Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 3, 2012
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 392 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
155
Mixed:
163
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
TVJerryAug 8, 2012
Don't bother to compare this "reboot" to original. It
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
2
DarsidiusNov 26, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I finally saw this movie, and am a little disappointed. Having seen the 1990 version of this movie, I knew that there would be changes (a reboot) to the original in this outing, and figured that I would give this movie the benefit of being able to stand on it's own. To start, the entire setting of the movie seems off, almost as though the director decided to mesh Blade Runner with the video game Mass Effect. In fact, the synthetic security force is a complete rip-off from the video game, to name only one. It's hard to write this review without picking the movie apart, and the stigma of the first movie will always be there as a critique because this movie modelled itself completely after it. It's not really a complete reboot, but it's as though someone with a better budget and technology decided to make a visually stunning film with the story of Total Recall kind of spliced into it. Things, like the three breasted woman or the fat-woman disguise, made a cameo in this film, but they were very out of place. There was a great suspension of reality in several parts of the film, but I guess in the future, people crash through windows, survive gunshot wounds without treatment, and climb ladders on trains going 500 mph through the Earth's core everyday. At times, the fight scenes and the constant chase scenes can become very tedious and boring, and the story appears to fall on the back burner to move these scenes along. There were very few memorable characters in this reboot, unlike the original movie which had more acting and less scowling from the actors and actresses; in fact, I had a hard time keeping up with Jessica Biel's and Kate Beckinsale's characters because they looked similar to each other, and their characters weren't exactly fleshed out very well. Having seen it, I can't recommend this movie to anyone just yet. I admit that I've watched it once, and that sometimes a different frame of mind may change one's interest in watching a movie. But this movie seems to lack something that you can't really put your finger on, and the design choices, once you've seen them elsewhere, are distracting and dislikeable. Do yourself a favor and see the 1990 version first, if you haven't, then youtube Mass Effect 2's videos after watching Blade Runner before you watchi this movie, and you'll see what I mean. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
chupanebreDec 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're looking for a great example of a director destroying the story they are trying to tell, you've come to the right place. The novelty of the story has been completely butchered by a director (Len Wiseman) that doesn't seem to understand how to use perspective. If the audience is meant to question whether what they are watching is reality or implanted memories, the story has to be told from the perspective of Quaid (Colin Ferrell). Wiseman, however, frequently breaks away from the main character and shows the audience scenes that Quaid isn't even in. This destroys any illusion that the story is only taking place inside Quaid's head. How can you remember something you weren't even there for? Apart from the perspective debacle, the story is just a complete mess, with plot holes and inconsistencies waiting around every turn. The action, on the other hand, would have be great, if I hadn't already seen it in Minority Report. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
pointfivewitAug 17, 2012
have to agree with your '44' concensus. this movie was all action and cgi and precious little story/substance. how come arnold is such a so-so actor yet so watchable? glad 1) he's out of my state government and 2) back in the movie biz
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
DrTonyNov 4, 2012
Reading some of the reviews on here makes me wonder if the studios have their stooges post here. Aside from a few video effects this movie is such a piece of garbage, and it gives the original a bad name. From the stupefied plot to flatReading some of the reviews on here makes me wonder if the studios have their stooges post here. Aside from a few video effects this movie is such a piece of garbage, and it gives the original a bad name. From the stupefied plot to flat acting, is this really the best they could do with several hundred million dollars budget? Where no real actors available, or they all just tossed the retarded script in the bin? Seems so, as it ended up "starring" this Colin Whatever--an absolute zero as far as acting and looks, and Jessica Biel who was hot in the 90s playing a non-acting role, but is well pass her prime. Best skip this, watch the original, watch the Blade Runner for some dark robotic futurism. Nothing to see here other than a few very average special effects. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
DemonboxSep 2, 2012
"But those hoping for a real head trip - a truly cerebral Dick adaptation - will have to keep waiting."

forever i'll add to this review...
