. Instead, they tried to go for some realism while still stayingMuch better movie than the original. The action sequences were great, the ideas about the environment were interesting, and the acting was really good. They also got rid of a lot of the retarded aspects of the original like the Mars setting, the cheesy filming style, and the alien/freak plot points which really ruined the film. Instead, they tried to go for some realism while still staying true to the science fiction elements and if watched with a moderate suspension of disbelief then I think most people would really enjoy this movie. Also, Kate Beckinsale is absolutely amazing. This movie is worth watching just for her. The only thing that bugged me was that they still had some plot holes from the original and some of the "mind games", while improved, still didn't resonate as well as they could've. Expand
  18. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Total greatness! This film was great for several reasons. The first because the special effects and the acting was out of this world. The second because although it was not like the original it was a unique expression of art all its own. Last but most important is the allegory that is expressed in the film, the film is a story between the oppressed and the wealthy oppressors. If you tend to be more conservative you will hate this film and if you tend to love leftist ideas you will fall in love with this amazing film. The UFB represents capitalism and imperialism and the fall represents oppression. Colin Farrell's character represents the change that a single man can make within himself and in an oppressed society. Expand
  19. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    I thought This Movie was BADASS. I mean overall i like it better than the original. The action scenes in this film are incredible! The world in this film is so beautiful. The story was Decent but it's the action that won me over. Overall this is a really fun summer film. Watch it
  20. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought it was a perfectly fine movie. The plot was decent, not great, but it wasn't terrible. Of course I am a large fan of sci-fi movies so it was right up my alley. Having seen the original, no it wasn't as good, no amount of CG or Collin Farrel will make up for that (even though I really like Collin's acting). But the action scenes were good, the intensity was there, the only question I'm left to wonder is how they can show **** in a PG-13 movie, having 3 breasts may not be natural but that doesn't mean it's not freaking nudity. What the hell guys? Expand
  21. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    Total Recall isn't a movie for everyone. If fan's of the old movie are coming into this one thiking its going to be the same, your wrong. This 2012 remake starring Colin Farrel and Jessica Biel was suprisingly good. The story spun in a completely different direction, but that's not a bad thing. It made the movie more interesting to watch instead of just watching the same story twice. EvenTotal Recall isn't a movie for everyone. If fan's of the old movie are coming into this one thiking its going to be the same, your wrong. This 2012 remake starring Colin Farrel and Jessica Biel was suprisingly good. The story spun in a completely different direction, but that's not a bad thing. It made the movie more interesting to watch instead of just watching the same story twice. Even though you don't have much time to enjoy each character, the actors play them to their best. I was nervous to see this movie because one it's a remake of a movie which i loved, two director Len Wiseman was set to make this movie, and three I just wasn't sure how good it could be, but it was better than i expected it to be. The acting was the best they could do, the soundtrack was awesome, the visuals were amazing, and all in all it was a very entertaining movie. If your looking for a good action packed movie, with quality visuals, and a decent story than this is the movie for you. Expand
  22. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    This movie was amazing! It's a fresh take more true to the book rather than just copying the original. I have to say that I had this fantasy in my mind about how fantastic the original one was so I rewatched it a couple of months ago. Let's face it, those special effects are over 20 years old. This version was non-stop action, great acting and fresh! A must see!
  23. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    If you are a fan of action and sci-fi go see this movie. Some of the criticisms are completely inane. I loved the original, and I also loved this movie despite, or rather because of them. It's not an Oscar winner, but neither was the first except for Special Achievement in special effects. The Fall also seems to be contentious among people, but who cares if it's not realistic. Since whenIf you are a fan of action and sci-fi go see this movie. Some of the criticisms are completely inane. I loved the original, and I also loved this movie despite, or rather because of them. It's not an Oscar winner, but neither was the first except for Special Achievement in special effects. The Fall also seems to be contentious among people, but who cares if it's not realistic. Since when were action movies (especially those with Arnie in them) hard core realism? The set designs of the cities alone made this worthwhile for me, but it has an awful lot more going for it. Great action scenes, good acting, great special effects. Check it out. Expand
  24. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed the movie. Not sure what the professional reviewers are complaining about. Wasn't too thrilled with Kate Bs accent. Also could have been a bit more clear on which location is which between Britain and the Colony. Otherwise it was a fun romp and definitely worth seeing.
  25. Sep 18, 2012
    7
    Forget the original Arnie version as there are not many similarities other than memory loss. This version plays it straight. However I would have liked to have to think more, given the "Inception" like premise of dreaming or not dreaming. I liked the interesting update of the story to suit a current world obsessed with "taking down the terrorists". The action scenes are eye poppingly goodForget the original Arnie version as there are not many similarities other than memory loss. This version plays it straight. However I would have liked to have to think more, given the "Inception" like premise of dreaming or not dreaming. I liked the interesting update of the story to suit a current world obsessed with "taking down the terrorists". The action scenes are eye poppingly good with a crazy hover car chase a stand out zero gravity scene. Farrell and Beckinsale are good but for me there was no heart to the story and I'm afraid it was kept too simple to stop the summer audience getting confused. Expand
  26. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    NOTE: I have not seen the original
    Total Recall is a visually dazzling and well done remake that has a great cast and impressive action sequences. Fans of the action and Sci-Fi genre will surely enjoy this remake of the well-loved cult classic.
  27. Sep 9, 2012
    7
