Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 316 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Total Recall" is an action thriller about reality and memory, inspired anew by the famous short story “We Can Remember It For You Wholesale” by Philip K. Dick. Welcome to Rekall, the company that can turn your dreams into real memories. For a factory worker named Douglas Quaid, even though he's got a beautiful wife who he loves, the mind-trip sounds like the perfect vacation from his frustrating life - real memories of life as a super-spy might be just what he needs. But when the procedure goes horribly wrong, Quaid becomes a hunted man. Finding himself on the run from the police – controlled by Chancellor Cohaagen, the leader of the free world – Quaid teams up with a rebel fighter to find the head of the underground resistance and stop Cohaagen. The line between fantasy and reality gets blurred and the fate of his world hangs in the balance as Quaid discovers his true identity, his true love, and his true fate. (Columbia Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Aug 2, 2012
    88
    The richly constructed first hour is so superior to any feat of sci-fi speculation since "Minority Report" that the bland aftertaste of the chase finale is quickly forgotten.
  2. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Aug 2, 2012
    67
    Wiseman's PG-13 remake isn't as funny, or vivid, or splatter-tastic. It contains no mutants, inflating heads, trips to Mars, or freaky little psychic dudes named "Kuato" emerging from people's stomachs. But it does a decent job setting up an unsubtle dystopia.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Aug 2, 2012
    60
    The outcome is engaging enough, although not entirely satisfying from either a genre or narrative standpoint, lacking both substance and a degree of imagination.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 2, 2012
    50
    Crazy new gadgets, vigorous action sequences and a thorough production-design makeover aren't enough to keep Total Recall from feeling like a near-total redundancy.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    It's a bit of a flavourless CGI-fest, without the character and comedy of the Arnie version, and it never really gets to grips with the idea of "reality" as a slippery, malleable concept.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 2, 2012
    40
    This premise contains the seeds of an interesting economic and political allegory, but the ambitions of the filmmakers - lie in the direction of maximum noise and minimum sense.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 2, 2012
    20
    There's something sadly poetic about a movie dealing with disappearing memories that vanishes from your mind while you watch it.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 105
  2. Negative: 23 out of 105
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects, and stunts. It's the perfect movie for any adrenalin junkie that will hold your attention from beginning to end. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Why the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate a thoughtful argument defending your denouncement. While I haven't seen the first one, I don't care what strengths it may have possessed, there is no way that it invalidated the intensity of this remake. Total Recall was an excellent engaging ride through a decayed but recognizable futuristic world where what you see may or may not be what you get! It is an admirably creative story including unique gadgets, captivating plot twists, awesome fight scenes, and excellent visual effects! This film was everything I think it should have been! I don't care what everyone else says, I loved it. Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    It's not the same film but story are similar.
    Some reference of the old "Total Recall" with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
    Have a very good special
    effects and a good Cyberpunk ambiance.
    Just the end is ok but I had imagined a better ending with more ambiguity, more questions if the patient is dreaming or not !
    Finally it's a good film for thé family but not thé movie that i could have been dreaming for a Total Recall Universe fan like me
    Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    Total Recall was cool, I appreciate it, bro. But the acting by Colin Farrell is the star of this film, he's not a Schwarzenegger or Stallone but he fits in the picture. Kate Beckensale is okay (UNDERWORLD SUCKS) but could have been maintained as the bad girl. Bill Nighy was great, he was deadly and violent as hell. Jessica Biel was pretty bad, I wished that she could save the movie but Farrell, Nighy and Beckinsale steal the show. It has gadgets and cool sci fi future generating world with NUDITY! this one doesn't quite top the original- this one is way cooler but Total Recall by Paul Verhoven was better than this reboot. Cool, cool, and cool- Totall recall is made and saved by its gadgets and guns and thrilling sequences. It's fun. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    I don't feel that this Total Racall is superior to the original. The first hour is incredibly fun with some great story and action thrills. After that it becomes very slow. Its got some other positives like the fact that despite reusing a few things from the original it still feels somewhat new. The script could be a lot better. Its a little fun but its more worth a rental once it is on DVD. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    4
    Paul Verhoeven's Total Recall is much much better than this remake version. I pretty enjoy this, its modern set piece but its third act is total disaster. Will always leave you bad memory. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    This is easily one of the worst movies ever made on planet Earth. It was boring, corny, stupid, it had bad acting, and the runtime felt an hour longer than it really was. What a total ripoff money grab. I wish I didn't have to say this, but Total Recall, is Total Crap. Collapse

See all 105 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.