This movie has nothing that reminds P.K.Dick and is not even funny as it's predecessor, basically a shame
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
Sevvy88Jun 28, 2013
Good action movie I guess. It starts to raise a cool premise, but then almost immediately abandons it in favor of CGI sequence after CGI sequence. The epitome of American "cinema". It's definitely a movie for teenagers. Sorry, guys. When IGood action movie I guess. It starts to raise a cool premise, but then almost immediately abandons it in favor of CGI sequence after CGI sequence. The epitome of American "cinema". It's definitely a movie for teenagers. Sorry, guys. When I saw who directed it (Underworld clown) I was no longer surprised at what I got. A cool premise, but not much more, just like Underworld. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobDec 4, 2012
I think what ruins this movie the most is that it's 2 hours long and there is no story what so ever. I mean there is one but there isn't. It seems that you just jump from scene to scene with no real backstory or anything, That's what makesI think what ruins this movie the most is that it's 2 hours long and there is no story what so ever. I mean there is one but there isn't. It seems that you just jump from scene to scene with no real backstory or anything, That's what makes this movie so bad. I didn't care for the action scenes either. It really just came off as The Bourne Identity (even had the main character going into a bank and finding passports and money just like bourne identity) but in a sci fi setting. The only solid things about this movie is that the acting is good and the gadgets are cool (I really loved the phone embedded in your hand gadget). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
lahaine2012Nov 20, 2012
I haven't seen the original Total Recall, so I'm unable to comment on how well this one matches up to it. But what I can comment on was how insignificant this reboot was. It was bland, greatly lacking in edge and originality. The first halfI haven't seen the original Total Recall, so I'm unable to comment on how well this one matches up to it. But what I can comment on was how insignificant this reboot was. It was bland, greatly lacking in edge and originality. The first half of the film had some purpose, but the remaining half gives way to a typical, extended chase scene with typical results. Ram-packed with so many "A" list stars its almost embarrassing to watch them try to perform in this high octane mess. And thank you Len Wiseman for crafting not only some decent visuals, but also crafting something that's as forgettable as a spec on the floor. He doesn't even attempt to go beyond the 'summer flick' mold. This was a Total Failure. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
timscsDec 8, 2012
the original movie was excellent, this movie was a piece of s**t. They are never going to stop ruining old movies when all they see is dollar signs in their eyes. Hollywood cries they are losing money to piracy, well make some descent moviesthe original movie was excellent, this movie was a piece of s**t. They are never going to stop ruining old movies when all they see is dollar signs in their eyes. Hollywood cries they are losing money to piracy, well make some descent movies and maybe people will watch more. I have seen the movie industry go downhill for the last 20 years and i won't pay for this crap anymore. There are lots of talent movie makers out there, give them a change and stop with the bulls**t. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
gunnyartAug 11, 2012
The visuals were spectacular. The plot was weak. The dialogue was even weaker. If you are really into mindless action and great special effects you'll like it. If you need more you won't.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
TetsuoJan 25, 2013
This should of been renamed "Recalled", for both lovers of the original and fans of Philip K. Dick. This doesn't even try to follow the short story, the trailers don't even lie. Convoluted script, boring leads, and those "references" from theThis should of been renamed "Recalled", for both lovers of the original and fans of Philip K. Dick. This doesn't even try to follow the short story, the trailers don't even lie. Convoluted script, boring leads, and those "references" from the original are shoehorned in (including the 3-breasted prostitute), just to remind us what we should of been watching. The setting feels nice but it feels like it's borrowed from Blade Runner and Minority Report. If Philip K. Dick was alive, he'll wish that it was all a dream. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuJan 12, 2013
Total Recall is at it's best when it's plowing it's own furrow. Elements (and sometimes whole scenes) that are taken directly from the original film feel a bit jarring and, strangely, forced. Although the original was no outright classic, itTotal Recall is at it's best when it's plowing it's own furrow. Elements (and sometimes whole scenes) that are taken directly from the original film feel a bit jarring and, strangely, forced. Although the original was no outright classic, it does score two major victories over this remake; firstly, the whole "is it real?" aspect is done better in the original and secondly, the 1986 version is a lot more fun. That said, this more serious version has some spectacular action scenes and a gorgeously realized sci-fi world to balance things out. Overall, Total Recall is a superior SF action romp. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusJan 6, 2013
What a disaster of a movie! the movie reminded me of a bad copy of "balde runner" with a mix of the prequel "star wars". The whole movie consists of the main character running, shooting. getting into a corner. and once again shoot their wayWhat a disaster of a movie! the movie reminded me of a bad copy of "balde runner" with a mix of the prequel "star wars". The whole movie consists of the main character running, shooting. getting into a corner. and once again shoot their way out of it. The remake of total recall was worse then the orginal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
StevenFApr 19, 2013
The cast are more than on par in this sic-fi action bonanza, but the often bewildering plot and back and forth story-telling leaves the new Total Recall with a lot to answer for.