    I didn't expect much but i was pleasantly surprised. There was an obvious effort in melting the structure of the old Verhoeven/Schwarzenegger movies with new plots and twists, while paying homage to all the K. Dick onscreen adaptations, from blade runner to i, robot and Minority report. The sfx are gorgeous, the wide shots are amazing, and there are a few great ideas here and there. Also,I didn't expect much but i was pleasantly surprised. There was an obvious effort in melting the structure of the old Verhoeven/Schwarzenegger movies with new plots and twists, while paying homage to all the K. Dick onscreen adaptations, from blade runner to i, robot and Minority report. The sfx are gorgeous, the wide shots are amazing, and there are a few great ideas here and there. Also, if you love the cast, it's a feast. The only thing i find itchy is that, in the end, the script has a lot of trouble giving the Rekall facility any real importance. They could made up another starting point for the movie, and it would have been ok. All in all, it just ends up being a huge nod to the original adaptation.
    I gotta say, you can't judge a movie named Total recall by just overlooking that, but that's the only point that bugged me. I really enjoyed watching it and will surely catch that on blu-ray in a few month.
    Too bad a making-of book isn't on the shelves right now, there must be loads of amazing concept art somewhere.
    Expand
  28. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    This movie was great. No real complaints. Good acting, story, pace, action, etc. The movie is very action oriented with an interesting take on a world post chemical warfare. The characters and world felt real and the actors fit the script well. Also this movie is a "remake". I say "remake" because I never saw the original and I hear the plot is pretty different. In any case don't go inThis movie was great. No real complaints. Good acting, story, pace, action, etc. The movie is very action oriented with an interesting take on a world post chemical warfare. The characters and world felt real and the actors fit the script well. Also this movie is a "remake". I say "remake" because I never saw the original and I hear the plot is pretty different. In any case don't go in thinking that's what you'll get if you love the early 90s film. Overall I highly recommend this movie. Expand
  29. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    I'm not sure how deep down the list of 80s films remakes we are at this point. But one thing is clear: we are kicking ass. Back in the day, Total Recall was a cool idea, but amped up with the effects and cinematic skills of the 21st century, it is an insanely cool idea.
    Maybe it wasn't everyone's cup of tea. After all, this kind of effects and blow'em up buffet has become common meal in
    I'm not sure how deep down the list of 80s films remakes we are at this point. But one thing is clear: we are kicking ass. Back in the day, Total Recall was a cool idea, but amped up with the effects and cinematic skills of the 21st century, it is an insanely cool idea.
    Maybe it wasn't everyone's cup of tea. After all, this kind of effects and blow'em up buffet has become common meal in our time. But you can't deny the new version of Total Rekall is super slick and completely entertaining.
    Colin Farrell plays a good double agent lost in a futuristic wonderland. The guy already has that get-me-a-map kind of dumb founded look naturally, so not a stretch. Kate Beckinsale is awesome in the rare role of a **** of a wife. I think I speak for all of the male population when I say: "we don't mind a bit of smacking around, Kate. Tell us what to do. Any time." And if that wasn't enough, some god sent studio executive thought to toss Jessica Biel in the mix. I don't need to spell it out for you. Do I? Let's just say I am hoping for the Baywatch slow motion edition when it comes out on blu-ray... No, you can't borrow my copy! So you see? Total Rekall delivers the new version of the ultimate 80s ice cream. Delicious to look at, stronger in flavor, and with plenty of nuts to go around.
    Expand
  30. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A good movie, not a great one, but not totally rubbish either. For a 40 year old, it suffered as a result of comparison to the original. For a 12 year old (my son took a couple of mates as part of a birthday treat) it all moved too quickly to really comprehend the reality vs recall plot device. Everything was taken at face value. Having said all that, it was entertaining, the effects were good, and removing Mars from the plot was a good idea (although its hard to believe GB would be the most powerful country on earth again, so that evened itself out). Expand
  31. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This remake improved on the original in every way! If you're a hard sci fi fan, you will love this movie. All of the technology feels believable, and it's mixed with plenty of boundary-pushing tech to keep it interesting. The world is stunningly beautiful for a dark future. The action scenes are amazing. As in the original, there's also a good helping of political intrigue and socialThis remake improved on the original in every way! If you're a hard sci fi fan, you will love this movie. All of the technology feels believable, and it's mixed with plenty of boundary-pushing tech to keep it interesting. The world is stunningly beautiful for a dark future. The action scenes are amazing. As in the original, there's also a good helping of political intrigue and social commentary. This is an all-around great movie! Expand
  32. Aug 9, 2012
    8
    Why all the hate? To me this is the perfect example of a remake as its faithful to the original's story while giving it its own new ideas. If your curious definitely check this one out.
    P.S- the gravity cable gun thing is F***ing awesome!
  33. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This movie was great! I was invited to the cinema and I first thought it would be good but after I got ouf of the cinema I was happy that I was the movie with my buddies. It was great, had a good story and it was interesting all the time.
  34. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    I have read the 44 here, but as i am a big fan of the first one i go to the movies. It surprise me, its a good movie, could be better, always, but its a good movie and a very good sci-fi movie, the techs are very plausible and well done. nice movie
  35. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    Good Saturday afternoon movie film. Plenty of action and sci-fi fantasy. Good cast and nicely done change to the storyline from the original.. Yet another film that will get slated by the people who must be covered in dust and cobwebs and daren't open their minds a little to enjoy this film a little.
  36. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Definitely better than a 6.0. This is a great sci-fi movie with a more believable cyberpunk world than that overrated mess called "Blade Runner", an interesting plot, and great action sequences. Go watch it. NOW
  37. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    Having never watched the original, I didn't quite know what to expect from this.