Colin Farrell takes the reigns from Arnold Schwarzenegger as
The cast are more than on par in this sic-fi action bonanza, but the often bewildering plot and back and forth story-telling leaves the new Total Recall with a lot to answer for.
Colin Farrell takes the reigns from Arnold Schwarzenegger as Douglas, a man living at the end of the 21st Century, at time where there are only two survivalist nations on earth, the United Federation of Britain and The Colony, where most reside. The only means of transport is through the Fall, which travels through the core of the earth.
So when Doug happens across Rekall, a memory implantation service, he always believes that something is missing from his life, and that Rekall is the answer. But an unexplained interruption happens in the process and Doug starts to instinctively act like an agent, something he wanted to be implanted but never got the chance, and now something that is trying to get the poor guy killed, he already has these memories.
This sets up for a thrilling first hour in this remake and built a lot of promise by introducing an array of characters easily likeable and unlikeable.
But the second hour was its own worst enemy.
Too many times now do movies trade in a convincing story and excellent plot with big special effects and one explosion too many. Total Recall fails to progress the character development in this story and it becomes unclear just what exactly is happening, in regards to this being real or not, something which I hear is only slightly hinted at in the Director's Cut.
The plot was back-tracking too much to the point of losing interest and getting invested in the big explosions for some enjoyment, simply because the quite interesting plot and drive took a back seat in the final hour.
Jessica Biel, Kate Beckinsale and Brian Cranston are on exceptional for, but their characters are grossly under-developed and at times questionable to the point.
But saying that, it is still a watchable and enjoyable film, with exceptional special effects to rival the biggest and baddest of blockbusters, but something that was also unnecessary, but still not a film that requires your full attention in the closing hour, its just a shame that it started off with so much promise, but perhaps the countless scenarios that it touched upon may indeed work for a sequel, something I certainly wouldn't mind seeing.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BinaryRecoilJan 20, 2013
So I immediately don't know what to say about the movie. The PG-13 pops up & my heart drops. But a movie deserves a critic rating equal to the value it will hold in your heart. I haven't actually gone past the 5 minute & 59 second markerSo I immediately don't know what to say about the movie. The PG-13 pops up & my heart drops. But a movie deserves a critic rating equal to the value it will hold in your heart. I haven't actually gone past the 5 minute & 59 second marker yet- as this movie is obviously rated improperly in the best way of my life. Not only do I get to see Kate Beckinsale's dreamy figure in white panties (which struck me odd for the rating) but then my ridiculously acute eye notices what I thought at first to be a smudge in a single frame. It's no frame jump of any kind, its completely Kate Beckinsale's vagina showing through those knickers as clear as day. My life is complete.. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KendallJan 28, 2013
This movie surprised the hell out of me..skipped it this summer cuz of bad word of mouth..its the best summer movie of 2012..by summer movie I mean a roller coaster thrill ride full of inventive action scenes and popcorn movie magic fun..IThis movie surprised the hell out of me..skipped it this summer cuz of bad word of mouth..its the best summer movie of 2012..by summer movie I mean a roller coaster thrill ride full of inventive action scenes and popcorn movie magic fun..I don't understand what all the hate for this movie is about..visuals are crisp and clean..feels fresh with 1 amazing imaginative set piece after the other..very well put together scifi flick.. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Mr-Liberal-LDSFeb 2, 2013
Why the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate aWhy the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate a thoughtful argument defending your denouncement. While I haven't seen the first one, I don't care what strengths it may have possessed, there is no way that it invalidated the intensity of this remake. Total Recall was an excellent engaging ride through a decayed but recognizable futuristic world where what you see may or may not be what you get! It is an admirably creative story including unique gadgets, captivating plot twists, awesome fight scenes, and excellent visual effects! This film was everything I think it should have been! I don't care what everyone else says, I loved it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dougaussieJul 29, 2014
Saw it on TV, why I didn't go to the movies was I saw the original, this is not like the original. Arnold in the original gives the whole movie a different quality and movie A was a sci fi whereas movie B, this one, is more future tech. TheySaw it on TV, why I didn't go to the movies was I saw the original, this is not like the original. Arnold in the original gives the whole movie a different quality and movie A was a sci fi whereas movie B, this one, is more future tech. They could have easily dropped some elements and called this movie memory war or something. Action was good but not overly believable and some aspects of the future like going through the centre of the earth and the rest of the world being uninhabitable were far fetched, if the rest of the world was poisoned I would like to have seen mutants. Anyway not great but I watched it with interest, so when a movie keeps your attention its pretty good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
A_So_Horror_FanJun 5, 2015
This movie has all the qualities of a great sci-fi film but the true star of the movie was missing for me-Mars! The thing that made the original story so entertaining and whimsical was the concept of a human colony on the one world weThis movie has all the qualities of a great sci-fi film but the true star of the movie was missing for me-Mars! The thing that made the original story so entertaining and whimsical was the concept of a human colony on the one world we constantly dream of which is our closest planetary neighbor. In this film I never really new who was who in the great civil conflict. Both the colony and ruling society were so identical in appearance that it was hard to focus an emotional attachment to the physicality of this sci-fi world. The scenes carried the highly produced and fantastical scenes and technology that is truly a future worth dreaming of much like the original however I found myself constantly wishing for the Martian fragility that the colony faced. In this version I never could figure out what made society so dire that the government had to conspire to take hold of a founded colonies land. Although the population was critical the advancements of this reality were so great that even the desolate and toxic areas outside of the city could have been re-populated so I never felt completely sold on this story. I have to give props to the action and fighting sequences between the stars of this film because they were quite intense and entertaining. Even though the one thing was missing that could have made “Total Recall” epic and I found it’s absence irritating I did enjoy the movie’s effects and view of the future-minus the conflict of course. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
funenthusiastAug 7, 2012
Total Failure - the first third of the movie is OK (I really liked the gadgets!). Just when the story started to get interesting, suddenly the visual effects guy got in the way and the video editor decided to do his/her job while smoking pot.Total Failure - the first third of the movie is OK (I really liked the gadgets!). Just when the story started to get interesting, suddenly the visual effects guy got in the way and the video editor decided to do his/her job while smoking pot. The story line is filled with inconsistencies to the point that it is annoying. Suddenly you will be twisting in your seat watching all the goofs throughout the last two thirds of the movie. Save you trip to the theater for this one and watch it on TV once it hits Netflix (wait, with the poor quality of content in Netflix these days you may need to watch it on cable TV - which either way is just fine). Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
3
VidsRuleSep 27, 2012
Wow. I'm gonna give a general spoiler here: there is a little twist at the beginning that seems to set up a cool movie, and then the rest of the movie is one giant chase scene without a single moment of story. I couldn't believe how manyWow. I'm gonna give a general spoiler here: there is a little twist at the beginning that seems to set up a cool movie, and then the rest of the movie is one giant chase scene without a single moment of story. I couldn't believe how many times the heroes are backed into a corner when at the last minute they pull out their guns and start shooting and then comes the getaway. This is nearly the entire movie. A pointless experience. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
CorvinAug 4, 2012
Before I launch into some gleeful pointing out of this movie's plentiful plot holes, I want to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Total Recall. Possibly because it borrowed from some of my favorite movies. Not just Total Recall, but also hintsBefore I launch into some gleeful pointing out of this movie's plentiful plot holes, I want to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Total Recall. Possibly because it borrowed from some of my favorite movies. Not just Total Recall, but also hints of The Matrix, Fifth Element, and Mr. and Mrs. Smith found their way in, with perhaps a dash of Terminator and a sprinkle of Johnny Mnemonic, to name a few.

Also, the special effects were excellent, and the protagonist and his love interest were relentlessly appealing, not to mention almost supernaturally attractive. The final five minutes might have viewers grown weary of climatic fist fight scenes rolling their eyes, but other than that, it was well paced and extremely enjoyable.