    The film is dry on humor, but the action scenes and great score from Harry Gregson-Williams kept me watching this again and again. The original might be better, but the remake was quite decent IMO.

    One of my favourite films of 2012.
  38. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Colin Farrell: long time, no see - and the man is back with a bang.

    Action - and lots of it - what was this movie offered, served with a slice of a good story that could have used a little more unpredictability; it kept the audience guessing but the answer was a teensy bit on the obvious side. In a world divided in a future not too far away, people are struggling to survive. Some
    Colin Farrell: long time, no see - and the man is back with a bang.

    Action - and lots of it - what was this movie offered, served with a slice of a good story that could have used a little more unpredictability; it kept the audience guessing but the answer was a teensy bit on the obvious side.

    In a world divided in a future not too far away, people are struggling to survive. Some have more than others, and that is enough - until those who have more want to take it all. The old story, but told very well in this case.

    I enjoyed the film a lot. It could have used some improvements, but all in all it was a stunning ride and a thrill to watch with top notch effects and visuals!
    Expand
  39. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    It's not the same film but story are similar.
    Some reference of the old "Total Recall" with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
    Have a very good special effects and a good Cyberpunk ambiance. Just the end is ok but I had imagined a better ending with more ambiguity, more questions if the patient is dreaming or not ! Finally it's a good film for thé family but not thé movie that i could have been
    It's not the same film but story are similar.
    Some reference of the old "Total Recall" with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
    Have a very good special effects and a good Cyberpunk ambiance.
    Just the end is ok but I had imagined a better ending with more ambiguity, more questions if the patient is dreaming or not !
    Finally it's a good film for thé family but not thé movie that i could have been dreaming for a Total Recall Universe fan like me
    Expand
  40. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    This was a good movie. It makes you wonder what is really going on. It moves at a fast pace and doesn`t get you bored. Takes you to another time. Not the best movie but kept my interest and was a good watch. Not to mention the fact that it`s different from the typical movie.
  41. Dec 12, 2012
    7
    Kind of a shame how much gripe this movie has gotten. True, the original is better, but I really liked the remake take on it. Not really a spoiler as it is mention in almost every trailer, but I actually liked the fact that they left Mars out of this film. I always felt the Mars setting in the original was a bit too far fetched. The FX are gorgeous, Kate Beckinsale was a huge improvementKind of a shame how much gripe this movie has gotten. True, the original is better, but I really liked the remake take on it. Not really a spoiler as it is mention in almost every trailer, but I actually liked the fact that they left Mars out of this film. I always felt the Mars setting in the original was a bit too far fetched. The FX are gorgeous, Kate Beckinsale was a huge improvement to Sharon Stone. Colin Farrell was also good, but nowhere near as memorable as Arnold. Overall this is a decent remake that just had to much expected of it. If you haven't seen the original, then you'll likely enjoy it more. If you have seen the original, then you'll either like it or hate it. I liked it. Expand
  42. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    An entertaining action packed film with some mystery in it. It's not one of the best action movies but it is much better than some other that come out these years. The story is smart and the action scenes are impressive. The futuristic idea was nice too. I haven't seen the original but i enjoyed the re-make.
  43. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Dont listen to the critics. If u like steampunk this film is great! Action combiend with a deep story. It remind me of the overhyped inception movie. But not so serious
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    It's a bit of a flavourless CGI-fest, without the character and comedy of the Arnie version, and it never really gets to grips with the idea of "reality" as a slippery, malleable concept.
  2. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Aug 27, 2012
    40
    Perhaps no more absurd than the Verhoeven version, but certainly less amusing. Farrell and Beckinsale emerge unscathed, but the endless scrabbling for novelty and reinvention leaves this feeling unaccountably stale and familiar.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Aug 17, 2012
    40
    Entertaining in small doses, but gruelling at two hours, Wiseman's derivative, spec-hackular upgrade bins the twisted wit and meaty thrills of the Arnie original.