Now, on to pointing out plot holes. Warning, spoilers ahead!

If you have the technology to send your wage slaves through the core of the Earth to build your robot army for you, you would have the technology to create radiation proof housing, with proper ventilation and tasteful decoration, to ease overcrowding. If you have the technology to create robot forces, you have the technology to create robots to make your robots, so you don't need wage slaves traveling through the core of the Earth (however cool and essential to the plot that mode of transportation might be), to make your robot army for you.

One also wonders why the only way to travel from what was once Australia to what was once Europe is through the core of the Earth. Sure, it's fast, but it was really the only way post-apocalyptic blue collar workers could commute? But then again, because it was made clear that this mode of transportation is the only mode of transportation, it really helped wrap the plot up neatly.

It also seems that humanity, while creating a robot army, a subway tunnel through the Earth, and a cellphone implant, failed to create a way to subdue a civilian population that didn't involve a troop transport of soldiers marching in, however robotic the rank and file of those soldiers might be. Of course, they wouldn't want to simply blow the civilian population up, seeing as how, for some bizarre reason, they still needed human workers.

And clearly the human workers needed subduing by the robot forces, because even though the evil overlords in Europe had the technology to completely wipe a person's memory, they must not be able to create Stepford Aussies to do their work for them.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
bachastainAug 6, 2012
I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects,I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects, and stunts. It's the perfect movie for any adrenalin junkie that will hold your attention from beginning to end. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
asthobaskoroAug 28, 2012
Paul Verhoeven's Total Recall is much much better than this remake version. I pretty enjoy this, its modern set piece but its third act is total disaster. Will always leave you bad memory.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
XerSMMackAug 8, 2012
Went in with low expectations considering the critics' opinions. Got what I expected, too. Took only minor cues from the original and even those got lost in the breaking glass. Never once thought 'hmm, is this real or recall" I just thoughtWent in with low expectations considering the critics' opinions. Got what I expected, too. Took only minor cues from the original and even those got lost in the breaking glass. Never once thought 'hmm, is this real or recall" I just thought "3 good looking stars does not a movie make." Epitome of mediocrity. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
BobboSep 17, 2012
I can't believe I'm going to say this, but the Arnold Schwarzenegger (googled and spellchecked) version was better. And they killed Walter White. Why?! Why kill Walter White? He didn't do anything wrong. Heck invade that overpopulatedI can't believe I'm going to say this, but the Arnold Schwarzenegger (googled and spellchecked) version was better. And they killed Walter White. Why?! Why kill Walter White? He didn't do anything wrong. Heck invade that overpopulated hellhole called Australia, they should stop breeding. I'm all with you there buddy. And I just checked Google Earth, Australia and the UK are not on geometrically opposite sides of the globe; so there's that. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
Parker75Aug 5, 2012
Massive disappointment. Bland, soulless action and forgettable characters. A real pity and a waste of a good cast. Somehow everything that made the original good and fun is missing here. What's even more frustrating is that it has anMassive disappointment. Bland, soulless action and forgettable characters. A real pity and a waste of a good cast. Somehow everything that made the original good and fun is missing here. What's even more frustrating is that it has an interesting and intriguing set up that is so utterly let down by a never ending stream of identical fights and chases as to make any memories of story distant. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
hellySep 8, 2012
meh...
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
OikeAug 3, 2012
WOW! WOW! WOW! Those are the only words I had when the movie ended. This movie should be the realy Summer hit following Avengers in this year. One after one of well executed action scenes will make you forget to breathe and whenever theWOW! WOW! WOW! Those are the only words I had when the movie ended. This movie should be the realy Summer hit following Avengers in this year. One after one of well executed action scenes will make you forget to breathe and whenever the actions stop, the plots will step in, keeping the story flowing. There may be some weaknesses in the overall storyline, but compare to the stupidity of charging all your police forces into tunnels so a handful of thugs can take over a city of 12m people, putting all of policemen in a single street so they can rush to tanks and thugs with machingus, and the total absence of American army for 3 months, the weaknesses in this movie are infinitesimal. I am going to watch it again. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews